Murad • AHA/BHA Exfoliating Cleanser • Scrubs

rated 4.2(148 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 9/24/2013 2:26:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This product was recommended to me as an anti-acne product due to the AHA/BHA ingredients. I ordered it online, and when I received the bottle, I was a bit alarmed. The bottle has verbiage to the effect of it being an "anti-aging" product. Typically, anti-aging product ingredients are not strong enough to keep my acne at bay, and sometimes, the products are too oily/moisturizing causing it to become worse. This product has the jojoba microbeads in it, but my skin hardly notices them, for better or worse. I prefer more scrubbing action, personally. Thankfully, my acne is "usually" under control, otherwise I firmly believe that this product would have made the situation worse. This is not a product for someone with very oily skin, looking to fend off acne and oil. The so-called microscrubbing beads do not scrub me, and the AHA/BHA ingredients aren't strong enough it seems to render any positive effect on the acne I do have. I fair better with the under $10 AcneFree cleanser from Walgreens.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Layalina on 4/25/2013 1:14:00 PM more reviews by Layalina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I have aging skin and occasionally also have acne and white bumps. This product has been great for my skin. My acne is controlled and my complexion is brighter. I have experienced no tightness, which I usually do after AHA products. I use it five times a week and always at night after I cleansed off my make-up. Because of the AHA/BHA, definitely use a high spf the next day.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AsianDiva123 on 4/20/2013 12:01:00 PM more reviews by AsianDiva123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use this about 2x a week. It's a great scrub and I notice a difference every time. My face is noticeably smoother and softer. I absolutely love this scrub. You need very little each time so a tube lasts a long time. It's a great investment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparkleplenti on 4/16/2013 11:41:00 AM more reviews by sparkleplenti

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

At first I bought this because it was the only of the two cleansers in this age reform line available at the store, but soon realized it is not for daily use with my sensitive skin... it is perfect for 1-3 times a week. It gently polishes iany dead skin cell buildup and is fabulous in conjunction with daily use of the Refreshing cleanser I have another review on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slc on 1/13/2013 2:41:00 PM more reviews by slc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this. It reminds me of the Lovely Skin cleanser but with little beads. The cleanser itself has exfoliating properties, but there aren't a ton of beads in it, so the scrubbing action is gentle. I use it once a week with my Clarisonic and it gives me very clear, clean skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 1/7/2013 2:32:00 PM more reviews by Walko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Love this, but to me this is more of a scrub and I use it as such. It's gentle, fragrance free, rinses well, skin feels really soft, none of this tight feeling.I'm very wary of scrubs. Some cause more problems than they than they can possibly hope to solve.They.are so harsh and rough. But this is none of these.It is expensive, but I don't mind if a product is worth it and this certainly is.I wouldn't use this twice dailly though , like I say it's more of a scrub and should be treated as such. Over exfoliating can be harmful.Let's not confuse this with an AHA/BHA chemical exfoliator though. The ingredients do not remain on skin long enough. This is no more than a scrub.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarfreepersonality on 12/2/2012 10:20:00 AM more reviews by sugarfreepersonality

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I waited a few months before writing a review for this product in order to make sure I could write a fair one. I believe I can.
I use this morning and night, usually, although there are some (few) days where I only use it once- I think that's trivial, though. The product is thick, white, and has little jojoba esters in it that I don't personally think are enough for exfoliating. I use a different scrub in order to truly exfoliate my skin if I feel the need. If you prefer very gentle, seemingly non-physical exfoliation, then this will be perfect for you as an exfoliator- it's just my personal preference to have a grainy scrub like St Ives.

Anyway, I do really like this cleanser. It leaves my skin glowing- really, really glowing- and crazy clean, although it can be drying (to be fair, I don't drink enough water and I don't moisturize, so take that with a grain of salt). At first I thought this product was breaking me out and stopped using it but once or twice a week. However, recently my skin has broken out like never before and I started using this consistently again, hoping to combat it. And it did! The breakouts are smaller, less inflamed, and there's less of them now than before- I think this cleanser has definitely helped in that.

I also have a huge problem with hyperpigmentation and have noticed that this cleanser seems to help with that problem, as well (: I tend to leave this cleanser on for a few minutes before washing it off, hoping to reap the full benefits in that respect. All in all I'd recommend it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 noobcake2010 on 11/30/2012 11:13:00 PM more reviews by noobcake2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this exfoliating cleanser for more than a year. This was recommended by my dermatologist for my severe cystic acne problem. I've been using this twice a day with tazorac, and indian aztec clay once a week. Definitely improved my skin dramatically. I still have acne scaring, a few pimples, and large pores, but my skin is smoother and much better than before. Won't stop using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sugarglazed on 11/14/2012 4:09:00 PM more reviews by sugarglazed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Recently my skin started looking dull, dry, drab. No one wants to see that in the mirror day after day... Finally dragged myself to Sephora, got a sample of this...and used it a few days in a row, noticed my skin was looking more glowy, radiant, and spot free! Exactly what I was looking for YAY! I know a lot of people say oh its best to use AHA's in topicals not in a wash- but if your very sensitive to AHA's this is a great solution as it doesnt sit too long on the skin to irritate!

I have found with my dry sensitive skin I cannot use this everyday. One to two times a week or if my skin starts acting up. After using up my sample, I definitely want to buy this!


Update 1/2014 - I am finding that my skin is no longer tolerating this product might try during summer when skin is oily but for now will be using it on my body exclusively . If you have very sensitive acne prone skin definitely tread with caution !!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shi1 on 11/12/2012 10:17:00 AM more reviews by shi1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is great for keeping your skin clear and clores unclogged. I recently became interested in products with AHAs and is basically how I got started using this cleanser. I deal with sensitive and acne prone skin but it has gotten much better over the years after I've learned to understand my skin and its skincare requirements. This product has taken my skin from good to great. I truly don't need to wear foundation anymore and I use concealer just to cover up dark circles. It has eradicated all the tiny bumps I had under the skin except for some stubborn milia. I used the wrong type of cleanser on my skin for 3 days and my skin instantly became clogged and a few pimples popped up. I then used this for a few days and it cleared it back up. Its a great cleanser on its own, but I have found that using it with a moisturizer with AHAs is a winning combo for keeping skin clear. When I first started using it, I used it nightly because I was hoping I could use it as a daily cleanser. I find the product to be a bit on the drying side so I now use it on occasion. I use it with my Clarisonic. I agree with the other reviewers that the marketing is terrible because it targets only aging skin when it is really fantastic for acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Scrubs products