Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1060 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 12/14/2014 2:31:00 PM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm a big believer in spending the extra money on base products (concealer, foundation, powder) and yes, Giorgio Armani is big bucks. ($60 CAD)
The major complaint is the colouring system and finding an appropriate match. I agree that GA's colouring system needs improving as it's rather scattered and not straightforward or logical. I took one lipstick off because of this.
I'm NC30/C3 (Asian) and 5.75 is the right match for me. YMMV on the colour selection though.

The formula is very silky and it does meld into my skin to give me that 'my skin but better' look. I hate heavy bases or looking like I'm wearing foundation and I love the natural, polished look it gives me. If I want more coverage, I can layer it but if you're needing full coverage, the Luminous Silk won't fit that bill.

I think this foundation is best suited for normal to slightly combo skin types that aren't too dry or too oily. For normal to slightly oily skin types, this foundation maybe a bit emollient and requiring extra touch ups.
I prefer to use this foundation during the winter when my skin is on the normal to slightly dry side. It lasts for most of the day on me with just a touch up required at mid day and I always get compliments when I wear this foundation.

I like the pump bottle too. There is alcohol in the list of ingredients but I don't notice any scent and my skin is okay with this formula.

I recommend this foundation if you like a natural finish, don't mind the hefty price tag and can find a colour match.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lizc0002 on 12/14/2014 1:53:00 PM more reviews by Lizc0002

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I received this at Sephora after having the color matching done. Took home a very plentiful sample and it is fabulous. I am 45 and have combination skin as well as aging concerns. This is fabulous, color match is spot on (if you are having issues, get the color match done at Sephora) it lasts all day and does not make my t-zone shiny and at the same time does not accentuate any fine lines. Will purchase full size once i run out of test product I was given to take home and use. (I rated the packaging as 3 since I could not leave a review without it, but I honestly do not know)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lashaye16 on 12/12/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by Lashaye16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I decided I needed a high end foundation for nights out on the town or date night. I also wanted something that provided a little bit more coverage than my urban decay naked foundation. I haven't heard or seen one bad review on this foundation to I decided to bite the bullet and go buy it. I usually wear my makeup from 5am til about 430pm. And I absolutely hate touching up makeup at work. I wore this today for the first time I washed my face, applied my moisturizer allowed that to set into my skin. Then I applied my makeup forever primer allowed that to settle into my skin as well. Then I applied this foundation with a brush I purchased from Marshalls. Horrible move on my mind you get what you pay for that brush left me so streaky. And I only used it because my other brushes weren't dry from being washed. Sorry that's besides the point. But so far I am still loving this foundation feels very light weight. I like foundations that feel light, and don't contain SPF. I wear 9.0 in the urban decay foundation and I was matched NC50 for mac but that's too dark for me. In the face & body foundation I am C7 which is a perfect shade just not enough coverage. I am also in the shade #9 in this foundation as well. It matches perfectly. Since it is so pricey I won't be using it everyday. I am hoping I am able to blend this using my ELF powder brush or my beauty blender. I couldn't get this to blend to save my life and I would say I used a dime size amount. Took it back on the hunt for that perfect foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jessitanner on 12/11/2014 1:46:00 PM more reviews by jessitanner

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pros
- Color match is ok/average. Not the best, not the worst. I am #3.75, although I imagine I could also try the lighter shade. I am not very satisfied with the color match though.
- Isn't drying/doesn't feel bad on the skin (comparing this directly to the foundation I was using previously the MakeUpForever Matte, which is very drying/matte)
- Finish is alright - not dewy to the point that if you have oily skin you can't use it, but also not as drying as matte foundations can sometimes be

Cons
- Coverage is not the greatest
- Not very long lasting

Overall an average foundation in my experience. Not the best, not the worst. I am on the fence about it. But I am just not crazy about this foundation. I would recommend you try it for yourself. I personally would not buy this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DL78 on 12/10/2014 2:36:00 PM more reviews by DL78

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Words cannot describe how much I love this foundation! Have tried all the usual suspects - Laura Mercier silk creme, nars sheer glow, Illamasqua skin base, Dior Airflash etc and non even compare to this! I have oily skin and find that I am shining like a disco ball after a few hours of wearing other foundations. Not so with this! It is a medium coverage foundation with a lovely dewy finish. Really really love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TKhamvongsa on 12/8/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by TKhamvongsa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Received a sample of this. Was interested in purchasing but the foundation just didn't work with my skin. I have dry sensitive acne prone skin (normal to oily t-zone)

As soon as I applied this, the foundation accentuated flakes and made the texture of my skin look worse... It also accentuated my face hairs.. Not sure how that worked but it did. Just didn't look good at all. I moisturized twice and primed my face prior to foundation application so the foundation had more than enough moisture to work with. The shade match was good; 5.75. BUT the foundation does have alcohol listed in the ingredients which could be drying.

I'm glad I didn't purchase the full size product. I do see this working for normal to oily skin.

For reference: NC25-30, MUFE F&B 32, Dior Star 021 Linen, YSL TE BD50, Chanel Vitalumiere 010

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sadafmb on 12/2/2014 10:00:00 AM more reviews by sadafmb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    


I just love this foundation. It looks very natural and yet gives me the coverage I need. After a long difficult search for the perfect foundation, I have finally found the right one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angie897 on 11/28/2014 11:01:00 AM more reviews by angie897

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been wearing this foundation for almost a year now. Here is what I have noticed about it:
-Color selection is very confusing, it took me a few visits to find the right shade. I have a light to medium skin tone and I have settled on 5.25 which has reddish undertones. I tried 5.5 and it looked fantastic upon application but oxidized to a very dark brown which looked awful. I also tried 5.75 which is too golden.
-Is not made for people with oily skin- only dry/normal otherwise it is too glossy because it is very moisturizing
-Medium/full coverage, lasts all day
-Will NOT cause breakouts (one of the few liquid foundations with no pore clogging ingredients)
-After a few hours it can oxidize leaving your skin with a slight yellow/red/brown undertone depending on the shade you buy
-Looks gorgeous in photographs

I have tried a zillion different foundations because I have sensitive skin and am prone to breakouts and I love this one. It would be perfect if there was no oxidation, but I have settled for now as the pros outweigh the cons.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 melkate on 11/27/2014 1:32:00 AM more reviews by melkate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favourite foundation so far. Glides on, medium coverage, as the name suggests makes my skin look silly soft. However product is very expensive so I try not to use it daily. It is also one of very few foundations that don't cause breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Therealmina on 11/20/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by Therealmina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this foundation however I couldn't find my shade properly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products