Revlon Colorsilk

4.0

711 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 12/29/2014 10:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This made my hair really dry, dryer than other dyes do, and I left it on for just as long as it said to. I was using this in a dark brown color to cover a bit of red I had in my hair from previous dyeing and it didn't even cover the red all the way, there's some fairly obvious red still in my hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 11/29/2014 11:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing cheap hair dye, I bought the color black and I love it. The only problem is that the hair dye still gets out of your hair on the third wash but I don't really mind that. I get complacent when people saw my hair and it makes my hair look healthier.


on 11/12/2014 12:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

To kyl77, I was going to send you a private message but because I'm new it wouldn't let me yet for a few days. What color was your hair when you colored over it with the mix of Revlon 71 and 42? My hair is naturally a dark brown, but I have been coloring it with different brands and it has been a light golden brown for several years (meaning there are some red tones in it). I am still looking for a product that will give me more of a strawberry blonde, and #72 sounded perfect until I saw that it has been discontinued. Any advice on the mix of colors you have used is appreciated.


on 10/26/2014 3:55:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Revlon Colorsilk is my absolute favorite hair coloring product! Not only is it inexpensive (I pay less than $3 at Target) it colors my grays perfectly. I use the dark brown only at my roots and get a very natural look.






on 10/18/2014 11:03:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The medium golden brown does a nice job of covering my white roots and it blends very closely to my previous salon coloring. It has no ammonia, which is a big plus. My hair came out very silky after using the included conditioner. It is not (too) messy if I'm careful.

Since I need to color every 2 weeks now, I'll continue doing it myself to save time and money. At some point, I might want a full salon job, but have not felt the need in 12 weeks so far.

The box had got a coupon for Luxurious Colorsilk Buttercream and I may try that it I find it (on my hair not on a cake though it sounds yummy).


on 10/12/2014 11:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product is amazing!!!!!
I wanted to dye my hair back to my normal hair color since dying it a very light brown. I was going to buy the Loreal hair dye I think ... But it was 8 bucks!! So I decided to go with this one I bought the dark brown color and I loved it ... It completely covered the light brown and I have my hair back... My hair is really soft now it's not brittle like how it was before I dyed it ... Definetly worth the 3 dollars ... Always using this hair dye

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Wow. Just, wow.
Cheap can be freaking great.
This doesn't drip all over the place like L'oreal Paris--great color, bad application--it dries faster, it spreads nicely and doesn't have an overpowering fragrance. That said, dark color will bleed for a few days when you wash but that's pretty standard for darker shades. I might try another box color later but I'm really impressed by this total cheapie. I use two bottles for my long hair but the solution mixes quickly and doesn't itch. If you get it on your skin, it will naturally wash away in a day or two.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2014 1:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

A bit about my hair. I have curly thick dry frizzy dark brown/black hair. It takes me a lot of time to get tamed presentable hair. Having this hair type I have been shy about coloring my hair. A couple yrs ago I said why not and purchased a box of dye( don't recall brand but it was one of the more expensive ones) the color was off from what I was expecting, didn't last no time and the worst,... My gosh golly did my hair feel like straw forever after. Almost felt as if the stands were liable to snap in half.

Years later and fall is approaching the leaves are changing and I, like most women, had the itch to switch it up a bit. Enter this lovely product.
First I want to say, my hair feels softer than Before! Oh my wow how so? I dunno, but it's so.
I decided to go with brown black, I didn't want an unnatural blue black or anything of the likes, so I thought maybe this would deepen my natural color and remove the warm red tones. I'm very happy with the color, although it's pretty much black it in no way looks like a 3 dollar boxed dye. In natural lighting you can see some slight brown towns. I needed one box for my medium length thick hair.
Oh yea ...it's 3 dollars at walmart. Did I mention that. Living my new " Fall" hair. I will only use this brand from this point forward.
Didn't feel like I needed to hold my breath to stop from fainting from fumes.
Easy to apply ( crappy "gloves" though)
Hair feels beautifully soft ( week after still)
Brilliant color.
Awesome price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2014 12:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have naturally medium/dark ash blonde hair and for years (25+) I had dyed it--blonde, auburn & most recently dark mahogany brown (3W). I wanted to go blonde again and used Color Oops to get the dark brown out of my hair. It turned a copper blond, very brassy, not the color I wanted and it was SO dry. I highlighted my hair at the salon ($150) and it still looked brassy. I toned it with Wella T18 and it took it down a notch but still brassy. Tonight I used Revlon Colorsilk 70 Medium Ash Blonde and it is amazing!! No ammonia, no offensive odor, and my hair finally has the ash deposits that matched my roots almost exactly! No more brassy--hallelujah!! It's so affordable ($3) and it left my hair in better shape than before, silky and really soft with shimmering blond highlights. I wouldn't recommend this if you don't have brassy undertones as it could become too grey looking but it worked so well on my hair. I'm back to my natural color and now I can add some blonde highlights and look like a natural blonde again. Definitely worth the 3 bucks :) SO happy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2014 8:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have colored my hair many many years now at home. I have used a lot of different brands. I typically use L'Oreal Excellence or Garnier. I wanted to add more red in my hair, so I picked up Revlon in Deep Red. I've used Revlon years ago. The color won't stop bleeding out of my hair after each wash. It also left my hair dry and irritated my scalp. I have never had a hair color do that before. Even brands with red in the color. The only good thing is the color came out what i expected.My hair just doesn't care for Revlon.I know my sister has had great luck with Revlon. Sadly I would not repurchase. Back to my 2 favorite brands.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
373 Reviews
Colorsilk
711 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Revlon Colorsilk by Denim Vixen



Back to Top