Redken • Guts 10 root volumizing foam spray • Styling Products

rated 3.9(124 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 sjulien on 4/1/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by sjulien

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my second can of Guts in two years. Initially I really loved this product. I still do but don't use it too often. Maybe it had to do with the seasons changing or something.

I do like the volume it gives but is it worth the $22? I can feel a buildup on my roots later in the day and even more so the next day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilylamp on 7/13/2011 8:49:00 AM more reviews by lilylamp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It gives pretty good, even volume (used on roots only). I find I have to be careful not to spray it beyond the roots, as the effect is too much stiffness and frizziness- which does not at all work for me. when used carefully, it pumps up the roots rather nicely giving an all over plumpness. It gets greasy reasonably quickly, but not as fast as some volume products for roots. I would probably try it again. It beats the others I have tried, I have probably tried 4 or 5 other brands. I liked 'big sexy hair' volume gel as much as this, altho its doesnt give as much volume or hold- it definately gets less greasy than the guts product. so each has their advantage to me. Big sexy hair gel, also can be applied from roots to end without becoming overly frizzy (any volumizing product makes me frizzy with running flat iron over it afterwoods- for me its just a matter of HOW frizzy it will make me).

I think like most products, redkens guts is really user dependent. will work for some and not for others. But for what it is, it seems a decent product, i would recommeend it, when used carefully.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hnrenfro on 4/24/2011 12:14:00 AM more reviews by hnrenfro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this product is AMAZING FOR VOLUME!!! but my can recently exploaded in my bathroom, then i learned of the recall :( very sadd i will not be buying this again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilacShine9 on 4/18/2011 7:08:00 PM more reviews by LilacShine9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Redken 5th Avenue NYC recalled about 1 million cans of its Guts 10 Volume Spray Mousse Foam because the liner can corrode and rupture, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission said. The company has 41 reports of the cans rupturing. So far, no one has been hurt. CPSC lists the lot codes included in the recall. The mousse was sold in hair salons and beauty supply stores nationwide from January 1998 through February 2011 for between $4 and $16. Consumers should stop using the recalled mousse, record the product's lot code and then discard the contents by spraying it into a waste container in a well-ventilated area. Consumers should contact Redken for information on receiving a refund at (888) 241-9504, weekdays between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Eastern Time.

source: http://www.walletpop.com/2011/04/15/recall-roundup-migraine-medicine-hair-mousse-riding-lawn-mowe/?icid=maing-grid7%7Caim%7Cdl9%7Csec3_lnk3%7C56762

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 grkdmd921 on 2/14/2011 8:37:00 AM more reviews by grkdmd921

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have very thin hair and on special occasions I like to go for a nice blow-dry volume hair. So I use this spray. I marked one point off because the next day it gets greasy. Maybe I used it too much. Can't say. But it would be nice if it can last the next day til the night to wash out. I got this on sale so I can't complain for the price. Would I buy it again? I am always on the hunt for the better stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gagag on 1/31/2011 12:08:00 AM more reviews by gagag

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tend to write reviews for products I have a strong opinion about. If used properly - at the roots and blown dry with a round brush - then there's no contest. Traditional mousse, hairspray, wax, and back-combing don't work nearly as well to give flexible volume. I have long, fine, bleached hair. Using Guts, I get body and volume with a soft texture, and it helps curb oil at the crown. To the roots of towel-dried hair, I apply a little strip of product to small sections of the crown, and gently rub into my scalp. I flip my head upside-down and blowdry using my fingers until it's about 80% dry. I flip my head upright, and use a round boar's bristle brush to finish drying. (Side note: though I like metal barrel brushes for smoothing and faster drying, I can't achieve the same soft volume.) I use the concentrated nozzle of the blowdryer, and work on small sections of the crown, and finish by using the brush as a large roller to cool-set the volume at the root. I don't add any more products. What I'm left with is soft, voluminous hair that lasts. I've also used it on dry hair to increase volume at the crown. The full-sized can is $16, and the sample-sized is $4 - I found both at Trade Secret. Worth every penny. Hope this helps!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cincy_Gal on 1/26/2011 1:39:00 PM more reviews by Cincy_Gal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Gosh, contrary to most reviewers, this was a big bomb for me. Having fine, very straight and thinning hair, I'm always on the hunt for volumizing styling products. I tried this after reading the good reviews here, but it just leaves me....meh. It's a spray can dispenser that allows for good application. So that's a plus. It didn't leave my hair crunchy, hard or tangled, so that's good. But it did not do much for volumizing my hair...at all. I was quite disappointed. It's going back to Ulta.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elgyi on 10/13/2010 10:28:00 AM more reviews by elgyi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Currently have an angled, layered bob style that I am trying to grow out. I have fine hair and so require a product that will add body. Was using a volumizing spray gel by Sebastian but didn't feel like it was adding anything extra (and I think spray gels are more for frizzy or flyaway hair).

Read reviews for Aerate 08 bodifying cream mousse and went to ulta to purchase. Saw Guts as well and decided to purchase the baby bottle version to try it out.

I love Guts! I spray directly onto my roots and massage through. Not too crazy about the smell (it's not hideous but they certainly didn't try to make it perfume-y) and sometimes the foam drips down the nozzle but whatever. Styled as usual using round brush and blow dryer and this gave me amazing lift. Even held throughout the day! I like this better than 08 bodifying mousse as it gives a little bit of "grit" (but not crunch or tangle) to the texture of my hair, which I need b/c it's so fine.

I will be purchasing the full size bottle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 x0tayylor0x on 7/24/2010 5:02:00 PM more reviews by x0tayylor0x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely LOVE this stuff. I only recommend to use it on the top of your scalp. I wouldn't use it all over. It can be a little crunchy if you don't blow dry it out or use too much. I've heard that it soaks up the oil in your hair, but it doesn't do that for me unfortunately. The pump can be kind of annoying. It's a huge bottle so the price isn't that bad. I recommend buying the small version for $5USD first to try it out. I found it at Ulta.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MacPops on 7/7/2010 12:07:00 PM more reviews by MacPops

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It is designed for a blow-out, not leave in scrunchy messes. My hair is baby fine and this product delivers volume without weight and washes out clean without residue. I love it! Lasts a long time too since my hair isn't really long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Styling Products products