Clearasil • Vanishing Cream • Treatments

rated 3.6(150 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 feelishbot on 1/5/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by feelishbot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Contains10% benzoyl peroxide in a white cream formula. It leaves an annoying white cast even after rubbing it in, so it's only practical for night use. Does a pretty good job of stopping emerging pimples (that sore red lump you can feel beneath your skin a day before a giant cystic pimple shows up) but not very effective on visible whiteheads. Directions say to scale up from once-a-day application to several times a day. But when I did, it caused peeling and mild sunburns even with daily SPF 30 sunscreen use. I'll keep this around for preventing those occasional cysts, but I would recommend diluting it with a moisturizer or using a product with a lower benzoyl peroxide % for everyday use on smaller blemishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 liladriana07 on 11/21/2011 8:34:00 PM more reviews by liladriana07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This works pretty well. It clears my troubled spots within a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DropsofRaine on 11/21/2011 11:28:00 AM more reviews by DropsofRaine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This single handedly ruined my skin. I started getting a hormonal breakout before a big day and picked up this cream at the drugstore to stop the breakout. It does stop the pimple in its tracks, but then the pimple just stays under the skin. It has been over a month and I now have 3 red/brown spots where i put the cream, on, and they are not fading away!! Since then i have had another pimple come out and i did NOT use the cream on it, and it faded away, so i know the red marks are from this cream. I'm really worried, as i have no idea how long these marks will be on my skin, but i just want them to go away.

My skin has had a reaction to one daytime-lotion previously, so i may have more sensetive skin than others, but if you have sensetive skin, maybe use it on one pimple, and see what happens, before putting it all over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DrZoidberg on 9/2/2011 1:40:00 AM more reviews by DrZoidberg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I get cystic acne in my chin and it's mostly under control with my birth control pill but I still get 1 or so a month. I find that this is one of the best zit killers out there. BHA (salacylic acid) doesn't seem to do much but this has different active ingredients: triclosan, sulfur and bentonite. It does dry my skin if I overapply - you don't need much and like others mentioned, this is best applied in thin layers. It is pleasant to use, is completely clear and doesn't smell. I took one mark off for packaging as it tends to collect in the cap... but aside from that, this is fantastic. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PrettyShimmery on 7/24/2011 4:07:00 PM more reviews by PrettyShimmery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This works like a charm for me. I've purchased probably about 4 tubes by now. It's a wonderful spot treatment that clears up pimples fast. I've also never have had any bad reactions to this. No, drying, peeling, redness whatsoever. It also controls oil in my t-zone which i love. It costs me about $5 at wal-mart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VickiiL on 6/30/2011 4:14:00 AM more reviews by VickiiL

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The bad:
Clearasil said that this cream was to "Vanish" once applied but NOTHING like that happened. The cream left a whitish powder on my skin and even when I smoothed it out you could still see the whitish outline of the area that it was applied to. It takes about 2 days for the pimple to get smaller and less red and about a week for it to be fully gone. A very strong smell too but that does not bother me as much as the white marks it leaves.

The good:
I would use this trick almost every night before I go to bed. I would squeeze a small amount of this and just smear it all over my T-zone, and because I'm not going out or anything even when it leaves a white mark I won't really care. It also controls oil...for a while. And because it dries up I don't have to worry about it getting on my clothes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aksinger on 4/28/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by aksinger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is absolutely the best! I had a horrible breakout like worst in a year... and this stuff cleared it right up. My face is nearly completely clear now, except for the red marks from the last breakout, but those are fading fast! The first few days using were kind of tough because it made my face very dry and caused some peeling and flaking and overall my face was red and dry.... But I used Cetaphil moisturizer to get through it and it was well worth it! Because my skin adjusted to it in 3 days and now it's radiant and almost a hundred percent clear! Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Makeover718 on 3/7/2011 1:41:00 PM more reviews by Makeover718

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

HORRIBLE PRODUCT!!
The only reason i bought this was because of the high ratings on MakeupAlley. This ruined my skin and was the worst thing i tried!!!!!!
my skin is so much more worse! i would never even imagin a product could do such a thing to me :(:( i just want to cry!
Heres a tip for all you people unsure about this product. DONT buy it! theres still a 50/50 chance it could NOT work on your skin so dont take a risk! i took that risk and learn from my experience because i regret this the most! your skin is better off without this product then with you messing around with your skin. Take my word for it ladies or else you'll regret it! go to page 10 and read all the BAD REVIEWS so you get a better idea of how many people regret this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beachytabbyanne on 2/19/2011 1:05:00 AM more reviews by beachytabbyanne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this at the advice of my nail technician. I had it for awhile, but never really used it. She said to apply it in thin layers at night, and I started doing so and my skin has never been clearer! I updated my skincare regimen, with this included. Just be careful when applying it, I put it on my chest/neck, and it burned my skin. It's made for your face, and not sensitive areas (like around eyes). Also make sure you use a good moisturizer with it, and make sure you use a deep cleanser to clear out the gunk it leaves behind!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janicatthedisco on 9/10/2010 9:30:00 PM more reviews by janicatthedisco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

AMAZING product.

I felt it working a mere twenty minutes after applying.
Excellent for large or blister-y zits.
Very smooth, creamy, and gentle.
No vulgar smell!
It works like magic. Zits feel smaller in very little time.
Prevents breakouts very effectively.
With any of my rare breakouts, it works terrifically. It takes two or three days maximum for my skin damage to vanish. For small zits, only one day of use completely diminishes them.

Tips:

~ Read the directions. It does say that less is more; one thin layer is best.
~ Feel free to mix and match with other products and brands. I use a variety of brands for my skin care and none of them react badly with Clearasil.
~ Apply to the back of neck. Works wonders.
~ Apply several times a day. It takes a lot of this product to make your skin dry, in my experience.
~ Apply after rinsing face with room temperature water for best results.
~ Wear overnight, even if your skin is looking clear! Prevents stuff very well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clearasil products

More Treatments products