Lancome • Cils Booster XL • Mascara

rated 4.0(418 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LindseyAnne on 3/16/2014 2:28:00 PM more reviews by LindseyAnne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Honestly I really had zero expectations when I got this as a gift. I'm not a huge lash primer person, but I gave this one a fair shot. And it's honestly fantastic. One thin coat separates lashes completely. This then results in a lot less fuss with the actual mascara. Because we've all had our lashes clump together while doing our mascara, and continuing to apply more coats of mascara in attempt to fix the clumped together lashes. This primer eliminates that problem all together because by the time it's time to apply mascara, lashes are already separated nicely and dried in position so it's really difficult to get a clumpy look with the mascara. Very impressed. This price is a little bit steep for sure, but this doens't even compare to all of the double ended mascaras that come with that thick, clumpy mess they call a 'primer' that just leaves your lashes looking grey. The Cils Booster is nothing like that. Great product and definitely a staple in my every day make up routine now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 misscynthia06 on 3/15/2014 8:51:00 AM more reviews by misscynthia06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

There are so many good reviews on here for Cils Booster I am tempted to pull mine out again and give it another shot!

My take: this primer does accentuate lashes, they do become longer and mascara on top does look fuller, However you are taking a bright white primer and coating your lashes with that, then layering black mascara. ... black plus white equals gray! I don't like that the color of my (usually super blackest black) mascara changes to dullish black or dark gray after i use this product. Also I don't like that if you miss a spot you have white lashes peeking out, and if use to many costs your lashes are thick and clumpy, many reviews seem to have found the happy medium but I just haven't.

For the price, I won't repurchase, I'll use my free samples up, and to be totally honest, a cheap drugstore black mascara as a primer under my fancy more high end mascara is just more effective and useful for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shakeitdontbreakit on 3/2/2014 4:29:00 PM more reviews by Shakeitdontbreakit

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A lash primer is not something I normally buy. If it's part of a double ended mascara I'll use it but generally I'm indifferent. But I gotta say, this one is quite good. It really does add more oomph to mascara. So much so that I repurchased when I ran out... and I actually ran out!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fatimsidd on 2/20/2014 10:45:00 PM more reviews by fatimsidd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I was really excited to try this base because of the promise that it will protect your lashes and keep them from being as damaged by the waterproof mascaras that I like to use. It does do what it promises... it lengthens lashes a bit more before applying mascara and lashes do feel healthier after you take your mascara off for the day... however... the difference is not significant enough to justify paying the price for it.. and the packaging sucks.. almost every time that I have tried to open the tube the little black plastic part that you are supposed to wipe your brush off on comes out attached to the brush and I have to screw it back on and carefully make sure they separate properly while opening the second time... after which is does do its job but for the price you pay this should not be a problem with the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blackberries on 2/3/2014 10:28:00 AM more reviews by blackberries

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've always been a drugstore mascara gal but ever since I started buying a lot of makeup from Sephora (online, of course) and received lots of samples .... Mascara samples, I received quite a few (woohoo!!). And this lash primer was officially the FIRST expensive mascara item I bought (thanks to the sample!)

I love itttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Before this primer, I use two mascaras (sometimes even three) to pump and darken my lashes. Mascara is really the only makeup I wear now because I want to spend my mornings studying (I'm working full time as well).

SO this primer is fantastic! I love it because it doesn't clump and it adds a nice, thin layer to my lashes. Before this, my solution was mascara + mascara (which usually clumps very well, but if I apply slowly..)

I've been sneakily using this primer for almost a year now -I know I should probably throw it out but there is still product in there! And it was like $28CAD!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 i8chrispbacon on 1/14/2014 6:09:00 PM more reviews by i8chrispbacon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Sadly giving this one a bad review. I,like a few others I saw, had a sample work great but got the full size and meh. I thought it was great for a couple days until I forgot to use it and realized the mascara by itself was better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 radnan16 on 1/13/2014 6:24:00 AM more reviews by radnan16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product straightened my eyelashes out completely after i curled it. Even when i tried to recurl it, the curl wouldn't hold and would just weigh itself down. It does make your lashes look longer, but it straightens them out and makes them look clumpy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SeekingFor on 12/1/2013 8:49:00 PM more reviews by SeekingFor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

got a sample of this with purchase and it doesn't hold a curl and mediocre on lengthening effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* royas784 on 10/30/2013 2:55:00 AM more reviews by royas784

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

HG status for sure. I first tried Cils Booster XL in the sample sized version I got as a Sephora perks gift. It was my first time using a mascara primer, and the sales rep assured me it was a great product that would help plump up my lashes and them look better overall, while protecting against the drying/damaging effects of mascara. She was absolutely right. I like this so much, I bought the full sized tube once I ran out.

Cils Booster XL applies smoothly and evenly, provided you don't have an excessive amount on the wand. I let it dry for about 10-15 seconds, then apply mascara. Any mascara I use ends up looking more done up and glam, yet polished. This minimizes clumps and makes lashes look more fanned out and plumped. I already have long lashes, but like that this provides added length and volume (my lashes are long and dark, but not too thick). I usually use Essence Get Big Lashes mascara (available at Ulta).

I must say I already have long eyelashes that have been made longer and healthier by two factors: a) I hardly ever wear mascara-- only for special occasions or when I feel like it, and b) I remove eye makeup with jojoba oil, and even dab a bit on my lash line at night even when I haven't worn any eye makeup. Both have made my lashes healthier, longer and stronger. BUT, I can't go without Cils Booster on days/nights when I do wear mascara. When my lashes were not quite as full, this still helped fill them out and make them look more lush and retro glam. Now that my lashes are long and full on their own, I still like using this to make them look "vavoom." This is a must-have product for eye makeup loving gals and guys, whose lashes can never look too perfect. With Cils Booster, you will get added length and volume, without looking overdone. If you're looking for a great mascara primer, look no further.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jonesse on 10/10/2013 1:40:00 AM more reviews by jonesse

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my desert-island makeup. (Ok, the mascara, too.)

I went from having skimpy blonde lashes that resembled those on a baby hamster to big ol' doll lashes. And no weird fiber clumps like on the drugstore versions. (I have tried them all, hoping to save 20 bucks, but they're just not worth it!)

With this and Definicils I can hike, sleep, cry a little, and all stays put. I pretty much won't go out of the house without this now. Sad but true. Blink, blink...

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products