Revlon • ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup • Crème

rated 3.9(1163 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mrsyunyun on 7/28/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by mrsyunyun

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I find that this matches my NC30 skin very well. If you're having problems with it blending in, use your fingers to apply. I had no luck with a brush or sponge but it melts right into my skin with my fingers. It's true that in sunlight the color has a faint taupeish cast but I find that if I use a powder to set that matches my skin tone on top instead of a translucent powder this isn't a problem. Blush and bronzer also fix this problem for me so I don't look flat. I like the finish it gives me--dewy and natural. I am not a big fan of the big glass pot it comes in or the smell so I subtracted one lippie. I love that it doesn't cake up in the lines of my face. I'm 30 but I have dry skin and a lot of foundations cling to my dry patches.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VerbanaLight on 7/19/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by VerbanaLight

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Update on the yellow issue: I wore a gray top on an overcast day, and Sand Beige did look slightly gray. I'm sad because it holds its own against my yellow inside the house and when it's sunny, but I don't want to confine myself indoors or run inside when the clouds come in just for my foundation!

I'm like the 10th person here now in the NC30ish range to complain about the gray or pink cast in many shades, so if you fall into this category and are a banana too, please don't be hard-headed like me. Skip this and try something else. The best affordable yellow I've found is Mehron's Eurasia Japonese and Eurasia Light. Japanese is crazy yellow but blends in well with my neck! Loreal's true match in W4.5 looks really yellow in swatches, so that might work if you are not too oily.

Previous review: I'm NC30-35 and have a lot of yellow in my neck and chest. I was so relieved to find Sand Beige--it has a strong yellow undertone! Trust me, I know what it's like to feel frustrated by pink or gray casts from umpteenth bottles of drugstore foundations! Another reviewer here called Revlon and was told this and Warm Golden (a tad too dark for me) were the two yellow shades. Don't be alarmed though if it goes on gray--it takes an hour for the color to fully develop for me, like others have reported.

Based on other NC35 reviews, I also tried Natural Tan, but it was too dark as well. I wear Golden Beige in the liquid version. I like the liquid version better because it makes my skin look soooo good, but the whipped is better for when I just want to slap something on with my fingers.

I like this foundation, but I do get shiny after only three hours, so a mattifier and powder are a must for me when wearing this.

Buy from CVS so you can exchange for other shades/return wrong shades. Their return policy is a godsend!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 miniequalcrzy on 7/13/2014 12:56:00 PM more reviews by miniequalcrzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this thinking it could replace the liquid version seeing as how that one is a gift from the heavens and all
but this just sucks.

It really does. I can't believe stores here are selling it for almost 20 dollars because its not even worth half that. This is like some weird mutated colorstay wannabe.

Not only does it look like makeup, (no matter how much you put on it looks cakey) it doesn't even stay on more than 5 hours or so. The wear time is even less with a primer (actually), and the coverage is...well it's not too bad but it's nothing compared to it's liquid counterpart. Oh yeah, and it looks ugly. Did I mention that? It looks so strange, like greyish yet like heavy foundation at the same time.

So no makeup-alley, I would not repurchase this, I don't even want to look at it because I'm sad I wasted 20 dollars on junk. I could of bought 5 happy meals instead. Now that would've been money well spent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ImUrAddiction on 7/12/2014 3:30:00 PM more reviews by ImUrAddiction

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this formula. The coverage is awesome and the product goes on smoothly! I purchased early tan which seems to fit me nicely; a bit too beige for my skin since I have yellow undertones BUT I still love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thathoneydip on 7/12/2014 2:22:00 PM more reviews by thathoneydip

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation overall . The product is good quality. Despite its thickness, It's goes on smooth and blends into my skin beautifully.. It's a satin finish, not matte or anything. So it looks natural. It's a medium coverage but it's buildable. It doesn't look cakey. It doesn't have too much of a smell.

It says 24 hours of wear but I don't know who would wear it for that long. I bartend at a nightclub so I work pretty long hours. I'll put this on at 3pm and leave work around 4am and it still looks perfect. I do recommend setting this with a light powder. Definitely nothing heavy.. I use elfs HD powder and it works great. Sometimes My true match blending powder.

I've tried about 3 different shades but warm golden matches me the best (NC30) however it's still no match for my obnoxiously strong yellow undertones .. Close enough though

The packaging is a bit bulky .. Try not to hurt anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* agl112 on 7/1/2014 7:02:00 PM more reviews by agl112

