The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(189 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Lename on 6/19/2014 8:30:00 AM more reviews by Lename

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Only moisturizer I can use during summer that wonít break me out. Also doesnít leave me looking greasy at the end of the day, so I am in LOVE.
I have combo skin and my t-zone is a disaster year round but especially in July-Aug. Like you canít see my forehead anymore, itís that tragic. But this - in addition to taking zinc and using BHAs at night - has left me with crystal clear skin. So happy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* addied on 6/17/2014 12:14:00 AM more reviews by addied

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect for normal to oily skin types especially in Summer where the weather becomes more humid.

I found it cleared up my acne during the time I was using this product as well as providing me a balance skin tone.

Tad pricey for what it does but if you're after a lightweight moisturizer that doesn't cause more oily spots, this will suffice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sonilen on 5/16/2014 3:51:00 PM more reviews by sonilen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Well! I have tried creams from more than twenty brands and would say I loved this. Let me describe my skin type first. I have an extremely sensetive, prone to acne, a sad T zone, porous (I think that comes with acne) - in short one of the worst possible combination skin.
Most of the heavier creams' don't work on my face. In summer, my is oily and in winter it dries out no matter what. This cream although very light and I required reapplication (the only con), it worked, it has a very pleasant scent and it doesn't cause breakouts. I didn;t see a great great change but as a day cream, it worked perfect for me. I am not looking for a miracle treatment and this does as it claims.

So ya, I would buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 agnebai on 3/4/2014 1:21:00 AM more reviews by agnebai

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have used at least 3 or 4 different moisturizers from the Body Shop, and this one is by far the lightest. It gets absorbed in just a few seconds! You might want something a bit heavier if you have dry skin, but for normal or oily one this is great. This is my second week of using it daily and I love it so far!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* djsaphira on 2/2/2014 9:53:00 PM more reviews by djsaphira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

There are a lot of good reviews of this moisturizer by beauty bloggers/gurus on YouTube and so I was in the market for a new moisturizer and of course I bought a mini size to try it. I loved the mini so much I bought the full size and the entire Seaweed line. I'm pretty picky with my moisturizers and I honestly have very little to complain about this one. The claim of being a 'mattifying' moisturizer is a bit far-fetched in my opinion, as I found it left my face not matte at all at any point after application, but that being said I loved the amount if moisture it gave my skin without any greasiness or any dryness in the cheek area. It felt silky going on and left my skin feeling fresh, which was really great. I think if I had to pick a summer moisturizer this would be it. If it was a bit more matte on my skin, this Seaweed day cream would be 5 lipsticks definitely. Enjoyable, and I would certainly recommend it to others with oily/combo skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaaanet2 on 1/18/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by jaaanet2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am shocked this product has a 50% buy back review, I love this stuff. Now I wouldn't say it is thee most mattifying moisturizer, but it sure does a pretty good job at it. See I have really oily skin, the kind where you can see my shine from a mile away and it is extremely hard to find moisturizers that mattify. But I came across after this bad by after hearing so much reviews on it. At first I wish it was in a tube or some kind of dispenser, because I hate dipping my fingers into lotions I feel that it is kind of un-hygenic. Despite that, it has a pretty decent smell to it, kind of does have the seaweed tinge to it and the texture is great, light, and gel-like. hen I out it on its goes on smoothly and dries almost instantly. The best part is it actually leave my skin oil looking free! I wouldn't say it gives me a complete matte look either, but it is pretty freaken close. I also had no trouble applying make-up over it.

I love this moisturizer and do plan on repurchasing it.

Also, I am currently living in the UK and its winter here so it is usually around 30/40 degrees F, so in all honest this might have some effect on making my face more matte. BUT I am hoping this moisturizer holds up during summer when I go back home to California's hot weather.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ldao90 on 1/17/2014 8:07:00 AM more reviews by Ldao90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If your skin is SUPER oily and you live in a hot tropical climate like me, you should definitely go for this light weight, good-smelling and effectively matifying moisturiser. I bought it intending to use it as my go-to moisturiser in the day time (in combination with my Dr Jart+ Every Sun Day SPF) and as a regular night cream. I thought that since I have oily skin, I don't need a super thick moisturiser at night. But I figured I was wrong. It gets pretty cold and dry here in Hanoi in the winter, and using a matifying moisturiser at night isn't the best idea. The cream dries quickly as soon as I put it on and dry patches around my mouth start popping up. Nowadays a I have to mix it with a thicker moisturiser (actually a body lotion) to give my skin back some moisture it craves.

So over all, I still do like it and will repurchase it, for it serves as a great base for my makeup - but I will have to combine it with something more moisturising at night/in the winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tranevon on 1/9/2014 8:50:00 PM more reviews by tranevon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoy this moisturizer. I use it as a primer before my foundation when I know I'll have a long day aka work all day. It definitely keeps my face matte for many hours, I wouldn't say the entire day. You definitely have to let the moisturizer set into your skin completely before applying anything else on after because it is extremely watery. I have very sensitive skin and this doesn't break me out at all. Overall, I think this is a great product, but not a holy grail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Floralisse on 1/1/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by Floralisse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

It doesn't do what it claims to.. My t-zone gets oily after 1/2 hours after i put it on, i had high excpectations about this product, but it didn't do anything for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KarmaEls on 12/20/2013 11:55:00 PM more reviews by KarmaEls

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received the sample the TBS. I have to say I'm pretty impress. With the price, it isnt expensive at all. Smells good, feels light on the skin, I have normal/combination skin depends on the weather. It keeps me shine free all day long and help to keep the makeup last longer. Will definitely buy the full size after I ran out of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products