Clearasil • Vanishing Cream • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.6(153 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 lalaiamcool on 10/15/2012 7:09:00 PM more reviews by lalaiamcool

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I should have been wary of the 10% BP in this product...I'm an avid user of Neutrogena's Spot Treatment with 2.5% in it. I recently ran out of that one, which is my favorite, but I decided to venture out and get this Clearasil one. I have acne prone oily skin, and I've never considered to be sensitive, but this product irritated my skin quite a bit! It left red patches on the area of the pimple---I'm not sure if it even healed the pimple. I stopped using it immediately, realizing the effects of just how strong 10% BP really is. I'm going back to my Neutrogena one, and should have never EVER strayed. And so guys, BEWARE! It may have worked well for some of the reviewers here, but sadly for me it made my acne flareups even worse. The dry, reddish, and sometimes itchy patches that resulted from where I put this product managed to go away in about a week, with the help of an intensive moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashebrook on 8/12/2012 6:00:00 PM more reviews by ashebrook

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

To get the real benefit out of any product, you have to know how to use it. BP works best to prevent breakouts. If you use it consistently, you will be amazed at the improvement to your skin. The trick is to find what schedule works for you. I have been using clearasil for 30 years and this is how it works for me. Twice a day, I wash my face, apply toner, and then apply clearasil to the areas where I WOULD breakout. In other words, because of clearasil I DO NOT breakout. I pretty much always have clearasil on. About every five years, I decide I have finally reached an age where I do not need zit cream and stop using clearasil for a few days. Guess what, I am always wrong and end up going right back to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foamytea123 on 1/8/2012 2:03:00 AM more reviews by foamytea123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I admit I'm perfectly aware of the nefarious effects Benzoyl Peroxide has on the skin but decided to keep using it anyway because nothing else beats the crap out of those giant mofos that keep trying to appear during my ToM...well RetinA can probably give BP a run for its money being a pretty good zit & scar vanquisher in its own right without the negative aging effects of BP....but it's also quite a bit more expensive and usually requires a prescription.

I've tried a few acne spot treatments in the past::

DHC Acne Spot Therapy, Erzulie Oxygen Blemish Treatment, and Clean & Clear Persa-Gel. And in terms of LONG TERM effectiveness, Clearasil beats all these clear out of the water. The DHC & Erzulie only worked initially and decided to stop working after a couple of months. The Persal Gel- loved by some- and also as a user of BP doesn't quite work as well for me as Clearasil possibly because it's a gel and rubs right off my skin.

Like all acne spot treatment, this stuff works best when you start to feel that little mofo coming up. You only need a little bit of this to stuff cover the incipient zit and you need to apply it multiple times through out the day. Make sure not to apply too much and only apply it on the necessary area otherwise you are going to get disgusting dry and flakey skin.

For zits that are already doing a celebratory dance on your face, this stuff can help shrink them to an extent...but don't expect any miracles and in the end you're probably gonna have to squeeze the damn thing until it's bled dry.

For about 5-6 bucks at Target, the Vanishing Cream is a bargain and most importantly it works...if you don't mind BP.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 feelishbot on 1/5/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by feelishbot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Contains10% benzoyl peroxide in a white cream formula. It leaves an annoying white cast even after rubbing it in, so it's only practical for night use. Does a pretty good job of stopping emerging pimples (that sore red lump you can feel beneath your skin a day before a giant cystic pimple shows up) but not very effective on visible whiteheads. Directions say to scale up from once-a-day application to several times a day. But when I did, it caused peeling and mild sunburns even with daily SPF 30 sunscreen use. I'll keep this around for preventing those occasional cysts, but I would recommend diluting it with a moisturizer or using a product with a lower benzoyl peroxide % for everyday use on smaller blemishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 liladriana07 on 11/21/2011 8:34:00 PM more reviews by liladriana07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This works pretty well. It clears my troubled spots within a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DropsofRaine on 11/21/2011 11:28:00 AM more reviews by DropsofRaine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This single handedly ruined my skin. I started getting a hormonal breakout before a big day and picked up this cream at the drugstore to stop the breakout. It does stop the pimple in its tracks, but then the pimple just stays under the skin. It has been over a month and I now have 3 red/brown spots where i put the cream, on, and they are not fading away!! Since then i have had another pimple come out and i did NOT use the cream on it, and it faded away, so i know the red marks are from this cream. I'm really worried, as i have no idea how long these marks will be on my skin, but i just want them to go away.

My skin has had a reaction to one daytime-lotion previously, so i may have more sensetive skin than others, but if you have sensetive skin, maybe use it on one pimple, and see what happens, before putting it all over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DrZoidberg on 9/2/2011 1:40:00 AM more reviews by DrZoidberg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I get cystic acne in my chin and it's mostly under control with my birth control pill but I still get 1 or so a month. I find that this is one of the best zit killers out there. BHA (salacylic acid) doesn't seem to do much but this has different active ingredients: triclosan, sulfur and bentonite. It does dry my skin if I overapply - you don't need much and like others mentioned, this is best applied in thin layers. It is pleasant to use, is completely clear and doesn't smell. I took one mark off for packaging as it tends to collect in the cap... but aside from that, this is fantastic. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PrettyShimmery on 7/24/2011 4:07:00 PM more reviews by PrettyShimmery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This works like a charm for me. I've purchased probably about 4 tubes by now. It's a wonderful spot treatment that clears up pimples fast. I've also never have had any bad reactions to this. No, drying, peeling, redness whatsoever. It also controls oil in my t-zone which i love. It costs me about $5 at wal-mart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VickiiL on 6/30/2011 4:14:00 AM more reviews by VickiiL

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The bad:
Clearasil said that this cream was to "Vanish" once applied but NOTHING like that happened. The cream left a whitish powder on my skin and even when I smoothed it out you could still see the whitish outline of the area that it was applied to. It takes about 2 days for the pimple to get smaller and less red and about a week for it to be fully gone. A very strong smell too but that does not bother me as much as the white marks it leaves.

The good:
I would use this trick almost every night before I go to bed. I would squeeze a small amount of this and just smear it all over my T-zone, and because I'm not going out or anything even when it leaves a white mark I won't really care. It also controls oil...for a while. And because it dries up I don't have to worry about it getting on my clothes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aksinger on 4/28/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by aksinger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is absolutely the best! I had a horrible breakout like worst in a year... and this stuff cleared it right up. My face is nearly completely clear now, except for the red marks from the last breakout, but those are fading fast! The first few days using were kind of tough because it made my face very dry and caused some peeling and flaking and overall my face was red and dry.... But I used Cetaphil moisturizer to get through it and it was well worth it! Because my skin adjusted to it in 3 days and now it's radiant and almost a hundred percent clear! Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clearasil products

More Treatments (Face) products