The Body Shop • Body Butter - Cocoa Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.2(203 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 turtlegirl82 on 9/4/2012 12:21:00 AM more reviews by turtlegirl82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If you have only slightly oily or acne-prone skin, do not use this as it does not absorb but will leave a thick greasy film that will clog your pores. The only way this has worked for me is as an overnight callous softener in the mid-winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 solg on 7/26/2012 3:48:00 PM more reviews by solg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I hate body lotions that take forever to absorb and you have to wait to get dressed without it sticking to your clothes. Despite of being a body butter, this sink into my skin really quickly, leaving my skin super soft. I used it during the summer and my skin absorbed it faster than a regular lotion. I love the smell, it's delicious, that's why I got it in the first place, but it's a personal thing, they have a few other fragrances.
I highly recommend this if you like body butters!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BelleFemme on 7/15/2012 11:33:00 AM more reviews by BelleFemme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I can't enjoy this moisturizer because i absolutely can not stand the smell of this. I was excited getting this because I love all things cocoa. However, this just sits on my counter because the smell is nauseating to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 auee on 7/12/2012 10:27:00 AM more reviews by auee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

So I have dry skin and decided to pick up this product.
I was really looking forward to be taking a shower and using this.
I applied it on my body and it was SO greasy. It didn't absorb into my skin, it was just there on the surface of my skin. It was just so greasy and heavy.
Stupid as I am, I let it stay on my skin overnight. The next morning when I woke up, I had lots of red acne ALL over my back and shoulders! It was such a big shock for me, because when I say lots, I mean LOTS!
This happened to me perhaps half a year ago, and to this day, I have scars on my back thanks to the acne...
To anyone who easily breaks out from "heavy" products or has sensitive skin, do not use this body butter! If you want to try it out, just use it on a small area and see how your skin reacts. You do not want to risk getting acne by applying this butter all over your body!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 6/6/2012 8:28:00 PM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the TBS Cocoa Butter body butter - it's one of my very favorite body butters and one of my favorite TBS products of all time. A delicious light chocolate-vanllla scent that stays true, and goes well with many other fragrances nearby. Very comforting, nurturing fragrance. Try TBS body butters out in the small size to see how you like them. If you like a fragrance, then get the large size and keep the small size container for travel. TBS has expanded their Cocoa Butter line to include a Cocoa Butter Oil for face, hair, body. Also a Cocoa Butter lotion. Both of these blend and play well with the Cocoa Butter body butter. Try combining or layering some of the TBS Coconut and Cocoa Butter body butters for a delicious exotic blend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Hoppla on 4/18/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by Hoppla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    


Extremely disappointed with this product.

Just sits on you skin like grease and does not sink in. No moiturising effect whatsoever.

Great smell which is a nice marketing gimmick, but a rubbish product overall.

Plus the Body Shop now tests on animals through L'oreal which owns the Body Shop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rosielle91 on 4/3/2012 2:51:00 PM more reviews by Rosielle91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first TBS body butter. I loved t so much i bought a few more of them after I finished the first one. It smells a little bit like raw cocoa and i love the thick and creamy consistency of it. The smell might be a little bit strong for some people but for me its fine. Perfect for winter times! Would buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* millenababy on 1/6/2012 11:05:00 AM more reviews by millenababy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Very thick and moisturizing, and excellent boddy butter which leaves skin soft and hydrated. However, I was expecting more of a "chocolate scent". It smells a bit strange...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleRussianDoll on 1/3/2012 6:21:00 PM more reviews by LittleRussianDoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This smells lovely and is a great moisturiser for winter months. I use it more as a treat than an every day type of moisturiser because is thick and creamy (which isn't a bad thing).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 applestrudle on 11/20/2011 6:02:00 AM more reviews by applestrudle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS!!! I have seen a real improvement to my skin. Before it would get really dry and flakely but after using this, it's really soft!! The only bad sides are the price (but I try to get mine when it's on offer/with a coupon) and the smell. I really like foody scents so I expected this to smell of chocolate but it doesn't. It's not an awful smell though, which it good.
So yeah, overall awesome!! =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products