OPI Natural Nail Base Coat

3.8

91 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Ethyl Acetate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Tosylamide Formaldehyde Resin, Polyvinyl Butyral, Nitrocellulose, Camphor, Benzophenone 1, Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Protein, Keratin Amino Acids, D&C Red 33


on 1/7/2014 9:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Wow, I wish I had checked MUA for reviews on this beforehand. Terrible base coat. I had a beautiful manicure but within 2-3 days, it started chipping and peeling horribly! I had high hopes for this due to its brand but it was a fail. There are better options out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/30/2013 9:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is not a good basecoat if you were looking to fill ridges or smooth your nails out, its far too thin for that. Haven't noticed any manicure benefits from using this. Would not use again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2013 7:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this base coat. It prevents staining, my nails look as if I have never painted them even if I used dark colours or paint them a lot (I haven't gone without nail colour in almost a year). I have no issues with chipping. I also like the fact that it gives my nails a pink-ish tint at first because then I know if I covered my whole nails. I also like that it's fast drying and the brush applies evenly in one or two strokes. I definitely recommend this one.


on 8/29/2013 3:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Hate it. It's absolutely terrible. I gave it two lippies since it does prevent staining and dries very quickly, but IT MAKES MY NAIL POLISH PEEL OFF. Within a DAY, it will start to lift off at the ends and PEEL. It just comes right off. My nail polish last longer WITHOUT this base coat. It was from opi, so i definately expected better. Will NOT repurchase

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2013 8:00:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I use this just as clear polish. It's very high gloss, and has a nice, wide brush. It started to chip in 2 or 3 days, peeling off in chunks in less than a week. Very disappointing for the brand name and the price.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2013 2:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It's like most nail base coats, but I fine it last a long time and gives you a nice natural look. I do recommend this product. I like it.


on 8/13/2013 4:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've tried so many base/top coat combos & they never work. This base coat is made for natural nails & of course the OPI brush is the best! Using this with one of my fave top coats INM Out The Door I get a good few days with lil tip wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2013 12:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've got same problem as some of others, this base coat turns to create small bubbles and makes the application extremely frustrating. Also it doesn't last long like other OPI polishes, it became thick and sticky in the end and makes it even harder to apply. Now I have to give it up.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm sorry to bring down the ratings on this one, but I have gone through almost a full bottle of this stuff and will not be repurchasing. Yes, this base coat seems to prevent staining quite well and it dries very quickly, but that's only half of what a base coat should do. This does not extend the wear of my nail polish at all; in fact, it makes my polish peel off (rather than chip). This doesn't happen nearly as quickly or often when I'm not wearing the base coat. I don't know why, but it just doesn't bond to my nails very well at all. Also, while it can apply smoothly, I always get one or two nails that it bubbles on, creating an uneven canvas for my colour. I really wanted to love this base coat because I think OPI makes such good products, I love their brushes, and they don't test on animals, but this one is just a miss for me.
In my experience, matte, translucent base coats are much better at filling in ridges, bonding to my nails, and making my colour last than shiny transparent ones like this. When I finish this up I am going to get one like that; I seem to remember Cutex making a good one years ago, so I'll check them out again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/25/2012 10:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love this! Dries super quickly, makes my polish last, makes a nice even coat whether I use a thin or thick layer. Hasn't gotten thick over time either.




Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

75 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

72 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top