Physicians Formula Matte Collection Quad Eye Shadow in Canyon Classic

4.5

130 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/28/2013 11:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have all three of the PF matte quads and this is my favorite of the three. It's a little more dramatic on me than the other three but still looks natural and fresh. It is more cool-toned with the crease shade being dark grey but I can see it working on almost everyone. So pretty and I highly recommend!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/24/2013 6:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't get the love that this quad gets. I had it for years and didn't replace it. The two brown shades were indistinguishable from each other and looked okay on my skin, but were nothing special. The grayish shade looked like dirt on my face. And the highlight shade didn't show up on my skin. I'm glad it works for so many people, just wanted to add a differing viewpoint.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this quad after hearing several YouTubers raving about it. This is probably my most exciting find so far this year.

The formula: These are 100% matte shades. They are smooth, and easy to blend. They kick up a little powder when you stick your brush in, but in my experience all matte eye shadows do this. These shades are not chalky in the least. They are nicely pigmented, and build to opaque color. Over primer (NARS) this quad wears all day like iron.

The colors: These are lovely cool/neutral shades. They can create a nice natural day look, and a smokey night look. The two "brow" shades look similar in the pan, but they are noticeably different on the eye. These are cooler shades, but I think they complement my warm skin tone well. They seem to brighten my face, even my SO commented on my makeup when wearing this.

The price: With a MSRP of $6.50 these are a STEAL! Physician's Formula goes on sale quite frequently for 40% off at Walgreens, CVS, and Ulta. Add some Extra Bucks, coupons, or points, and you can get this for a few bucks (I paid $2.77)

The bottom line: These shadows are amazing. They may be the best mattes I have used. They perform as well if not better than my Urban Decay Naked Basics. I plan to purchase the other two matte quads when I find them.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2013 9:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Seriously matte and natural/nude shades. Go with every day and everywhere look.

Have used these for years and will continue to repurchase. The plastic casing is not luxe, but for the price, who really cares. The texture and pigmentation of the colors is almost perfect -- right up there with HE eyeshadows.

don't hesistate.. try these and you will have a great solution to every day eye colors.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2013 9:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Finally, a quad of nude shadows from the drugstore that are good quality! Most other drug shore palettes have shimmer, and I was just looking for some plain colours for every day use with no shimmer. Finally!
In Canada this isn't sold at most drug stores, so I had to go looking for it (finally found it in Walmart). So glad I found it!
I will repurchase when needed.


on 5/9/2013 10:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've picked this up and put it back so many times while at various drugstores. I finall got it for $1.49 while CVS was having their $6.00 off PF sale. I'm so glad I did. I wear it daily as a crease/blending and highlight shade palette. I don't care for matte colors all over the lids, so I use this as a complementary palette to whatever shimmery shade I use on my lids for the day.

I use the creamy/white shade as an all over lid base and inner-corner highlight, then I use the two brown shades for the crease and the darker greyish brown as an outer corner color.

The shadows are quite powdery, but I've learned to just gently tap instead of swirl as they are quite pigmented. Excellent for travel too.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Holy crap, where have this product been all my life??
This is what I call a cheap thrill, because it is so cheap (I actually just purchased it at CVS for 40%!) and the quality of these shadows are fantastic!
I have been trying to find good nude pallets for under $20 and this is just what I was looking for. Highly recommend to anyone!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2013 6:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Blue eyes, red hair, around NW 15. I have both this and the brown matte pallete. Goes very well with red lips, shimmery eyeliner (PF metallic ones), stays on (I use a primer with ANY eyeshadows). Would be suitable for nude/naked/natural eyes look. If you are in law enforcement, medical field, have wrinkley eyelids (you don't have to be old to have those) or just don't like "made up" look, I would highly recommend this nd another brown version. They are both terrific! I have 2 back ups of EACH, that's how fast I go through them. The best part is they make my small, bluish-muddy-greyish eyes POP. People compliment my EYES, not my MU when I wear them.
it's getting more and more difficult to find them in Canada: London Drugs, Wal-Mart nd Superstore were the only places I saw them.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2013 11:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Just turned 40 and realized itís time to retire my shimmery eye shadows for everyday use. I love this matte palette and the colors work perfectly together. Why is it so hard to find matte eye shadows? Iím extremely fair and the colors work really well for me. Great basic palette and YES the two brown colors do look different on the lid. One is much warmer than the other.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2013 12:42:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with this palette. Although other reviewers have said there's no color payoff, I think they're very pigmented. I wear them over a flesh toned eyeshadow base... maybe that's why. The browns in this palette are more taupe than brown and I find that the medium brown and the dark gray/brown when used on the lid and crease respectively, kind of blend together and there isn't much differentiation. I've learned to work with the shadows and find it good for a smokey eye. Despite the fact that I have brown eyes, these colors make my eyes pop instead of making them muddy. My big complaint is that the shadows are chalky and I can see myself hitting pan quickly. Also, there is a lot of fallout when applying. The fallout is annoying. These stay on pretty well with primer, but do tend to crease a little by the end of the day. I may buy this again when I run out for those times when I want a neutral smokey eye, but I'm not totally loving it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Frugal Fridays | Drugstore Dupes for MAC Eyeshadows by macshadowcombos



Back to Top