Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(995 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 ilali on 3/8/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by ilali

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

THE FORMULA:
Firstly, this is a good pick for DRY SKIN, not recommended for oily skin whatsoever. LIGHT MEDIUM to BUILDABLE coverage. This foundation is runny, but not so runny that it becomes difficult to apply. It is water based so it does not have an emollient like consistecy, however it is good for dry skin. LOOKS BEAUTIFULLY LUMINOUS WHEN FIRST APPLIED. I was going through a period of very dry flakey skin when I purchased this foundation to wear at my sisters wedding. It applied very well without catching onto the dry patches, but I did apply a very rich night cream the day before the wedding to ensure that my makeup does not cling to my dry skin. Overall the formula is GOOD but at $90 Australian Dollars I had expected it to be faultless.

THE COLOR RANGE:
Giorgio Armani uses a very odd numbering system (4, 5, 5.75, 6, 6.5, 7 ect) and is very confusing because the numbers do not necessary indicate the darkness of the shades in ascending order. I found shade 5 to be darker than shade 6. There is also no particular order for undertones. For instances, 5 is pink, 6 is yellow, 6.5 is reddish, 7 is pink. It is best to head to the counter and get a professional colormatch. Mine was spot on, I am SHADE 6.5 and for reference I wear STROMBOLI in Nars Sheer Glow NC35-40 in Mac Studio Tech and TAWNY in Estee Lauder Double Wear.

APPLICATION:
I applied this with a BEAUTYBLENDER. Because I have dry skin this was the best option for me. Ideally it should be buffed into the skin with a Kabuki if your skin can tolerate it. I would not recommend applying this with your fingers simply because this will result in a very sheer application.

STAYING POWER:
This foundation is definitely not long wearing. It will start to fade in the T-zone and breakdown after 5 HOURS MAX

THE VERDICT:
I will not buy this again mainly due to poor staying power and $90 AUD price tag!!!!

Check out my blog for more info and pics: http://arwaselixir.blogspot.com.au/

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Scrumpets on 3/6/2014 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Scrumpets

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation. I'm 40 & have very few lines although my skin is quite dry due to facial treatments. The base colour is more beige rather than pink/yellow like mac, which is perfect for my skin. This foundation is medium coverage although you can build on it or use concealer with it. It gives a lovely luminous dewy finish. U can easily make it matte with a powder. Ive tried all foundations & This is definitely the best!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Julip9 on 3/5/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by Julip9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the most fantastic foundation for people with normal to dry skin, and also it suits forty years plus, as well as younger skins. The shades are brilliant I wear MAC NW25 and 5.25 just blends to nothing, the best match I have ever had. It wears all through a work day without touch up, but that is on normal, dry skin. Definitely re purchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gwmagic77 on 3/4/2014 7:45:00 AM more reviews by gwmagic77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wow great foundation and covers large pores flawlessly. Looks great in photos

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Camille14 on 2/23/2014 9:49:00 AM more reviews by Camille14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I usually use MAC Match Master but thought I'd give this one a try because I heard great things about it. The packaging was okay but I just don't think this foundation is suitable for those with dark skin. To be honest on application it feels a little bit too runny which isn't great for those with oily skin. Once I had finished applying it, there was a strong red undertone to it and it just made my complexion look really dull, so quite far removed from luminous. Even if it cost 10 I still wouldn't buy it, especially as most of my friends said to stick with MAC as this product is just not flattering for darker skin tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 waffles85 on 2/21/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by waffles85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this foundation. It doesn't break me out, I got an almost perfect match to my tan-brown skin, it does not oxidize, it blends superbly, and a little goes a long way. I have combo skin but I still like matte-dewy mix foundations... and this gives me just that for the first few hours, after which I start to get shiny in my t zone... nothing a little blotting won't solve. I wear it on all my makeup tutorials on youtube so check it out if you wanna see it in action :)





2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amsmua on 2/19/2014 8:08:00 PM more reviews by amsmua

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ls221 on 2/18/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by ls221

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product was so expensive, however, it did last a very long time (about 6 months). It was the perfect foundation, until after the fifth month of usage, it turned color on me. It may have been my weird skin tone, but it was very disappointing. Also, in order to get the full effect of the foundation, the brush must be purchased with it. And it is almost as expensive as the foundation. I use the brush now for various other products like CC cream and mousse like foundations; so it wasn't a complete loss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kblimm on 2/17/2014 1:13:00 AM more reviews by kblimm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very natural looking. I like to use this foundation in the winter when I need more coverage due to my lack of sunshine!! I use my fingers to apply it, and it goes on pretty smoothly and evenly. It lasts throughout my work day, and I feel as though this foundation gives my skin a more fresh and polished look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angel1uk on 2/16/2014 3:25:00 PM more reviews by Angel1uk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this foundation over the internet believe it or not and guessed my shade after reading reviews here! So I'm usually NC37 and I have 6.5 in this. This is definitely one of the most natural looking foundations I have ever had and took some getting used to as I was using mac studio fix before this which is a lot heavier. I found that the mac foundation just sat on top of my skin and often my hubby would say my face looks powdery. After switching to this foundation my skin is so smooth looking and it does not accentuate dry patches. It is a bit tricky to apply and I would say this is sheer to medium coverage at a push. I have learnt the best way to apply thus is one layer all over face and if heavier coverage is needed then apply extra on top when dry. I use the nars white setting powder with this. My once large pores are no longer visible and my greasy oily face is no longer greasy or shiny in fact I don't even need to blot throught out the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products