NARS • All About Eve Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(265 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 fromskyline on 4/28/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by fromskyline

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I didn't buy All About Eve to use as an eyeshadow, but as an eye primer. I've tried TFSI and UDPP but found that within 3 hours my eyeliner and eyeshadow had moved and smudged on my eyes. The obvious answer is to do touchups with TFSI and UDPP, but the tackiness of both caused me to pull on my skin + stretch out my eyelid skin, and I was thoroughly annoyed I had to continue this process every 2-3 hours. With AAE, I'm able to do touchups without my eyelid skin suffering from the tugging and pulling and uncomfortable dryness from chemicals (anyone else notice UDPP creates an instant super dehydrated skin texture for the first hour but fades away after a couple hours?).
In comes All About Eve: both sides blend perfectly into my skin and eyelid colors (I'm at about NW/NC 15). Personally, I think if your skintone isn't beyond being tanned, AAE will blend in completely into your skin color, leaving just glitter behind.
So, why don't I just buy a regular skintone cheaper eyeshadow instead? Because the glitter/sparkle level in AAE is perfect. I have these dark creases/corners in the ends of my eyes that make me look like I'm about to die from a disease or am very close to turning into a zombie (darn genetics!!!). AAE helps bring light into those scary corners and makes me look brighter and more awake (and healthier).
Also, AAE has great staying power (unless you obviously wipe it off with your fingers or rub your eyes or wash your face with water/soap).
My daily look now is to put an even amount of both sides of AAE on my upper eyelid (lashes to brow bone), and then close to my lower eyelash line to clean up the dark creases/corners. Then I usually just tightline with NARS' Night Breed on my upper lashline, presto done-o! My eyes are defined and I don't look like a zombie.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CherryBerryPie on 2/23/2012 3:08:00 AM more reviews by CherryBerryPie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A perfect duo for highlighting. I use mostly the less shimmery shade of this duo. The more shimmery fall down a little too much, I think. Anyway, this is a very nice duo, a must have in my makeup bag. Really nice packaging also. I almost prefer this duo in front of Chanel`s single eyeshadow in the shade Lotus which is very similar to these two shades.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rysher on 1/1/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by rysher

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have had this forever and recently rediscovered it. I forgot how beautiful this duo is! I went to a New Year's Eve party last night and wore fake eyelashes and liquid liner and it looked absolutely beautiful with this duo. I feel like my eyes were glowy and shimmery yet natural looking at the same time! I would definitely repurchase- and I want to try out other NARS duos!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariannepilgaard on 8/28/2011 3:51:00 AM more reviews by mariannepilgaard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great neutrals and such nice, discreet shimmer. Great for work as part of a discreet look. I have used this so much since I bought it. Probably will not repurchase though as I tend to lean more and more towards matte eyeshadows.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jueykang on 8/19/2011 7:58:00 PM more reviews by jueykang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love this duo! I don't use them exclusively, because they're such light, shimmery colors. I use them as a quick eye brightener all over the lid or just as browbone and tearduct highlights. Super gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nina000 on 1/28/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by Nina000

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

These colours are PERFECT for highlighting! Love NAR's pigment and lasting power. Just beautiful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laureg on 1/21/2011 6:10:00 PM more reviews by laureg

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. On my very PPP olive skin, this is a lovely neutral that I use as an all-over shadow base color and highlighter. It's a little bit too dark on me to use as an under-brow highlighter, but this is a perfect shadow to use when I want to have a pretty and natural "no-makeup" look. I will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 evalovescake on 1/13/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by evalovescake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm NC30 and this duo works for me as a subtle highlighter for under my brows. Sometimes I also like wearing it on my lids with black liner and dark red lipstick as well, like NARS Shanghai Express or MAC Dubonnet. Both shades are of velvety texture and they don't crumble upon touching. One of my favorites!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emilyblossom on 10/27/2010 7:05:00 PM more reviews by emilyblossom

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't originally want this eyeshadow duo. I asked the assistant for a more gold duo but they had sold out. I decieded to just go for these shimmery highlights as they looked like decent colours to have in my collection. They honestly do not have much colour to them. I was a bit disapointed with them at first. However a few weeks later i find myself reaching for them much more then i thought. Both colours appear fairly similar. Both are slightly champaign-baige colours that are very shimmery. I often use them all over my lid as base colours and blend other colours into them from my crease downwards. Which gives a lovely effect. These are also perfect colours to highlight the brow bone and inner corner. I love the packaging with nars products, They look very sleek and have a lovely mirror. However i find the matte plastic on the outer case picks up dust and makeup from everywhere and it really irritates me. I am proberly being over critical with the packaging. But at the end of the day, its very good quality. Overall i think this is a useful eyeshadow duo to own and these colours would be flattering on many skin tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stilagrrrl on 10/22/2010 1:38:00 PM more reviews by stilagrrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I finally get the hype over this product. So-called neutral eye shadows either made me look tired or flat-out bored me to tears, so my "neutral" was always a pale shimmery gold or ivory. All About Eve changed that upon first application. The duo consists of pale, ever-so-slightly champagne-y beige shadows, one slightly darker than the other, and both provide an amazing glow. There is a tiny bit of shimmer but it's not really noticeable, it's more like my lids have this totally natural sheen that wakes up my whole face. Pigmentation and texture are excellent - the shadows glide right on and look even better applied wet. I love pairing this duo with a strong red or plum lip, or just going all natural with a light dusting of bronzer and pink-nude lips. Since it's so versatile and essentially the queen of neutral shadows, I think this would suit any skin tone.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products