Philosophy • Take a Deep Breath Oil Free Energizing Gel Cream Moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 4.3(43 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 brilliantbrunette34 on 8/10/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by brilliantbrunette34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is for acne-prone skin. After 2 days of usage I began breaking out. Upon examining my skin I realized it has SHIMMER/GLITTER in it. What a mistake; I returned it immediately.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lalaladylauren on 6/5/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by lalaladylauren

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

After two and a half weeks of using this moisturizer, I've decided that this product is just a little over average. While I do like that it contains antioxidants, it doesn't really hydrate my skin all that well. I also like that buyers can choose between a jar and a tube. I personally prefer the jar, as it gives me more control of how much I want to put on (over-squeezing a near-empty tube and having way too much product gush out is always a joykill.)

I would rate this product higher if it had SPF. If it's going to have that shimmer to it, why not show off your new faux glow during the day? There's no point if you're putting it on at night and heading straight to bed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babydoll021 on 5/25/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by babydoll021

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is an incredible moisturizer, i have combination skin so i am prone to oily patches and breakouts as well as dry patches however this moisturizer has controlled this brilliantly! If put it on any parts of my face that are dry they will be gone in the morning, it does not add oil to the skin as it is oil free so it does not affect any oily parts of my face. This product does energize your skin - it has loads of tiny tiny sparkles that you cannot see on the skin, however it does reflect light making your face look glowing and healthy. I bought this in the 60 ml pot, it is lasting forever i bought it just after christmas and over half of it is still left! It is not fragranced but is so effective this does not matter to me! I will definitely buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arianazomg on 4/16/2013 6:05:00 AM more reviews by arianazomg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my 4th tube of this so I think I am qualified to write a pretty solid review of this moisturizer. First here's a little background of my skin: I have VERY oily, VERY acne-prone, and VERY sensitive skin, you can say that I am super lucky. Well anyway, I am very cautious before I try any new skincare products because 97% of the time, my skin will start a riot. After some extensive research of reviews and ingredients of this product, I finally decided to try this puppy out. This moisturizer never contributed to any breakouts, AND it never made me produce more excess oil than usual. It moisturized my skin to the right amount, leaving my skin feeling very supple. As for the packaging of this product, it could be better considering it's in a plastic tube, which is a little unhygienic, but I always make sure to wash my hands super well right before I open it so I guess it's not too bad. I wouldn't recommend this moisturizer for dry skin, but it works wonders for oily, acne prone skin. It is definitely a staple.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cherriesandpie on 4/10/2013 5:33:00 AM more reviews by cherriesandpie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

The oxygen-giving ingredient is perfluorodecalin, a fluorocarbon (chemically inert compound), which increase the oxygen content in liquids. As an aside, fluorocarbons also are responsible for much of the ozone depletion that occurs in the atmosphere. Research has made it abundantly clear that oxygen, despite the fact that we need it to stay alive, is also a source of free-radical damage throughout the entire body (Sources: Phytotherapy Research, November 2010, Epublication; Current Drug Metabolism, June 2010, pages 409424; and Human and Experimental Toxicology, February 2002, pages 6162). Giving your skin more oxygen than what occurs naturally is anti-aging in the wrong direction: pro-aging! - See Paula's choice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Meeechelle123 on 4/9/2013 3:30:00 PM more reviews by Meeechelle123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very average moisturizer or hydrator or whatever you want to call it.

I have very normal skin.... don't use any acne products or any other skincare. I've noticed that this product gives me dry patches on my forehead. When it first goes on, it feel nice and cool on the skin.. but that's about it. It has teeny-tiny sparkles within the formula, which is not something I wanted. I wanted my face to have a glow to it, but I wanted that glow to come from fresh, hydrated healthy skin. I feel like advertising this is a cheat. Also, I don't need sparkles all over my face before I go to bed.

In all, an average moisturizer... Didn't change my skin by any means... just kept it a bit moisturized although I noticed some dry spots. I don't think I'd buy this again... especially at $35 a tub.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 badwolf42 on 4/3/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by badwolf42

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

This is amazing. I don't have oily skin, it's fairly dry. This moisturizes my face without it feeling like I have a moisturizer. I went to Sephora where the lady recommended it, so I just got a sample which lasted me like a week which I thought was amazing. I then bought the full jar at Ulta because I had points I could use towards it, so I got it for a bit better price. This is pretty pricey but totally worth it. It has a bit of shimmer or sparkle to it, but it is so fine it actually looks quite nice. You can still use it at night (I use it twice a day). It makes my skin glowing and very healthy looking. It is cooling when you first apply then just absorbs into the skin, not just sit on the surface. I could go on and on, but I'll just end it with one word, Amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sailorj on 2/20/2013 10:52:00 AM more reviews by sailorj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this product. I have been using it for a month and a half now. I loved it right from the first use but wanted to give it a real go before writing a review. I have very fair, oily, sensitive skin. I can occasionally get a pimple here or there, but they are usually small ones that do not require much more special care than a little salicylic acid potion-whatever I currently have handy.
This fall my skin went through the most horrible phase ever. I am 36, I think my skin is changing a bit, though still oily/sensitive, it has become prone to the most horrible dryness and peeling, which happens concurrent to the other issues. I have used Topix Replenix 5x (a retinol serum suitable for sensitive skin) for several years based on my dermatologist's recommendation, but this fall and winter using it every night seemed just too much for my skin. I tried every oil out there as a way to treat the flaking and dryness, but there was just no change. Initially it would be better but then come back. I tried it on top of the serum, I tried alternating evening applications, nothing worked. I don't even know how I came across this product, I think I was searching all oil-free moisturizers on Sephora when I realized that oils weren't helping. This got great reviews and I think the price is decent so I purchased.
All I was looking for was the flakiness to be addressed so that I could apply foundation properly. I started using this moisturizer every other night alternating with the retinol serum. HG so far. I can't state it enough. When I wake up in the morning, my skin is flawless. Redness is minimized, if there is a little pimple it has been noticeably shrunken or has disappeared. The flakiness went away in about two weeks. My skin, I think, is now as good as it gets. I do use a Ren peel every two weeks as I always had but that my peeling skin had always returned after about two days, now I only do the peel out of habit, I don't think necessity. I read the ingredients, lactic acid and a coffee berry extract are two of them so that accounts for blemish shrinking and the reducing of redness. I am so happy I found this moisturizer.
I do not use this during the day under makeup, I am too oily for that. If I am staying home and not going out I'll use it though as a day cream (when not wearing makeup). Some say they feel that this sits on top of their face. I get that, it kind of does. But I have used so many products, I know when one just feels good but doesn't do much. For a $34 moisturizer, this is heaven sent. My only gripe-I don't like the tub, and I wish they sold a travel size or something in a tube. If you have skin similar to mine, by all means, give this a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mila422 on 2/11/2013 7:06:00 PM more reviews by Mila422

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really always want to like philosophy, but i can't. I have been disappointed with any product I have tried from them. This cream feels nice when you first put it on, and it does moisturize, but after about a week I got these weird red patches on my cheeks. I know it was the moisturizer because they went away when I stopped using it. Another thing I reallllly didn't like about this was the sparkles. It felt counterintuitive to put something sparkly on my face before bed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kykelly322 on 1/16/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by kykelly322

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I must admit. I'm bad. I didn't start using a moisturizer until I was 33. That's only because I didn't think I needed one until I found this. I have REALLY oily skin so anything moisturizing scared me. This seems more to me like a protector. It has antioxidants and a gel texture to it. It just seeps right in your skin. After using it for a week, I noticed my skin was actually less oily and looked better! The only thing I don't like is the cheap jar. It cracks easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products