Laura Mercier Eye Colour in Topaz

4.5

76 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, C26-28 Alkyl Dimethicone, Silica, Chlorphenesin, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Potassium Sorbate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Isononyl Isononanoate, PCA Dimethicone, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Octyldedecanol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate. (+/-): CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), Tin Oxide, CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide).


on 12/12/2010 11:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice medium taupe shade that leans more on the side of brown. I prefer my taupes to have a bit more gray in them. A good thing about this shade is that it seems pretty neutral and doesn't scream too warm or too cool, so it's very wearable. The color applies quite sheerly, and it takes a bit of effort if you want to build it up. I guess in some ways it's nice to have the buildable option, but I find it to be kind of irritating most of the time. The formula of the shadow isn't very soft and easy to pick up with a brush. This isn't a horrible shadow...I'm just "meh" about it. I wouldn't repurchase as I don't think it's worth the price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 11/7/2010 12:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I agree with the former review from guccigrl. This shadow doesn't show very well! The color is pretty, just wish I could see it. Mac and Lancome shadow formulations are much better for me. Product way too expensive.


on 10/21/2010 6:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Awful... hate the color (what little color there is) and hate the product. When i swatched it , nothing happend! i thought i was touching a piece of cardboard. I Tried to wear it on my eyes "shock horror" and got absolutely NOTHING!! nothing on the brush and nothing on my lids... what is this stuff?
Complete waste of money. I have 2 up for swap if anyone wants them....


on 9/14/2010 11:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

great eye shadow in both color and texture. It's a pretty, neutral taupe that is not too cool and not too warm. It reminds me of mac's satin taupe but much more wearable because it is not as purple and can be blended out to a sheer wash. This is one of my favorite shadows. In general, laura mercier's line has great everyday makeup. The shades might not be the most exciting, but are great for a polished look. I like to wear this on the lid with coffe ground in the crease, or the other way around for a smokier look. I higlight with stellar, which has just enough sheen without getting glittery or sparkly. Topaz is a great shade all around, I think it would look great on everyone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/25/2010 5:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been reading the reviews here, and I must have been lucky to get this item in the old formulation (with mirrored compact) in a swap. The color is a gorgeous taupe. It can be built up, but the first swipe places good, pigmented color on my lids right away. The formula is soft and velvety, and it lasts. It is now one of my favorite taupes out of my collection. From what I've heard, the newer formulations are not as nice, so I'm lucky to have gotten this. I would buy this again if it was this formulation.

Edit: I got another one of these in the new formula, which is a bit harder, slightly less pigmented, though still a decent taupe wash. Because that is the only one available now, I will have to change my rating. The older formula gets a 5, but the new one gets a 4.


on 7/29/2010 2:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This eyeshadow is a beautiful neutral taupe. The color can be built up from a light wash to a deeper contour color. I have washed this over my entire lid and then contoured with a charcoal grey, but I use this most often as a contour blended with a shimmering ivory. This looks great with black eyeliner, but can go with many other colors too. I especially like this with navy eyeliner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2010 4:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my go to eye contouring product. The texture is amazing. I do use it with a primer (and have never used it without one so I can't say what the "bare" staying power is) but I love it. I wear it with just about any color combination and it works. Blue, brown, black, purple, green. It can be worn with anything! I love it so much I bought 2 more as back-ups from ebay (scored them each for $4 -- which is also amazing!). This is a highly recommended product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2010 7:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had been lemming this shadow for a while, and managed to snag a brandnew one in a swap. It was the old formulation, in the mirrored compact. The color is a gorgeous shimmery taupe with some plummy undertones. In terms of
MAC shades, this reminds me of a lighter version of Shale mixed with Satin Taupe. I think LM's Topaz is a much friendlier color, as it doesn't swing too purple of too brown, nor is it too dark to wear to the office. And the shimmer makes it special enough for a night out. I think you could really intensify this and smoke it out if you wanted to. Also, the texture of LM's shadows are silkier and superior to MAC, at least the older version I am reviewing. Honestly, I have hundreds of shadows and find myself reaching for this all the time because it is just that good. For ref, I have dark brown eyes, and I could see this looking awesome on any colored eyes. Definitely try it if you have the chance!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2010 2:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great taupe colour! I think I may have the older formulation that doesn't fit in the custom compacts. It has great pigmentation and colour payoff where as some of the new LM shadows I bought in the new formulation don't seem to have as strong a pigmentation.
Great colour to just wear on it's own with some highlight on the browbone for a quick simple eye.
Loving this shadow!


on 1/5/2010 4:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this e/s. It is perfect for soft smoky eyes or just daytime crease. This e/s has great color payoff and smooth texture. Can be very sheer or more intense depending how much product you use.


Back to Top