Fancl • Fancl Sunguard spf 30 • Sunscreen

rated 3.9(64 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunnyisland on 5/14/2010 12:34:00 AM more reviews by sunnyisland

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love Fancl's sunscreen. It's a white liquid, very light weight, absolutely not greasy at all and doesn't show an awkward whitish hue after applying like many non chemical sunblocks. I also like that it doesn't leave a sticky feel on my skin and doesn't feel like I've applied anything on my skin at all. I also like that it doesn't contain chemicals that irritate my skin. This is my favourite sunblock and I'll definitely continue to buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 altessa on 4/14/2010 3:36:00 AM more reviews by altessa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Just got this over the weekend and recently started using it.

Fancl Sunguard is not greasy, has good absorption, and is a physical sunblock with TiO and ZnO. As I am not out in the sun all day, SPF 30 is more than enough for me. I also like that it is for both face and body, so I use the same product for my exposed arms and legs as well.

When first applied, it seems to sit on the skin for awhile and has a bit of a whitecast. However once absorbed, skin feels only slightly moisturised and not too dry. I wear foundation over this to take an edge off the whitecast, but sometimes just go without because it isn't that noticeable anyway.

All in all a good sunblock which I will buy again because I love how Fancl products are free of preservatives. I also love how all Fancl products come with a little sticker you can stick on your bottle to note down the date you opened it and the date it expires. Small details, but extremely useful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cutevoila on 3/30/2010 1:27:00 AM more reviews by cutevoila

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I love this sunscreen! It's my HG sunscreen so far, after trying a lot of other sunscreens.

FANCL sunguard uses mineral filters, which are perfect for sensitive skin and eyes like mine (yes, my eyes get red and teary whenever I put on sunscreen with chemical filters, even when I don't put near eyes area).

The UVB/UVA protection is also quite good, considering the high percentage of zinc dioxide in it. Unfortunately, it does not cover the longest of UVA length.

Texture wise, it's quite nice as it's very liquid and spread easily. It's not drying which is a big plus for me, but also not oily. There's slight white cast with this suncreen but I actually like it as it's brightening my face but not too much whitish.

It's also preservative-free, alcohol-free and didn't create any problem for my skin. But do make sure you clean it thoroughly as it's waterproof. I cleanse it with a good cleansing oil so that's not a problem.

One downside is the time needed for it to completely dry up / sink into my skin. I stay in a tropical country but use aircon indoor, and this sunscreen need around 10 minutes to completely sink in.

Nevertheless, I will keep buying it until I find something better (I've been using bottles of this :) )

Thumbs up to FANCL!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lorac29 on 1/2/2010 7:35:00 PM more reviews by lorac29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty good sunblock. It's watery so it doesn't feel sticky when you put it on. It feels comfortable and does the job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 porcaq on 10/19/2009 1:22:00 AM more reviews by porcaq

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like the light texture of this sunblock, probably one of the lightest for a water-resistant sunblock of its SPF rating. And the price is affordable (It is around SGD45 for a 60ml bottle). It doesn't leave a greasy film on your face and it spreads well with just a little amount. Also, you cannot apply too much in one go as there will be white flakes in areas such as the hairline if you don't spread it well.

However, I would say it works well only if you are not doing sports or tend to perspire much. Despite its water-resistant properties, it left white spots of perspiration on my face when I was playing tennis in the morning sun. I could also see white streaks on my arm and leg areas (I applied the sunblock to the whole body too). For the hassle required to remove this sunblock (you really need a makeup remover for the face!), its poor water-resistant properties is a disappointment.

