Lancome • Le Crayon Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(212 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Tirje980 on 4/3/2012 8:44:00 PM more reviews by Tirje980

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have this in #06 macadamia grey. The colour is gorgeous and the texture is nice and smooth. Glides softly without tugs or pulls and the colour shows up really nicely. However the big downside is the staying power. It smudges like crazy even after i set it with powder. But because i paid so much for it i still use it occassionally on my lower lash line. I make a very very thin line so when it does smudge in a few hours, its end result is this nice smoky eyes effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Zariana on 4/2/2012 11:50:00 AM more reviews by Zariana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received two Lancome Le Crayon Kohls in black and bleu marine as a gift from an aunt.
I should state: I'm not one to splurge - on anything, really!
I was, nevertheless, rather excited to try these ludicrously over-priced kohl pencils.
They glide on very easily and smoothly. The colours show up vividly on my medium-ish olive skin tone.
However, the staying power of these pencils is so utterly horrendous!
Yes, it seems a tad bit melo-dramatic to use the epithet "horrendous" , but no kohl pencil I have test-driven in the past has smudged so awfully.
Admittedly, I do have an oily eye area, but my current 20 ZAR ($2.50) Essence kohl/kajal pencil does not turn my eyes into a smudgy mess.
I personally don't believe it's justifiable to shell out such large sums of money for so called legendary names.
But that could just be me.
I've rated it two lippies because I will be replacing my current kohl pencil plastic cap with Lancome's gold cap.
"Status" without the smear!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 3/7/2012 8:55:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

IMPORTANT NOTE: I PURCHASED THIS EYELINER IN THE WATERPROOF FORMULA (LANCOME LE CRAYON KOHL WATERPROOF EYELINER).
I'm an eyeliner freak with oily, hooded eyelids and very high eyeliner standards.
The only thing that really pleased me about this eyeliner is its staying power. Out of the tons of pencil eyeliners I've tried, this one has the best staying power. It doesn't stay as well as liquid eyeliners do, but I don't expect it to. Like I mentioned before, I have oily, hooded eyelids, so pencil liners tend to really smudge and transfer on me. This one, surprisingly, doesn't. This eyeliner lasted me a good 6 hours before it started to fade.
But I don't really like anything else about this eyeliner. It doesn't show up on the waterline (a lot of eyeliners don't, so this wasn't really a surprise), and the pigmentation isn't exactly the best. I got this eyeliner in Raisin Noir, which is just a regular black, and instead of the rich, intense black I was hoping for, I just got a dull black. The thing I really dislike the most about this eyeliner is that it tugs and pulls...a lot. Since I have hooded eyelids, I have a lot of extra skin on my eyelids, so tugging just means uneven application and having to hold my skin taut, which I dislike.
The smudger on the other end of this eyeliner is pretty much useless. I don't really like to smudge my eyeliner (I want the opposite effect, actually), but out of curiosity, I tried using the smudger, and it didn't really work because the staying power of the eyeliner is truly immense (it stays put)!
I got this eyeliner for $25.50 at the Lancome website (http://www.lancome-usa.com/), which, I must admit, is pretty pricey, considering that this isn't even a really good eyeliner.
Would I repurchase? No.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Honey87 on 1/5/2012 10:26:00 AM more reviews by Honey87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought mine in Indigo from Debenhams. It was in the sale for 7 pounds so I thought I'd give it a try. I ordered online and it came sealed but not in a box! I know this is a small detail but I cannot gift someone something that isn't boxed (if I wanted to gift). Anyway now onto the product - looks lovely but irritated my eyes and didn't last at all. I do not have asian eyelids so whoever is using that excuse below is being silly anyway. It just disappeared after half an hour. I expected more from a high end brand such as Lancome. My opinion is buy but only if significantly reduced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kumquat24 on 12/14/2011 7:42:00 PM more reviews by kumquat24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I ran out of mine and didn't have enough time to get a new one so I borrowed my friend's using a brush. I like it. It has nice pigmentation, dark black, REALLY good staying power (lasted after gym). I like it. I really reccomend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CemmaW on 11/21/2011 9:09:00 AM more reviews by CemmaW

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I HATE IT!

I got it in sample size so it's lot cheaper, still not worthy!

It smudges smudges and smudges! I draw a line on my not that oily lids, and in an hour time, the it's like 2 lines, it's transferred. IN AN HOUR ONLY!

Then there were times that I wanted to smudge with it. May all the gods and goddesses and angels on your side when you do that! It gets so hard to smudge, I used a Q-tip and I was like" I never knew a Q-tip can be a murder weapon" , you just end up in pain and the skin looks red. For the sake of your dear skin, don't smudge with this liner.

Now, it just lies somewhere inside my drawer and wait for me to throw it out one day when I clean my room.

Seriously, the Revlon ColorStay liner can do way better than this! Will I buy this again? Hell to the NO!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wai260896 on 11/15/2011 12:44:00 PM more reviews by wai260896

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

i have this in noir and its only a sample size. the colour isn't intense enough and it smudges very quickly. its one of my least liked eyeliners. would nor purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ChennyPenn on 11/9/2011 1:58:00 AM more reviews by ChennyPenn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My LEAST FAVORITE eyeliner of all time. Stung my eyes (nothing else has ever done this), and smudged and wore off in like an hour.

Caveat: I used this product at least 4 years ago. But unless they've drastically changed the formula, odds are I would still hate this product if I were to buy it tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melysaretsahana on 9/2/2011 9:50:00 PM more reviews by melysaretsahana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

As a khol, this crayon is not smudge much.it can be a fine eyeliner but very sharp pointed.I hate when buying a pencil or crayon while it's hard to get sharpen by some sharpener.That's why i choose Dior eyeliner better cause completely come with the sharpener and good blending tip.Fortunately, i got it the mini version by my lancome absolu voyage complete make up travel pallete, which is i got for free, so i don't have to buy the full version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ShyGSTGurl on 8/16/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by ShyGSTGurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got a mini version of this eyeliner in a sample gift set. I love love love the brown one! Its awesome for natural looks. Unfortunately it does not last on my top lid or waterline! Since I have oily lids the color gets imprinted on other parts of my eyelid after a few hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Eyeliner products