Elizabeth Taylor • White Diamonds • Fragrances

rated 2.9(175 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Beestreet on 7/2/2013 3:03:00 AM more reviews by Beestreet

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Probably the nastiest smell I ever tried...luckily didn't spend real money on it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 6/11/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I just adore this classic white-floral chypre with a fizzy aldehyde top, a lovely scent which to my nose is not at all aggressive or difficult (as opposed to, say, Opium, Giorgio or Aromatics Elixir). Yet somehow WD gets pelted with the dreaded "old lady" insult. I've concluded there are two types of "old lady" frags: those that have the potential to smell cryptic and funky due to heavy spice/animalic notes; and those that are simply vintage in feel. WD is the latter.

Fragrances of this much character and complexity may be out of vogue, especially for those under 35, who are accustomed to body sprays and fruity celebrity scents. But when WD launched in '91, it was an instant hit and continues to be the best-selling celebrity fragrance ever because it is beautiful! Opens with a champagne-like soapy sparkle and segues quickly into fresh white tropical flowers on a plush and glamorous woodsy base. Sillage is epic if over-sprayed; just 1-2 pumps of the EDT is plenty, and not too near the face. Worn judiciously, WD is feminine and soft and classy-- a real classic to wear with jeans or to a soiree. Beats that overly staid and formal Chanel No 5 with its hands tied behind its back, and at 1/5th the price.

I should say that I had to give WD a few chances before falling for its charms. It is strong and distinctive, and for a while I wasn't sure I liked it (I had been favoring simpler, sweeter scents at the time). I think many folks are basing their reviews on first sniff, either from the tester or on skin. You do indeed get an initial blast of "holy aldehydes and giant flowers, Batman!" that instantly marks WD as NOT a follower of current trends. But now I just love it, and wonder why I ever found it hard to wear. It's a good reflection of me, as it was of Ms Taylor at the time: voluptuous, living fully, owning the pleasure of mature womanhood and taking no prisoners. I like that I've aged into enjoying WD-- but even a younger woman could find it a terrific signature, provided she doesn't mind parting from the crowd in her outlook and sophistication. A great perfume!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kahou79 on 5/27/2013 3:04:00 AM more reviews by kahou79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a scent that I have worn on and off for while now and I always get compliments so it must work with my chemistry. It smells very sopisticated and I'm guessing that's why some say it's for older women. I have always loved these kinds of fragrances and the newer fruity scents just don't do it for me. White Diamonds is a very classy scent imo and I feel dressed up when I wear it, even if I'm donning jeans with fisherman sandals. If you don't like floral scents of any kind, you won't like this but if you love fragrances with lots of personality and character, you may adore this like I do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 FancyShmancy on 4/15/2013 12:22:00 AM more reviews by FancyShmancy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance smells beautiful on my Mum!!! I compliment her whenever she wears this, so I shouted myself a bottle. Was impressed with the price, its very affordable. But it smells completely different on me!!! Was disappointed, cos it wasn't nice on me at all. Mum was happy though, cos I gave my brand new bottle to her :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlueCatAnubis on 4/14/2013 4:04:00 PM more reviews by BlueCatAnubis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This perfume is strong. My boyfriend got it for me for Christmas and at first I liked it a lot but then I noticed whenever I wore it it would give me a headache. Even when I wore 1 spray I'd end up getting a headache, it is very strong. So my b/f and I took it back and got another perfume that is less strong and overpowering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Anne184 on 2/15/2013 10:06:00 PM more reviews by Anne184

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This perfume smells very classy and elegant, so I only wear it if I am going somewhere nice and dressed nice. When I first tried it I used the spray and I hated it- way too strong and headache inducing. However, I gave it a second chance and used the roller ball version and dabbed one drop on each wrist. Very beautiful fragrance when it is applied lightly. I do not recommend the spray at all, because it is too strong. A light touch is all that is needed and it lasts all day and night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cindersxoxo on 2/10/2013 2:15:00 PM more reviews by cindersxoxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I couldn't find the right perfume for me all my life until... NOW! I'm in love with it! It's insanely elegant, classy, mysterious and very 'American' like! It is exactly the kind of perfume that I imagine E. Taylor could have designed! Love it. The classic, universal fragrance that tells a life story behind it... *wink*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BelleDeJour1 on 12/29/2012 11:01:00 AM more reviews by BelleDeJour1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this fragrance purely because I absolutely LOVE Elizabeth Taylor, I agree with the other comments in regards to it smelling quite 'old' - it reminds me of chanel no5, very strong & bold but classy at the same time. I find I can only stand two squirts, one of my neck & one on my wrist. anymore would be way to over powering! It drys down into a nice floral scent. Its definitely for the older woman! However, I do like it. I wont go out of my way to wear it everyday but It will be used. I doubt Ill buy another bottle as It is a little strong for me but its still a nice fragrance & the bottle itself is very appealing, it looks very pretty standing on my dresser. R.I.P Liz x

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aquamarine94 on 12/27/2012 11:44:00 AM more reviews by Aquamarine94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As a teenager, I actually liked this product! I only like 2 perfumes this and "Fame" by Lady Gaga. White Diamonds to me does initially come off strong but then after that it tones down into a subtle scent. It's floral but not some cheapy, cheapy stuff you get. I started off with the Dollar Tree "White Diamonds" knock off and liked that one, so for this Christmas my mother bought me this. You can definitely know the difference as this lasts while the other one fades away after a while.

Now if only "Fame" was this price then I would buy that! I would recommend this to anyone who wants to give off an elegant/chic air. Hopefully it helps make a good first impression!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Therealslayergrrl on 12/24/2012 9:13:00 PM more reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Another scent I didn't purchase for myself. My 80 year old uncle bought me this for Christmas. My first thought was "NOOOOOOOOOOOO" But, I would never voice that. I gracefully accepted it and thanked him for the amazing gift.

It's a LOUD white floral that dries down into a musky floral. Kind of reminds me of hairspray. Maybe it's the aldehydes?

It reminds me of an older Aunt with huge hair and a smoked too many cigarettes voice. Loud and kind of in your face. I'll keep it around and wear it when I know I will see Uncle. But not for everyday wear for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Taylor products

More Fragrances products