Maybelline • Volum' Express The Mega Plush • Mascara

rated 3.3(583 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 angelicab on 9/5/2014 7:11:00 PM more reviews by angelicab

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara! It opens my eyes and lengthens my lashes so much. I have gotta lots of compliments on my lashes when I wear this mascara. Lasts throughout the day for me and I only wear this on my top lashes and, so far, I haven't noticed any fall out. However, I do tend to get some when I wear them on my bottom lashes. Its $8 at Walmart so I will definitely by repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Danielle2006 on 9/5/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by Danielle2006

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara! Its drugstore making it inexpensive. I love the lightweight gel formula and the fact it doesnt clump.I only apply one coat and its a big different to say I have little to no lashes. No fall out either.

I previously had Covergirl Lash Blash which I didnt love but I wanted to finish the tube anyway. It def gave my lashes volume but the formula was SUPER DRYING. I think Ima stick with the MEGA PLUSH.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sabripereira on 9/2/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by sabripereira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I usually really like the volum' express mascaras, so when I saw this new one I thought I'd give it a try. I gotta say this is my favourite one yet. It leaves your lashes soft while giving volume and length.

The brush is a bit too big making it hard to get at the corner lashes without making a mess.

I really like the texture of it, it's not sticky at all. It makes my lashes feel quite silky and it has a very smooth application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 firefox23 on 8/20/2014 11:31:00 PM more reviews by firefox23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I'm really surprised that this mascara doesn't have a higher rating on Makeup Alley - it's actually amazing.

Recently Target had a special promo on Maybelline mascaras ($3.50 each). For some reason, I've always been really intrigued by the Mega Plush Volum' Express whenever I'm in the drug store - maybe it's the name, or the fact that it has a giant brush and a gel mousse formula. Despite this, i've ALMOST purchased it about 3 times, but never sealed the deal. Finally I decided to buy it with the 50% off Target sale.

I actually bought another Maybelline mascara which I tried first and was kind of 'meh' about so I cracked this one open. I have the shade 'Blackest Black', because I generally always purchase the darkest colour. I just love it. I put on a number of coats and it didn't clump, and just added the perfect amount of plump volume (the name doesn't lie). Even though it adds volume and length, it doesn't come across as 'harsh' looking, as with light coloured hair I sometimes find mascara just sticks out too much in an overdone way.

This one is perfection - it has a weird football shaped brush that's flexible, and for me, the formula doesn't transfer from upper or lower lash line. You can build it up quickly for amazing voluminous lashes, or do one coat for something subtle. It doesn't clump like other mascara's (I believe that no matter what type of mascara you use, if you put on a 'crap load' it will clump. period.)

I kept looking at my lashes in the mirror after I first used this - highly recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheBeautySwiftie on 8/18/2014 11:39:00 PM more reviews by TheBeautySwiftie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this mascara. I hate how some mascaras make your lashes hard and flakey. This mascara keeps your lashes soft throughout the day, and definitely doesn't flake. It made my lashes look much longer and fuller, especially with a curl. And the best part is it didn't look spidery at all like some Other products. I will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hlovespearl on 8/18/2014 12:17:00 PM more reviews by hlovespearl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I actually love this mascara! I bought it a while ago but forgot to use it. I just brought it back out and love the fluttery and full effect it gives my lashes! I personally hate the cartooney packaging though. Unfortunately, I will not be repurchasing since I have decided I am only going to buy cruelty-free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iHopee on 8/16/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by iHopee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite mascara now! My lashes totally looked fake after 2 coats of this bad boy! The first coat was kind of "Ehh" like any other mascara, but I decided to wait and added on another coat, and that's when the magic happened. I was pretty surprised at the 2nd coat, the mascara was able to lift my lashes up and gave me that "falsie" look. I am definitely looking forward to repurchasing this again! :DD

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Riri99 on 8/16/2014 9:34:00 AM more reviews by Riri99

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great mascara! It lives up to the "mega plush" component! But can be on the drier side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iwikiwii on 8/15/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by iwikiwii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm someone who likes lashes that have a lot of length and volume: with no clumps and no spidery effect. I heard this mascara is really nice for lengthening, so I gave it a try, and I really hate it compared to other mascaras in the Volum Express line.. but it's not the absolute worst mascara EVER.
Basically, you can get a nice natural look with some length if you're really careful with this mascara and take the time to work with it. However, 9 times out of 10, this mascara ends up looking like a spidery, clumpy mess. Not to mention that the way the brush bends makes it impossible to build up.
I won't be repurchasing. Maybelline DEFINITELY has better mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DrowningInEyeliner on 8/14/2014 10:00:00 PM more reviews by DrowningInEyeliner

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Nope. Never again. I can see why some people really like this mascara, since some girls do like the "spidery" look, but personally, I hate it! I like my mascaras to look natural, yet defined, and also to actually live up to their descriptions. It's supposed to give your lashes volume, but only gave mine length, and while it did give them good separation and definition, it just looked spidery. I will say that the packaging is cute though, unfortunately not cute enough for me to overlook the crappy product. Guess I'll be heading back to get a different mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products