Almay • One Coat Mascara (lengthening) • Mascara

rated 3.7(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 purplepianist on 12/9/2011 3:39:00 PM more reviews by purplepianist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I borrowed this mascara from my mom, since mine was all dried out and flakey. It gives your lashes a nice natural darkened look, but you can add another layer for more volume (beware it may clump a bit). It also was nice that it didn't make my lashes feel rock hard like neutrogena's healthy lengths did. The main gripes I have with this is that the brush is really big and I almost poked my eyes several times and nearly painted around my eye with the wand (not pretty I must mention!) This also does smudge a bit on my lower lashline (not nearly as noticable as the neutrogena H. L. mascara) and I've found a few little flakes, but nothing major. Overall this mascara does it's job, but don't expect a lot of volume, dramatic length, or really dark lashes with this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeeFee34 on 7/4/2011 11:39:00 PM more reviews by FeeFee34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a little disappointed in this. As far as I can tell, this is nearly identical to the One Coat Thickening mascara, but with a longer wand and larger brush, which I HATE because it makes it more difficult to coat every lash and control the product. I definitely prefer the thickening version of this mascara, but the issue I have with both is that they're prone to smudging. I like the way my lashes look, I like that there's no clumping or flaking, but I hate that I always have to run makeup remover under my eyes after applying this mascara and sometimes throughout the day. Overall, I'd say this definitely ranks higher than most of the mascaras I've tried, but it's far from perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 01234 on 6/11/2011 5:11:00 PM more reviews by 01234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is amazing. It lasts all day, which is precisely what I've been looking for in a mascara. A lot of mascaras I've tried lately end up smudging and giving me raccoon eyes towards the end of my work day. Not this! Not only does it last, I adore how it applies. Not sure why it's called One Coat, because I don't really agree that it is a one coat mascara, but regardless, I love it. I'm really happy with this mascara... better than Clinique's High Impact, which I used to love. Try it ladies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 herbgurl82 on 6/5/2011 2:05:00 PM more reviews by herbgurl82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My new HG mascara. Doesn't flake, or clump, or leave my lashes feeling crunchy. Love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Neaaen on 4/22/2011 7:15:00 PM more reviews by Neaaen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is just fine. I'm using it for now until I save up enough for a high-end vegan one like Gabrielle or ecco Bella.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovecoma on 1/8/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by lovecoma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I'm pretty sure this is my HG. Either this or the Almay Triple Effect, which I'm using now. I have super, super sensitive eyes (I get styes so often I was told by an eye doctor to wash the insides of my eyes daily with baby shampoo) and this is the only mascara I've tried (other than the Triple Effect) that doesn't bother me. I also have pretty long, full lashes so I don't want something that's going to give a dramatic effect otherwise I'd look like a freak.


I have used this in black/brown which on my almost black lashes shows up as more a black. And I've used black. I will probably go back to black/brown during the spring/summer months when I switch back to brown liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mfettig on 1/2/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Mfettig

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

First mascara I used. Really like it!! I forgot to buy waterproof but it didn't matter.flakes easily though. Not too much strength on the lengthnig part but after 3 or 4 coats it helps. Definetly try this mascara :).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 penguin10 on 12/20/2010 12:05:00 AM more reviews by penguin10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It does what it says: lengthens your lashes. It is very soft and gentle and my lashes still look and feel quite natural. Also, I don't know if it is because of this "nourishing" mascara, but I've noticed my lashes are longer and thicker (withouth make up on) after using this. Could be my imagination or some other cause, but it was worth mentioning.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lmoss on 9/20/2010 12:48:00 AM more reviews by lmoss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Many years ago I used the traditional Almay One Coat mascara and never had a problem with it. I've been using Maybelline brand mascaras for a while but for whatever reason I decided to switch back to Almay. I'm so glad I did! I bought two different ones, the One Coat Lengthening and the One Coat Thickening and these two really complete the look I've been trying to get. Many mascaras promise to give you both length and volume but never do. These two mascaras really do the trick... I fell in love with my lashes the first time I applied these mascaras. These formulas are smooth and go on easily without clumping. They last all day without flaking. And best of all, my lashes feel so soft and natural, not gritty or stiff like many mascaras make them feel. I'm really happy I decided to switch back to Almay.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fleabags3 on 8/28/2010 9:13:00 AM more reviews by fleabags3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i'm surprised i like this so much. for a drug store brand, it's one of the BEST i've tried (cover girl, L'oreal, maybelline, etc--all stink for me) It does what it says--lengthens and is waterproof. it goes on easily and stays on until you take it off. for $5.99--can't beat it. That said, i am looking for my HG mascara and this is not 100% what i want--i want thick lashes AND volume. sooo, while i recommended and bought this for my daughter, i am going to try Dior and others for me (fyi, i don't like Neutrogena or any MAC mascaras either....)

update 9/2012. haven't bought Almay for myself again, but still buy it for my daughter. tried Dior...loved it but it dried out insanely fast [around 2 mo max] making it a horrible buy. tried a new-out mary kay mascara that was horrible...as w/many of their products. i keep trying them b/c someone close to me sells them. Also tried fiber lash by? and million lash by ? -drug store buys- and they were only fair. ugh]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products