OPI • Natural Nail Base Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 3.8(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AJ6488 on 4/30/2013 12:37:00 PM more reviews by AJ6488

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've got same problem as some of others, this base coat turns to create small bubbles and makes the application extremely frustrating. Also it doesn't last long like other OPI polishes, it became thick and sticky in the end and makes it even harder to apply. Now I have to give it up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimplePleasures on 1/6/2013 9:45:00 PM more reviews by SimplePleasures

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm sorry to bring down the ratings on this one, but I have gone through almost a full bottle of this stuff and will not be repurchasing. Yes, this base coat seems to prevent staining quite well and it dries very quickly, but that's only half of what a base coat should do. This does not extend the wear of my nail polish at all; in fact, it makes my polish peel off (rather than chip). This doesn't happen nearly as quickly or often when I'm not wearing the base coat. I don't know why, but it just doesn't bond to my nails very well at all. Also, while it can apply smoothly, I always get one or two nails that it bubbles on, creating an uneven canvas for my colour. I really wanted to love this base coat because I think OPI makes such good products, I love their brushes, and they don't test on animals, but this one is just a miss for me.
In my experience, matte, translucent base coats are much better at filling in ridges, bonding to my nails, and making my colour last than shiny transparent ones like this. When I finish this up I am going to get one like that; I seem to remember Cutex making a good one years ago, so I'll check them out again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rc630 on 12/25/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by rc630

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this! Dries super quickly, makes my polish last, makes a nice even coat whether I use a thin or thick layer. Hasn't gotten thick over time either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 11/15/2012 5:38:00 PM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great base coat. It goes on smoothly and evenly, and dries pretty quickly. OPI never lets me down! This is a must buy for a quick and efficient base coat! I would def. recommend. I'm almost out of mine..I need to buy some more!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettykitty80 on 11/4/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by prettykitty80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only just started using this, so I probably shouldn't really review it yet, but I thought I'd at least note my initial thoughts.
I got this quite cheap, $12.95 AU. Not sure what base coats cost here but as a guide OPI polishes are $19.95 AU.
I've never used a proper base coat before, if I used one at all I'd use Nail Envy or something similar and I always found them a bit thick, and sometimes made my polish chip or interfered with it adhering. Most of the time I get the best wear out of my polish with no basecoat at all!
This is nice and thin and dried very quickly, which I like a lot. It's tinted pink but dries clear. The pink actually helps me see where I've put it, which I like. I did have some minor bubbling in my polish, but I suspect that was more about the polish than the base coat- it was OPI In my back pocket, which I think needs a drop or two of thinner.
The experiment continues!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theskyoflove on 10/20/2012 3:31:00 AM more reviews by theskyoflove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty decent base coat. It applies well and it dries very fast, unlike the top coat. It was the first higher end base coat I've purchased, and it does work better than drugstore base coats, since it actually prevents staining, which is something that really frustrates me about low-quality base coats. It isn't the most amazing product I've used, but it gets the job done. I just purchased the Essie First Base Base Coat today, so I plan on trying that out and comparing it to the OPI base coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Haco on 10/3/2012 5:40:00 AM more reviews by Haco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I keep buying this. 4 or 5 times. it dries fast, smooth, thin, nice brush.
it gets gloppy when it's 2/3 is done, but i'm ok.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aiglon on 5/16/2012 11:30:00 AM more reviews by Aiglon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this base coat for a long time now and I'm still very pleased with it. It's easy to spread and it dries in no time. The base coat itself is slightly pink but that doesn't really show up on my nails. Even when I'm not wearing any colours, I still use this base coat because it has a nice shine to it. I do have to say that sometimes my nails get a bit yellow, but only a little bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 paradoxia1234 on 5/5/2012 4:40:00 AM more reviews by paradoxia1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

When i first got this i loved it , but now almost a year later i figured out it causes ugly white marks on my nails , possibly because it adheres so hard to the nail that it causes the surface of the nail to chip off with the polish . I will be looking for another base coat that is compatible with my opi nail polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilacShine9 on 5/3/2012 9:39:00 PM more reviews by LilacShine9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this base coat for over a year and it's still my favorite. It applies easily, smooth, dries fast, and has a tiny bit of a pink tone. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Top/Base Coats products