Marc Jacobs • Dot • Fragrances

rated 3.6(47 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Caramel_Apples on 9/15/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Caramel_Apples

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not at all a fragrance person, but being a fan of Daisy since it came out (though not so much Eau So Fresh), I'm always interested in trying whatever perfumes Marc Jacobs comes out with.

This, to me, is Daisy's sweeter sister. Whereas Daisy is a fresh burst of upbeat fragrance for daytime, Dot is a deeper, richer scent that is as suitable for evenings.

The reason I'm not a fragrance person is because even high-end fragrances too often are at least one of two things: 1) a heavy burst of alcohol, 2) a scent that barely lasts a half hour and/or I can't smell it unless my wrist is an inch away from my nose. "Dot" passes all my tests. I would give it a B- on lasting power, because I feel the scent fades a lot after at most 2 hours. But I like the scent itself enough that I enjoy spraying it a lot anyway. It doesn't hurt that the bottle is adorable.

I do think it's overpriced, but based on the merits of the product exclusively, I'm definitely a fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 YassAndin on 8/14/2013 5:37:00 AM more reviews by YassAndin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this perfume! First off, I just love the cute packaging. The colours are vibrant and I was really attracted to it. The wings on the the lid is just the cutest thing I've ever seen on a beauty product. So then I decided to get this one instead of Daisy, which I have been using for a while and completely adore.

On top of that, the scent of this perfume is really nice as well. It's really sweet and it fits me pretty well. I didn't like it the first time I used it, but then when I used it the second time, I realized just how good it smells. It lasted longer than my other perfumes (VS Sheer Love & Anna Sui Dolly Girl are the ones I'm currently using) and I liked that. I don't use this everyday, however, because it can get a little overwhelming for me.

Overall, I think it's a really great product. If I run out, I won't go running to get it, but I'll repurchase again one day. Because as much as I like this one, I still prefer Daisy over Dot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 7/14/2013 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been on the hunt for a new perfume, so I've been trying out lots of samples I've accumulated over time that have been sitting in a little makeup bag in my bedroom. I've been wearing my Dot sample for the past few days and while I like it, it isn't a scent I would purchase in full size.
When I first put this on, I had high hopes. The top notes are berry and honeysuckle, and the scent is juicy and fruity without smelling like a kiddie perfume. After about 30 minutes, some of the middle notes come through -- I smell a little orange blossom and a lot of coconut. At this point, I was still loving the fragrance. It seemed to be a little more of a complex take on your typical fruity floral daytime perfumes. After another hour or so, the berry scent disappeared from my skin and I began to smell jasmine. OK...Still really liking the scent. The only problem I have is that while the scent is great for the first few hours, I really don't like the dry down. At the end, it seems like all that fruity floral goodness just disappears and all I can smell is a strong, sharp musk. I'm not a fan of musky fragrances, but I thought it might be alright mixed in with all the other notes. But like I said, at the end all I get is a heavy musk, which I really don't like.
Aside from the bottom notes, this is a nice, light, fresh perfume. The longevity is pretty good -- it lasts about 8 hours on me. It isn't heavy, so it doesn't hang in the air around you -- it stays close to the skin, which is nice. I think it would be a great spring/summer fragrance, and I like that it is more unique than a lot of other fruity florals. But like I said, the musk is a deal breaker for me.
As much as I want to like a Marc Jacobs perfume, there is always one note that just kills it for me. The bottle is adorable and it would look so cute on my dresser, but this just isn't the scent for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Missconsistency on 7/9/2013 4:23:00 AM more reviews by Missconsistency

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I love all of the Marc Jacobs Perfume bottle designs. But Dot especially does stand out to me. Looks like a Lady Bug on a Light bulb ( truly a work of clever art! ). The fragrance perfectly suits the bottle design. I really love the top note all the way down to the dry down vanilla musky note! Looks Wonderful on my vanity.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fresh1fierce1feminine on 7/5/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by fresh1fierce1feminine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Lovely perfume! I always get compliments wearing it:) feminine and floral and sweet, but not too strong! Love it! <3 Although pricier than the Bath and Body Works scents im used too, it stays on much longer and better quality!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HelenaReviews on 5/14/2013 5:13:00 AM more reviews by HelenaReviews

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Nice, fresh, young packaging. I am only young, so I find if there is a scent I really like the packaging tends to be quite drab. Lovely scent, very sweet, so if that isn't what you like I wouldn't recommend this to you. On me it lasts ALL day, and I get so many comments on how good I smell. Definitely going to repurchase when my bottle runs dry

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rosagarcia163 on 5/10/2013 1:26:00 AM more reviews by rosagarcia163

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

At first I thought this perfume was nothing special, but after smelling all the other Marc Jacobs perfumes, I can see how this one stands out from the rest. To me it actually smells kind of buttery. If you want a unique smell that not everyone is wearing like viva la juicy, I would deffinitly but this one

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Desireec727 on 5/9/2013 11:39:00 AM more reviews by Desireec727

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this perfume. It smells perfect. Sweet enough but not too sweet, floraly enough but not too floraly. Young, fresh, it's a great perfume. I get compliments all the time on this perfume...but while I do have a pretty large bottle of it...I can't wear it often because I will use it up too quickly. The scent only last 3 hours MAXIMUM on my skin. I find myself spraying this perfume on at least 3 times on the days that I wear it. The bottle is too cute BUT, it's hard to spray since it has huge wings protruding off of it. You have to turn the pump to just the right angle so you can hold the bottle comfortably. That's the only reason I can't give this perfume 5 stars. Minor flaws. Desireesbeautyblog.Blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JadoreNelle on 3/18/2013 11:25:00 PM more reviews by JadoreNelle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this perfume! Sephora had a fan friday where they gave away a mini roller version of this perfume and I just fell in love with the scent and recently bought the full sized 1.7 oz bottle. It is a lush combo of fruity berries and jasmine. It has a great balance of maturity and a young sexy vibe as well. This can be worn both day and night. The only thing I didnt like was all the crazy stuff coming out of the bottle. Plastic parts of ladybugs. Looks cute on paper but I feel as though I might drop the bottle trying to get a grip around all the nonsense jutting out of it!!! Get the 1 oz bottle if you can. It is just smooth glass with a decorative cap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kpennock on 3/7/2013 9:06:00 AM more reviews by kpennock

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I needed a new scent. My last perfume was running very low and so I went out and tried a few perfumes but none just WOWed me. Then I picked up this scent...and Daisy...I love them both.

This one is so feminine and floral with a lil sweet. It smells natural and fresh. I love it! SO happy I bought it and the packaging is adorable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Marc Jacobs products

More Fragrances products