New York Color • Browser • Brows

rated 4.0(188 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lavenderwig on 11/8/2012 12:08:00 AM more reviews by lavenderwig

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

bought this a little bit ago, been using it every day. i always have to fill because penciling in hairs is never gonna happen. i have been complimented on my brows way before i even thought about filling in the sparse areas though (which would be the little horizontal rectangles at the bridge of your nose). tonight i decided that as long as i just keep my brows tweezed, i don't need to worry about this right now. going to return it as soon as is convenient for me. wax part was nice, i liked to use some on my lashes like a primer. the color part surprised me, as did the brush. if you mess up, like make any part too dark, you pretty much can just erase it away. i don't know how anyone with black brow hairs would be able to make little hairs as the directions suggest. didn't like the container or the tweezers in the slightest, but because you literally have to put the brush in the middle of the tweezer part if you want to carry them both in, i'm gonna keep the tweezers. only someone that knows tweezers are in there would know that they're missing because your only free space is a small slit. i already got my great quilted/diamond-pattern revlon tweezers but whatever, i'm like that. sure someone else would like this. i chose this over the milani brow kit because at least this brown color looked close to my brunette hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pelini on 9/18/2012 12:07:00 AM more reviews by pelini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I found the powder to be way too pigmented which makes it very easy to mess up. The wax, on the other hand, is way too sticky. The draw out packaging is somewhat complicated too. I would recommend trying E.L.F if you are looking for a cheap brow kit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laluna82 on 9/5/2012 10:43:00 PM more reviews by laluna82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

As a novice to eyebrow makeup, I had tried every drugstore eye pencil imagineable and was about to give up on finding a natural brow filler until I stumbled upon this inexpensive little kit. The brow powder is very buildable and natural looking as long as you do not overdo it. Here are a few tips to make this kit work for you:

1. Applying a base coat of wax will make the powder darker and more dramatic looking. A good thing for me because my natural brows are almost black and the powder by itself is just a little too light for me.

2. Apply the wax with a finger. This will provide better coverage and prevent cross-contamination between the wax and powder.

3. After dipping the brush in the powder, tap off the excess. I didn't do the first time, and got a cloudful of powder in my eyes. It looked like I'd lost a round with Rocky Balboa.

There are a few drawbacks, but not enough to deter me from re-purchasing. The wax is too soft to hold brows in place, but it gives the powder something to stick to. Also, the packaging isn't the greatest. The pan for the tweezers and brush could be a little deeper. It is so shallow that sometimes I have trouble closing the lid over the tools.

Unlike some others here, I didn't have any trouble with the tweezers and brush. The brush is just the right size for extending my brow line (the main reason I bought this kit). And the tweezers are actually high quality for the price, better than my full-sized Revlon tweezers. The slant tip is also very smooth, meaning that you're less likely to cut into your skin or damage a follicle when plucking stubborn brow hairs.

All in all, this is a good buy--very inexpensive, lots of features, and long-lasting, too!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 akmoore on 5/9/2012 12:39:00 PM more reviews by akmoore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great value! I tossed the mini brush and I use an eco tools angled brush or MAC 266. Depending on how bold of a brow I'm aiming for, I sometimes use another matte eyeshadow I have on hand with the gel instead of the brunette colour in the kit (couldn't find it in blond). I'm considering treating myself to the Anastasia kit come birthday time but it feels totally frivolous because this works just fine.

Pros:
Great matte powder
Price $4
Little tweezers
Super portable

Cons:
The brow gel is a little slick and shiny. Does a more matte gel exist?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kcm765 on 4/19/2012 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Kcm765

