Skinceuticals • Hydrating B5 Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(181 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 l098899 on 1/28/2013 12:50:00 AM more reviews by l098899

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can imagine why there are so many people love it, it's light, hydrating, not greasy, long lasting etc. i also like it simple, to the point. When you are suffering from some facial problem, and afraid to try some new products, B5 is definitely a good choice because its so gentleeeee and simple.However it's really pricy, and I am not that needy in hydrating because my moisturizer could totally fulfill my need. Maybe I will buy this product again when I visit a desert . And I really want to try their CF for brightening my skin tone .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msweeneyttu on 1/27/2013 2:42:00 PM more reviews by msweeneyttu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my go to daytime moisture. I put it on in the am after I cleanse and tone, and it soaks right in. You only need a 2-3 drops so it can last for several months. Eliminates my flakes in winter. I would recommend and buy again.

I should note that people looking for a super moisture product would be disappointed with this. It is a gel, not a lotion, and feels like water with a hint of glycerine in it. I love that it is so lightweight and not greasy. I hate most face lotions because of the greasy feeling they leave, so this is a great alternative to those.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Parpar on 12/23/2012 4:06:00 PM more reviews by Parpar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

As I'm not really a big fan of Skinceuticals products (pore-minimizing moisturizer, phloretin, cleansers, phyto) I thought this was going to be like all of the others: very expensive with no benefits...well I was wrong! I got a sample of this and I fell in love, so I purchased the full bottle. Yes, it's $78 (in Canada), but it's absolutely worth it. I have young skin (20 year old), with some milia type acne and enlarged pores. The retin-a that I am on for my acne would leave me with flakes that no moisturizer (not even the thickest would fix) and if they did, my skin would break out because they were so heavy. When I put this on, the flakes disappear, and it just soaks into my skin which I love. Also it doesn't make my very sensitive skin turn red, or break out. Other hyaluronic acid serums don't even come close to this, and it has very few ingredients which I love! This is my routine. AM: wash face with water, unscented dove soap or Fresh soy face cleanser. Spray on rosewater (pat onto skin)...I do this occasionally. Apply 2-3 drops of the B5 Gel, rub gently and then pat. Follow with patting on Jurlique's Moisture Replenishing Day Cream or CeraVe's cream. PM: wash face with Fresh cleanser, apply retin-a and CeraVe cream. If I am not applying the retin-a I just apply Jurlique's cream. I find that it's best if you apply the B5 Gel when your skin is moist, it works much better as your skin really soaks it up. Lastly don't apply this over retin-a or any treatment that is supposed to slough off your skin, otherwise you won't get the benefits of either product, and you'll just be wasting money! In the summer, I have really oily skin so this alone might be enough moisture for my skin. Currently it's winter and my skin is calm and glowly. Yay! I am so glad I found this.

*Edit* - April 13th 2012

I am still in love with this; I don't know how many bottles I have gone through, either. However I was using too much before, or my skin has changed. As now I can go with a couple of drops on my whole face (not on neck or chest) because I apply it when my skin is moist so it spreads.
AM: Cetaphil cleanser, B5 gel, Skinceuticals Fusion SPF.
PM: Cetaphil cleanser, either Skinceuticals Retexturizing Activator or Skinceuticals Blemish + Age Defense. Sometimes B5, but usually not. Moisturizer.

I know other brands make a gel/serum with hyaluronic acid so I will explore and update if those are better or on par with this. Until then I use this! =)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Carrol on 11/29/2012 1:26:00 AM more reviews by Carrol

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this product and will never be without it. It is one of the best moisturizers out there, packed with hyaluronic acid. I have been using this product for over 5 years now and would never be without it. It feels deluxe when you smooth it over your face, and a little goes a long way. I always apply it first and then follow with any other facial treatment or moisturizer. It's a HG for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RosieRoss on 11/28/2012 7:25:00 PM more reviews by RosieRoss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A M A Z I N G! Great for oily skin! Summer, winter... Any time of the year. Not sticky, not greasy. Really hydrating. I tried to go back to the creamy texture- did not work for me anymore!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Neophiliac on 10/26/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Neophiliac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In winter, my oily skin loses moisture, yet lotion alone is of no help. My makeup did not sit well, so I came on Makeup Alley to find a product to help and saw good reviews for the Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel. This B5 gel is pricey, but it does work. It hydrates your skin much better than lotion and can be used in conjunction with it. A nickle-sized drop goes a long way, so the bottle lasts. Since it is a serum, this is not oily and does not aggravate breakouts if you are acne-prone. This is the only Skinceuticals product that I found actually works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SARAHD33x on 10/18/2012 11:57:00 AM more reviews by SARAHD33x

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My esthetician reccomended this product for my dry flaky skin and let me say this- it works! I find that in order to get the best out of this product, I apply it right after I come out of the shower, that way my skin will absorb it quickly. It absorbs almost immediately, and does not leave an oily sheen on my skin.

It is quite expensive, but I think it's worth it. You only need 2 drops from the pipette, so the product lasts for a really long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tobyleota on 9/19/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by tobyleota

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I bought this when I purchased C E Ferulic, as it was recommended to use these products together. It's an okay moisturizer. No problems, but nothing fantastic either. It's a bit too filmy for my oily skin, but no break outs or anything horrible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laquiche on 7/21/2012 10:37:00 AM more reviews by laquiche

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

For the price I would have liked a better moisture. This is an ok product for normal to oily skin, it sinks in really fast and leaves no greasy residue but when my skin is really dry this is not moisturising enough! I have better moisturising serums for half price (la roche posay, clarins, bioderma...)
Overall I like the packaging and like the fact that this product doesn't leave any greasy residue so I would probably buy it again for hot months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maquin22 on 5/16/2012 12:37:00 AM more reviews by maquin22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wish I had been introduced to the product sooner. This is a clear non sticky gel that sinks in immediately. I apply it after my Vitamin C serum dries. Since I begun using it, I find myself using less moisturizer each day. It eliminated all retinoid flakes with twice daily application.
I see a marked difference not only in hydration, but skin is plump and very healthy looking. Moisturizer can be applied over the serum if additional hydration is needed.

For reference I am in my early 30's with dryish skin sensitized by retinoids

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products