Kerastase • Bain Satin 2 Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.8(166 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smootsa on 10/19/2012 10:43:00 PM more reviews by smootsa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i love this shampoo - the luxurious smell that lasts for days, the softness, the lovely clean feeling, the whole package ... apart from the price ;-) it's an occasional treat, and as such i haven't had any of the problems some regular users seem to have had. i'll keep buying this one as long as they make it :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 monib9 on 10/17/2012 8:10:00 AM more reviews by monib9

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo is great if you dont want or need volume and you dont have your hair coloured. I used it for years until i realised it was washing my colour out ! Also i needed to wash my hair every day which i thought was normal until i tried tigi colour combat shampoo and that kept my colour and didnt make it greasy. Dont buy it because its expensive and must be good try other cheaper brands first, im really happy with tigi now howeer i do use it with kerastase thermique conditioner and that does do a great job!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blondedame on 9/30/2012 12:25:00 PM more reviews by blondedame

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It's good, not great. I agree with the person below that it's a good brand to use once in awhile, but not continuously. My hair lacked a certain "oomf" with this, but it IS a safe shampoo that I know will never really fail me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 myrtoula12 on 9/25/2012 8:15:00 AM more reviews by myrtoula12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

very nice shampoo, nice texture and nice scent. One of the best products of kerastase. Yet continuous use did left me some residue. my personal opinion is that all products of kerastase are not good for condinuous use, you need to change them, with others every wash or two washes. I wouldnt buy again probably, because i did find out that my hair reacts so much better in sulfate free shampoos. OO and dont forget to mention that this shampoo does not help dyed hair to hold their color at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MarieSuisse on 8/23/2012 7:26:00 AM more reviews by MarieSuisse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

All Kerastase cost a fortune here in Russia, but i can tell you that it's totally worth every penny I spent on it! I am in love with the smell of this shampoo, and it gives my hair softness and makes it look healthy. Generally, my hair's condition is closer to normal, but it gets dry at the ends, and this shampoo plus the conditioner from the same nutritive line do a great job with fixing this problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Noellephant1988 on 5/8/2012 11:18:00 PM more reviews by Noellephant1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I see a lot of mixed feelings on this product. As a stylist in a Kerastase salon I thought i might offer some advice.
I see a lot of people saying that this doesnt lather well, and that they need to add more shampoo. You should actually do the opposite and add more water, which will help you emulsify and preserve your shampoo so you're not wastings handfuls. I use about a quarter size of my kerastase and I have long hair. if you use a lot of styling product and/or dont wash everyday, acheiving a rich lather may be challenging at first because there is more oil and buildup for the shampoo to desolve. Sometimes I will use a little Bumble and Bumble Gentle at my roots to desolve most of my product buildup then rinse and use a nickel to quarter size of my kerastase.
Also, Bain satin 2 is not superduper moisturizing. it is for normal to dry hair. If you color treat, thermal style, ect, you probably need more moisture than this, Look into Nutri thermique, the reflection line, or the resistance line

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kmw1 on 1/31/2012 6:03:00 PM more reviews by kmw1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used this shampoo along with the Lait Vital for maybe 2 years. At first I loved it, my hair felt so silky and airy. But, I noticed if I went a day in between washings my hair felt dry and dirty. I also noticed that if I used this shampoo for more than 2 weeks without switching up, my hair would feel straw-like even as I was washing it! My hair started falling out in clumps in the shower and my scalp often itched. I never made the connection that it could have been this shampoo. I finally realized that it was loaded with silicones and it was ruining my hair. The dryness was from the silicone build up and I'm sure it was contributing to my hair loss. I have since changed to a premium plant based shampoo and conditioner and what a difference! My hair stays cleaner longer, no more dryness, no more excessive hair loss and no itchy scalp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sharreb on 11/21/2011 7:40:00 AM more reviews by sharreb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was waiting for that miracle thg to happen with my hair. Previously used kerastase oleo curl and was great but when i switch back to straight hair i switch to this and what a hot mess! clumping upon use and after drying still clumping/some tangles. it weighed my hair down- gets oily really quickly and after one week of used i had to quit as it started giving scalp problems to me.Game over and have since gave this shampoo to someone with exceptionally dry damaged hair

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilacpriest on 9/24/2011 2:37:00 PM more reviews by lilacpriest

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am nearly through with an 8.5oz bottle of Bain Satin 2. I have long, thick, straight (with body), partially highlighted hair. Normal hair but ends can get dry. I found the Bain 2 line to be just ok. I had used Bain Oleo Relax shampoo as a house guest, and I loved what it did to my hair. It made shiny, smooth, full and soft. Deciding I was a Kerastase convert, I did a bunch of research on Kerastase's site and on MUA, I thought Bain Satin 2 would be the best match and bought my first bottle. This formula left my hair a bit dry and with far less shine. I love the smell. Overall, it's a good shampoo, but it's just not for my hair type. Today, I used Bain Miroir 1 for the first time. I meant to buy Bain Miroir 2, but I figured I'd give 1 a try. So far, very shiny and smooth. Once I've used Miroir a bit more, I'll be sure to write a review. I may have already found my HG in Bain Oleo Relax, but I figured I'd shop around first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frenchie_cutay on 9/20/2011 1:56:00 AM more reviews by frenchie_cutay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I just got this today and haven't used it yet but I must say this has got to be the weirdest rated product I've ever seen on MUA...one AWESOME, next TERRIBLE, then HG! then another shocking report...will update in two weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kerastase products

More Shampoo products