Mario Badescu Drying Mask

3.7

147 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua),Kaolin,Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Starch, Calamine,Ichthammol,Propylene Glycol, Colloidal Sulfur, Titanium Dioxide 5/20/09


on 1/18/2014 3:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This stuff seriously stinks. It smells terrible to the max, but it works like a charm everytime.

Flattens my pimples with no effort and quickly. Just two nights and most bumps would have went away by then. I have super acne prone skin so I would recommend once a week of this drying mask on the whole face for about 20-30 mins. (Thin coat pls) Keeps your skin clear!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/11/2013 5:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this product just as much as I love Mario Badescu's other 2 products that I tried - the Buffering Lotion and Healing Cream.

I don't know why the reviewer below is bashing these products, but it's obviously some lame marketing ploy. And even if this person's claims were true, these products actually WORK, and can be bought at decent prices. There are thousands of skincare products out there that do nothing, so if something can make my skin look awesome and heal my breakouts from one day to another, bring it on!!!

This mask has a strong scent that lingers after the mask is being washed off, which is the only thing I don't like about it. Other than that, it reduces my cystic pimples to almost nothing overnight. I use it mostly on pimples I popped, for the ones without a head I usually use the Buffering Lotion + Healing cream on top.

It just sucks that because of some useless skin care companies that would be better off putting more effort into improving their own products than bashing quality companies, we are left without brilliant products such as the Healing Cream.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2013 5:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this product! I use it 3 times a week on certain areas to prevent pimples from forming. Kinda stinky, but worth it!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the product so far. It's great because I've been breaking out so much and it just help drying up the pimple so fast. I hated the smell, so strong. The good thing is it has a nice nude color that gives coverage, so when I break out, I often use it as foundation.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After much research I decided to take the plunge and purchase this mask to treat my hormonal acne. When I break-out its pretty minimal but its enough to stress me out. The smell of this is quite pungent but the end results make it worth it. I've used it once a week for a month now and I've experienced no issues with further breaking out. Immediately after removal I apply a rich moisturizer suited for oily skin as this mask is quite drying. I will definitely re-purchase this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2013 7:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got a sample of this from doing the survey on the Mario Badescu website. I like masks and this feels good going on and fine while it sits on your face. However, I have noticed a few small pimples - bumps more than anything else - after using this twice. I'm a little upset since my skin had been clearing up and this mask is supposed to treat, rather than cause, acne.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown


29/01/2013
I read almost all the reviews before I purchased this little jar of.....well stinky greatness! Its consistency is really nice as it spreads evenly and doesn't dry rock hard. Like one of the ladies mentioned though, it actually smells worse when I washed it off. This was three hours ago and I can still smell it! It's very unusual, however, it works so I don't mind it smelling like" wet, muddy, stinky dog" as my four year old son so honestly told me when I asked him for a kiss, sadly he refused:-(.
Anyway, my skin looks amazing! It's more even toned, well exfoliated and soft. I left it on only for 20 minutes and only applied a really thin layer. With regular use perhaps discolourations will be a thing of the past? I am spot treating on a couple of hormonal bumps at the moment so I will have to update on how well that worked. My only issue now is asking my husband for a kiss....poor man!

I also want to say that I've tried the healing soothing mask- Very nice, well rested skin after use and buffering lotion which is amazing on red raised breakouts. Kills them in two days flat! Doesn't do much for under the skin bumps which is why I got the drying mask. Anyway girls, everyone is different so you will have to try products yourself until something sticks. Good luck;-)

30/01/2013
So it's the next day and unfortunately spot treating overnight was no miracle treatment:-( the two bumps are still there, I guess being hormonal doesn't help. I'll stick with the buffering lotion for breakouts from now on, works a treat each time! Having said that, the drying mask refined the texture of my skin like nothing else... I will keep using it. I do find though its best when I work it into the skin then let it dry, that way it exfoliates better....:-)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2012 11:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

received this in a sample pack from MB. aside from the strong odor, I liked it. my skin feels clean without feeling overly dried out. not sure if I would purchase a full size or not...depends on performance after repeated use.


on 11/16/2012 7:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the drying mask because I have had the worst cystic acne on my neck and jawline as I am pregnant. It is safe to use during pregnancy. I have used it as a spot treatment at night and as a mask all over. It cleans your pores really well but does not do much for the cystic acne, even combined with buffering lotion!! It brings the inflammation down a little, but nothing major. Usually cystic acne takes weeks to heal, but I think this mask may speed up the process by a day or two. The other good thing is it lightens the old cystic acne marks, slightly. As for the smell, it is certainly something one can tolerate. I don't think it's that bad. Not a miracle product by any means. Not extremely disappointed since I didn't pay much for it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2012 12:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading some of the reviews prior to purchasing I thought some were being overly dramatic and sensitive about the smell. No, not at all. It smells like you put your nose to a new set of rubber tires and never stopped sniffing. However, I really don't care as long as it works. I would much prefer this natural sulfur smell over an added fragrance that could irritate my skin.

Anyway, it's a great mask for quickly drying acne. Been using this for 2 weeks and I took one lippie off because I don't think it's great for prevention but for quick treatment of current zits. I initially used this as a mask, but have continued using it as a spot treatment for the aforementioned reason.

I get cystic breakouts ever so often, and when they've really become a bump this is the only thing I've found to quickly draw them out until they've become a whitehead and can be easily popped (I know, gross). This works so quickly that it does this after leaving it on a few hours. I use my salicylic spot treatment when I feel that I have something coming and it works great for that.


I was initially wary of sleeping with this on my face for fear that it would rub off.. and while I think it would be too uncomfortable to leave on as a mask (it stiffens and the smell..) but when I used it as a spot treatment on one small area of my face (cheek), it didn't budge even after tossing and turning. I feel the longer one leaves it on, the better it works. It doesn't stop working after 20 minutes, but beware, it can be drying, especially when left on longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4192 Reviews
Mud Mask
142 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
2234 Reviews
Back to Top