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have fair to light skin with yellow undertones and the color 200 Sandbeige blends right into my skin. I have dry, sensitive skin and this makeup feels so soothing and light and I have not had any issues with itching, irritation, rashes or redness with this product. A little, and I mean a little, of this foundation, goes a very long way. It comes in a glass jar with a screw on top and a plastic cover underneath the top that covers the foundation in the jar. Unlike other reviewers who reported a scent to this product, I could not find a scent, which was a relief since I tend to be allergic to scented foundations. I've used high end foundations in the past until I developed an allergy to them and my skin began to get drier. I'm really impressed with the coverage and staying power of this foundation. I found that the foundation covered up any redness and evened out my skintone. It can be built up from light to full coverage depending upon how many layers you apply. I like to apply it with a flat top synthetic makeup brush such as either the Sigma F80 or the Real Techniques Buffing Brush and I get an airbrushed look. I use the ybf primer after my moisturizer has absorbed into my skin and then I gently tap my brush onto the plastic cover that is over the glass jar containing the foundation. I find that the plastic cover usually has enough foundation on it for at least several applications. The brush picks up enough product so that I can gently stipple and swirl the foundation onto my face and work it into the rest of my face. I set it with either ELF's HD loose powder or the It Bye-Bye Pores Powder with a stipple brush and I'm ready to apply the rest of my makeup. This foundation lasts all day, which for me means a good 10 hours or so without fading or caking. The finish is a satin matte which you can set with powder and you will have a skinlike look. I love it and don't mind that it comes in a glass jar - this means I will be able to use it until the last drop. Since I use just a little, I wonder when I will run out. But, if I do, I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Moogeek on 7/1/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by Moogeek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff. I am usually a HE kinda gal but this is my favorite DS foundation. The finish and coverage are great and it lasts all day on me. I'm NC20-25 with olive undertones and I have a good color match with Sand Beige.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jeanie350 on 6/20/2014 9:21:00 PM more reviews by jeanie350

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am an older woman and really have to buy foundation with care due to fine lines and some wrinkles.Used Mary Kay for 25 yrs but was tired of consultants and the pressure for beauty shows etc..Just this past week was the real test for colorstay as I had early appointment for 9:00 am.Did not stop till late at night makeup was great....phone call had emergency and left house did not come home until 9:30 a.m. next morning looked in the mirror and the makeup was still great could not believe it.....I use Buff and did buy sand beige but sand beige will darken and not look as good as the buff.Buff is a little light in color for my skin but looks much better through out the day...I am really impressed with this makeup and hope that they keep the formula as its great for me....I use oil of olay and a primer before I apply the makeup.Apply with fingers and have a smooth finish also use a sponge to take off any excess..Use powder blush and light dusting of powder to set the make up....Price will vary from store to store .I have tried the liquid but like the whipped better....just read today that drug store makeup is as good or better than high end dept.store cosmetics......

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 asmolkin on 6/19/2014 1:51:00 AM more reviews by asmolkin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The color I have, true beige is ever so slightly not as perfect as I would like. Wish it were a tad brighter or more pinky.

I like to play up the color on this because of the pigmentation. Early tan is a nice peachy toned color. I can get awway with if I want to look kind of tanned. This makeup does not ozidize. I find most mousse makeups do not ozidize which one of the reasons I like mousse makeups

I think the name and marketing is deceiving. I really dont think the consistency is whipped! i dont even think it belongs in a jar. It is a really heavy liquid...it is like a lead paint consistency. if you have seen paint, that is the consistency. very unsanitary and also very messy..it gets all over.

I only wear this if I am outdoors or I know I will have a trying hard day, and I am exhausted...and I know I need a heavy coverage to mask my tired looking face. It is a good mask like makeup without being too heavy. And that is when I wear it. It normally is too heavy for me...I am not into the heacy makeup look...this will sure make it look like you are wearing some, so be prepared...

dont think that this is all necessarily criticm. This kind of makeup does have its place in the makeup world. A lot of high ened foundations, aim to acheive the same finish and staying power as the revlon colorstay whipped, so I am not knocking it...i just dont need this everyday. I like to show my face. it depends on what you want

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mlutebay on 6/17/2014 12:35:00 PM more reviews by mlutebay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

As someone who has struggled with hormonal, cystic acne and oily skin on and off since the age of 13 (I'm now 25, almost 26), it has been impossible to find a foundation that does not make my face a veritable oil slick and/or a mountain range of painful acne. I have tried everything, from Bare Minerals to Clinique to high- and low-end drugstore brands. While I do have to give a shout-out to anything Clinique, it just got too expensive to buy a new $30 tube every month to month and a half. I've been on the hunt for the perfect drugstore foundation forever and finally found it in Revlon Colorstay Whipped. It is AMAZING. The texture is perfect, it is easy to apply, and the coverage is moderate to full yet not cakey. I have tried several "whipped" or "mousse" foundations and they ALL made my face incredibly greasy by the end of the day. Liquid foundations tended to melt off of my face, leaving it splotchy with little coverage, and powders always looked too makeup-y and fake. This is the only foundation I have ever (ever!) used that leaves my face non-oily all day until I take it off; there is never reason for me to reapply or touch-up throughout the day. It was easy to find a color that matched my skin tone (200 for me) and, for me, it does not oxidize to a different shade after a couple hours of wear; what you see is what you get. The tub is small and the price is a bit high for a drugstore foundation ($14.50 where I live), but it is totally worth it. A little bit goes a long way; a tub usually lasts me about a month and a half! And the best part it, it does not make me break out! It truly is my Holy Grail, miracle foundation.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Crème products