Ben Nye • Bella Luxury Powder in Banana • Loose Powders

rated 4.3(246 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 plumpkinplush on 6/24/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by plumpkinplush

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
++Takes away shine.
++Makes my foundation and concealer last a whole lot longer.
++Brightens.
++Cheap.
It'll last me at least 2 years of everyday use to finish my bottle.

Cons:
--Packaging.
I just transfer it to a smaller container. Plus, I think that's why it's so cheap!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xiAshley on 6/19/2014 5:21:00 PM more reviews by xiAshley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great powder to use under the eyes. I only use it under the eyes because I would look too yellow if I dusted it all over my face. But under my eyes it gives my skin a beautiful glowing highlight effect. Under bright lights it looks flawless. Love this. The price is decent, you get a lot of product and a little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 6/18/2014 3:39:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This line is ment for professional artists to use on actors, models etc who do a lot of their work under harsh lights and camera work. That being said the banana powder only 1 in a line of several powders that are made to either match or to be mixed and matched to every skin tone. So if the banana powder is too yellow or dark for you you can mix it with another powder to get the desired results. There is another reviewer on here who has some pretty awesome tips on using the powder. I currently only have a sample from a vendor on ebay. she sells 5gm containers of all the powders that will give you a chance to try and mix tones to find what works for you before you invest in the large size containers. For right now the small one will give me quite a bit for a while. I currently use this to set my under eye concealer or to cover over redness after foundation from a break out or my Retinol treatment. You need to use a fairly fluffy brush to apply this because it can become a cakey mess very quickly. IT's not a product for the apply and go girl. You need to take care using it. The results are awesome and I will repurchase a full size when I run out of the sample.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 becs2006 on 6/11/2014 12:06:00 AM more reviews by becs2006

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this product! The powder is very finely milled, but it still packs a punch as far as pigment goes. My skin is fair, so I can't use this over my whole face for setting foundation as it would make me look yellow. I use this powder to set my under-eye concealer as I have blue tones around my eyes and I find it helps to counteract this discolouration. It's staying power is good and I don't feel I need to reapply it throughout the day. The only downside of this product is the packaging - cheap and nasty, and difficult to use! I will buy another of these powders in a colour more suited to my skin tone to set my foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nicole_33 on 6/10/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Nicole_33

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Looking for help with this product. I really want to try it but I'm not sure if banana will end up being to yellow/dark for me? In MAC I'm NW20 for foundation, in revlon I use ivory. Would cameo be a better option for an all over foundation setter?! TIA

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jmakena07 on 6/8/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by jmakena07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

So this is meant to be used as a highlighter/setting powder after concealer is used to highlight! With that being said for me it does work well! Downfall is its soo messy and stains , not easy to manage.I pour it on the cap use a brush collect some and apply esp. under eyes,forehead.The price is right but if one gets the Anastasia contouring kit- good luck on that it's sold out everywhere! It comes in a palette amongst other colors! More value if u ask me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Zoe8x on 5/27/2014 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Zoe8x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't too impressed with this product. I tired to use it for highlighting and it just looked yellow. I need to watch some video tutorials and have another bash at it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Vioni on 5/24/2014 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Vioni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really LOVE this product! It's even better than my mufe super matte loose powder. it sets my foundation flawlessly and it feels like i don't wear so many layers of foundation (usually i wear 2 layers) it feels really light in my skin. I bought the 3oz one bcs i heard so many good reviews about this powder, and trust me you don't waste your money on this product, this works magically on you skin lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 glamzdoll on 5/18/2014 10:48:00 AM more reviews by glamzdoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Short & to the point:

I guess I was expecting more from a product that has ravishing reviews...
I thought it is just "okay." A little chalky, matte, looks decent. Can't see what the big fuzz is about though. I don't quite see myself re purchasing... :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Annyutka on 5/15/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by Annyutka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This didn't work at all for me, but i am giving it a 3 because I can see it being better for someone with medium-dark to darker skin-tones with normal to very oily skin. FWIW, I’m quite fair (though not a true PPP) with what they call ‘peaches and cream’ complexion (a nice way to say ones skin is pale/light with a tendency to get rosy, or, lets get real, downright ruddy if not careful!). I also have dry skin - especially in colder months.

I bought it in my never-ending quest to find an exact dupe (or better) to the old formula of Everyday Minerals Finishing Dust in Sunlight (circa 2007-08) which was TERRIFIC and HG for me. Sadly, the old formulation is no more and the new one just isn’t the same. So I thought I’d give this a shot whilst seeing it whilst Halloween shopping at an outrageously well-stocked brick and mortar costume shop in my area.

However, this just wasn't what I was hoping nor looking for. At all. As I said above, Ben Nye’s Bella Luxury Powder in ”Banana" is definitely a YMMV product. I ended up looking like a freak with it on and, yes, the packaging is really quite pitiful. It’s too powdery of a consistency in my opinion - much like talcum powder/baby powder except in a banana- yellow. This definitely is a signature Ben Nye product: a total costume and stage-makeup heavy product that looks relatively garish anywhere else unless standing under theatrical lighting like on stage, etc.

Also, based upon my one purchase of Banana, it would seem that the expiry date is visually more important than most other face powders. Unless my item was a dud (doubt it) or I’m hallucinating (even more doubtful), the unused makeup in the jar seems to oxidize quicker than other powders I’ve tried, as mine grown increasingly more orange-y. I’d suggest if you decide to buy it to try to find out how old it is, etc.

I’ve thus changed this from a 3-star to a 2-star due it being an overall unfortunate, overhyped, non-stabilized product which makes my 1993 Wet n’ Wild teenage crap-wear look like luxury items.

My search for an HG soft lemon-yellowish, non-glittery, finishing powder to replace the now DC’d old version of Everyday Minerals ”SUNLIGHT FINISHING POWDER” circa 2007 continues. I’ll leave this for the professionals, professional actors, at least.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ben Nye products

More Loose Powders products