Unlisted Brand • Prell Rinse Clean Shampoo • Hair

rated 4.1(59 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenPhil1313 on 7/31/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by JenPhil1313

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have to say that I was quite pleasantly surprised by this shampoo. It gets such a bad rap for being very drying- and I did not find that to be the case. This shampoo caught my eye at the drugstore because it was on sale. I read the ingredients and saw that it did NOT contain any SLS cleansers. It does contain ALS and Cocamide DEA- cleansing agents that my hair seems to like. Plus they're supposed to be gentler. This shampoo has minimal ingredients and has no added moisturizing ingredients in it. I was thinking that this looked perfect to use a clarifying shampoo. I have used it a couple of times and it always seems to make my hair fell very clean and leaves it shiny and bouncy. It does not dry out my waves/curls or my hair in general. Just leaves it very clean without weighing it down with any moisturizers. I like this a lot better than the V05 Kiwi Lime clarifying shampoo that I was using. The Prell seems gentler but just as effective. Though I am not a fan of the neon green color or the strong scent, I think this is a particularly awesome no-frills, gentle clarifying shampoo. Leaves hair very clean and bouncy but not dry. Good stuff!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dont on 3/29/2013 1:55:00 PM more reviews by dont

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Something bad happened, my hair went completely lifeless. Got it cut, still didn't revive it. Then it dawned on me, the Prell had run out and I'd be using only Pert and a clarifying shampoo. I picked up some Prell again and SHAZAM, the hair was back!

No stripped sensation like the clarifying, no weighted sensation like conditioning shampoos, just lightweight fluffy clean hair with body, ahhhhhh!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NinaTiara on 3/2/2013 5:23:00 PM more reviews by NinaTiara

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used almost every kind of shampoo and this is my favorite. I have my hair colored red and it doesn't strip the color (if you want to strip your color use head and shoulders). Prell gets my hair clean with tons of body without drying it out. I wash my hair everyday. I love this stuff. No build up and my hair is healthier than its been in a long time. I would rather use this than any $30 shampoo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rustybag on 1/18/2013 1:07:00 PM more reviews by rustybag

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent oldie-but-goodie that has been around for decades. Smells very fresh and clean. Excellent for getting rid of oil and residue, but it can be drying. Probably best for fine or oily hair, or once in a while for clarifying. It only costs around $4

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evapop on 1/12/2013 9:09:00 PM more reviews by evapop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bar none the best clarifying shampoo, and dare I say, dandruff shampoo. Bought when a salon dye job left me with black vs. dark brown hair. Didn't lift the color, but found it removed all the build up from my beloved Moroccanoil product. Use it once or twice a week now and find my hair is shiny and scalp clean. I am dandruff prone and I find this really helps. I alternate between this and the Moroccanoil shampoo. (PS - stylist fixed the bad dye job and Prell had not altered the color at all)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chloie9 on 1/9/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by chloie9

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Like many have mentioned, I came by Prell for the express purpose of lifting some color from an ill-advised at home hair coloring experience. The color had come out too dark, and when I called my hair stylist for advice I was told to try shampooing with Prell. After some internet research, I wound up using the Prell as a mask for about 45 minutes applied and combed through dry hair (ouch!) Well, it definitely lifted color, when i finally rinsed quite a lot of dye went down the drain-it looks like it may have lifted 5-10% of the color-(this was done within 48 hours of the original applicaton). Probably not a great shampoo to use on a regular basis, and certainly not on color treated hair unless you are actually wanting to strip your color. I could see using on a very occasional basis to "clarify" and deal with extreme greasies. But this one application left my hair feeling like straw even after a subsequent hot oil treatment and conditioning treatment followed. And boy, does that scent linger in the hair! I wouldn't buy this product again mainly because one bottle should last me a lifetime-and I also don't plan on repeating a home coloring project ever again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sanana on 12/29/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by sanana

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very literally run through loads of shampoos weekly just to find the right formula for my hair type. I have dark brown hair which is straight but very voluminous.
Originally, I wanted a shampoo that would add lots of shine to my hair while eliminating the awful build-up I had accumulated at the scalp. I used this product twice weekly for nearly 5 months now and have not switched to any other shampoo. It is absolutely brilliant. Not only does it add a natural luster to my hair, but I have noticed a great improvement in the overall health of my hair. I have noticeably less split ends, no build-up at the scalp and my hair shaft has become much stronger. Best of all, it lathers so well you only need two quarter size amounts for your entire head. I couldn't have asked for anything more. I cannot believe this shampoo is so cheap. I would have purchased Prell at a much higher price with these results.
I promise this shampoo will not let you down. Best of luck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleBear23 on 12/1/2012 1:46:00 AM more reviews by LittleBear23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I'm going to say this- but- I love this shampoo. I would never ever have considered buying this except that I used a too dark semi-permanent color and instead of having dark brown hair ended up with black hair. I had heard this would fade color and that's why it bought it. It hasn't actually faded my color any more than any other shampoo but it's made my hair soft, bouncy, fluffy and just really amazing. Who knew? It's all grossly green and old-school 80's and it's on the bottom, literally the bottom, shelf at Walgreens but my hair looks freaking awesome. I have fine, thick, super straight, colored hair that's between shoulder length and bra-strap length.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 qkellie on 10/27/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by qkellie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is good as a clarifying shampoo, body wash, bubble bath, and even hand soap. Didn't strip out my color, but it did leave my hair a little frizzy. I do think it was strong enough that I was able to go longer between washings, which is nice, but ultimately I think I'd only use this once ina while if a regular shampoo began to leave me with buildup.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 decoded on 10/16/2012 2:44:00 PM more reviews by decoded

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use this a lot as a kid. It was my moms favorite shampoo, so we'd use it all the time. Over the years they have changed the formula several times. I think the first change was around in the last 80's, early 90's. We stopped using it then. My moms got it several times since then because she always hopes it will be her "go to shampoo and conditioner". She recently got it again, and it was terrible. After one use it had really dried my hair out. And to make it worse it had rained that day, and I thought maybe it was because of that a funky smell kept lingering around. But the rain had activated the prell smell and it stunk. Last time I ever use that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products