Laura Mercier • Baby Lips • Lipstick

rated 3.2(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blyss on 10/17/2011 10:36:00 AM more reviews by blyss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Overview:
I wanted a nice pretty shiny MLBB for every day. I was recommended this shade and I purchased it after it was applied in the store. When I got back home, the shade wasn't as 'soft' as I wanted to be and that's ok. The worse part is that the lipstick turned bad after 4 months! The waxy crayon smell was really strong and the texture was not smooth. It had uneven application and soft/hard pockets. :(

My Skin:
I'm combination-oily with a bit of acne. I did have a few years of being acne free but that's long gone. I do react badly to chemical sunscreen and my skin is prone to break-outs to certain ingredients. I can guess you can say my skin is sensitive!
I'm a NC25, Shu 774 (winter) or 764 (summer), and Shiseido O20. I have golden undertones so most brands do not match me. They're either too pink or too peachy.

Product Characteristics (Colour or Textures):
This is meant as a MLBB shade with a sheery shiny texture. With the name Baby lips, I guess it's to evoke the idea of brand new fresh skin that says 'youth'. On me, it didn't really bring that out. It's sheer and shiny but the colour is pulls a rosy-red on me instead of that perfect medium pink that is a true MLBB. There's no obvious shimmer or sparkles as well.


Results:
This is where I became pretty disappointed in this product. I used this occasionally in the spring and then packed it away for the summer. i pulled it out to use in September and I found out the lipstick already turned within 4 months of use! Perhaps I got an old tube or one that has been sitting a while but this was VERY disappointing! The waxy crayon scent was very obvious and the texture was off. It had uneven colour application and some of it felt harder (not quite waxy but close). Very disappointing!


Cost:
This was $20 and comparing against most ME/HE brands, it's darn affordable.

Why I Like it:
The colour wasn't a true MLBB but it was pretty for everyday use.

Why I don't like it:
It turned within 4 months and became a crayon :(


Would I buy it again?
No... it turned so quickly. Perhaps I had a bad tube but this was not a good lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sassykzt on 10/17/2011 3:14:00 AM more reviews by sassykzt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a a sheer creamy formula in a warm pink that matches my lip color exactly. Usually I wear much more saturated colors that make my dark blue eyes pop. Nude colors usually make me look like a zombie. I consider this my nude when wearing a smoky eye. The texture is very light and moisturizing. Lasting power is so so but this is one of those lip products you can apply w/o a mirror. Unfortunately, this color does not have the ability the leave a slight stain behind such as LM's sheer lipsticks in sexy lips, healthy lips, and tender lips. Slight vanilla cake smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AxlsRose on 8/24/2011 5:02:00 AM more reviews by AxlsRose

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I thought this would be a little paler and more of a soft natural pink fleshy kind of colour. On my lips it's just like the colour in the tube - like a burgundy dark kind of colour. Too dark, sorry but I've never seen babies with lips this red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilianrubyrose on 7/14/2011 12:30:00 AM more reviews by lilianrubyrose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far my most favourite lipstick. I have used many colours and many different brands and keep coming back to LM Baby Lips. Works well with my medium beige asian skin and black hair. Only downside is that it's got medium staying power. Would give it an extra lippie if it lasted longer. Still, my favourite by far!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Monique372 on 2/19/2011 6:47:00 AM more reviews by Monique372

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick...very pretty and flattering color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bestscreennameever on 12/26/2010 6:10:00 PM more reviews by bestscreennameever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the first LM product I have purchased, and I am very pleased. Baby Lips is a sheer pink lippie that is meant to make your lips look like...well, baby lips. I am extremely fair (BB foundations in Alabaster). My lips, however, are decently pigmented. Thus, on me, I can't say it really gives me the look of "baby lips", but it is a beautiful MLBB healthy, pink color. Others have described it as pinky/beige. I don't see any beige at all, but it is a fairly neutral, medium pink (no overly cool or warm tones). If you are a cool PPP like me, for instance, then try it out--it won't wash you out! There is no shimmer, but it does have a slight sheen when applied.

It applies smoothly and feels comfortable; it isn't a lipstick that will dry out your lips (though it isn't hydrating/moisturizing either). It will not last for hours and hours; it is, after all, sheer. If this is a problem for you, make sure you pair it with a lip liner. Someone mentioned it having a horrible taste/smell. I haven't noticed this at all (bad tube, maybe?). The packaging is classy, too.

Overall, I must say I'm surprised at the poor ratings for this product. If it sounds like something for you, definitely try it before you listen to some of the negative reviews on here.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* halimeade on 10/10/2010 5:57:00 PM more reviews by halimeade

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Wonderful color! As for the formula, I love how creamy and moisturizing the formula is, a must for my incredibly dry and flaky lips. The only other lipstick I have ever been able to wear is MAC in the Lustre formula. In comparison, I would say that the LM lippie is more creamy, but each is about the same opacity. I wish the color range was larger!


Would definitely purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xkatkatarinax1 on 7/13/2010 12:01:00 AM more reviews by xkatkatarinax1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

OMG! My absolute favorite lip stick in the whole wide WORLD! Im already on my second stick...and counting :p

1ST lippie: This l/s actually has moisturizing potential, as, with MAC lipsticks they dry out my lips.

2ND lippie: The color! If you have pale, fair, skin, as i do, this color is marvelous! It adds just the right amount of color, with a sheer pinky beige tint. Its similar to MAC Cosmo, which i was about to buy since it was cheaper then LM, but after noticing how drying it was i decided to pass. Bare Escentuals also has a similar in Pink Champagne, just to let ya all know :)

3RD lippie: The cute, tiny packaging! The tubes used to be larger, but they recently updated them to smaller more convenient tubes which are easier to fit into crowded clutches, and so on. (Actually, i should probably look into this. Im not sure if theres less product in these tubes!)

4TH lippie: The way it extracts itself from all the closely knit colors that are all on the market. I couldnt find a perfect match, no matter how many different colors or textures or anything that i tried. Way to go, laura!

5TH lippie: I wanted to give this 4, because of the staying power. But i really thought about it and decided, that it being such a sheer color that it would have been impossible to recreate it without ruining the color and texture.
<3!!!!! BUY BUY BUY!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 patchieqt on 11/1/2009 12:20:00 PM more reviews by patchieqt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this lipstick because I wanted something sheer and lightweight from LM. I really liked their Stickglosses but unfortunately, most of them are shimmery. I wanted something a bit natural. So the lady at the counter suggested Baby Lips. My lips are super pale (because of this cream medication I put on them since I have had allergies to lipsticks, food dyes etc), so I wanted something close to a naturally pink colored lips. I knocked off one lippy, because it's too pink for me. I put on my NARS lip gloss to soften the pink color which works great on me. Plus it's not as hydrating as the Stickgloss. It stays on long though so that's a plus.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ktbeta on 10/22/2009 12:49:00 PM more reviews by ktbeta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have very fair skin (NW10) and think this color is super flattering, a true MLBB shade. Very sheer, so look elsewhere if you want full coverage. Others say it is drying, but I found it to be very moisturizing compared to some other lipsticks I've tried.

I knocked off a lippie because it is so expensive for about 2/3 of the product most other lipsticks have.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Lipstick products