BeneFit Cosmetics • Sun Beam • Highlighters

rated 4.2(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MissBeautyAdikt on 8/31/2013 5:50:00 PM more reviews by MissBeautyAdikt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Benefit Sun Beam highlighter has become one of my firm favourites. I have been using it nearly everyday since purchasing it.

It gives the most beautiful, golden glow to the skin and with my NC42 colouring, it compliments my skin tone perfectly. I have come across other ‘gold’ highlighters and they tend to be more on the orange side, however this one is pure gold.

I like applying this to my cheekbones because it catches the light beautifully and gives the skin that glistening look. Also if you’re exposing some skin when on holiday or in the hotter months, try applying it to the shoulders or the collarbone. Mixing it with your foundation would give your skin that subtle, golden glow.

I have noticed it doesn’t last too well on my bare, combination skin, however when I have used foundation etc, then it lasts all day. I personally think it needs a base to ‘hold’ on to.

This bottle will last you absolutely ages and for me it is very travel friendly, although I wouldn’t keep this in my handbag.

Overall, I love this product and am so happy I purchased it! I have a fascination with highlighters and I am glad to find one that is much warmer in colour! I honestly think that you won’t be disappointed if you tried this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lcarr7uk on 8/5/2013 3:36:00 PM more reviews by lcarr7uk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

TRY THIS: use ontop of a lipstick for a cyber-look. Gives a great gold shimmer to your lipstick. Looks great on purple & red! as a high lighter, its best to pat on the skin to keep the colour and pigment strong enough to see. it gives a great bronzed look perfect for summer! cons: if you rub it on it can give a subtle/not there look & when you get to the end of the product its hard to get the last of it out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 6/18/2013 8:08:00 PM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Colour: light golden champagne
Finish: shimmery glow
Pigm.: sheer to light-medium
Wear time: 7-8 hours

Got this in the mini trio at the Sephora checkout because i didn't want to commit to a full size that costs double and a bit.
It's a lovely brow bone highlight and also on the highest points on cheek bones for the bronzed summer glow. The brush is too flimsy but nothing un-workable. Instead of rubbing circles, pat this on tho blend so you can preserve the colour

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cindyriel on 6/14/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by cindyriel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Initially, I had tried Benefit's famous High Beam however on my asian yellowy-undertoned skin tone, it didn't look nice and just looked like a swipe of silver on my face. It didn't look blended no matter how much I blended it and never looked subtle. I could perhaps get away with it at night but during the day it looked horrible! So recently I went to Benefit and I spoke to the lovely MUA at the Benefit counter and explained my situation. She then proceeded to recommend me either Sun Beam or Watt's Up. Prior to this, I was looking at Watt's up and so I asked her to apply Sun beam on one side and Watt's up on the other side. To my surprise, Sun Beam looked a lot better on my NC30ish skintone! Don't get me wrong, Watt's Up was lovely but I liked Sun Beam a lot more and I am so happy I bought it. It has a nice golden sheen, which, on my skin doesn't look 'yellowy' but rather looks like a blended nice glow on my face, absolutely stunning when the light catches my face! Ah, this product is a must-have for those who find High Beam too silvery/harsh on their skin. I recommend this to all, even those who are fair as it would give a nice golden sheen!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaeaster on 6/12/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by ninaeaster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This gives a great gold glowy highlight. I enjoy pairing this with peach blushes. It goes on evenly and is easy to blend. Just wish the price tag was less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dillybee on 6/12/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by Dillybee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have medium tan skin and this product looks amazing on me. However the sparkles kinda throw me off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kikidoll27 on 5/3/2013 6:28:00 PM more reviews by kikidoll27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have always wanted to try Benefit's high beam, but as a highlighter junkie, I couldn't see myself using it all up. So when I was trolling Sephora.com and saw a tree pack of mini tints (posie tint, chacha tint, sun beam) for seventeen dollars, I jumped on it. I am very pale, so adding some warmth to my complexion while highlighting is literally my dream. Sun Beam is basically a liquid highlighter with a golden bronze color. It's a bit shimmery, but more luminous that shimmery. It does not contain any glitter chunks nor does it emphasize pores/cause breakouts. I use this on the tops of my cheekbones and on my browbones, and sometimes down my nose (although I prefer other highlighters for that). I have to say, I'm really surprised by how much I find myself reaching for it. It's so subtle and natrual looking, in a way that guys wouldn't have a clue it's makeup and girls ask me what it is. The thing is, a full size is about 26 dollars. I can't justify handing over that much for this since I doubt I'll ever use it up. Also-- the packaging is kinda prissy. It's a nail polish bottle. I understand why benefit did that since it's a liquid, but I wish they put it in a bottle with a pump. I'm going to try boots high lights illuminating lotion next (more pink then bronze) and see what I think. I probably wouldn't buy this again, there are better highlighters out there for me and my deathly pale skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Teaspenc on 4/23/2013 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Teaspenc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff I mix a little in with my tinted moisturizer it adds a dewy look. I use it as bronzer and eyeshadow! It is quality stuff :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 babygems on 4/12/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by babygems

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am disappointed with this product. It just doesn't show up on my skin. I am light skinned don't know what MAC colour but I wear buff in revlon true colour foundation. For me it is a complete waste of money if you have similar colour skin colouring to me I would say test it out before buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loovexemilyy on 3/17/2013 12:35:00 AM more reviews by loovexemilyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Sun Beam! I was able to snag a mini bottle of this along with a mini Coralista for around $15 at Sephora - so it was a steal in my opinion, as I probably wouldn't use an entire bottle of Sun Beam let alone pay $26+ for it. Anyways - I love to use this in the dead of summer as I feel like this is the only acceptable time to be gold and glowing! This is a beautiful highlighter that will only see the light of day a few weeks out of the year. It's a pretty pink/bronze/gold shimmer that adds a beautiful sun kissed glow. I'll either dab a bit down the center of my nose or just on my cheeks. (Side note: Blend well! I've taken the brush and dotted this on my cheeks and realized that I didn't blend this in well enough and the dots of product picked up on my sponge and went back on my face in the same shape - it looked like I had golden freckles!) Great product - it's such a nice color but I can't really pull it off year round.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Highlighters products