Unlisted Brand • Prell Rinse Clean Shampoo • Hair

rated 4.1(63 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PISALISA on 12/29/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by PISALISA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I would have never even thought of using Prell shampoo had it not been for a certain MUA member on the hair board...(I'm looking at YOU, Nitromusk!). I've been shampooing with Prell for about a month and my hair loves it. For reference, I have extremely thick, frizzy and wavy hair. I flat iron several times a week and I have double processed hair color. Everything I've used to shampoo with has either dried my hair out and stripped the color, or it doesn't clean well and leaves my hair feeling heavy and dull. Prell has single-handedly stopped my itchy scalp, cleans without drying out my hair, and leaves my hair full of life and shine. This is HG shampoo for me! I would purchase this $3.00 shampoo even if it cost $20. Total game changer... :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katras on 11/24/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by Katras

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this shampoo - I like the fact that it doesn't make my scalp red and itchy, which is a common problem for us sensitive types. I like the fact that very little is needed to throughly and satisfyingly clean the scalp and hair without over-drying or stripping (I have long hair; middle of my back and I use roughly a nickels worth of shampoo). I really like the smell - its just clean; not cloying sweet or over-fragrenced, just clean. I like the price (about $4 USD) for the amount of product you get (about 14 oz.) and it's made in the USA (which I love). The only thing I dislike, is that I don't know if the company tests on animals, which is a huge thing for me. Apparently the original manufacturer sold Prell to another manufacturer and then they in turn sold it another company, and I can't seem to find any information on the current company's policy on the matter. I did find one bit of information stating that Prell DOESN'T test on animals but that was in 2009. Until I can find more information of the subject to state otherwise, I'm sticking with Prell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jdbly11 on 8/24/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by jdbly11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When I was a teenager, my hair stylist recommended this shampoo to me because I have very oily, wavy, fine hair. My hair is not color treated and I use very few products. She said to use it twice and then use a conditioner on the ends of my hair. Many shampoos just do not clean my hair very well. I started using this product again a couple times a week a few weeks ago. The results have been good. My hair has a nice shine and is much less oily. I have some problems with hair thinning that I am still trying to deal with. I used to have such nice thick hair but since I became an adult it does not look like it did when I was younger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eeeeelicia on 8/9/2013 3:31:00 AM more reviews by Eeeeelicia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

By far one of the worst clarifying shampoos I have ever encountered. Snagged it on sale at Walgreens for $1.99 and I figured I had nothing to lose. But this stuff only leaves my hair feeling gummy and matted down at the same time. I didn't know that was possible. Prell has a fair amount of fans on the hair board and has very good reviews, but it just didn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenPhil1313 on 7/31/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by JenPhil1313

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have to say that I was quite pleasantly surprised by this shampoo. It gets such a bad rap for being very drying- and I did not find that to be the case. This shampoo caught my eye at the drugstore because it was on sale. I read the ingredients and saw that it did NOT contain any SLS cleansers. It does contain ALS and Cocamide DEA- cleansing agents that my hair seems to like. Plus they're supposed to be gentler. This shampoo has minimal ingredients and has no added moisturizing ingredients in it. I was thinking that this looked perfect to use a clarifying shampoo. I have used it a couple of times and it always seems to make my hair fell very clean and leaves it shiny and bouncy. It does not dry out my waves/curls or my hair in general. Just leaves it very clean without weighing it down with any moisturizers. I like this a lot better than the V05 Kiwi Lime clarifying shampoo that I was using. The Prell seems gentler but just as effective. Though I am not a fan of the neon green color or the strong scent, I think this is a particularly awesome no-frills, gentle clarifying shampoo. Leaves hair very clean and bouncy but not dry. Good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dont on 3/29/2013 1:55:00 PM more reviews by dont

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Something bad happened, my hair went completely lifeless. Got it cut, still didn't revive it. Then it dawned on me, the Prell had run out and I'd be using only Pert and a clarifying shampoo. I picked up some Prell again and SHAZAM, the hair was back!

No stripped sensation like the clarifying, no weighted sensation like conditioning shampoos, just lightweight fluffy clean hair with body, ahhhhhh!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NinaTiara on 3/2/2013 5:23:00 PM more reviews by NinaTiara

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used almost every kind of shampoo and this is my favorite. I have my hair colored red and it doesn't strip the color (if you want to strip your color use head and shoulders). Prell gets my hair clean with tons of body without drying it out. I wash my hair everyday. I love this stuff. No build up and my hair is healthier than its been in a long time. I would rather use this than any $30 shampoo.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rustybag on 1/18/2013 1:07:00 PM more reviews by rustybag

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent oldie-but-goodie that has been around for decades. Smells very fresh and clean. Excellent for getting rid of oil and residue, but it can be drying. Probably best for fine or oily hair, or once in a while for clarifying. It only costs around $4

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evapop on 1/12/2013 9:09:00 PM more reviews by evapop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bar none the best clarifying shampoo, and dare I say, dandruff shampoo. Bought when a salon dye job left me with black vs. dark brown hair. Didn't lift the color, but found it removed all the build up from my beloved Moroccanoil product. Use it once or twice a week now and find my hair is shiny and scalp clean. I am dandruff prone and I find this really helps. I alternate between this and the Moroccanoil shampoo. (PS - stylist fixed the bad dye job and Prell had not altered the color at all)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chloie9 on 1/9/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by chloie9

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Like many have mentioned, I came by Prell for the express purpose of lifting some color from an ill-advised at home hair coloring experience. The color had come out too dark, and when I called my hair stylist for advice I was told to try shampooing with Prell. After some internet research, I wound up using the Prell as a mask for about 45 minutes applied and combed through dry hair (ouch!) Well, it definitely lifted color, when i finally rinsed quite a lot of dye went down the drain-it looks like it may have lifted 5-10% of the color-(this was done within 48 hours of the original applicaton). Probably not a great shampoo to use on a regular basis, and certainly not on color treated hair unless you are actually wanting to strip your color. I could see using on a very occasional basis to "clarify" and deal with extreme greasies. But this one application left my hair feeling like straw even after a subsequent hot oil treatment and conditioning treatment followed. And boy, does that scent linger in the hair! I wouldn't buy this product again mainly because one bottle should last me a lifetime-and I also don't plan on repeating a home coloring project ever again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products