NARS • Shanghai Express • Lipstick

rated 4.3(51 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 avmanion on 5/4/2010 3:52:00 AM more reviews by avmanion

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great red for warm or golden skin tones. I tried it in the store next to Fire Down Below and Red Lizard. Red Lizard went fuschia and Fire Down Below turned very brown, but Shanghai Express came out perfectly red. It's a darker, classic red, so even though the color is strong it isn't very bright. If you're after an old Hollywood look or a mid-century retro Madmen look then this is a good color. If you want something brighter, more candy-colored 80's, then I think Heatwave is probably the way to go (for warm skin tones).

I find that it's really tough to find reds that work for people with warm undertones, so Nars range of reds is nice. I didn't really like the reds that MAC had to offer-too blue or not neutral or warm enough or something. Chanel's red tend kind of blue too I feel.

As far as texture, it is very matte, no shine at all, and is also a little bit drying, but it has good staying power if used with a lip balm and a lip liner underneath. It's not a "swipe and go" color, you do need to take care when applying (or at least I do, or else I have red lipstick all over myself). It's totally worth the price and the trouble for a classic red that works with my complexion.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ritual on 2/21/2010 3:18:00 PM more reviews by Ritual

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This is a very special red lipstick, it really looks good with my NC 25-30 warm skin, I actually don't know how to describe it but there some reds that make my face and skin look very bad (like Fore down below) but this has a very nice effect and a nice bright. I recommend it, another good thing about it is that is lasts so mucho on your lips, so you don't have to touch up many times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 2/10/2010 4:36:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first NARS red lipstick and I love it. A deep red, similar to MAC Dubbonet, but with less brown. The formula is moisturizing but neither matte nor glossy - it's hard to describe but leaves a really pretty finish. My only complaint is the packaging feels cheap, and it creaks when I'm applying the lipstick. I'm worried the lipstick will break off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 qook22 on 1/23/2010 10:49:00 PM more reviews by qook22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I saw it on an Asian girl in Starbucks and asked her for the lipstick name... went to Sephora and bought it on the spot. After such a long search for the perfect red lipstick for me, I found it. It looks dramatic but not old/clownish on my very fair, yellow-toned skin. It does require mixing with lip balm for extra moisture, but at least it doesn't smudge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelina71 on 1/3/2010 12:12:00 PM more reviews by angelina71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is My Red lipstick. My skin is very fair, with yellow undertones, and this red is perfect. Russian red is way too cool, and Fire down below is too dark. Ruby Woo and Red lizard I don't have, and I think they are too cool anyway. Good staying power, must have with reds. Shanghai express is recommended for ladies with fair-yellow skintone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GulieQ on 11/25/2009 5:28:00 PM more reviews by GulieQ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Update: This is still HG for me! I LOVE it!! Will buy this shade forever!

My HG!! I now have 3 HG Lipsticks!! Fire Down Below, Shanghi Red, and Lizard Red--all by Nars!! These sexy, deep neutral reds have changed my life! I get long wear from them, and it's BECAUSE of their consistency!! I always place a drop of jojoba oil on my lips and let it soak in for about 5 mins before applying ANY lipstick. I use a lipbrush to get the perfect coverage. Total strangers have asked me 'what gorgeous color are you wearing', and my male friends perked up and took notice (that's an accomplishment!!)!!
These lipsticks have NO fragrance, and NO seaseme/nut oils (important for those of us with severe allergies)!! It costs LESS to invest in these 3 AMAZING shades (yes, $24 a pop), than to pay $3 - 12 a pop on INFINITE other products that give me allergic reactions and/or just plain suck!! Life is SHORT! Buy the RIGHT lipstick and just ENJOY all those admiring looks!! BTW, for MAC-only girls, Dubonnay (sp) is a very close match; I first bought Dubonnay (sp), but it had seaseme oil, and I ended up having to use my Epi-Pen and have a hospital visit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blindinglight on 6/24/2009 2:16:00 AM more reviews by blindinglight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Ugh this lipstick is all about application, my dears!! For everyone who said this is drying, it IS true because it's matte. But it will last a lot longer when applied correctly. I would advise to put on lipbalm first (exfoliate first if lips are chapped), line lips with a matching lipliner, blot with tissue and then apply color. Good application is more important that convenience of just swiping on ESPECIALLY for the stunning and put-together look of a more dramatic red!

Anyway, it's a lovely lipcolor with a hefty price tag. But a great investment. xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tatlicupcake on 6/11/2009 9:26:00 PM more reviews by tatlicupcake

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

VIDEO REVIEW. click continued to wach on MUA. (it's just a video of a swatch)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 muffinphonic on 4/18/2009 10:53:00 AM more reviews by muffinphonic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After lots of swatching, i realised this lipstick looks very similar to MAC's Dare You, only a bit more darker/brick. I love the fact it's semi-matte and the colour is lovely if you build it up, but for me it's a little too brown.

I will perservere though as i reckon it'd look lovely with the right lipliner underneath or lipgloss over the top. I tried it with a tiny bit of MAC Cult of Cherry lipglass over the top and it looked gorgeous, however i am going to try it with different lipliners as i want to retain the matte look.


If i ever finish the tube and somehow get rich, i would buy again but the high price is the main issue really.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bethd44 on 2/21/2009 8:31:00 PM more reviews by bethd44

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Oh, yeah. Highly pigmented, intense, gorgeous dark red matte. I use this as a stain, under a gloss, adding a bit more color to build up or down. Really makes the blue eyes pop. Wear this color and you won't need much else on your face - a touch of mascara, maybe a neutral shadow and slight touch of blush and you're good to go. It IS a matte so don't expect any shine unless you add it with gloss.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products