Elizabeth Taylor • White Diamonds • Fragrances

rated 2.9(178 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaylyn85 on 10/24/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by jaylyn85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This perfume in my opinion smells like something a more mature women would wear, I personally do not think it suits younger women or even women in their 30's. I would say someone in their 50's would enjoy this scent. To me white diamonds is a very powdery scent which tends to remind me of baby powder. I don't know about you but baby powder is not something i want to smell like. This perfume is not at all my thing I don't' like it on me or on anyone else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 9/20/2013 9:33:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A multitude of flowers, tempered by creamy Egyptian Tuberose immediately brought to mind a bath of scented oils. White Diamonds reminds me of the strong power fragrances of the '80's-ladies who wore suits with shoulder pads, short skirts, high heels and big hair and weren't afraid to say no, because they knew who they were, what they wanted and where they were going.
I recently met a woman in the fragrance department of a store who told she only wore this perfume and was constantly on the look-out for others to no avail. We had a lively discussion over the old-time perfumes and I suggested some new ones for her to try. We parted happily after our discussion, two mature women, of an era passed, where perfumes were once delicate and feminine, then turned to a heavier insidious oilier vibe-the musks, the patchoulis, the vetivers, then on to the powerhouses of the '80s'. We've enjoyed our true gourmands, our real vanillas, our basics. But now we see the insipid fruity blends. The mixes that are flash-in-pans, the slap their names on and call a designer perfume. And we wonder what will become of this younger generation when they mature? What will be their baseline to cull information from?
Not so with Elizabeth Taylor's White Diamonds. The aldehydes, of course, immediately hit you, but so does the bergamot, taming the bright florals of lily, carnation, jasmine, and ylang-ylang. But you expect this. The citrus of neroli, violety resemblance of orris root, light spices of cinnamon, hints of Turkish Rose, the hypnotic headiness of narcissus are all blended so well it's no wonder this fragrance is becoming a classic. Amber powders the mix well, while the oakmoss and patchouli give it its mysterious undercurrent. A light musk and a bare inkling of sandalwood all combine to make White Diamonds a perfume definitive unlike any you'll smell and one you'll always remember. This is a love/hate relationship perfume. It is for the experienced wearer, for the lover of perfumes that understands and appreciates the correlation of notes as they are applied.
Slapping her sobriquet on a bottle wouldn't have made Liz happy. She needed to make the perfumes work. She was successful in her goals. As with all of her fragrances, sillage is strong, as is the longevity. There is so much going on from start to finish, it is a joy to experience. This is a daytime or nighttime fragrance to wear, one to make you feel and experience strength.
I can understand falling in love with this perfume, and why someone would make it their signature perfume. It is complex. It's warm and surrounding. There are quite a few in the line to sample, and if you have the opportunity, give as many as you can a test. They are fascinating perfumes.
Top Notes: Aldehydes, Orange, Lily, Neroli, Bergamot.
Middle Notes: Italian Orris Root, Carnation, Cinnamon, Jasmine, Egyptian Tuberose, Turkish Rose, Ylang-Ylang, Narcissus.
Base Notes: Amber, Patchouli, Musk, Oakmoss, Sandalwood.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/6/2013 8:36:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I did what other reviewers have recommended and only sprayed a little and then wait a while before sniffing. Some people have said that smelling this immediately after spraying will put you off because it is so strong. Well I waited 15 minutes and it is still one of the strongest, most powerful fragrances I have ever tried.

To me it is very strongly floral, powdery, with a spicy note to it that I can't quite name. I have a large sample size of this and I can't bring myself to keep it. I am one if those people who prefer lighter, fruitier fragrances rather than the strong, classic perfumes and White Diamonds definitely falls into the latter category. Not one I will ever wear (or ever hope to smell again) but I am glad I tried it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunshine824 on 8/26/2013 2:07:00 PM more reviews by sunshine824

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm sure on "regular" skin, White Diamonds can be ghastly and overwhelming. But on my skin with it's formidable perfume killing chemistry that turns Angel, Opium, and Aromatics Elixir into soft skin scents - White Diamonds is lovely.



Initial spray is harsh and will hang in the air for at least 15 minutes after spraying. But once that's gone, what is left on my skin begins as a fresh and borderline soapy floral that dries down to an elegant jasmine bouqet. Not the current candy version of jasmine either. It's the deeper, more sensual version(closer to reality without being too indolic) It lasts HOURS on my skin and has nice sillage(which is nothing short of a miracle for me). If I had to compare to any other fragrance, it would be J'adore. Except that J'adore turns overly sweet & metallic on me and is kind of a boring 'office scent' to me, while White Diamonds is more complex and elegant.


If your skin is of the very dry or perfume eating variety and you like elegant florals, ignore the reviews and give this a try. It's a clean, elegant, and feminine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Beestreet on 7/2/2013 3:03:00 AM more reviews by Beestreet

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Probably the nastiest smell I ever tried...luckily didn't spend real money on it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kahou79 on 5/27/2013 3:04:00 AM more reviews by kahou79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a scent that I have worn on and off for while now and I always get compliments so it must work with my chemistry. It smells very sopisticated and I'm guessing that's why some say it's for older women. I have always loved these kinds of fragrances and the newer fruity scents just don't do it for me. White Diamonds is a very classy scent imo and I feel dressed up when I wear it, even if I'm donning jeans with fisherman sandals. If you don't like floral scents of any kind, you won't like this but if you love fragrances with lots of personality and character, you may adore this like I do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 FancyShmancy on 4/15/2013 12:22:00 AM more reviews by FancyShmancy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance smells beautiful on my Mum!!! I compliment her whenever she wears this, so I shouted myself a bottle. Was impressed with the price, its very affordable. But it smells completely different on me!!! Was disappointed, cos it wasn't nice on me at all. Mum was happy though, cos I gave my brand new bottle to her :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlueCatAnubis on 4/14/2013 4:04:00 PM more reviews by BlueCatAnubis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This perfume is strong. My boyfriend got it for me for Christmas and at first I liked it a lot but then I noticed whenever I wore it it would give me a headache. Even when I wore 1 spray I'd end up getting a headache, it is very strong. So my b/f and I took it back and got another perfume that is less strong and overpowering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Anne184 on 2/15/2013 10:06:00 PM more reviews by Anne184

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This perfume smells very classy and elegant, so I only wear it if I am going somewhere nice and dressed nice. When I first tried it I used the spray and I hated it- way too strong and headache inducing. However, I gave it a second chance and used the roller ball version and dabbed one drop on each wrist. Very beautiful fragrance when it is applied lightly. I do not recommend the spray at all, because it is too strong. A light touch is all that is needed and it lasts all day and night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cindersxoxo on 2/10/2013 2:15:00 PM more reviews by cindersxoxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I couldn't find the right perfume for me all my life until... NOW! I'm in love with it! It's insanely elegant, classy, mysterious and very 'American' like! It is exactly the kind of perfume that I imagine E. Taylor could have designed! Love it. The classic, universal fragrance that tells a life story behind it... *wink*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Taylor products

More Fragrances products