Clear Scalp & Hair • Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.0(171 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 CharacterofLife on 5/7/2014 2:25:00 PM more reviews by CharacterofLife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Smells nice, works ok. Not the best but far from the worst.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flowersgrimm on 3/25/2014 8:29:00 PM more reviews by flowersgrimm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using the total care version of this line and let me say its amazing.
I needed new shampoo and conditioner and my Ulta was out of my usual matrix brand so on my way home I stopped and saw this, it was the only shampoo and conditioner I hadn't tried so I wanted to give it a shot. The shampoo is a creme so its moisturizing and smells divine.
The conditioner was just as good,maybe even better than the shampoo, it left my hair soft and tangle free when I came out of the shower. I'm not a fan of drugstore hair products, but this is the exception. I would so buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluezinnia on 3/21/2014 10:31:00 PM more reviews by bluezinnia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have the anti-dandruff version of this. This shampoo does nothing positive for dandruff. In fact, it made mine worse, and caused great scalp itching problems. I'm probably allergic to something in it, but I almost never have a reaction to anything. I would say, "try this shampoo at your own risk."

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kiwigal99 on 3/15/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by kiwigal99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this product at first.

This (the long lengths) shampoo and conditioner made my hair so soft and light. I could even use the conditioner on my roots, which I did after using a clarifying shampoo. The conditioner was so light but made my hair very soft without weighing it down at all.

But after a while, I noticed that this made my hair fall out a lot. It also has sulfates and pyrithione zinc, which I don't want to be using every day if I don't have dandruff issues.

This was 4 bucks per bottle, which was pretty nice. It has a nice clean scent. However, the bottle is stiff and makes it hard to squeeze out the last of the product.

I think I'll keep using the conditioner for when I use clarifying shampoo, but not the shampoo of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 clairera524 on 2/28/2014 5:58:00 PM more reviews by clairera524

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this product (Frizz Control) for about 7 months now. I LOVE it! Clear Scalp & Hair is the first shampoo and conditioner combo that actually did something for my hair. When I have to use another product, my hair feels dull, dry, and lifeless in comparison. I've experienced no noticable hair loss either, which I was surprised to read about in these reviews. If you are like me and have thick, fine hair and find that nothing seems to work for you, give this brand a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xxsolip on 2/24/2014 11:31:00 PM more reviews by xxsolip

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this shampoo after a youtube beauty vlogger raved about how much she loved it. u can't beat the price…around $4 and always on sale. i bought a little travel bottle when i went on vacation and i loved it. it made my hair really soft, smelled good and felt really clean. but when i bought a regular full sized bottle and started using it (i bought the volume root booster one) i noticed my hair was falling out in clumps. when i would run my fingers through my hair literally i would have a handful. also, my hair has major breakage now. i have frizzy shorts pieces sticking out all over. i have thrown this shampoo out, the website reimburses you if you have kept your receipt, unfortunately i didn't.

i only used this shampoo for 1 month and noticed breakage and hair falling out after a week

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BGR on 2/10/2014 4:06:00 AM more reviews by BGR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I previously wrote a review on here awhile back and I wanted to update. I had used this product for about a year. I liked Clear Scalp and Hair Therapy for the entire time that I used it, so much that I switched back and forth between their lines (Volume, Total Care etc.) I liked how it made my hair look and feel. However, about 5 months ago is when the visible trauma showed up. Hair grows in stages and has a 4-6 month memory, so if something is going wrong, you won't see the trauma until at least 6 months later. So that explains why I didn't notice what this product was doing to my hair long term. It made my hair thin out. I have had a very substantial loss of hair and seems to have changed the texture as well. I can tell you that my hair is definitely not the same as it used to be before using this product. It has completely changed my hair. I had a lot more hair that needed to be straightened before, and now it's a finer texture, limp and much lighter. I can't even straighten my hair anymore and don't really need to since my hair is not the same. I have to wear soft scrunchies now every time I put my hair up. I had to start using a leave in conditioner every single time I brush my hair to try to minimize the hair fall and breakage. Since discontinuing Clear Scalp and Hair Therapy, I have gotten my hair cut twice. I cut about 2-3 inches off every time I get my hair cut and keep it at the same length. I have not noticed much improvement at this time. I'm not sure what this product did to my hair damaged follicles etc... hopefully not, or even if growing it back out will help. I keep finding myself going back and trying to compare pictures of my hair and I don't even know how to piece the puzzle together of what the heck happened. Right now it's very hard to measure improvement or to say that my hair will go back to normal. If it does, it's going to take years and lots of praying. This is what I have been doing to try to help my hair: regular hair cuts, switch to sulfate free shampoo, shampoo and condition hair gently every other day, wear hair scrunchies instead of hair ties, invest in a repair/leave in conditioner product, buy a new brush, and wide tooth comb, very gently comb/brush through hair (wet hair is very fragile) take vitamins, or try juicing or making smoothies with lots of fruits and vegetables (our body needs complete nutrition to repair itself), don't stick to one shampoo and conditioner for an extended period of time (my mistake with the Clear Shampoo, that I don't think I'll make again) The amount of hair fall in my brush has seemed to decrease, so that is hopefully a hopeful sign of slow improvement. Basically I just wanted to update and let everyone know that even if you do not experience any issues at first with Clear Shampoo and Hair Therapy, there is a great possibility that down the line you'll notice the damage. I have also been keeping a close eye on people reviewing the product on the Clear Shampoo and Hair Therapy Facebook page and it seems that a lot of the negative comments from people get deleted by them. I wish there was a group that we could get together to talk about this product and monitor each others progress, and things that have helped improve your hair after using this terrible frightening product. There's a bunch of negative reviews on Amazon about this product mostly under the Total Care line. Please write your experience on Amazon too to warn people!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 binxiboo on 2/9/2014 2:54:00 AM more reviews by binxiboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

My daughter and I used this product for awhile until we started noticing significant hair loss, horrible breaking off, itchy scalp, and severe scaling in our scalps. My hair dresser thought my daughter and I were ill from something. We saw Dr.s and nothing but this shampoo and conditioner is what is wrong. The hair loss was terrifying. We both have super thick hair, or shall I say, we did, until this product changed that. It has taken 6 weeks to get our scalps back to no scaling and who knows who much longer to grow our hair back. I found that we are not the only ones after research on this product. I have no idea what is in these products, but they should be pulled and possibly a class action lawsuit should be filed. We now are using sulfate and paraban free shampoos/conditioners, along with a product for hair growth. I just want our hair back. Hope this helps anyone who was wondering what's wrong.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nataliegsno on 2/8/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by Nataliegsno

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

At first I loved this shampoo and conditioner. I repurchased it two or three times. I used to wash my hair everyday but then I decided to cut down. This was hard for me because when I don't wash my hair everyday my scalp itches really badly. This stuff made my scalp not itch whatsoever in between washes. Then I noticed a lot of buildup on my roots almost like it was barely cleaning my hair. Stopped using because of this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jazzy719 on 1/28/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by Jazzy719

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

PLEASE DO NOT buy this!!!! Yes it is very true it makes your hair very thin and it will fall out. My mother and I experience loss of hair because of this horrible product. By the way I'm 21 and dyed my hair once, about a year ago and my hair never fell out. Not only that but your scalp will feel itchy and oily. I should've listen to all the other reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clear Scalp & Hair products

More Shampoo products