Clinique • Different Lipstick - Surprise • Lipstick

rated 4.5(43 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 toastyfrenchy on 5/23/2007 1:02:00 PM more reviews by toastyfrenchy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot believe I have not already written a review for this l/s, as I've been wearing it for going on 6 years now! This is my absolute favorite, go-to l/s for any occasion.....any season.....any outfit.....etc. etc. If I could have one l/s in the world, this would be it. I love Clinique's formulas, especially the Different Lipstick....natural, weightless feel; slight gloss; not a hint of taste or smell; and beautiful packaging to boot! I have pale, neutral skin, dark hair and very dark brows, and hazel green eyes. This l/s complements me perfectly, every time! I consider it the perfect "red" color, with hints of purple, burgundy, and bronze.....just gorgeous.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Charma22 on 12/28/2006 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Charma22

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color a lot. This is actually very similiar to Nars Kiss l/s, except that Clinique's is more "greasy." Clinique's color also needs to be buildable b/c it's a part of their Different L/S line. The color is a bronzy brown w/ a hint of purple. I like to use this w/ their Rootbeer quickliner, which is also similiar to Nars Spicy l/l. The color and the price are good, but i enjoy Nars semi-matte l/s in Kiss better b/c of the wear and the coverage. But, if you like more of a light texture on the lips that has a slight shine, then give this a go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adornedwithgrace on 5/7/2006 3:16:00 PM more reviews by adornedwithgrace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Looks like a brown/bronze in the tube, but "surprises" you with a shimmer of burgundy/red tones on. I bought this when I had a Clinique makeover and wanted some new colors. It's a great color, but since it's a little darker than what I usually like, I reserve it for nighttime or those "dress up" occassions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zoey on 4/1/2006 1:31:00 AM more reviews by zoey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I chose this color at the Clinique counter as a "spur-of-the-moment-trying-to-meet-the-GWP minimum" purchase. I was pleasantly surprised by this color! Like it's name, this color is so multi-faceted that it is a surprise what you'll get, depending on not just your skin tone, but also the dominant color(s) you are wearing. On my NC35 tone, it shows up as a burgundy/brown/slight copper. But when I wear brown, the brown is more dominant; when I wear burgundy, the burgundy is more dominant (you get the picture). This looks fantastic topped with Clinique's Impossibly Glossy lipgloss in Cream Soda. I usually wear this color for power-meetings at work, because it makes me look polished and sophisticated. This is a multi-faceted color that I would normally expect MAC to sell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemis16 on 10/6/2005 5:09:00 AM more reviews by artemis16

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have to add my amazement at this colour. As most people said, it looks like an intense bronze with lots of shimmer on the stick but you need to try it as it looks nothing like that on the lips. On my pale lips, it looks mauvey/plummy with slightly metallic shimmer. I think different undertones will come out depending on what you're wearing. Will most likely wear it in the evenings or on brighter days. In the dull London light, it looks a bit dull (hee) on me, due to my pale but slighly warm complexion (NW20). By the way, this is not available in the UK, but I have found it in GWP form on UK site, paid less than 4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MarleyPugh on 9/13/2005 6:20:00 PM more reviews by MarleyPugh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

What a unique and beautiful color! I'm not even sure how to describe it, as I'd imagine it would look different on everyone. On me, it's a mauveish or plummy bronze- not overpowering, but definately striking. I love it! HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hkgrl71 on 7/5/2005 9:04:00 AM more reviews by hkgrl71

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a free sample many years ago, and at first I thought it made my lips look too plum, so I set it aside. When I read all the other MUA reviews recently, I decided to go back and give it another shot. Surprisingly (hee), it looked much better this time, probably due to the lighting. It gives my lips a plum-mish/bronze/slightly metallic look. I'll be using it mainly for evening occasions, as it has a more elegant look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shortgirl on 5/27/2005 12:29:00 AM more reviews by shortgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

in my opinion surprise fits its name perfectly. i agree this is a complex color and difficult for me to describe. on my lips its bronze with a hint of plum and gold shimmer. what i like about this color is that the gold shimmer is only visible in certain lights. its a creamy and longwearing lipstick, but i don't know if it would fit all skin tones. in certain lighting i'll catch a glimpse of it and orange undertones are visible, which is why i make sure i have enough color or blush on my face to counteract any undertones that my be too warm for my complexion. it is a beautiful color and very unique. its even more striking with gloss on top of it. i'd definitely repurchase this beautiful shade again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 5/25/2005 5:06:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First off: I don't like Clinique's packaging. I don't think the caps click shut securely. However, this lipstick is quite nice. As others have said below, it's an elegant, complex, shimmery mauve-plum-bronze with a touch of brown. Quite sophisticated and flattering to my pale-warm Asian complexion. But I think this is neutral enough that it can 'go' with a lot of different complexions and makeup combos. The formula is smooth, creamy and lightweight. No scent or taste. I foresee myself wearing this a lot once autumn rolls around again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahbella1012 on 3/21/2005 12:13:00 PM more reviews by sarahbella1012

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

There's not much to say about Surprise that has not been written! I was looking for a replacement for my MAC "O" - my favorite, when I developed an allergy to MAC lip products. I pulled this out of my reserves, it had been a GWP and it is very similar and beautiful for day or night against my NW20 skin. Clinique categorizes it as a neutral. It is bronze, plum and gold all in one with a very lightweight feel. Lasting power is decent and no smell. I am keeping this one close at all times!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products