Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1031 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Misszeeb on 8/16/2014 2:56:00 AM more reviews by Misszeeb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The best foundation I have ever used... And I have tried many. I have combination skin and find it doesn't go dry, oily or oxidise on my skin - great medium coverage that lasts all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CCbirdie on 8/13/2014 4:22:00 AM more reviews by CCbirdie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My HG foundation for sure. I've used this for about 3-4 years now and it is still hands down the best foundation I have used. It leaves a lovely, even dewy sheen to the skin and covers beautifully and gives me a glowing complexion. I mix two colours to get the perfect tone for my skin.
It's certainly not cheap (and I try and get every last drop out of the bottle!), but for the moment I'm happy to fork out for it because I love it so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PlusCelsius on 8/12/2014 1:55:00 PM more reviews by PlusCelsius

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Golden rule to remember when purchasing a department brand foundation: obtain a SAMPLE in different colors before making any commitment with your purse. Let it be known that I don't trust the lovely reps behind the counters analyzing my color and texture. I received three color samples of this foundation to last me five days in each color. I wear sunscreen and allow it to absorb into the skin before applying makeup. The active ingredient ( i.e. titanium dioxide) in some sunscreens can alter the color of your foundation.

I am neither oily or dry, you can say that I have combination skin. I'm exposed to humidity when outdoors and cool, dry air conditioned air when indoors. This formula is sheer and disappeared within a couple of hours. Perhaps the price justification to this foundation is based on its formula to magically disappear within the allocated time frame of two hours. It left behind a shine as a farewell parting gift. All three samples (recommended by the reps) did not match my skin color. One color sample managed to make me look like I was playing with mud. Fellow purchasers with dryer skin looking for sheer coverage may benefit with Luminous Silk foundation, if they don't mind the short effects under humid conditions. I did purchase the Armani foundation brush. This brush blends very well with sheer formulas but I do not recommend it with thicker formulas, unless you enjoy contending with the never disappearing streaks. Hope this review helps.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 midwestgrrl on 8/12/2014 10:54:00 AM more reviews by midwestgrrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had essentially sworn off foundation for years and years until I went to have a wedding makeup trial and the makeup artist used this product. I purchased it immediately and though the price pinched initially, I in no way regret purchasing it and would happily do so again. I realize I am in part paying for the "designer" name, but this foundation is worth it to me. It is a perfect match for my skin (I use shade 3) and provides coverage that, honestly, I didn't know was possible for me.

I have combination skin and this product strikes a good balance for me. It stays on all day and doesn't seem to transfer very much at all. I don't usually need to set it with powder until much later in the day/early evening, if I need more staying power or a touch-up. I use a flat-top brush to apply and blend this into my skin and go over it with my fingers if need be. I find it very easy to blend and two pumps gives me plenty of coverage. I've received several compliments on my makeup since I began wearing this - no one seems to think i look more made-up, just brighter and more put-together.

For reference, I've tried everything from That Gal! primer alone, Physicians Formula mineral foundation, UD Naked Beauty Balm and L'Oreal BB cream to MAC and NARS powder foundations and this is the first thing I've found that doesn't seriously bum me out in some way. I liked the L'Oreal BB for general, light coverage but this is far and away a better fit for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 astridbrisson on 8/12/2014 10:18:00 AM more reviews by astridbrisson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Best foundation yet! Great colour selection, photographs nicely. Gives you a beautiful glow, Lightweight yet decent coverage, doesn't oxidise, stays put all day. Great for your kit and personal use

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 raevon on 8/11/2014 2:09:00 PM more reviews by raevon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

FAB FAB FAB.
Light weight
Beautiful colour match
No horrible smell
Literallly feels like silk
Medium coverage - great with real techniques foundation brush
No breakouts
Classy packaging
- Bit over priced, 30 would have been suffice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PlanetAmour on 8/10/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by PlanetAmour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my most favorite foundation ever. It is so natural, doesn't oxidize, doesn't offend my skin, and lasts all day with a primer. The downside is it is expensive and comes in a limited range of shades. I'm an NW20-25 in Mac and wear a 4.75 in Armani. I think I got lucky that the shades do match me. It's a medium coverage foundation and dewey. Not everyone cares for that. I do not see this foundation working out well for people with oily skin. Please note most people who like this foundation are late 20's and up. It is not a teenager foundation. It is great for those who have I guess combination skin. It doesn't sink into any lines and covers any redness and unevenness. Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation is very similar, with the similar limited range of shade issue (I wear Vanille).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tanny1 on 7/29/2014 6:32:00 PM more reviews by tanny1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Gives you no coverage whatsoever not for us oily monsters. If you have perfect skin with minimal flaws this could be the one for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sweetheart5703 on 7/23/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by sweetheart5703

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I tried a few samples of this with high hopes, I think the color matches but to me this seemed like a CC cream almost. It didn't look bad but I wore it all day inside my house on a weekend without really doing anything that day and I became very shiny and overall I didn't like it. I did however like the texture and it blends very well, but the overall look for me just didn't work out. I think from what I have seen this foundation is beautiful on tan skinned girls. I am very fair skinned with freckles, my freckles came right through.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nathaliez on 7/22/2014 5:26:00 PM more reviews by nathaliez

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Ok I wasn't impressed by it, first the color 030 is very peachy yellow, so wrong color for me, secondly, it disappears fast on the skin, and it is a bit flat, for a luminous foundation, there is little luminosity..it feels like an invisible foundation ...so for me, no, I have found better..for those who like a foundation that isn't there , it will work, past the high price...I don't like the texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products