Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.9

1087 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER CYCLOPENTASILOXANE GLYCERIN ISODODECANE ALCOHOL POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE HEXYL LAURATE DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE PHENOXYETHANOL ACETYLATED GLYCOL STEARATE MAGNESIUM SULFATE ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE TRISTEARIN CELLULOSE GUM NYLON-12 LIMONENE BENZYL SALICYLATE LINALOOL DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER PARFUM / FRAGRANCE DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE METHYLPARABEN BUTYLPARABEN BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is without a doubt an amazing foundation. The price is pretty steep, but once you try this foundation you will understand. I love it because it's blends to seamlessly into my skin giving medium to full coverage and a natural luminosity. You can't tell you're wearing foundation. It Just looks like you have beautiful skin! It's my fall back foundation because it is very good for my sensitive acne prone skin and doesn't irritate it In the least. The shade range is also incredible so you'll be able to find a match. The only reason why its not perfect is because of the lasting power. It doesn't last a great amount of time and I do get oily after a couple hours.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 3/24/2015 7:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Do not rate this foundation at all, i was so disappointed.

The colour is nice (#2 which is similar to an ivory shade). Far too expensive, can get much better for less. Watched so many reviews on this and checked on here but it is basically just coloured water, if you are after a light coverage this will be for you but if you are after full coverage I would not recommend.

I do feel like I wasted my money buying this product but everyone has different experiences. Was really hoping this would be a HG foundation but it is not :( I think if you had flawless skin no imperfections to hide it would look nice and leave a great finish but for someone who suffers with spots I was not impressed by the coverage. Staying power seems pretty good, used my HG MAC primer and loose powder. Just unfortunately not what I expected. Bottle is lovely though looks great. I'm sure this would be great for some but unfortunately not for me!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2015 9:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. The texture is so smooth and very silky. This foundation gives medium with luminous finished as it claim. I bought mine in shade 5.75 great match. This line come in lots of colors selection which is super for all skin tones. The only con is $62 before taxed but worth every pennies. Yes as long as this foundation still in the market I will buy this again. It hard to find a great product especially great foundation. Worth the hype great job Giorgio Armani. Thumb up. This will be my love in winter months. The summer and fall will Hourglass Immaculate liquid powder foundation.


on 3/18/2015 10:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love this foundation! Feels so lightweight on the skin and doesn't feel like i'm wearing anything (as cliche as that sounds it's so true) when i touch my skin it just feels like my skin and not powdery. It isnt shiny at all, it looks like you have amazing skin. I would recommend this product to all skin types, even oily! If you use a matte primer it would be fine throughout the day. This is not 'DEWY' foundation, it makes you look slightly dewy but has a satin feel to it.
I have the shade #6, apparently the whole numbers are more neutral tones, and the .5's are warmer shades. It is slightly darker than my skin tone which i prefer because i usually wear tan under my foundation, but with the shade #6 i don't have to do that. I blend it down onto my neck and it has the same type of look. It basically looks like my skin but fresher, and slightly more tan :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2015 12:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'll start off by saying I accidentally purchased the wrong shade but decided to keep it anyways since I bought it out of town at Nordstrom. I'm normally around NC35, light/medium with quite heavy yellow undertones in my skin. I bought this is 5.25 by accident which is the correct darkness but has heavy reddish undertones. I ended up correcting the colour with yellow food colouring (I know ahh! Not preferable and sounds sketchy but its working for me).

I have combo skin and I find that worn without primer it has a very slightly dewy finish. With primer, (obvs more so with a mattifying primer) it is almost matte. The consistency is on the thicker side, it's not heavy but it's not a runny liquid. I would say this is a medium coverage foundation. If you have redness it will even things out but you will probably still need a touch of concealer.

I get shiny very easily and without primer the staying power is average as long as you set it with a powder (a must if you have oily skin). I usually wear it with primer and powder to make sure it lasts.

Again I wouldn't say this foundation is heavy, more that it's on the thicker side compared to a runny formula. For normal skin and oily skin I would say it's quite moisturising but if you have flakey dry areas and if you use too much product/don't blend it out well it will be noticeable.

Overall I like this foundation and would buy it again in the right shade! For comparison I find it blends smoother than MAC pro longwear, it's thicker but more moisturising than say L'oreal true match, and it's heavier than a lightweight formula but lasts longer. I didn't give it a full rating though because even though it's good, I think it could and should be better considering it's like $70 CAD. Price is not justified when you've got other foundations out there for less that can compete with it.

Also I have mild acne and it's never aggravated that or broken me out. If you don't mind the price I would recommend it. For dry skin make sure you moisturise and exfoliate flakey areas and for oily skin primer is a must.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2015 4:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hmm, got a sample at sephora and am thinking of splurging on this foundation. The finish is very natural - slightly luminous but not shiny. The colour seems quite nice - I tried 5.5 colour, I'm a light/medium skin tone Asian with black hair, brown eyes, and fairly neutral skin tone.

Just the price is quite hefty at $65. Not sure if it is worth the price, I don't usually spend so much on cosmetics. I did buy the l'oreal true match Lumi as an alternate in the meantime after seeing the 2 products test comparisons on you tube. The second choice only costed $22 at shoppers drug mart (reg price). I like the finish on this product as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I honestly have mixed feelings about this foundation some aspects of it I really loved such as the 'glow from within' it gave to my skin! However, I think I may be slightly too oily for this as it just doesn't last on me. I think if you have dry/very dry skin then it could work for you. Also wish this came in one or two shades lighter!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2015 8:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this foundation, its is a splurge item, but it is gorgeous on the skin. Medium coverage and great wear! Looks wonderful in photos. So easy to blend! A++

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2015 3:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really love this foundation. I have a very very oily nose and very combo skin with flakey dry patches elsewhere. Every foundation goes oily on my nose at some stage. Powdered and primed - same result. LS doesn't. It sets completely and does not shine at all. Foundation has a very satin finish that looks beautiful on the skin. Thin formula with light to medium coverage and easily build able. The packaging is lovely. Colour match is perfect. I'm neutral toned and my match is neither yellow or pink. Very happy and would absolutely repurchase. Only con is the price, $92 in Aus, bloody rip off.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2015 3:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this foundation for a couple of reasons: 1. It goes on very sheer and dewy as everyone else has mentioned, and 2. You can build it up.
I tried for a while to persuade myself to buy the Dior Forever Foundation instead because I thought the packaging looked better and of course, it was cheaper. However, after trying both, I really loved the Armani one. I put my makeup on after I wash my face in the morning, but my face is always super dry regardless of how much moisturizer I use, so this foundation sort of flakes on my skin. But other than that, the color options are great and it's very lightweight. I sometimes forget I'm even wearing it, but it feels very smooth on the face.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Glitter Makeup Tutorial by Only Wafa



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

49 reviews
Back to Top