Maybelline • Color Show - All • Polishes

rated 2.8(94 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 jod84 on 11/26/2013 7:32:00 AM more reviews by jod84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

i love this product its a good price it dont chip and for me i get a good week of wear from this polish before i need to touch up my nails. the only bad thing i have to say about this is the lack of colors maybelline should make this line bigger as its amazing :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amz1196 on 11/24/2013 2:13:00 PM more reviews by Amz1196

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I don't understand the bad reviews for this. I bought four different colors of this line, on sale so they were just $2 each, and all of them work totally fine. The pictures on here don't resemble at all what my nails look like with this on. With a Revlon Colorstay Gel top coat on, the color is incredible. It went on opaque in one coat. Again, the negative reviews baffle me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EleanorRuth on 11/21/2013 7:55:00 AM more reviews by EleanorRuth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this nail polish in Urban Turquoise and the top coat to go with it. It is by far the longest wearing, most highly pigmented polish I have tried. My job is very hands on and the first sign of chipping was after 6 days of being rather careless with it. The formula is very gel like, which is great as it glides on smoothly, and the brush is nice and wide making for easy application. I don't understand the negative reviews, I got so many compliments with this polish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 southpaw612 on 11/16/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by southpaw612

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a ghastly nail polish. It really is terrible and certainly not worth the price.

I purchased Peach Pie and Sugar Crystals. Sugar Crystals' glitters are very pretty, but be warned that the gorgeous pink/creamy colour that the product seems to have won't show up on your nails, so it's really just a sheer glitter nail polish. Peach Pie is very very clear, almost invisible with one coat. You have to have 2 to 3 layers of product on your nails for it to actually look like the colour you see in its packaging.

When you apply a second coat to your nail, the brush actually MOVES the first coat out of your finger. I don't know if this is because the formula is too watery, as it seems to be much more 'liquid-ish' compared to other nail polishes that I own (KIKO, Essence, Golden Rose, Yves Rocher). But when you, somehow, manage to work around these problems and make it work so that your nails look pretty, the top coat doesn't seem to adhere to the product and the end result looks smushy and sloppy. Like other girls have pointed out here, I paint my nails and 2 hours later if my nails are in contact with ANYTHING, the nail polish will move!

Maybelline's colours are pretty, yes, but the formula is downright outraging for its price, especially considering that there are better nail polish lines with much cheaper tags.
So, so disappointed. Didn't expect this from Maybelline at all. Do not get fooled by the sleek packaging and pretty colours, it's really not worth your money!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 11/2/2013 2:04:00 AM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand the bad reviews for this, maybe the formula is different here in Europe? Anyways I got a scarlet blood-red one called Candy Apple and it is amazing. I love it. A perfect pure blood-red colour. It went on thick and opaque with just one coat, dried quickly. No bubbles and it was very smooth. I don't know how long it lasts because I just put it on (I don't often use nail polish.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 10/27/2013 1:04:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My husband picked up Antique Teal from the Vintage Leather collection. It dries down to a matte texture. I personally like shine with my nail colors so I just added a clear coat on top. This formula dries very quickly and even after one coat it is definitely opaque so if you go for two coats you will be fine. I'v never purchased a Maybelline nail color and for $3.99 I will definitely pick up more from this line

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vanraygirl on 10/13/2013 10:28:00 PM more reviews by vanraygirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The quality of the nail polish is mediocre at best. I purchased Purple Possibilities 30. I have to admit that I was suckered in by the packaging, which makes it look “worthy”. For starters, the polish does not go on smoothly at all, sort of in clumps. It looks as if it dries as soon as it touches your nails, which doesn’t give you time to fully polish the whole nail. It dries to a matte finish. But the finished look is horrible because, as I stated, the polish dries immediately; so you just have overlapping layers of clumpy polish. Not a good look at all.

I tried to give it the benefit of the doubt by putting a couple drops of nail polish remover in it to thin it out, it didn’t work. They have a great selection of colors, and the price is, eh, but the quality is not so good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jilly914 on 10/2/2013 5:46:00 PM more reviews by Jilly914

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know where I read that this nail polish was an "Editor's Choice", but I know they must have been paid to give it high ratings. (Next time I'll check here first for a review!)

I've been using super cheap Wet n Wild polishes, and they are awesome. They are easy to apply, and they dry completely within minutes.

I saw 2 Maybelline polishes that I liked at the drugstore - one is silver and the other minty green. I was so excited to try the silver. I painted my nails almost 2 hours ago, and I have smudges and nicks in the finish becuase it's still a little tacky. Seriously, who has that much time to sit perfectly still for this long?

Thumbs down Maybelline!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Chicon on 9/6/2013 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Chicon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this in Sage Staple - on impulse, without reading any reviews. So I deserve what I get. Which is a horrible formula & a near impossible application.

Color: To be fair, the color is lovely. I have very fair skin, and lupus makes my joints & fingers look red & swollen. This army green color helps to neutralize the red & makes my fingers/hands look their "normal" color.

Application: Load your tiny brush up with all you'll need in one go. A second swipe will pull the color from the first swipe off of your nail. You'll need two coats, so you end up with two relatively thick, gloopy coats that probably aren't even. It dries to a velvety, if not smooth, matte finish. The weirdest thing was when I put the topcoat on (I use Seche Vite). On some nails it smoothed everything out nicely. On most nails, there was some bubbling. On one nail, there were spots where the topcoat just didn't "take"- so that nail is glossy with small, matte spots on it.

Bottom line: I can find a lovely olive green in other brands, and don't mind paying more for a polish that applies nicely. Unfortunately for Maybelline, there are plenty of polishes at comparable price points that apply better than this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 l3th4rgic on 9/2/2013 12:22:00 AM more reviews by l3th4rgic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have one in Icey Queen. I love the color but I hated the product. It was nice at first, but then it just wouldn't go on smoothly anymore. It also chips VERY easily. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Polishes products