Almay • One Coat Mascara (lengthening) • Mascara

rated 3.7(141 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ClaireF24 on 4/14/2013 11:24:00 AM more reviews by ClaireF24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This got a BEST on Beautipedia, so I decided to try it. It should have gotten a POOR. I am not impressed with this mascara at all, it doesn't flake or smudge, but it doesn't build any impressive length or volume, either. Mascaras like this are the reason I take everything on Beautipedia with a grain of salt. I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sanduhra on 11/13/2012 3:16:00 PM more reviews by sanduhra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is very average. The only benefit is that it looks extremely natural, almost like you're not wearing anything. But that's also the problem... It almost looks like you're not wearing anything. I see minimal - if any - lengthening and no volumizing at all. Due to the thin formula, it doesn't flake or clump, but it still irritates your eyes if you're sensitive to mascaras, as I am. I would say this is a good mascara for those with long but light eyelashes. I would rather go without mascara than buy this again, since its effects are so diminutive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Matillyrose on 5/29/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by Matillyrose

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I very much like this mascara.

I like my eyelashes to be separated with no clumps, natural looking with length and this mascara gives me all that.

I have sensitive eyes which get super itchy and red and I have to be really careful what eye products I use.

I am happy to say that this mascara gives me no bad reactions at all.

Mascara lasts all day, lengthens my lashes beautifully and does not flake.

Great mascara and I would recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kelliballa on 5/6/2012 4:38:00 PM more reviews by kelliballa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm 16, and I have medium length eyelashes. I purchased this mascara at Target for around $4-$5. I wanted to get a mascara that I could wear when I wanted a natural look. This mascara DEFINITILY gives a healthy, natural look. This mascara gives you more length than volume. The only problem I have with this mascara is I have to apply several coats. I probably won't repurchase this item, not because it's bad, but I think for the money I will buy something different!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 purplepianist on 12/9/2011 3:39:00 PM more reviews by purplepianist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I borrowed this mascara from my mom, since mine was all dried out and flakey. It gives your lashes a nice natural darkened look, but you can add another layer for more volume (beware it may clump a bit). It also was nice that it didn't make my lashes feel rock hard like neutrogena's healthy lengths did. The main gripes I have with this is that the brush is really big and I almost poked my eyes several times and nearly painted around my eye with the wand (not pretty I must mention!) This also does smudge a bit on my lower lashline (not nearly as noticable as the neutrogena H. L. mascara) and I've found a few little flakes, but nothing major. Overall this mascara does it's job, but don't expect a lot of volume, dramatic length, or really dark lashes with this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeeFee34 on 7/4/2011 11:39:00 PM more reviews by FeeFee34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a little disappointed in this. As far as I can tell, this is nearly identical to the One Coat Thickening mascara, but with a longer wand and larger brush, which I HATE because it makes it more difficult to coat every lash and control the product. I definitely prefer the thickening version of this mascara, but the issue I have with both is that they're prone to smudging. I like the way my lashes look, I like that there's no clumping or flaking, but I hate that I always have to run makeup remover under my eyes after applying this mascara and sometimes throughout the day. Overall, I'd say this definitely ranks higher than most of the mascaras I've tried, but it's far from perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 01234 on 6/11/2011 5:11:00 PM more reviews by 01234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is amazing. It lasts all day, which is precisely what I've been looking for in a mascara. A lot of mascaras I've tried lately end up smudging and giving me raccoon eyes towards the end of my work day. Not this! Not only does it last, I adore how it applies. Not sure why it's called One Coat, because I don't really agree that it is a one coat mascara, but regardless, I love it. I'm really happy with this mascara... better than Clinique's High Impact, which I used to love. Try it ladies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 herbgurl82 on 6/5/2011 2:05:00 PM more reviews by herbgurl82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My new HG mascara. Doesn't flake, or clump, or leave my lashes feeling crunchy. Love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Neaaen on 4/22/2011 7:15:00 PM more reviews by Neaaen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is just fine. I'm using it for now until I save up enough for a high-end vegan one like Gabrielle or ecco Bella.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovecoma on 1/8/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by lovecoma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I'm pretty sure this is my HG. Either this or the Almay Triple Effect, which I'm using now. I have super, super sensitive eyes (I get styes so often I was told by an eye doctor to wash the insides of my eyes daily with baby shampoo) and this is the only mascara I've tried (other than the Triple Effect) that doesn't bother me. I also have pretty long, full lashes so I don't want something that's going to give a dramatic effect otherwise I'd look like a freak.


I have used this in black/brown which on my almost black lashes shows up as more a black. And I've used black. I will probably go back to black/brown during the spring/summer months when I switch back to brown liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products