Paula's Choice • Super Antioxidant Concentrate • Treatments

rated 3.5(229 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemis16 on 1/22/2010 10:49:00 AM more reviews by artemis16

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I must have the exact same skin issues with the reviewer below. In three uses, I had spots around the greater eye area and on my cheeks and forehead. Not nice. I'd like to achieve the softness without the side-effects so I won't be buying. Luckily it was a sample.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 9/2/2009 3:39:00 AM more reviews by mapn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I used a sample on 3 consecutive nights and slowly but surely, it caused my skin to break out. Not as badly as the Skin Recovery Antioxidant Concentrate, but enough to know that I won't be buying. Since this one doesn't contain ingredients I'm allergic to (at least none that I know of), it must be the silicones, once again, that are breaking me out. I should just accept that once and for all. Plus, I really really hate the fake smoothness silicone-rich products temporarily give. I'd much rather have my skin looking healthy and feeling soft and smooth naturally. I haven't tried the new & improved formula, but seeing that the first two ingredients are cyclopentasiloxane and dimethicone, I believe my skin's reaction will be the same.


UPDATE: I tried using this under my eyearea only, and I just ended up with tiny pimples, on that are between my cheek and "dark circles". Not fun. Went from 2 lippies to 1, because it's definitely not compatible with my skin. I don't think I'll be trying the new formula either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* catisland on 8/21/2009 11:08:00 PM more reviews by catisland

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get it either...I'm sure the actual antioxidant components are good quality and the product contains a decent amount of them, but the consistancy is just awful. The word 'suffocating' comes to mind. Sorry, but something that heavy and impenatrable just isn't my cup of tea.


Occasionally, I get suckered into the Paula's Choice hype and purchase a couple of her products to see what wonders I'm missing out on and I always regret it. Her really, really, really creepy plastic surgery ought to be my first clue...seems like she's competing with Joan Rivers for the Michael Jackson Plastic Surgery Addiction Award, or something. How can you hawk skin care when you obviously have had several plastic surgeries and continue to have more?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gracie97 on 8/8/2009 9:36:00 PM more reviews by gracie97

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I buy this again and again because Paula is constantly reviewing the antioxidant research and updates this product based on the results.

The current formulation has stabilized vitamin C plus a slew of other antioxidants. Different antioxidants have different benefits, so it's good to have a variety, not just C.

It's inexpensive compared to many other antiox formulas, and a tube lasts several months. The product is very concentrated so a few drops are enough.

I'm puzzled, however, by the packaging because it seems that it could allow air in. Seems like a pump would be better. However I'm careful never to let the tube expand with air when the cap is off.

How I apply: put drop on each fingertip of one hand, then press fingertips of other hand against them, then lightly and quickly run fingertips all over face and neck.

I also put a few drops on the back of one hand, then press back of other hand against it, and then smooth all over hands and wrists.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caradiangela on 7/11/2009 5:02:00 AM more reviews by caradiangela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in love with this product! I orderered from the European website, which offers a super antioxidant concentrate with a formulation that differs from the one on the American website. Maybe this is still the non-reformulated Amercian-version'? Anyway, I don't really care, because I love it, I love it, I love it! It glides on like a dream, makes my skin totally balanced, soft and glowing and never irritates or gives break-outs. I use it mainly at night, but sometimes also under my ss, or just plain as moisturizer when I won't face the sun. I truely believe that the ingredients help my skin in being healthy and beautiful. Did I already mention that I love it..?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fivestar on 6/28/2009 9:53:00 AM more reviews by fivestar

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I don't get this stuff.
I don't know what it does because it's like silicone serum. If there are any aintioxidants in it that are beneficial, then I would like to see it in a different type of formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Catkins on 6/28/2009 9:41:00 AM more reviews by Catkins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this after my moisturiser and before my makeup. Its does a pretty good job at keeping my skin matte but not really seen anymore benefits other then that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kayley123 on 6/12/2009 8:42:00 PM more reviews by kayley123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have the Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate, and it is great! You do have to shake it well and not overuse it, or it will have the opposite effect, it will make you look greasy/shiny. But once you get the hang of it and figure out how much to use, it is the best! The serum is SOOOO silky and glides on ...its NEVER irritating, even near my eyes, and keeps the oiliness in my t-zone in check. Also, its a good primer, it makes application smooth and keeps it on. I just love it. The packaging is opaque, but that's important for keeping the antioxidants stable, so its a small price to pay. The very small opening in the tube makes it easy to control how much comes out so you don't overuse it or waste product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Msmimi724 on 6/8/2009 8:31:00 PM more reviews by Msmimi724

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. I do have tend to have oily skin in the t zone within a few hours of applying makeup. I use this product instead of moisturizer. It also works well as a primer. I had previously used Peter Thomas Roth mattifying gel - waste of $$$. For the price this is a great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mgutteridge on 5/30/2009 10:13:00 PM more reviews by mgutteridge

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

in short, a really great product. i applied this under my moisturiser and found that my skin was not oily, only more radiant and smooth. it helped to hydrate my skin and remove any rough or dry patches that i occasionally get.
when used under the eye area, this product removed any dryness and over the period of about a week helped to minimise my dark circles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments products