Eucerin Aquaphor Healing Ointment

4.7

1230 reviews

93% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Petrolatum (41%) (Skin Protectant [Ointment]) Inactive Ingredients: Mineral Oil, Ceresin, Lanolin Alcohol, Panthenol, Glycerin, Bisabolol


on 3/2/2015 1:51:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My sister in law the nurse and my derm both said this was the purest and most effective otc for healing moisture. if you have very dry skin(anywhere) this is the answer.



on 2/23/2015 1:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am typically an all-natural gal and prefer to use nut butters (shea, cocoa butter) and oils (olive, grapeseed, coconut) for moisturizing my body. I always use Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter body wash and Shea Moisture Olive and Green Tea body oil in the shower. However, here in my neck of the woods we have had horribly cold and dry temperatures this winter and my skin has been a complete wreck. Dry, intense itching to the point of near madness! I found a solution FINALLY after weaving in/out all kinds of different oils and butters to no avail. Aquaphor came to my rescue! Not only Aquaphor, but Eucerin Calming Body Wash, cool showers, and a humidifier every single night in my bedroom, with the door closed. I have finally found relief. No more itchy, dry skin. I will keep the Aquaphor and Eucerin Calming Body Wash on hand during the extreme cold and dry months in winter from here on out. If you suffer from this issue try these two in combination. They work great! Also, I do not mind scooping the Aquaphor from the container, as I use it as soon as I get out of the shower, so my hands are clean. I also have been applying it at night right after my evening face washing ritual.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2015 11:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have a store brand aquaphor. Better than Vaseline in my opinion. Should def keep a tube of this around, esp in the winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2015 9:08:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just spent a week in very sunny and hot southern California. My photoallergy flared up through SPF50 and big hats to the point where it hurt to wash with CeraVe or put on sun block. Bought a tube of Aquaphor to seal in some moisture and soothe. Even in Santa Ana winds (which reduce the relative humidity to below that of the Sahara Desert), Aquaphor soothed and sealed in moisture. Now that I'm back home in the frigid Northeast, I'm still using Aquaphor until my skin is back to normal. Oh, and my cuticles look and feel great.

My daughter uses it to smooth rough, dry heels and elbows. She also uses it on her babies' faces to seal in moisture, since it has nothing extra they can react to (pediatricians recommend it for babies).

Packaging: I love products in tubes, and this fits the bill. Also, it comes in a 3 ounce tube, so you can bring it on the plane (where the air is so dry). If you want a more economical packaging, it comes in a large tub.

Price: The 3 ounce tube cost me less than $10. You use so little at a time, I'd say the price is relatively cheap.

Other: No discernible fragrance; melts fairly easily when you rub between your hands for smooth application (my face still cannot tolerate rubbing).

Final comment: No one should be without a tube of this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2015 10:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

FYI: In Canada this is called Skin Protectant Ointment.

I started using Retin-A micro recently and needed something to combat dry patches and the awful dryness around the nose. This stuff is so good! I put it on the night before, and the next morning my skin is back to normal!

So how exactly is this different from Vaseline? It has petrolatum like Vaseline does, but also other ingredients too. Aquaphor contains ceresin dervied from ozokerite which is a wax that seals in moisture.The lanolin and glycerin help actually moisturize your skin instead of just coating it with pure petroleum like Vaseline. Lastly bisabolol is the primary constituent of the essential oil from German chamomile! Helps to soothe and calm irritated skin. Hope that helps anyone who was trying to figure out how this differs from plain ol' Vaseline! :)

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 3:15:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm using this as Allure suggested -- a tiny dab tapped over eye cream at night -- makes it sink in and stay on. Allure did a skin care issue a few months back and recommended bringing your eye cream right up to your lower lashes (instead of just on the orbital bone) and then using a tiny dab of this. I also use this at night as my lip moisturizer. Have a big tube in the medicine cabinet and little tubes on the vanity. Love this stuff!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 2:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I live in Michigan, which means very cold winters, which in turn means extremely dry skin, and rough, cracked fingertips. I use this after applying lotion, cream or Lansinoh to my hands and nails before bed at night. It is really greasy and does a wonderful job of sealing in the moisture from the lotion.
I also work in school food service and am constantly washing my hands with strong soap, which dries them out. I have lotion at work and use it frequently. Today I applied the Aquaphor after applying my lotion before I went to work. I noticed that after 4-5 washes, my hands didn't have the rough feeling which signals me to go get some lotion. I think the Aquaphor protected them through it. I didn't use very much because I wanted to be able to use my hands without greasing everything I touched. Great stuff! I really recommend it for seriously dry skin!
I don't notice any smell to it at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2015 10:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am not the one who posts a lot of negative reviews, but I just don't get all the hype. It is very oily and sticky, and doesn't do much for hydrating or moisturizing. I used it around my mouth and in my lips which were flaking and I didn't see any changes. I could have easily used a Chapstick. If you need this, you better stick to plain Vaseline.


