Mario Badescu • Drying Mask • Masks

rated 3.7(143 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 4/19/2013 2:38:00 AM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After much research I decided to take the plunge and purchase this mask to treat my hormonal acne. When I break-out its pretty minimal but its enough to stress me out. The smell of this is quite pungent but the end results make it worth it. I've used it once a week for a month now and I've experienced no issues with further breaking out. Immediately after removal I apply a rich moisturizer suited for oily skin as this mask is quite drying. I will definitely re-purchase this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 enigmaze on 4/2/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by enigmaze

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got a sample of this from doing the survey on the Mario Badescu website. I like masks and this feels good going on and fine while it sits on your face. However, I have noticed a few small pimples - bumps more than anything else - after using this twice. I'm a little upset since my skin had been clearing up and this mask is supposed to treat, rather than cause, acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bellajean2007 on 1/29/2013 5:39:00 AM more reviews by Bellajean2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    


29/01/2013
I read almost all the reviews before I purchased this little jar of.....well stinky greatness! Its consistency is really nice as it spreads evenly and doesn't dry rock hard. Like one of the ladies mentioned though, it actually smells worse when I washed it off. This was three hours ago and I can still smell it! It's very unusual, however, it works so I don't mind it smelling like" wet, muddy, stinky dog" as my four year old son so honestly told me when I asked him for a kiss, sadly he refused:-(.
Anyway, my skin looks amazing! It's more even toned, well exfoliated and soft. I left it on only for 20 minutes and only applied a really thin layer. With regular use perhaps discolourations will be a thing of the past? I am spot treating on a couple of hormonal bumps at the moment so I will have to update on how well that worked. My only issue now is asking my husband for a kiss....poor man!

I also want to say that I've tried the healing soothing mask- Very nice, well rested skin after use and buffering lotion which is amazing on red raised breakouts. Kills them in two days flat! Doesn't do much for under the skin bumps which is why I got the drying mask. Anyway girls, everyone is different so you will have to try products yourself until something sticks. Good luck;-)

30/01/2013
So it's the next day and unfortunately spot treating overnight was no miracle treatment:-( the two bumps are still there, I guess being hormonal doesn't help. I'll stick with the buffering lotion for breakouts from now on, works a treat each time! Having said that, the drying mask refined the texture of my skin like nothing else... I will keep using it. I do find though its best when I work it into the skin then let it dry, that way it exfoliates better....:-)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ambuchanan on 12/24/2012 11:06:00 PM more reviews by ambuchanan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

received this in a sample pack from MB. aside from the strong odor, I liked it. my skin feels clean without feeling overly dried out. not sure if I would purchase a full size or not...depends on performance after repeated use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 madhs on 11/16/2012 7:46:00 PM more reviews by madhs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the drying mask because I have had the worst cystic acne on my neck and jawline as I am pregnant. It is safe to use during pregnancy. I have used it as a spot treatment at night and as a mask all over. It cleans your pores really well but does not do much for the cystic acne, even combined with buffering lotion!! It brings the inflammation down a little, but nothing major. Usually cystic acne takes weeks to heal, but I think this mask may speed up the process by a day or two. The other good thing is it lightens the old cystic acne marks, slightly. As for the smell, it is certainly something one can tolerate. I don't think it's that bad. Not a miracle product by any means. Not extremely disappointed since I didn't pay much for it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eeeee on 11/12/2012 12:20:00 PM more reviews by eeeee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After reading some of the reviews prior to purchasing I thought some were being overly dramatic and sensitive about the smell. No, not at all. It smells like you put your nose to a new set of rubber tires and never stopped sniffing. However, I really don't care as long as it works. I would much prefer this natural sulfur smell over an added fragrance that could irritate my skin.

Anyway, it's a great mask for quickly drying acne. Been using this for 2 weeks and I took one lippie off because I don't think it's great for prevention but for quick treatment of current zits. I initially used this as a mask, but have continued using it as a spot treatment for the aforementioned reason.

I get cystic breakouts ever so often, and when they've really become a bump this is the only thing I've found to quickly draw them out until they've become a whitehead and can be easily popped (I know, gross). This works so quickly that it does this after leaving it on a few hours. I use my salicylic spot treatment when I feel that I have something coming and it works great for that.


I was initially wary of sleeping with this on my face for fear that it would rub off.. and while I think it would be too uncomfortable to leave on as a mask (it stiffens and the smell..) but when I used it as a spot treatment on one small area of my face (cheek), it didn't budge even after tossing and turning. I feel the longer one leaves it on, the better it works. It doesn't stop working after 20 minutes, but beware, it can be drying, especially when left on longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CabooseHatesBabies on 10/11/2012 9:57:00 PM more reviews by CabooseHatesBabies

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I received a sample of this and I was blown away by the results. I just ordered a full size jar of this amazing product. I've used it once so far and already I've noticed a huge decrease in the size of my pores and a decrease in the amount of dark spots on my cheeks. I'm not going to lie and say that it smells fantastic because, c'mon, it's sulfuric and we all know sulfur is not one of nature's greatest scents. However, don't let the scent turn you off from the product! After wearing it, you don't even notice the scent. I actually find it fun to wear because it makes my face stiff (obviously, because it dries) and it's an odd yet cool feeling. This product is wonderful and even though it says to take it off after twenty minutes, you could even wear it overnight and wake up to a beautiful face! I love it and you definitely should purchase this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TrainedDreamer on 9/11/2012 1:22:00 AM more reviews by TrainedDreamer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I tried the Drying Cream in 2010 after MUA suggested it many times. Oh boy, that was a bad experience. So bad that I didn't want to try another Mario Badescu product until now.

I'm so glad I did! Because the Mario Badescu drying mask is AWESOME. I have extremely oily, acne prone skin. The directions tell you to wear this for about 20 minutes but I sleep with it on! It's cleared up my acne for the most part & my skin feels so soft. Sulfur is a miracle ingredient. ;) I will definitely repurchase & I reccomend this to anyone with similar skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lo105 on 8/31/2012 2:06:00 AM more reviews by lo105

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i don't think the smell of this is quite as terrible as people make it sound. yes, it smells faintly like tires and cigarettes and is the same texture as marshmallow creme. but, i think it does help my oily skin and doesn't break me out. it is hard to rinse but afterwards my skin texture does seem to be improved.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hiskitten92 on 8/3/2012 8:49:00 PM more reviews by hiskitten92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. It does smell awful but it works great! I recieved it as a sample but I will definitly buy more when I run out. I shrinks my pores, eliminates the oilyness, and shrinks/dries up any zits, big or small. I've only been using this product for a couple of days and it's already showing results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Masks products