NARS • Lipstick in Dolce Vita • Lipstick

rated 4.1(433 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Leeana24 on 11/6/2013 10:06:00 PM more reviews by Leeana24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this lipstick so much. This is an excellent lipstick and I am very pleased with it. I've always used MAC lipsticks and I love that they have a wide variety of colors and finishes, but this lipstick just beats em. The color is perfect on Medium-Olive skin and it looks very natural. The MAC that I have that is similar to this is Cosmo and the big difference is the consistency. The MAC ones have a thicker consistency that does not moisturize my lips and I often have to apply lip balm under and on top of it. With the NARS dolce vita, it's very moisturizing on its own and it glides on very smoothly. I also don't have to reapply so often! It is quite pricey though (good thing I got it as a gift, not sure if I would buy it myself XD)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lipstickthespian on 11/6/2013 7:11:00 PM more reviews by lipstickthespian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I am a big fan of Nars lipsticks. There is nothing wrong with the product itself. The color isn't flattering on someone of my complexion (extremely fair). The color did nothing for me and looked off putting. I ended up giving the tube to my mom, because she has some olive tones, dark hair and dark eyes. It looked much better on her.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BuffyDaLipGlossEater on 11/1/2013 10:12:00 AM more reviews by BuffyDaLipGlossEater

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Another decent lipstick from Nars.

It's a good, glossy, slightly warm dusty rose. It can be worn on its own for a nice, natural non-fussy lip. I like upping the glossy factor and warming it up a bit more with the Nars Orgasm lip gloss.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wintertragedyx on 9/23/2013 12:39:00 AM more reviews by wintertragedyx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I swapped for this lippie a few months back. I am not a lipstick girl. At all. I am more of a chapstick kind of lady. So it took me a few months to give this lipstick a try, but once I did I have been wearing it almost everyday. It is a natural looking, sheer, moisturizing lipstick. I seriously could not be more pleased with the formula, it is so smooth and creamy. And like many a person before me has said, it is a your-lips-but-better shade.

I just wanted to add that, as of 9/22/13 you can grab this dream of a lipstick on eBay for around $13 shipped (full-size) because it comes in the new Sephora Super Stars set. Or you can buy the set...but it will set you back about $75. Honestly, I did both. haha.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 firefox23 on 9/11/2013 1:24:00 AM more reviews by firefox23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Dolce Vita is a 'your lips, only better' product. It is on the sheer side, but still very nice for every day - though I suppose $30 is a bit pricy for an 'everyday' lipstick! I have other NARS lip products that are extremely pigmented and lovely, which is why I love the brand so much. The colour payoff from this is sheer, but it's not meant to be a big bold lip colour. So if you are looking for an opaque or even semi-opaque shade, this isn't it! However, if you are looking for a lipstick to bring out the natural appeal of your lips, this will be right up your ally.

This isn't a statement lipstick (such as my beloved NARS Dragon Girl or Schiap), but that's really the point - it's supposed to be a subtle hint of colour. I have had a hard time finding something that is 'my lips only better' - everything is either too nude, not sheer enough, or just makes me look funny. This is perfect for me. It really comes down to how willing you are to spend $30 on a sheer lipstick, aka whether or not this is your HG everyday lipstick....personally, I'm a sucker for NARS ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rumrumrum on 5/18/2013 11:30:00 AM more reviews by Rumrumrum

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This barely made three stars.
I bought this after it had been on my Sephora wish list for ages. Finally, during the 15% discount code week I snatched it up and almost wept upon application. All this time! The hopes, the fantasies, the nights on which I dreamt about the lipstick sitting on my vanity, beautiful, and loved beyond means! Only to be disappointed, disenchanted! OK, not really but you know what I mean. I understand it's a sheer formula but what I didn't expect was for it to be colorless, essentially. I have fairly pigmented lips and this lipstick looks literally like my lips but better. Ever so slightly better.That's not good. If I wanted my lips to look the way they are I would leave them alone. I'm going to use this as a lip balm to help even out the tone of my lips but I don't think I'll be repurchasing and I definitely won't be repurchasing at full price. I think the product is decent but there are a few drugstore products that do the same thing at a much more reasonable price. Oh, and this is the first time I realized, with the heaviness of consumerism weighing down my bank account, packaging is almost everything. If the tube was ugly I would return it in a heartbeat. Still debating whether I should or not...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 liss29 on 5/17/2013 9:30:00 AM more reviews by liss29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a NC30 skin tone with darker lips. I found the lipstick to actually lighten them a little bit without it looking unnatural (which can happen with my colouring). The result gave me a fresher and brighter face. I think that this is a really great sheer neutral lipstick that will help give a subtle polished look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mysilentface on 4/28/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by mysilentface

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've kept a tube of this in my purse for the last couple of years. It's my go-to lipstick when I want a clean, no fuss look. Feels very comfortable on the lips and I get about 2 hours of wear time. I haven't found any dupes that match the color and texture of it, so I feel it's still totally the price tag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SaffyS on 4/10/2013 2:36:00 AM more reviews by SaffyS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am a huge fan of Nars lipsticks. It is the brand I wear the most. I especially like Nars sheer lipstick line. Dolce Vita, however, was too sheer on me. It matched my own lip color so perfectly that no one could tell I was wearing lipstick at all. In the tube, it's a lovely dusty rose, on my lips it disappeared completely. It was not the MLBB shade I was hoping for. I have a medium warm-toned complexion. I found that Nars Falbala is my MLBB shade. Dolce Vita, meh.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* antolin1 on 1/16/2013 7:33:00 PM more reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, guess I am the odd [wo]man out on this one here as I am just not impressed with this shade. now I purchase a ton of nudes and I feel like this one is totally overhyped as an HG shade. I def think its completely overpriced for what it is- a basic, just there translucent nude shade. Admittedly I might have liked this more if it were more creamy and less sheer. Color payoff just isn't anything to write home about; its so basic that I am positive if I looked around enough I'd easily find tons of near match doupes for Dolce Vita at a fraction of the cost. Dare I say I found Dolce Vita really boring? I just am not feelin' this shade for its price-point and hype.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products