Maybelline • Shine Free Oil Control Loose Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.5(124 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 LRebelle on 12/6/2012 6:06:00 PM more reviews by LRebelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

HATE THIS THING. I was looking for a powder to set my foundation that will help control the oil on my t-zone, but all this product does is make me cakey! The finer the powder, the better and this powder is FAR from fine. I doesn't glide on the skin nor does it blend. It sort of just sits there on your face. NOT CUTE, LADIES. The packaging sucks too and is definitely not ideal to carry around for touch-ups. The powder gets everywhere... ugh, just a big mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautyglitter on 12/3/2012 9:22:00 AM more reviews by beautyglitter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to use this before using the covergirl loose powder, and i remember never having any issues with this as a setting powder. It is more on the matte side. They have a good shade range too. But I think I like my covergirl one better being that it is not as matte, and I have really dry skin, so I like a dewy look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashmccord88 on 11/27/2012 12:15:00 AM more reviews by ashmccord88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's a basic loose powder. It does the job but doesn't not last long at all. I prefer using Airspun by Coty loose face powder it my HG. This I would only use if I wasn't doing anything strenous where I would sweat it off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SnappyLeeLee on 10/5/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by SnappyLeeLee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It does it's job well. I brush this product over my t-zone and have a shine free day. I know there is a lot of complaints about the packaging but I have none to give. I leave it at home on my counter..no risk of tipping over in my purse or makeup bag. If you do plan to travel with it I suggest a ziplock baggy, the top is pretty loose and comes over easily. I don't recommend using the puff it comes with but a powder brush. I never have liked puffs. The smell is nice. And the medium actually matched my skintone, I been having huge problems with finding medium loose powders that actually are medium and not dark.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilovemakeup25 on 7/9/2012 1:03:00 PM more reviews by ilovemakeup25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've actually repurchased this product a bunch of times. I'm not sure what keeps bringing me back to it but I really like it. I do like to stick to make up that I have used before so that's probably why and because it's really cheap. I use the lightest one in this and I just apply it with a flat sponge (not the one it comes with - obviously, that's more of a puff) but it gives good coverage, the colour matches my skin tone well. It is more yellow based but that seems to work for me. It is matte when you apply it and it does keep my skin shine free for hours. Of course like any product my skin eventually does get shiny but I don't bother to reapply because I'm lazy. It doesn't break me out also. It's a powder that really matches my skin tone. I'm fair skinned and it's always hard to find a match but I feel this is perfect. I haven't tried high end powders either but I really like this one and don't see the point in spending a lot of money when you can get this cheap one that does the trick. I have nothing bad to say about this and I will continue to repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Abbixx on 7/1/2012 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Abbixx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I normally don't wear makeup so I bought this to use on special occasions when I would need a bit of extra oil control on my face so I don't look like an oil spill at parties or events. There were mixed reviews about this product, but I figured since it was so inexpensive I'd just buy it anyway and try it out for my graduation party!


After about an hour and a half, my T-zone got shiny again, but I didn't expect it to be a miracle product so it wasn't too disappointing. What I liked was it kept my cheeks relatively matte for about three hours, which is a lot longer than what I expected. I have ridiculoulsly oily skin that gets shiny after about 30 min after washing my face, and this kept it shine-free for quite some time.


Overall, this was a decent product. Since I don't wear makeup regularly, I can't say if its ingredients will break me out overtime or will get less effective if used everyday, but for occasional uses it's pretty good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kmd521 on 6/22/2012 9:31:00 PM more reviews by kmd521

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I grabbed this at Winndixie for $2.99. I love using a loose powder that adds a bit more coverage and this does the trick. I had been using Nars loose powder but that got to be a bit expensive for me. I am not really the type to do mid day touch ups but I have noticed with this powder there is no need to. I like it so much I went and got the last one they had for $2.99 today. The packaging could be better but its cheap and works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hayxoh on 6/22/2012 5:46:00 PM more reviews by Hayxoh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this loose powder. It sets my makeup beautifully and doesn't leave it looking cakey. It also controls oil for a good period of time. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 scatcat92 on 6/15/2012 9:00:00 AM more reviews by scatcat92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I like loose powders, but I hate when they are packaged like this: the lid is not secure and can easily slide off in your make up bag. I usually keep them in a ziploc inside my make up just in case.
I was really looking forward to this powder because I love and rely on Maybelline. Their colors usually match my skin pretty well. I bought the light shade, and was disappointed. It appears very yellow in the packaging. Once it's applied to my skin, it's not as obviously yellow but it has a strange yellow cast to it. I wouldn't buy it again unfortunately.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nilorac123321 on 6/8/2012 3:25:00 PM more reviews by nilorac123321

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I usally use my favourite Stila powder, but I recently ran out. I ran to the closest Kroger around, and sought out a good setting powder.
I have to say, I love this. I was looking for a cheaper 'doupe' of the setting powder I usally use, and I found something similar and cheaper.

The packaging quality, is at best, sucky. But like others have said, you have to get the great quality from somewhere, right?
The powder is fine, and has a smooth texture.
The color seems to be mostly translcent, but does have a slight tint. I bought this in the color "Light 01"
When used with my already mattifying foundation, I find that I can go all day with little to no shine. I do touch up halfway through the day, but I tried to go a day without doing so and I still had only a slight dewieness to my complexion. I don't have acne so I can't say if It lessens redness or sometihing, but it definitly does the job.

I really, really like this product. I won't buy again because I do favor my high-end makeup a litte more, but I'll keep it around just in case I run out again or need it somehow.

Good job Maybelline :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Loose Powders products