Maybelline • Color Show - All • Polishes

rated 2.7(111 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 cpickard on 6/22/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by cpickard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, this really sucked. I bought "Pretty in Peach" because the colour was exactly what I was looking for and it was on sale for $2.99. Couldn't get it even with either two thick or two thin coats so all the nails had thick clumps and thin areas. Also, the colour began to chip within two days. The first time I applied two coats with no base or top coat. The second time I used an opi base coat first. Didn't help.

I would give it zero lippies if possible, although I did receive compliments on the colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 monica3210 on 6/16/2014 3:20:00 PM more reviews by monica3210

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought two shades, a metallic and a "cracking" shade. I'm not sure what the lines are specifically called. The metallic shade was horrible. the color was pretty but I had to use A LOT of coats to make the color opaque (it was a blue shade, not super light or dark). I probably had 5 or more coats and with this amount it took too long to dry. I don't think I have ever sat still enough for this to completely dry, I always end up smudging it even with a quick dry top coat. The cracking polish was better since you put it over a different polish color so it doesn't matter if the formula is thin. The bad thing with this though is that you MUST apply a thin coat (don't get too much polish on your brush). If you apply too much the cracked effect won't show up and you'll just have a plain color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Clxer on 6/16/2014 2:35:00 PM more reviews by Clxer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Dont waste your time with this. Cheap but really not worth it! The formulation is just so bad theres nothing you can do to make this polish better to be honest.

I just opened the bottle so its new, but the formula was thick and so heavy. It applied gunky and tacky and this is just the first application! I expected at least decent quality from maybelline but this is no better off than those 2 dollar polishes you get in those tubs they sell at watsons or Sasa.
It doesnt dry hard either ladies. You know what im talking about.
Thats just formula alone, may i add that the brush sucks too.

My advice, fork out a few dollars more for something better like essie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mikiesmom on 5/18/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by mikiesmom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this polish! For the price, I'm very impressed with the amount of glitter and sparkle it has. The brush is nice which makes the application of the polish even. I purchased Punk Rock Pink because I wanted a glitter polish and I didn't want to pay a lot for a bottle of glitter. I used it on top of a pastel pink color and it really looks nice. I will definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AthenaNYC23 on 5/10/2014 9:29:00 AM more reviews by AthenaNYC23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so in love with these polishes! I don't understand why the ratings here are so low.

I currently own 4 of these (288, 317, 349, 311) and I'm definitely gonna go out to get me some more in the future. Definitely some of the best drugstore polishes I've tried.

The color selection is fantastic. The colors are so fashionable and on trend right now, I found the exact shades I was looking for in summer polishes.
All the polishes I own are a creamy/non-shimmery formula, which I love. I'm not really that into shimmery/glittery nail polish. I also find the packaging very sleek and pretty.

They go on very smooth, some are more opaque than others, but even the least opaque ones are good with 2 coats. Not thick at all but not too runny/watery either. I love the applicator, it's not too wide or too thin. What I also love about these, is that the amount of product you get is just enough. I'm not a big fan of 15ml polish bottles since I never use all of it up and I end up throwing it away because it goes bad/thickens. I like to chop and change so a 7ml bottle is just right.

But what I adore about these is that they are quite long-lasting! I'm using a cheap a** topcoat at the moment, which basically does nothing when layered over other polishes I've worn, and my manicure held strong for 3 days+ even though I use my hands for a lot of stuff, showered etc. Imagine what will happen when my Seche Vite arrives next week!

Also on the plus side, they are quite shiny on their own as well.

I just love them, I'm really happy I ignored some bad reviews I read on MUA and picked them up, 'cause frankly I don't wanna use any other nail polish brand/ range right now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 5/8/2014 1:08:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I own quite a few of these and they are all misses. The formula is just bad and nothing can save it. It's a shame because they have some really awesome colors that I love. The formula is very chippy and doesn't like to apply evenly.

This reminds me of a very very cheap polish. I really wish they would redo this line because they have some colors like Drops of Jade that I LOVE. I just cannot deal with the chipping after one day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cawhitern on 4/22/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by cawhitern

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Love it!!!
I'm working my way through the Nudes and just tried Crushed Clementine. The nudes are my favorite so far but I really love all that I've tried. These polishes are long-wearing, resist chipping and go on easily. The price is so right and the bottles are decent sized. There are so many trendy colors to try and at this price it's easy to try several without hurting your pocketbook. The brush is kind of skinny but long so no problems there. A couple of coats and you're done. I'm very impressed with this line and plan on picking up a few more. So long OPI!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 catglass on 3/16/2014 12:48:00 PM more reviews by catglass

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this nail polish because I wanted a coral nail polish and a pale pink nail polish (I got it in Coral Crush and Born With It), and I have a lot of Maybelline products that I like, and this one is cheaper than Essie, so I decided I'd give it a try. The colors are beautiful and it dry fast. That's probably the only good thing about it. It chipped right after it dried. It chips so fast! I've had it on for 3 days and it's almost all the way off! Also, it's very thin so I have to do lots of coats to make it a solid color and not sheer. Probably won't be buying again. But I like the bottle! It looks pretty professional to me. I dropped it once and it didn't shatter, so that's good. Next time I think I'll try a gel polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chanel96 on 3/16/2014 5:19:00 AM more reviews by Chanel96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking foward to trying this nail polish out. I bought the foul flash color show. When applied it dryed quickly and to get the 'foil flash' colour i put on three coats to get it opaque. Looking at the end result i wondered why this had bad reviews. The a couple of hours later the polish started to chip it could be with simpliest off things, washing hair, brushing hair or even when bathing. I thought it may off me just been heavy handed but it wasnt. I kept applying every time it chipped but it would still chip.
I like to use all my polish and still wear it even if it isnt so good so when i was nearing to the bottom off the polish i noticed it turned gloopy. I added nail polish remover (no acetone) to it and it actually made the product better!! I could wear the polish without it chipping so easy mayne 2-3 days. It still dried well and i got more off the product.
I bought it knowing maybelline was a good brand and expected alot from them, but i was dissapointed. For the price two for 4 i shouldnt off expected alot, but still it is a good colour:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MilenaBR on 3/14/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by MilenaBR

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised to see such mediocre rates for this polish. I have just tried it for the first time today, I've bought the shade "Purple Splash" and I have to say I LOVE it!!!
I find the pigmentation outstanding, it was almost a one-coater for me, but I use at least two, always. The consistency is very thin, but I find it very easy to apply, not runny, as some have stated and it also dries very quickly. I loved the brush: wide, but not as wide as in Wet N Wild Megalast. To be perfect, IMO, it just had to be a little rounded, which it isn't.
I always use top coat (Seche Vite), but I think it had a beautiful glossy finish even without it.
All in all, a beautiful product!
I haven't tested the longevity yet, and I haven't tried other shades, but so far , and for this shade, this is a 5 star polish for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Polishes products