Avon • Soft Musk • Fragrances

rated 3.5(43 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 JenJenofAz on 8/21/2010 4:52:00 PM more reviews by JenJenofAz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this for an everyday scent. Quite soft, almost like Night Magic, but softer and less complex. I really don't get much musk. It's mostly a powdery floral, with just a hint of musk. NOT harsh at all. I can't see anyone overdoing this. Not a bad scent from Avon. I also don't get "OLD LADY". It's actually something nice for everyone and I wouldn't mind smelling it on others. I think I'm sensitive to strong odors and maybe that's why I do WELL with these scents that are powdery and light. I also don't think this smells cheap, even though it is from Avon. I do think Avon comes out with some wonderful things and NOT so wonderful things, but that's true with just about everything anyway.
Also, someone mentioned that it's close to the Body Shop's Musk. Well, not on me. This is actually MUCH nicer as it's much more feminine because it is powdery.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 polly1 on 6/11/2010 6:18:00 PM more reviews by polly1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like it but don't love it , well I like it enough to have bought a couple of times and the body spray a few more ( handy to keep in the office desk drawer and soo cheap on offer )

The EDT is better than the body spray as it is a little less powdery smelling . It is just twice too much powder , I can't imagine how powdery the Soft Musk body powder smells.....Yikes!!

I do like powder, I love Chanel No 5 , L'aimant , Baby Grace , Kenzo Flower, and Old Spice which all have their fair share of powder to them . But this , it is just that notch too powdery.

Starts off evil surgical spirit Dettol smelling for a couple of seconds and then a white musk with baby powder starts , which is too strong even if I use a normal amount , not overloading or anything .

Than an hour later 95% is gone , but what is left is so clean but warm musky and powdery. Really nice I wish there was more of this scent stage it's is beautiful on the skin . And this little that is left really stays ( particularly on fabric ) til the next shower.

So a lovely unique scent that is generally too strong , followed by too weak .
Try the original Old Spice for a better balanced , though less lasting version .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurenmf on 6/1/2010 10:44:00 AM more reviews by laurenmf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a nostalgic scent to me. I really like it. It smells really classic and clean. I don't get the "old lady" thing that everyone gets from musks - I don't know a single old lady that smells like this. The lasting power is great and I can still smell it at night after putting it on in the morning. It's not something I wear everyday, but whenever I smell it, it puts a smile on my face.
Update: I HAVE been wearing this everyday and I'm kind of addicted!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxxPikadoodlexxx on 3/15/2009 1:07:00 PM more reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I ALWAYS have a bottle of this around the house. I love musk scents, and so far this is one of my two favorites (next to Bonne Bell Skin Musk). It goes on heavy, so you have to use a light hand but it mellows out after about an hour. This scent has fantastic staying power. I rarely have to reapply. Not to mention over the years I have gotten more compliments on this fragrance than I have all of my other fragrances combined. It's a great fragrance to layer with. It blends well with almost all of my other perfumes, except the fruity scents. No one has complained about it smelling like an old lady, although I do know a few old ladies who do wear this perfume and have for years which is probably why many make that association. I'll continue to wear this perfume regularly as long as Avon keeps making it. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maraschino_cherry on 10/18/2008 3:23:00 AM more reviews by maraschino_cherry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I only have the Soft Musk body spray, so am basing my review on that. Avon Soft Musk smells almost exactly the same as The Body Shop White Musk, yet people see Soft Musk as an old lady scent while they see White Musk as young and fresh. I think it's because Avon itself is commonly seen as an "old woman's" brand. I admit, I wouldn't usually give Avon a second glance. I still wouldn't. But Soft Musk is a nice scent. I used to smell this when I was a kid. I smelt it on women in church and on mums when they would pick their children up from primary school. I would always wonder what scent it was. I used to think of it as a "soft spearmint" scent when I was younger, there were no other words I knew of that could describe the smell. However, I didn't know about the existence of musk back then. Now that I've discovered the musk note these women were wearing all those years ago, I'm comforted by it. But the association I have with all musks, TBS or Avon, makes me think "motherly woman" no matter what the brand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MorningGlory45 on 9/22/2008 7:21:00 PM more reviews by MorningGlory45

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This smells lovely..very light, clean, fresh..Sadly it doesn't last long at ALL. Comes off after only 30 minutes or so :(

It's pretty expensive (to me) for something that has no lasting power also..and the bottle is a simple glass bottle but rather bulky and awkward.

If only this lasted longer it would be perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tess35 on 7/23/2008 10:02:00 AM more reviews by Tess35

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the first thing that comes to my mind when someone mentions Avon. Someone gave this to me as a present when I turned 18 (retro lol!) and this is the scent that I will never need reminding of, it's etched in my mind and just by being reminded of it feels so good. The first and the only scent I wear during my university days. It is musky and powdery and very very clean. Evokes a lot of good memories to me, just like the green-bottled (TM) Cologne. I suspect that my love for musky scent is being cultivated by this baby. For this reason, I will search and purchase this musk again and I am rating it with full five lippies.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckylouie on 3/5/2008 3:14:00 AM more reviews by luckylouie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This smells exactly like a new plastic doll. You know the smell you get when you take a new Barbie out of its box. Maybe that's why it's remained so popular. It has good memories for many people. I never played with dolls, so to me it just smells cheap, plastic and fake. I want animal musk, warm, deep and slightly dirty. This is safe musk.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 selcanayca on 1/17/2008 9:47:00 AM more reviews by selcanayca

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used to wear this parfume when i was in university, it is so clear, like baby scent. but it wasn't lasting. you should refresh it again and again...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ladyspace1972 on 1/6/2008 10:37:00 AM more reviews by ladyspace1972

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This one is just ok. There is nothing special about it. It's good to wear during the day, as it is soft and inoffensive, but I doubt I will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avon products

More Fragrances products