Maybelline • The Rocket Volum' Express • Mascara

rated 3.6(755 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 makeupalleyusername123 on 1/21/2015 4:05:00 AM more reviews by makeupalleyusername123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a horrible mascara! I used it once and literally all my lashes clumped together into one big clump in the middle of my eye. I had to take it off right away and use something else. And, in the short time it was on my eye, it smeared and smudged everywhere just by blinking. The brush picks up way too much product, and makes all your lashes stick together. And, about a week later I tried to use it again, but when I took the wand out of the tube the packaging broke! The little stopper that takes off excess mascara came out of the tube, so all the product (yes, all of it,) that was in the tube went on the brush. I couldn't even see the bristles anymore! I got rid of it right after, and won't ever be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JuiceLoo on 1/20/2015 3:52:00 PM more reviews by JuiceLoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Its good. It delivers length like i dont know what else. Volume is really ok.
Separates the lashes nicely and doesnt smudge on me.
Its a tad drier than the One By One, witch i also love, but then again it delivers just a little tiny bit moore.
Im rebuying this :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannahlovesmakeup1 on 1/19/2015 12:39:00 AM more reviews by hannahlovesmakeup1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I did like how this made my lashes look because it gave so much length! However, it's heavy and a bit clumpy. Believe me, it's super super SUPER awesome for lengthening; just not so much for volume. Maybe you could apply the mascara, then just use a different brush to separate your lashes more. Either way though, it still feels like you're wearing mascara, which is why it feels heavy and uncomfortable. Overall, I would repurchase because it lengthens so well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Danielle312 on 1/18/2015 9:10:00 AM more reviews by Danielle312

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is honestly not that bad. It is labeled as a volumizing mascara, but I find that it provides more lengthening than overall volume. The level of volume it gives is nice and moderate without looking overdone, as some volumizing mascaras tend to do. It also does a good job separating the lashes. The only strange issue I had with it... and this is kind of odd.... is that the wand scratches your upper waterline when applying it from root to tip... almost like a comb does to your scalp. Don't worry though - It is not going to hurt your eye, but it is a strange sensation to feel. I think that is probably why it lengthens so well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GeorginaDawson on 1/2/2015 9:40:00 AM more reviews by GeorginaDawson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara, it has great length and volume. it doesn't clump and is not spiky or sticky.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 crazyging on 12/30/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by crazyging

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Used this til it ran out because it came in waterproof. The hold was great but it was suuuper dark and unnatural looking, clumpy and flaky. Felt heavy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dterrob on 12/30/2014 1:43:00 PM more reviews by dterrob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Picked it up on sale at Walgreens when I was needing a new mascara. It's okay. One good thing I can say is that it really surprised me with how lengthening it was for a mascara all about volume. I don't usually gravitate toward voluminous mascaras; this one reminded me why. Volume is cool and all but this one is pretty clumpy. It looks much better when I clean the brush off a bit with a tissue before applying it, but I hate to waste product like that. I don't see myself buying it again. It's nothing awful, and you can get really pretty and intense lashes with it, but I don't think it's worth running the risk of the dreaded lumpy/clumpy look that may result each time you use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Laerkejensenc on 12/30/2014 5:48:00 AM more reviews by Laerkejensenc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When i first got this mascara i absolutely hated it! It clumped my lashes all together and it smugded under my eyes and it was just a disaster. But then i tried it again about six months after, surpringsly it wasn't dried out, and this time i really liked it. It didn't clump my lashes it just gave them lenght and some volume. I really like the look it gives, it's a great everyday mascara. I won't repurchase again though, because it only seemed to work after a few months

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smootchick on 12/28/2014 11:20:00 AM more reviews by smootchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this mascara in a pinch when I forgot to take my makeup bag on a trip. I got a bogo deal on it, which influenced my purchase. The brush looked great in the package with lots of fine plastic bristles, similar to my fave CG Clump Crusher. But when I went to use it, huge disappointment. The product is very wet and made my lashes stick together. If you swipe through a few more times for definition, it just gets worse. I think the brush also adds to the issue by picking up too much product. If I wiped the brush down before applying, the distribution was much more even and less clumpy. That said, the Very Black color is dramatic and made my eyes pop. Lashes were lengthened to the point that I got black marks on my browbone (another problem with the wet formula). I just don't like having that obvious thick mascara look and prefer defined, separated lashes instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 calliethrutchley on 12/28/2014 12:05:00 AM more reviews by calliethrutchley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Originally when I tried this, I had bad luck. I forgot about it for a while, and then just the other day I tried it again. I didn't hate it, but it certainly does not add volume. It lengthens and separates, but as I already have very long lashes, it's not what I'm looking for. I wouldn't buy it again, but that doesn't mean it won't work for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products