Lancome • Le Crayon Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(219 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Brookeelise on 7/26/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Brookeelise

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was a very disappointing purchase. It was very hard to apply and is hard to get a dark enough color. After about an hour and a half it all wore off! Not worth the money at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BriddaBella on 12/11/2012 9:28:00 AM more reviews by BriddaBella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from a friend to try out since she didn't like it and I have to say I understand why. It is not very smooth and I feel like I have to press really hard to be able to apply and and I think it's simply not worth the money.
It also smudges and doesn't stay on your eyelids especially when you have oily lids like mine.
If you want to have an eyeliner that's truely black go for the MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack or if you want to have a pencil eyeliner try out the Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lachrymist on 9/11/2012 5:44:00 PM more reviews by lachrymist

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

pros:
glides on sooooo easily
vibrant color

cons:
smudges like crazy
horrible staying power

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 questionable on 9/9/2012 5:02:00 PM more reviews by questionable

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The visiting Lancome makeup artist who did my makeover made little strokes over my eyelids in the white Blanc shade after applying their Effacernes concealer in Beige Neutral (which he used as an eyeshadow primer as well as concealer). He said it would bring forward my deep set eyes when he brushed on the ivory powder eyeshadow. It sure did!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missn74 on 5/25/2012 1:11:00 AM more reviews by missn74

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeliner smudges easily if you have watery eyes. It's not the darkest black but it's still a little harsh to use on your eyes, unless you want them to be very dark. The color fades pretty quickly after a couple of minutes, so you would have reply your eyeliner throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BunnyBelle7 on 5/7/2012 12:51:00 AM more reviews by BunnyBelle7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the noir in non waterproof andts a large pencil but very over priced ($25) It looks and goes on great but smears almost immedietly and makes my eyes water like crazy when used on my water line. But...buuuuut I must say using this over an eyeshadow base or alone to do any smokey eyes as a base works amazing! Since its a a soft pencil it glides and blends effortlessly and greatly increasrs the color intensity and helps it stay super dark. I now use a pencil from ulta w the same intensity and super blendable but at less than half the price n double the staying power n no watery eyes allergic reaction

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iiss616 on 4/9/2012 2:36:00 AM more reviews by iiss616

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using eye makeup products for years. From drugstore brands like Maybelline, Revlon, L'oreal, to expensive department store brands such as Lancome, Clinique, Urban Decay, Elizabeth Arden, Estee Lauder. Lancome Le Crayon Kohl is among the worse eyeliners I have ever used. It smudges very soon after applying, although the color is very intense and pure. Who would go for a liner that smears within one hour?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tirje980 on 4/3/2012 8:44:00 PM more reviews by Tirje980

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have this in #06 macadamia grey. The colour is gorgeous and the texture is nice and smooth. Glides softly without tugs or pulls and the colour shows up really nicely. However the big downside is the staying power. It smudges like crazy even after i set it with powder. But because i paid so much for it i still use it occassionally on my lower lash line. I make a very very thin line so when it does smudge in a few hours, its end result is this nice smoky eyes effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Zariana on 4/2/2012 11:50:00 AM more reviews by Zariana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received two Lancome Le Crayon Kohls in black and bleu marine as a gift from an aunt.
I should state: I'm not one to splurge - on anything, really!
I was, nevertheless, rather excited to try these ludicrously over-priced kohl pencils.
They glide on very easily and smoothly. The colours show up vividly on my medium-ish olive skin tone.
However, the staying power of these pencils is so utterly horrendous!
Yes, it seems a tad bit melo-dramatic to use the epithet "horrendous" , but no kohl pencil I have test-driven in the past has smudged so awfully.
Admittedly, I do have an oily eye area, but my current 20 ZAR ($2.50) Essence kohl/kajal pencil does not turn my eyes into a smudgy mess.
I personally don't believe it's justifiable to shell out such large sums of money for so called legendary names.
But that could just be me.
I've rated it two lippies because I will be replacing my current kohl pencil plastic cap with Lancome's gold cap.
"Status" without the smear!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 3/7/2012 8:55:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

IMPORTANT NOTE: I PURCHASED THIS EYELINER IN THE WATERPROOF FORMULA (LANCOME LE CRAYON KOHL WATERPROOF EYELINER).
I'm an eyeliner freak with oily, hooded eyelids and very high eyeliner standards.
The only thing that really pleased me about this eyeliner is its staying power. Out of the tons of pencil eyeliners I've tried, this one has the best staying power. It doesn't stay as well as liquid eyeliners do, but I don't expect it to. Like I mentioned before, I have oily, hooded eyelids, so pencil liners tend to really smudge and transfer on me. This one, surprisingly, doesn't. This eyeliner lasted me a good 6 hours before it started to fade.
But I don't really like anything else about this eyeliner. It doesn't show up on the waterline (a lot of eyeliners don't, so this wasn't really a surprise), and the pigmentation isn't exactly the best. I got this eyeliner in Raisin Noir, which is just a regular black, and instead of the rich, intense black I was hoping for, I just got a dull black. The thing I really dislike the most about this eyeliner is that it tugs and pulls...a lot. Since I have hooded eyelids, I have a lot of extra skin on my eyelids, so tugging just means uneven application and having to hold my skin taut, which I dislike.
The smudger on the other end of this eyeliner is pretty much useless. I don't really like to smudge my eyeliner (I want the opposite effect, actually), but out of curiosity, I tried using the smudger, and it didn't really work because the staying power of the eyeliner is truly immense (it stays put)!
I got this eyeliner for $25.50 at the Lancome website (http://www.lancome-usa.com/), which, I must admit, is pretty pricey, considering that this isn't even a really good eyeliner.
Would I repurchase? No.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Eyeliner products