Skinceuticals • Hydrating B5 Gel • Treatments

rated 4.0(177 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 RosieRoss on 11/28/2012 7:25:00 PM more reviews by RosieRoss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A M A Z I N G! Great for oily skin! Summer, winter... Any time of the year. Not sticky, not greasy. Really hydrating. I tried to go back to the creamy texture- did not work for me anymore!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Neophiliac on 10/26/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Neophiliac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In winter, my oily skin loses moisture, yet lotion alone is of no help. My makeup did not sit well, so I came on Makeup Alley to find a product to help and saw good reviews for the Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel. This B5 gel is pricey, but it does work. It hydrates your skin much better than lotion and can be used in conjunction with it. A nickle-sized drop goes a long way, so the bottle lasts. Since it is a serum, this is not oily and does not aggravate breakouts if you are acne-prone. This is the only Skinceuticals product that I found actually works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SARAHD33x on 10/18/2012 11:57:00 AM more reviews by SARAHD33x

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My esthetician reccomended this product for my dry flaky skin and let me say this- it works! I find that in order to get the best out of this product, I apply it right after I come out of the shower, that way my skin will absorb it quickly. It absorbs almost immediately, and does not leave an oily sheen on my skin.

It is quite expensive, but I think it's worth it. You only need 2 drops from the pipette, so the product lasts for a really long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tobyleota on 9/19/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by tobyleota

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I bought this when I purchased C E Ferulic, as it was recommended to use these products together. It's an okay moisturizer. No problems, but nothing fantastic either. It's a bit too filmy for my oily skin, but no break outs or anything horrible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laquiche on 7/21/2012 10:37:00 AM more reviews by laquiche

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

For the price I would have liked a better moisture. This is an ok product for normal to oily skin, it sinks in really fast and leaves no greasy residue but when my skin is really dry this is not moisturising enough! I have better moisturising serums for half price (la roche posay, clarins, bioderma...)
Overall I like the packaging and like the fact that this product doesn't leave any greasy residue so I would probably buy it again for hot months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maquin22 on 5/16/2012 12:37:00 AM more reviews by maquin22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wish I had been introduced to the product sooner. This is a clear non sticky gel that sinks in immediately. I apply it after my Vitamin C serum dries. Since I begun using it, I find myself using less moisturizer each day. It eliminated all retinoid flakes with twice daily application.
I see a marked difference not only in hydration, but skin is plump and very healthy looking. Moisturizer can be applied over the serum if additional hydration is needed.

For reference I am in my early 30's with dryish skin sensitized by retinoids

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 5/1/2012 11:17:00 AM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My dermatologist recommended this to me for my rosacea-prone, dry, flaky skin. I am hypothyroid and have tried everything to help with flakes and this really seems to help. It's so light (because it's a gel) so it never feels greasy or shiny and it doesn't clog pores. I have not had any irritation or breakouts with this. Alone it does not provide quite enough protection so I use this on top of my regular moisturizer. The cons: price and the glass container. With two young kids and a tile floor in the bathroom, I have to hide this from them on a high shelf. But all in all, this is a great product and I will continue to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 QuilleyReturns on 2/1/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by QuilleyReturns

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Other    

This review is for Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel, which is formulated to bind moisture to the skin. I basically use this as needed, but find it particularly helpful in the winter when the air tends to be drier. As a reference, my skin is aging/sensitive/acne-prone. Once a break-out occurs it will turn into a dark spot, so my goal is to keep my skin clean and moisturized at all times.

I use this immediately after cleansing, meaning I don't do that "pat dry" thing. I use it on my wet skin and let it soak in while I moisture my body. Then I apply moisturizer on top of it. It seems to give the moisturizer a real boost and it keeps the skin looking fresh and moist. I do not see this same sort of glow without it.

$52.00 is step for 1 fluid ounce, however I will repurchase. It's a very high quality product and it saves my skin in the winter months.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninjalips on 12/16/2011 2:58:00 PM more reviews by ninjalips

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a light serum which can be used inconjuction with other, thicker creams. I find that it hydrates but not enough for winter for ppl with dry/ sensitive skin like mine. Positives for me are that it doesn't cause a reaction for my super sensitive skin, it moisturises me and it can be layered underneath other products. The hydrating effects for me was cumulative, it took a few weeks until I was convinced that it does the job! I'm on my third bottle and although I don't think it's the perfect product, I'll use it until/if I find a better replacement. It's expensive but as you only need a few drops each time, it lasts. I use my around 6-7 weeks and apply on damp skin. It has phenoxyethanol, an alcohol derivative so I would recommend sensitive ppl to test it before purchase. A combination of B5 and Jurlique Wrinkle Softener helped the lines around my eyes and brows to soften for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 retrolady on 11/19/2011 9:05:00 AM more reviews by retrolady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

this itch my skin a little when i apply on my face

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments products