Rusk • Str8 • Styling Products

rated 2.9(74 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* simi531 on 8/24/2010 9:32:00 AM more reviews by simi531

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Picked this up at Marshalls a few weeks ago to try something new. I have frizzy wavy sort of curly hair that I blow dry with a round brush. I dont like to wear it stick straight, but smooth and wavy. I dont use this on its own, so I cant just review it like that, but with other products (paul mitchell skinny serum and balm) it seem to do the trick. Some other straightening creams make my hair too soft and it sort of looks limp. This kept the body and fullness at my roots without weighing my hair down which I have found if i only use the PM super skinny line on its own. This probably wont work for people with really coarse frizzy hair because it is not smoothing enough. I like it b/c it keeps body and smoothness. It does seem to dry out my ends a little, but nothing a rinse out and conditioner doesnt remedy.
EDIT: gave it to a friend of mine. Was making my hair a little too sticky - i probably was using too much, but either way it seemed to dry out my hair after a while and my hair is too damaged to deal with that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lonetabby on 7/23/2010 7:35:00 PM more reviews by lonetabby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Not a bad straightening product - a lotion keeps my hair from being frizzy or greasy way better than any of the oils (CHI for example).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xDOLLFACEx on 3/14/2010 3:11:00 PM more reviews by xDOLLFACEx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hate this stuff. doesn't help straighten hair at all. It made my hair dry and brittle feeling. I had to re wet my badly straightened hair and start all over again cuz this stuff made it feel nasty. iv only used it about 2 times and feel bad about wasting a full bottle, but this stuff really is that lame, cant use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maxmommy2 on 10/27/2009 11:19:00 PM more reviews by maxmommy2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of those products that was "ahead of its time" when it was introduced years ago...and now it's a mystery why it's still being produced when there are so many better, and cheaper, products at the drugstore. I think I remember using this in high school, but I borrowed some of my mom's the other day and it made my hair dry, dull, and not very straight. It was pretty awful. RUSK either needs to update the formula or stop making it--this should be retired to the Land of Things From 1995.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lextasy on 9/20/2009 11:42:00 AM more reviews by lextasy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't believe this product doesn't have a better rating! My hairdresser told me to get a straightening lotion to blow dry my hair with. First I was using a cheap brand and didn't notice a SINGLE difference from it.

Then I switched to Rusk Str8 because I wasn't happy and figured maybe if I went with something a bit more high-end it would do the trick. It REALLY works. Definitely makes it easier to straighten your hair while blowdrying. However, I have thin, fine-textured hair to begin with. But my hair dries wavy and frizzy when I don't do anything with it, so it either needs straightening or a scrunching mousse. I can't just let it dry on its own and have it look nice.

I don't think it's horribly expensive--it's not cheap like a drugstore brand, but it's also not expensive like Chi or other brands. It's kind of middle of the line in terms of price so I think that's fine. Plus, I only use a dollop about the size of a nickel and the bottle has lasted me FOREVER. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a nice scent--if you smell the stuff out of the container it smells like plastic or something. But scented products usually have alcohol in them and can be drying anyway, so, whatever. It doesn't give my hair itself a bad scent in any way. The only way you would notice the scent is if you smelled it straight out of the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kryssimarie on 6/2/2009 1:49:00 PM more reviews by kryssimarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I use Str8 with Rusk Thick before I blow out my hair, and the combination of both products is amazing for my coarse hair! I use the Str8 second because it smells absolutely delicious. Only a little product is needed, and concentrate in on the ends. Rusk is the best line of haircare I have yet to find. It's better than the entire lines of Matrix, Redken, Bedhead (just the styling products though, bedhead shampoo = amazing), Joico, and Nexxus. I have never truly been happy with my hair until now. Buy some!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joyelle on 1/17/2009 4:41:00 PM more reviews by joyelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this on impulse when I was at my local drugstore. I have never bought Rusk products and thought I would give it a try. Well, most importantly, this has to be the absolute worst smelling product I have ever bought. It is so strong and pungent that it is sickening - it is sort of like a pungent, sour, sandalwood-ish scent. I hoped the scent would dissipate, but it did not. I actually tossed this because I could never use something that smelled like this. It didn't actually work well either - it was drying and took the natural shine from my hair. It retails for $10.95 for 6 oz. IIRC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 patsgirl321 on 8/10/2008 2:32:00 PM more reviews by patsgirl321

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Another RUSK product that stinks... .Even my hair stylist refuses to carry RUSK at her upscale hair salon in NYC... their products are horrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iuhooch625 on 6/12/2008 10:50:00 AM more reviews by iuhooch625

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was an impulse buy and a waste of money. It doesn't help much with straightening, which is what it's supposed to do. But at the very least I expected it to add some smoothness and softness - but it's horrible. It made my hair look very dull and dry. Don't bother with this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ng76 on 3/28/2008 1:55:00 PM more reviews by ng76

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like this stuff alot! It gets my hair really straight. It feels like there is a coating over my hair when I use it..but that doesn't really bother me, it works great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rusk products

More Styling Products products