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is absolutely my HG brow kit. I don't use the brush, but the tweezers are super handy to have around. I really don't have anything bad to say about this kit, I really love it! And the price is unreal (I think I got it on sale for less than $4!!) The powder and wax kit makes it so much easier to achieve the perfect brow, especially compared to the pencil I used to use. The shade is quite a bit darker than what I was used to, but I'm really enjoying the full strong brow look! Thanks to this kit, I'm so vain about my brows! I think the kit will last me forever too, I've used it religiously for over a month and haven't even made a dint in it! I'm in love with the product and would recommend it to any brunettes who want rocking good brows!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amanda23 on 1/25/2012 5:30:00 PM more reviews by amanda23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is surprisingly pigmented for being such a cheap product. I even have to dab some on my hand before I apply, otherwise it would look way too harsh. I would buy this again if I was trying to pinch my pennies. Actually, I probably won't need to repurchase as I feel that this will last me a long time. I always feel a twinge of guilt buying their products as I am told they still test on animals so I tend to keep away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tightkitty on 1/16/2012 6:10:00 PM more reviews by tightkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I love this brow kit!! It comes with everything you need like OMG!! I have this on brunette.It comes with a powder, wax, a little brush, and even some really cute tiny slanted tweezers,the package is great for on the go and with the tweezers I can pull out a stray hair whenever. The powder is smooth and soft and applies really well, while the wax holds hairs in place. Somedays I just use the wax to keeps my side brow hair in line mostly since mine try to curl slightly, and with just the wax my brows still looked better. I use the powder VERY sparingly it's very pigmented and its no joke, you only need a little. I prob had this for 3 years since the powder is soo pigmented you only need a dab. The powder goes on a lot darker than it seems but that works for me since my brows are naturally dark brown, as long as i go easy on the powder it fills mine in perfectly! I would on recommend this for gals that have dark brows already not light brown or anything..this is more like a dark chocolate shade. A very good product and for the price i will def buy again. I actually ran out of it and realized even more what a great product it is and I need to get another one and that's what sparked my reviewUPDATE I went and purchased one at rite side since NYC is 40% there and it was 2 bucks and some change!!!!! Im so happy I love this. I'm surprised!! The little tweezers work well for me and I even use the small brush cause I like it's denseness and its the perfect size for the side of my brow. I love this little set

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cindy604 on 12/28/2011 6:59:00 PM more reviews by cindy604

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Update: I haven't changed the rating or repurchase decision, but I won't be repurchasing upon finishing the current tin (which took about 2 years, believe it or not). It's nothing against the product, but I wish they made it in a lighter brown as the wax+powder combo gives a perfect dark brown for brunettes - it's just that now, I'd like something even lighter to brighten up my face and potentially match an even lighter colour. I will always keep a little box of this around, though, for the less adventurous days, and will always recommend to friends!


--------------------------------------


This is easily the best brow product I've come across for an affordable price. There is no fuss and no extra frills which is great. I find the multi-palette brow powders unnecessary for me. The wax is colourless and the colour covers all brunettes easily. Unfortunately, the blonde colour has been long discontinued.


I find pencils generally too unnatural and difficult to blend, and waxes and gels too dependent on having eyebrows in the first place. The combination of wax and powder is perfect for me as my brows are existent but sparse, tailing off to almost no hairs at the very ends. I used to only use the powder which draws a beautiful brown shade on the skin. The wax makes the powder darker and more dramatic - I've begun using it since I realized it can still be natural with a light hand. It grooms the stray hairs in place. The powder stays true and doesn't rub off once it's set after about 5 minutes following application. The colour will fade a little after 8 hours of wear in areas where there are no hairs, but it doesn't completely disappear. I also have oily skin and am prone to touching my face.


I didn't like the little brush it came with and re-used a Wet-n-Wild brow brush. The ecotools eyeliner brush would definitely be sufficient for the job. I've dropped the compact before with no consequences (i.e. shattered powders), and I've never had it open spontaneously in a makeup bag. It is a little shaky, but overall sturdy. You can't beat the price tag of $4 CAD, especially considering I have yet to need to repurchase and it has been over a year of daily use. Also, New York Color is cruelty-free!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 counting1234 on 7/4/2011 12:46:00 PM more reviews by counting1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is great stuff. Inexpensive, durable, and the colors are perfect. I use brunette and the color is the perfect brown, not too dark and not RED like many others. The powder is silky and goes on great with the brush the package includes. The twizers are useful as well, though I don't care much for the wax. My only complaint is that for whatever reason I can't find this locally anymore, at least not in the places I used to buy it so I have to buy it online. I thought for some time that it may have been discontinued but I'm thankful it has not.

I take extremely good care of my eyebrows because if they are not perfect my whole face looks unfinished and this powder helps me achieve a great result. I get compliments on my eyebrows all the time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaxel on 3/21/2011 11:40:00 PM more reviews by kaxel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think I've been spending too much time on MUA because I'm becoming obsessed with products that I really have no need for. This one being a case in point. I have thick dark brows that I tweeze religiously. I was curious about the "wax" in this kit and whether it would be more effective than the brow gel I typically use. I can't speak to whether this kit works well if you actually have light or sparse brows that need filling in. I tried using the wax with the accompanying brush, as well as with a MAC brow brush I have. It did not work very well. The best part of this kit is the cute mini tweezers. They actually work surprisingly well and, after one too many business trips where I forgot to pack my tweezers and ended up looking like Andy Rooney after a couple days, I have stuck these in my travel bag permanently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Brows products