Philosophy Take a Deep Breath Oil Free Energizing Gel Cream Moisturizer

4.3

47 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

aqua⁄water⁄eau, butylene glycol, cyclopentasiloxane, methyl gluceth-20, cyclohexasiloxane, hydrogentated polyisobutene, glycerin, perfluorodecalin, tocopherol, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, lactic acid, coffea arabica (coffee) seed extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract, jojoba esters, cetyl alcohol, c13-14 isoparaffin, silica, dimethicone, angelica archangelica root extract, citrus aurantium amara (bitter orange) peel extract, ginkgo biloba leaf extract, pongamia pinnata seed extract, tocopheryl acetate, polysorbate 80, laureth-7, hydrolyzed jojoba esters, caffeine, hydrogenated lecithin, glucose, dicaprylyl carbonate, octyldodecyl neopentanoate, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate⁄vp copolymer, butylene⁄ethylene⁄styrene copolymer, ethylene⁄propylene⁄styrene copolymer, carbomer, polyacrylamide, alcohol, benzyl alcohol, 1,2-hexanediol, tin oxide, propylene glycol, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, disodium edta, hydrolyzed soy flour, bht, o-cymen-5-ol, caprylyl glycol, phenoxyethanol, titanium dioxide (ci 77891), fd & c blue no. 1 (ci 42090).


on 11/20/2013 11:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I love gel moisturizers. Usually I stick with clinique skin care but occasionally I will branch out... okay philosophy is as far as I've gotten ha! This product is awesome, it's light enough to wear during the day, unlike clinique's moisture surge. I really want to like moisture surge but it's too much for daytime and not enough for at night in my opinion. This rocks. I keep seeing where others complain about glitter... I don't even see it, it's never made me shiny or glittery. Never broke me out. I believe it is oil free, and fragrance free. Both pluses for sensitive skin types. I will continue to use it for as long as they make it!



on 11/6/2013 9:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received this product in a deluxe sample size. I do not hate this product but it wasn't for me. I have relatively dry skin and require a hydrating moisturizer. However while using this product, my skin felt dry and tight. The fact I would use my daily press powder to set my foundation did not help my dry skin became after using this product. I used it for a week while waiting for my new moisturizer and I did not like it during that time. Nonetheless the product has certain perks to it such as the scent is not overwhelming nor did it break me or my sister out. It just wasn't for me. Perhaps an individual with a normal to oily skin will come to love this product more.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know why this product has been getting so much hate. I find it to be a perfectly wonderful product. Personally, I love philosophy products anyway. It's a gel moisturizer so it has a bit of a sticky consistency when applied to the face. That could be a good or bad thing. I like this for the winter b/c primers can dry out my skin but b/c this is sticky, it holds on to the makeup very well, leaving very little need for a primer. It does not have SPF in it, which is something I can live with. But when I first tried the sample, it felt like I was literally putting a layer of velvet on my skin, so I ran to the store the next day & purchased a whole jar. I love it, but there are other moisturizers that can do the same for half the price. But if you're looking to splurge, then go for it.


on 8/17/2013 1:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Great for combination/oily skin in the summer. I feel pretty refreshed after applying this at night.
It absorbs into my skin right away and leaves my skin super smooth after.
I didn't notice any other differences on my face.
I may purchase this again to use next summer, but I don't recommend this if you are looking for changes like wrinkle control.
It's just a great moisturizer for summer season because it is so lightweight and still get the job done.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product is for acne-prone skin. After 2 days of usage I began breaking out. Upon examining my skin I realized it has SHIMMER/GLITTER in it. What a mistake; I returned it immediately.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

After two and a half weeks of using this moisturizer, I've decided that this product is just a little over average. While I do like that it contains antioxidants, it doesn't really hydrate my skin all that well. I also like that buyers can choose between a jar and a tube. I personally prefer the jar, as it gives me more control of how much I want to put on (over-squeezing a near-empty tube and having way too much product gush out is always a joykill.)

I would rate this product higher if it had SPF. If it's going to have that shimmer to it, why not show off your new faux glow during the day? There's no point if you're putting it on at night and heading straight to bed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2013 4:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is an incredible moisturizer, i have combination skin so i am prone to oily patches and breakouts as well as dry patches however this moisturizer has controlled this brilliantly! If put it on any parts of my face that are dry they will be gone in the morning, it does not add oil to the skin as it is oil free so it does not affect any oily parts of my face. This product does energize your skin - it has loads of tiny tiny sparkles that you cannot see on the skin, however it does reflect light making your face look glowing and healthy. I bought this in the 60 ml pot, it is lasting forever i bought it just after christmas and over half of it is still left! It is not fragranced but is so effective this does not matter to me! I will definitely buy this again!


on 4/16/2013 6:05:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm on my 4th tube of this so I think I am qualified to write a pretty solid review of this moisturizer. First here's a little background of my skin: I have VERY oily, VERY acne-prone, and VERY sensitive skin, you can say that I am super lucky. Well anyway, I am very cautious before I try any new skincare products because 97% of the time, my skin will start a riot. After some extensive research of reviews and ingredients of this product, I finally decided to try this puppy out. This moisturizer never contributed to any breakouts, AND it never made me produce more excess oil than usual. It moisturized my skin to the right amount, leaving my skin feeling very supple. As for the packaging of this product, it could be better considering it's in a plastic tube, which is a little unhygienic, but I always make sure to wash my hands super well right before I open it so I guess it's not too bad. I wouldn't recommend this moisturizer for dry skin, but it works wonders for oily, acne prone skin. It is definitely a staple.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The oxygen-giving ingredient is perfluorodecalin, a fluorocarbon (chemically inert compound), which increase the oxygen content in liquids. As an aside, fluorocarbons also are responsible for much of the ozone depletion that occurs in the atmosphere. Research has made it abundantly clear that oxygen, despite the fact that we need it to stay alive, is also a source of free-radical damage throughout the entire body (Sources: Phytotherapy Research, November 2010, Epublication; Current Drug Metabolism, June 2010, pages 409424; and Human and Experimental Toxicology, February 2002, pages 6162). Giving your skin more oxygen than what occurs naturally is anti-aging in the wrong direction: pro-aging! - See Paula's choice!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very average moisturizer or hydrator or whatever you want to call it.

I have very normal skin.... don't use any acne products or any other skincare. I've noticed that this product gives me dry patches on my forehead. When it first goes on, it feel nice and cool on the skin.. but that's about it. It has teeny-tiny sparkles within the formula, which is not something I wanted. I wanted my face to have a glow to it, but I wanted that glow to come from fresh, hydrated healthy skin. I feel like advertising this is a cheat. Also, I don't need sparkles all over my face before I go to bed.

In all, an average moisturizer... Didn't change my skin by any means... just kept it a bit moisturized although I noticed some dry spots. I don't think I'd buy this again... especially at $35 a tub.


Back to Top