Chanel • Bronze Universel De Chanel Sun Illuminator • Bronzers

rated 4.4(186 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DaniDeelish on 10/19/2012 3:16:00 AM more reviews by DaniDeelish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product, but it won't work for everyone. It is a cream-to-powder type of bronzer. Kind of has a whipped, mousse like consistency.
****PROS****
--It is a very natural looking bronzer that gives an amazing sun-kissed glow to the face (can be a 'con', see below)
--Can be used to contour the face, as a natural eye contour (run it through your eye socket to give you a naturally defined look), as well as a 'makeup base'. Eg: swirl a kabuki (or any brush) into this product, and then work the excess off on the back on your hand. Then work the remaining product on to your face and neck. It will make you look more tanned and, if you don't have problematic skin, you may not even need to use a foundation on top.
--I use this product down my neck if my foundation is a little too dark. It gives a beautiful natural tanned look!
--I use this product to darken any foundation (for the summer months). I do as I stated before (work a brush in the product), but this time I work all of the product onto the back on my hand. And then when I apply my foundation, I put it on to the back of my hand first (where the bronzer is). This will slightly darken any bronzer and give you a gorgeous glow! Just don't forget to take it down your neck too!
--This product lasts on your skin all day, and does not look ashy at all!
--This product is not greasy at all, nor is it too heavy to wear in the summer (as it turns to almost a powder consistency when applied to the skin)
--Has a slight citrus scent (again, can be a 'con'). Since my skin is not sensitive to scented products, I love the fresh scent that this has!
--The jar will last you for years. I used to use this product every day, and have hardly made a dent to it.
--Great for dry and oily skinned people because of the mousse like texture
****CONS****
--The colour of this bronzer is a little orange. This comes back to the fact that it's a very natural looking bronzer. If you think about it, a natural tan is more orange based than brown based. That's the look that this bronzer gives you. Now, for people with very pale skin, this will look a little too orange. So I only recommend this for people with medium-tanned skin who want a natural glow (MAC NW20 or higher. Any lighter, and this may look too orange on you)
--The jar is huge and is not very practical for storing it or for travel
--It does have a slight citrus scent, so if your skin is sensitive to scented products, be careful!
--The product doesn't distribute evenly onto the brush. When I rub my brush in this product, some of the brush hairs will get coated in the bronzer, and some don't, which can sometimes make it a little difficult to apply it evenly (although if you blend it, it's fine)
--It's expensive, obviously, since it's Chanel.
****BOTTOM LINE****
I recommend this product to anyone who wants a natural sun kissed glow (keep in mind that a 'natural sun kissed glow' is a little on the orange side). This is an investment, but the jar will last you for years so you will definitely get your money's worth. I don't recommend it to people who are fair skinned though. I only tend to use this bronzer in the summer, as in the winter I am around an NC15 by MAC, and as I mentioned above, this bronzer looks a little too orange on light skinned people. But gorgeous and natural in the summer, looks like you've been out in the sun all day!
I will repurchase because of how multi purpose this product is!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luisareyna on 9/27/2012 8:18:00 PM more reviews by luisareyna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

One of my all time favorite bronzing products. Gives you a nice sun-kissed glow without the ugly, ashy powdery finish that most bronzers can give you (especially if you build up the color). Perfect finish, perfect color, and perfect wear. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heathrey on 9/12/2012 10:04:00 AM more reviews by heathrey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

A great natural alternative to powdery, muddy bronzers. I have used this product all summer either as all over base or just on the places where the sun catched the lights and even as a contour. It blends seamlessly with foundation when using a RT stippling brush (I use Chanel VA). Only qualm is brush hair fallout into the product- it just looks a bit gross- now rectified by RT brush however. Just ensure you use a synthetic brush from day one! Multi-purpose and long lasting- perhaps even a HG. Packaging is HUGE though- can they please start selling the mini pots they use at the counters! Could transtition to winter providing a light hand is used. (I go very very pale in winter)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elfodimontagna on 9/4/2012 3:44:00 AM more reviews by elfodimontagna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I love this bronzer because it is so natural and bleandable. LOve love love! And the color matches perfeclty my fair skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* triotrio on 7/10/2012 5:32:00 PM more reviews by triotrio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Being fair-with-a-side-of-pink, I was sceptical. But I have to admit, it does a lovely job.

Use a kabuki, buff the excess on the back of your hand, and it gives a subtle healthy colour. Your hand will get orange - but YOU will not.

It's so big it will last forever and ever......but it is expensive - get it in Duty Free if you can.

I have all the usual "fair" bronzers - Nars Laguna, MAC Golden, Bourjois Delice de Chocolat #51, Guerlain Blondes....the list goes on. But I actually think this is the sublest, certainly on bare skin. Perhaps because it's a cream formulation. You don't get that dusty look.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaylyn85 on 4/27/2012 2:59:00 AM more reviews by jaylyn85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't think I will ever be ever go back to powder bronzer after using this product. This is the only bronzer I have tried that does not make me look muddy or orange. I have extremely fair skin and most bronzers look horrible on me. This one is amazing and worth the extravagant price

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathou on 4/26/2012 9:48:00 AM more reviews by Mathou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my favourite bronzer ever. I love the whole package... The little jar is so beautiful and the product is nice as well.. It makes me look perfectly fresh. Like I just been out in the sun for the day

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Haydenxxx on 4/25/2012 5:55:00 PM more reviews by Haydenxxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i have fair skin and this is the perfect bronzer for contouring and for adding a subtle sunkissed looked to your face with out looking orange (even though it is oranged based) and gives you a nice fresh glow that i cannot find with anyother bronzer, even though it says it is a base i actually use this over my foundation with a fluffy blush brush or a stippling brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alfordalice on 4/24/2012 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Alfordalice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Hooray for a wonderful bronzer. I have tried so many and they have all ended up looking too orange or muddy on my fair skin. This is the perfect color and such a lovely finish...it just looks like sun kissed skin. Yes it is expensive, but the amount of product you get is ridiculous....this is going to last me years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ldecato on 4/16/2012 11:43:00 PM more reviews by ldecato

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product goes on your skin so smoothly and leaves an absolute beautiful glow. The SA put it on my skin and it looked flawless. I was sold. I took it home and put it on just for about 2 days.

After the first day I had a few blemishes. I am 40 years old with normal/combo skin. I maybe will get a blemish once every few months.
So after a few days my face has at least 10 pimples on my forehead. Also, have irritated,itchy bumps on my lower cheekbone.
Sad to say but I am taking this back.

If you don't have sensitive skin or acne prone skin, this product looks/feels amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Bronzers products