Laura Mercier • Eye Colour in Topaz • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(73 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michkal on 9/14/2010 11:56:00 PM more reviews by michkal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

great eye shadow in both color and texture. It's a pretty, neutral taupe that is not too cool and not too warm. It reminds me of mac's satin taupe but much more wearable because it is not as purple and can be blended out to a sheer wash. This is one of my favorite shadows. In general, laura mercier's line has great everyday makeup. The shades might not be the most exciting, but are great for a polished look. I like to wear this on the lid with coffe ground in the crease, or the other way around for a smokier look. I higlight with stellar, which has just enough sheen without getting glittery or sparkly. Topaz is a great shade all around, I think it would look great on everyone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maybelle on 8/25/2010 5:37:00 PM more reviews by maybelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been reading the reviews here, and I must have been lucky to get this item in the old formulation (with mirrored compact) in a swap. The color is a gorgeous taupe. It can be built up, but the first swipe places good, pigmented color on my lids right away. The formula is soft and velvety, and it lasts. It is now one of my favorite taupes out of my collection. From what I've heard, the newer formulations are not as nice, so I'm lucky to have gotten this. I would buy this again if it was this formulation.

Edit: I got another one of these in the new formula, which is a bit harder, slightly less pigmented, though still a decent taupe wash. Because that is the only one available now, I will have to change my rating. The older formula gets a 5, but the new one gets a 4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shimmering on 7/29/2010 2:06:00 PM more reviews by shimmering

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This eyeshadow is a beautiful neutral taupe. The color can be built up from a light wash to a deeper contour color. I have washed this over my entire lid and then contoured with a charcoal grey, but I use this most often as a contour blended with a shimmering ivory. This looks great with black eyeliner, but can go with many other colors too. I especially like this with navy eyeliner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LoveAnnChic on 7/4/2010 4:03:00 PM more reviews by LoveAnnChic

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is my go to eye contouring product. The texture is amazing. I do use it with a primer (and have never used it without one so I can't say what the "bare" staying power is) but I love it. I wear it with just about any color combination and it works. Blue, brown, black, purple, green. It can be worn with anything! I love it so much I bought 2 more as back-ups from ebay (scored them each for $4 -- which is also amazing!). This is a highly recommended product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 2/21/2010 7:37:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had been lemming this shadow for a while, and managed to snag a brandnew one in a swap. It was the old formulation, in the mirrored compact. The color is a gorgeous shimmery taupe with some plummy undertones. In terms of
MAC shades, this reminds me of a lighter version of Shale mixed with Satin Taupe. I think LM's Topaz is a much friendlier color, as it doesn't swing too purple of too brown, nor is it too dark to wear to the office. And the shimmer makes it special enough for a night out. I think you could really intensify this and smoke it out if you wanted to. Also, the texture of LM's shadows are silkier and superior to MAC, at least the older version I am reviewing. Honestly, I have hundreds of shadows and find myself reaching for this all the time because it is just that good. For ref, I have dark brown eyes, and I could see this looking awesome on any colored eyes. Definitely try it if you have the chance!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrslid on 1/24/2010 2:02:00 PM more reviews by mrslid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great taupe colour! I think I may have the older formulation that doesn't fit in the custom compacts. It has great pigmentation and colour payoff where as some of the new LM shadows I bought in the new formulation don't seem to have as strong a pigmentation.
Great colour to just wear on it's own with some highlight on the browbone for a quick simple eye.
Loving this shadow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ankaz on 1/5/2010 4:36:00 PM more reviews by ankaz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this e/s. It is perfect for soft smoky eyes or just daytime crease. This e/s has great color payoff and smooth texture. Can be very sheer or more intense depending how much product you use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sylivabz on 10/7/2009 4:50:00 PM more reviews by sylivabz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this color and have used it for years, gives you a nice smokey eye look w/o being too dark. I've tried other brands like chanel, but always go back to this one, it's a great color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 3/6/2009 4:55:00 PM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Just got this again, even though I have MAC Satin Taupe. This color has something about it that the MAC lacks (besides the heavenly LM quality). I like it for the crease or corner in the evenings, over LM Vanilla Nuts.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Refuge on 1/15/2009 12:39:00 PM more reviews by Refuge

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Topaz is one of my favorite taupe colored shadows. Very complex, and flattering to my eye color. Great staying power too. I like that it's not matte, but it's also not OTT shimmery or glittery. Just complex and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eye Shadow products