on 1/14/2015 6:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing product! I use this every single day. My face around my mouth and chin gets extremely, horribly dry. I've used different unscented moisturizers on it over the years but this is my HG for sure. There is no trace of dry skin when I use this and it's very gentle and fragrance free.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2015 10:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had this laying around my home years and years ago, and I didn't think it was anything special. I used it interchangeably with Vaseline & Eucerin's original healing ointment & Cetaphil cream. But now that I'm no longer in middle school and my skin has become much more drier, this thing has been the only thing that has been keeping my skin moisturized enough to not be flaking all over the place.

I have no idea why, but for the first time in my life, I've been experiencing some major wacky skin period. It's become SO much more drier, and sensitive, that it was very, very easy to irritate & get itchy. I even developed lizard-like rough skin around my mouth and cheekbones/brow areas. I was just BAFFLED and didn't know what to do. Even my trusty Waxelene, which has fixed everything from dry skin to chemical burns without breakouts, was not cutting it. As a last resort, I turned to Aquaphor. Which is a big deal for me, as I'm someone who usually avoids petroleum products. But the results have been so good that I'm going to make an exception.

At first, it didn't seem to be helping much. I slathered this on thickly all over my face (with all my other layers of moisturizers under it, including Waxelene) before I went to bed with my usual clean towel on the pillow. It was pretty uncomfortable to sleep in. :/ I'm acne-prone as well, and I broke out while doing this, but it could have been just a coincidence as I haven't been getting much sleep then, either.

But then, for some wacky reason, I found out that just putting a thin layer on my face and rubbing it in gently was much, much more effective and less greasy. I believe the most helpful step was to spray on rosewater between layers of moisturizers (I use Heritage Products rosewater spray, the one without glycerin), especially before putting on Aquaphor, since Aquaphor is part occlusive that traps the moisture under it.

This is what I do now:
- Wash face, put a small amount of vegetable glycerin on my palm and spray rosewater on, put it all over my face
- Put on Silk Naturals Oatmeal serum
- Spray rosewater all over face
- Apply a few drops of rosehip seed oil all over face & neck
- Spray rosewater
- Rub a pea sized amount of Aquaphor in my hands, warm it all up, pat it all over my face until it doesn't feel as greasy
- Spray rosewater (lol)

This might seem quite excessive to others, but doing this has helped my skin SO much. My alligator (I'm sorry reptiles, you are beautiful creatures, but it's not a good look or feel on my face) skin is gone and I'm not suffering from patches anymore. One thing that also surprised me about Aquaphor is that I thought it would just stay greasy the entire time I wore it, but when I rub it into my hands REAL good, it actually doesn't greasy to me! Interesting. I avoid such excessive rubbing on my face though, because I don't want to be stretching the skin there so much.

I've also noticed that using a gentle chemical exfoliant has been helping a ton in getting my moisturizers to actually soak in instead of sitting on top of my skin. I use Silk Natural's 8% AHA toner (which is made of lactic acid, instead of glycolic as usual, which is the gentlest form of AHA) every three days or so. I did not know this, but you have to wait 20-30 minutes before applying anything else to your skin so that the AHA can its job. Putting something else on your face before that can mess up the pH, causing it to not work properly. I usually just use the AHA on AHA days and wait 20-30 minutes, then continue with the routine as usual, but without the glycerin step.

Anyway, I really like that Aquaphor has something from chamomile in it as well, to help with the healing process, as my skin seems to really like chamomile things. Sometimes I mix in turmeric powder or oat flour with this ointment and put it on bug bites/cuts.

Overall, am so glad I was able to get past this painful skin issue this time around. Will update if anything changes.

Edit: I wonder if using just plain water instead of rosewater would have the same effect..?

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top