So even though I like Fancl products in general, this is one I am undecided about re-purchasing unless I only use it for normal daily use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloechan88 on 9/26/2009 2:27:00 AM more reviews by chloechan88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for a month and I quite like it. I break out quite seriously recently and I have to change my skin care products to those very natural ones. Fancl is always my #1 choice and I'm so glad that I chose this sunscreen. Yes, it's quite sticky and hard to blend out. It will also leave your face ghost white when your face is really dry and it needs to be clean up with some good quality cleansing oil. But it really protect my skin from getting darker in summer and it neither makes me break out nor irritates my sensitive skin. Anyways, I highly recommend it to those who don't wanna get dark during summer and those who have sensitive skin like me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 angel220fish on 7/26/2009 8:16:00 PM more reviews by angel220fish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The one I have is crystal pearl edition. It was given as a gift from my aunt so I don't know the price. However, Fancl products in Asia is often more affordable than the American online shop.

I appreciate the fact that they were thoughtful enough to put some whitening substance into this because after smothering it on my face, I was at least a shade paler than I am during summer time. However, this is not true whitening, I felt that I had put on some powder with glitter all over my face. I do not want to look shimmy nor do I want to look paler than I wanted to be. During application, the glitter was all over my hands, and the things that I touched afterward. Hand-washing may get rid of some, but not all of it.
Even after letting the sunscreen set into my face, I still feel a powdery layer on my face, and I even broke out a little here and there the next day when I had those long days (out the door 9a and won't hit the bathroom to wash my face till 9pm).
For those hoping to see your natural skin color, I would not consider this product. I also would not use this if you decide to work out with a sunscreen.
You have to shake this before using, meaning the whatever is in the product, it separates over time. is it oil? is it the glitter? or the whitening substance? I have no idea, and I did not enjoy using this product in general overall. I rather prefer other sunscreens I have used like Neutrogena ultra sheer and Anessa town use milky sunscreen.
Anywho, I decided to give this a 3 rating because it is, afterall, a sunscreen of 30 spf pa +++. If it at least is able to do the minimum, I thought it deserves to be average.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yukichan3488 on 7/14/2009 10:57:00 PM more reviews by yukichan3488

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After one year of using LRP Fluide Extreme, I've decided to return to physical sunscreens. This time, I thought I'd give Fancl a shot.


As for sunscreen application, I give this ss a 3. It's hard to apply the full 1/4 teaspoon on my face without a slight white cast which is typical of all physical ss. It is also very sticky once applied but it sinks in after a while (FYI: If you've tried American sunscreen like Banana Boat, Fancl Sunguard should feel great on your face. Also, Fancl Sunguard is very water resistant (after rising my hands I could still feel it sticking to my skin).


I gave an overall score of 4 because for an all physical sunscreen, it has a *high ppd rating of 11.2 on Ciba (according to the 12% ZnO and 6% TiO2 information posted here).


This ppd rating fits my needs as a user because I don't intend to stay out for long periods in the sun. If that was the case, I'd probably stick to LRP.


Before buying, I suggest you try this out. For samples, try going to bobodave.com. A sample bottle costs $0.72 (shipping not included).


*I say that it's high because for most of the all physical ss formulations I've come across this seems to be the highest ppd rating yet.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gilliantng on 7/12/2009 3:53:00 AM more reviews by gilliantng

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this is an OK sunscreen, but i really like the pearl edition that only gets released once a year during summer - it gives a very nice shimmer to your powder.

the consistency is not as watery, and it can be a little sticky after application but give it some time and it will dry up.

my skin cant take something that is too oily, so this is not one of the items on my books that i will repurchase for sure..i'm in between minds on this but decided to say no to repurchasing as there are probably other brands that will work just as well (i.e. neutrogena).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brend on 7/8/2009 11:44:00 AM more reviews by brend

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I had high hopes for this sunscreen after reading all the good reviews, but I was disappointed - I did not notice a white cast, but it was shiny AND sticky! The stickiness meant applying foundation was out of the question, and loose powder did little to tone down the shine. I've been using this as a body sunscreen - I usually just use drugstore sunscreen for my arms and legs because the finish doesn't matter much in those areas, but considering the price of the Sunguard, it makes for a very expensive body sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fancl products

More Sunscreen products