Maybelline Color Tattoo - Barely Beige

4.2

46 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/11/2013 5:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the first of the five Metallics I was able to get my hands on, and I must say I'm on the fence about it. It's a really pretty color but I find myself having to sheer it out and use it more as a base for other eyeshadows because it's so intensely light. It's not so starkly white as Too Cool, but it's about just as frosty, so I tend to use this more as a highlighter for the inner corners of my eyes, the middle of my eyelid, and on my brow bone. It's definitely more of an eye brightener than an eyeshadow as far as I've used it. Bad to the Bronze suits my skintone much better, but Barely Beige may be a great neutral shadow for those with naturally pale skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 5/7/2013 7:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I use this shade mostly as a base and it works quite well for that purpose.

It dries quick so I have to make sure to apply it quickly. I have also used this quite a few times to lighten my inner lash line/rim. I have quite a few of these pots and I won't say this is a fav but it does what it's suppose to do.


on 4/25/2013 1:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

gooooood !!!!


on 4/19/2013 10:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is my least favorite CT ever. It is so patchy I can't stand it. I've tried every way possible to apply this and nothing helps. It just isn't work for me. It's not me, it's you CT. I'll stick to my Bad to the Bronze.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hate to be a downer on a loved product but I didn't love this like I thought I would. I'm a light to medium Asian and this was not a pretty neutral on me. Too light and frosty. I can work with it with eye shadow on top though but the wear wasn't fantastic and it just seemed overall okay, nothing special. I really don't ever use this.


on 2/1/2013 1:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Is it amazing? Not really - I have found the colour pay-off so sheer and it has nowhere near the staying power as my much loved bad to the bronze. The shimmer effect when it has been on you skin for about a min disappears and the bigger glitter particles remain and look cheap and nasty. Also there are glitter clumps in it!? It does not apply smoothly with finger or brush looking scary in the daylight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2013 7:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Loving this eye shadow right now. It is, as the name suggests, quite discrete, it is a yellowy beige that goes on more shear than many of the other color tattoos. Though in the pot it looks like it would be pretty sparkly, it's not, it's mostly matte with a nice subtle sheen. As with all the other colors in this line, it stays on all day (and night if you want it to).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2012 1:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would totally repurchase this again! Maybelline add this to your permanent liinnneee! It's so amazing, can make any eyeshadow pop when applied underneath as a base. I'm in love with this, and will be heart broken when i run out,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2012 2:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a gorgeous, neutral,and versatile cream shadow. I use this either as a all over lid base, stand alone eye lid colour, and/or highlighter for the inner corner or brow bone areas. This soft beige with a golden frost finish has excellent pigmentation, dries quickly, and stays all day without budging or creasing. (An FYI I always wear an eyelid primer underneath all my cream or powder shadows.) I've heard this is a dupe for MAC's Bare Study Paint Pot. I was curious and swatched them side by side as I have Bare Study. They are very similar, but Maybelline's isn't what I would call an exact dupe. MAC's feels creamier and has a smooth texture with a slight more pinky undertone. Where's Maybelline's has a more metallic finish and of course is significantly less expensive as I paid $8.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart. Both are beautiful and welcome addition to my makeup collection.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2012 3:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After having been highly disappointed with the Tough As Taupe shade (which was completely my fault being that I don't really find the color flattering on myself) I went on a wild goose chase on the hunt for another. This limited edition color seemed to be the perfect slightly shimmery, pinky-nude, everyday base for my favorite shadows. Once again, I was let down. Although the color was stunning, the wear was not. I had read multitudes of reviews comparing them to MAC paint pots. People said they wore well and did not crease. Being that I have extremely oily lids and am not ready to dish out $20 or more for the Nars primer (which I've been lusting after) I decided to give it a shot. I had noticed some creasing with the taupe one I already owned, but felt optimistic anyway.
No matter how sheerly I apply it (or how heavily; I thought maybe it wasn't enough) I still have creases after just 2 hours! The only people I would recommend this to are those who, a) don't have an oil slick on their eyelids, b) don't have hooded lids, or c) generally don't have problems with creasing.
On the upside, this product did keep my eyeliner in place beautifully and acted as a gorgeous brow-bone highlight.
It's not a complete flop, but don't read into the "creaseless" claims, it does crease!


Back to Top