Neutrogena • Shine Control Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.6(73 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jdalina003 on 2/11/2014 2:21:00 PM more reviews by jdalina003

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So I have been hesitant about buying this after reading several mixed reviews, but I gave in and bought it, and thus far I am very happy with it.

I bought it about 4 days ago, and have used it each day and am very impressed. I have never used a primer before so I wasn't sure what to expect. I currently am an avid Aveeno and Neutrogena lover. I use Aveeno Clear Complexion moisturizer and then put this on top, then finished it off with Cover Girl Shine Control pressed powder that I applied with a foundation brush.

I generally don't carry makeup with me, I put it on in the morning. Prior to using this primer, come lunch time my face would be oily and I would have to blot the oil away which would also make my foundation come off. But after using this primer, come mid-day, no blotting necessary, barely any oil on my face, still looking matte :) I am considering buying the pressed powder as well.

Will definitely purchase this again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dudeitspaulina on 1/28/2014 5:16:00 PM more reviews by dudeitspaulina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really have enjoyed this primer it really does make me stay matte throughout the day and makes my makeup look more flawless when applied especially my foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tuney07 on 1/24/2014 3:38:00 PM more reviews by Tuney07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first primer I've ever tried and have been using for about 2 months now. I'm a Neutrogena lover and figured this wouldn't disappoint. It's a bit pricey I think I paid $11.99 for it at target. What intrigued me is the rice absorption technology it claims to have and help control shine. So far I've been enjoying it but it doesn't keep me shine free all day. I think about 5 hrs at the most. I do believe the weather, and my skin type play a part in that so if you're not as oily I think it would benefit you more. The tube is practical and easy to use just keep in mind that very little goes a long way! I only use it on my t zone since I'm afraid of piling on the make up products if you know what I mean. It also has a florally scent but I'm not the type who is sensitive to smells so it doesn't bother me. If you go to Ulta and wish to try it, use one of their coupons and buy it for less!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tatikarina on 1/22/2014 1:07:00 PM more reviews by tatikarina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

im 16 years old and I've been looking for a primer that controls my oily skin. I use blotting sheets as well and I don't use foundation so I can't comment on the lasting power of this primer. I mainly bought it because of the oil control that it's supposed to have and I am impressed. it's a little pricey but it instantly mattefies my face. it doesn't last ALLLL day, and I do find that I need to blot my face through out the day, however compared to when I don't use this primer, my skin is disgusting! i will deff repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachladner on 1/16/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by rachladner

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not your average "primer" - I would say this is more of a "base." If you're looking for something that smooths your skin and evens out lines and fills in holes... I don't know, this doesn't CREATE problems in that area, so if you're young and you just want something to put under make up, I'd recommend it. (Young oily girls, BUY THIS.)

This product though, since I have oily skin, is AMAZING. No matter what I tried my face used to look like an oily puddle after a few hours and when I started wearing this under my make-up, I saw a big difference. I was thrilled.

I don't think this primer is for everyone since it functions more of as a good, healthy base. I have switched it out for a more complex routine as I have grown in make up experience and technique. But for girls new to make up, I would highly recommend it, especially if you aren't wearing primer already. You will be so glad. (I gave one to my sister because I wanted her to have it so much!)

TL,DR; Great product, amazing fresh smell, if you're considering, DO BUY!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jacheampong on 12/30/2013 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Jacheampong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Works great helps my makeup to last all day and give me a matte feel under my foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Josie012 on 12/24/2013 7:59:00 AM more reviews by Josie012

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This primer is a pretty good. It elongates the duration of my make up, and also helps control the oily sheen on my face during the summer. It also gives my faces a smooth finish and makes application of my make up easier.

Occasionally, I can see some oil peeking through, but it's not a big deal. I just dab it away, and I don't have problems afterwards.

Although I have acne-prone skin, this product has not broken me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlueberryPancakes on 12/10/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by BlueberryPancakes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

The primer spreads quite thin on my skin and doesn't smooth out pores/lines as well as other brands. I have sensitive/dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 helloxkittty on 11/20/2013 9:29:00 PM more reviews by helloxkittty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I'm in search of a mattifying primer and even though I read a lot of mixed reviews I decided to buy this. I've had good luck with most other Neutrogena products and I hoped this would be the same. Mine didn't have a gritty texture like other reviews, I thought it was fairly smooth to apply actually. It worked really well with controlling shine for over 9 hours (especially with the translucent powder) but after two days it dried out my skin pretty bad and broke it out as well. I was very disappointed and had to return it:/ I think it works great for oily skin but maybe not combination/sensitive skin like I have. I would recommend it at least to try cause everyone has different reactions to makeup.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mikah06 on 11/17/2013 3:17:00 PM more reviews by mikah06

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first primer I have ever used, and with that being said, this product overall is OKAY. It is fine for a beginner like me (15, combination skin) but if you have been wearing makeup for a while and are more experienced, this is not for you. If you've previously used different primers, you may be disappointed. I've found that it DOES SOMEWHAT help with shine, but not the oiliness of my skin.

It smells great, but the other day I was applying it and realized there was like, glitter in the formula. I found that extremely odd and I read some reviews on here but no one else has said anything about it from what I can see. The product also tends to leak out of the top when I go to squeeze it out, like it's slightly watery. So, now the whole nozzle/inside of the cap is filled with primer. I would not buy this again, and would probably try something from Benefit instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Primer/ Corrector products