BeneFit Cosmetics • Sun Beam • Highlighters

rated 4.2(39 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 arblackburn90 on 12/22/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by arblackburn90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Benefit Cosmetics for well over 5 years. There are few products by Benefit (if any!) that I can't find use for in some way or another.

SunBeam is no different! I love the creamy feel as it goes on my face but still provides my skin the ability to breathe so I don't have any unwanted/scary break outs. The product itself has a gold tint with brown/coppery under tones, but once it's on the skin, it becomes very natural, almost sheer with a hint of color as opposed to some "highlighters" that just end up being a goopy mess! This liquid sun in an adorbs bottle is perfect if you're planning on going for a natural but sultry look, a sun kissed look with a hint of color on the eyes or a browns and golds look pulled together with a beautiful sheen.

The ONLY reason I gave this product a 4 out of 5 instead of a 5 out of 5 is because I typically enjoy the boldness of Benefit and I feel, while absolutely gorgeous when used correctly, this product needed just a little more OOMPH! color wise. Perhaps a little more gold or copper to it, I found myself still needing bronzer after applying.

However, I will absolutely continue to wear this product and I will absolutely reconsider purchasing once I'm out!

Thanks Benefit! Helping girls everywhere stay cheeky, as usual!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thecolormargaret on 12/17/2013 1:25:00 AM more reviews by thecolormargaret

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I finally bought the big daddy! I had a sample size version I bought in one of the benefit sets, that was at a great price point, er 12 USD, not sure. Tonight, I splurged I got the 30 USD bottle. I am pale and I adore the product, so don't let other reviewers get you. It gives you a sunkissed glow any season. Also, I find it to be long- lasting and a little product goes a long way. It is pure golden toned It just makes you feel aglow. I recieve boquets of compliments from my customers at work when I wear it. I know it is pricey, but I just adore it. If you are hesitant try a sample size. Test it out! The only con is the not so creative packaging, but remember this product has been a stalple in the Benefit line for a reason.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SteffStarrr on 12/16/2013 9:43:00 PM more reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really subtle golden highlighter that's great for everyday. It adds just a touch of liveliness and glowiness, either when mixed in with foundation or on its own. It's barely noticeable, but is enough to keep my face from looking flat. To get a more noticeable effect, I dab this on after foundation and powder, and it's just liquidy enough to not be cakey. My only gripe with this is that it was a little too subtle sometimes - if I want a more glowy look I usually have to layer a powder highlighter, but for everyday use this is perfect! Even though it adds some luminosity, there are no noticeable shimmers in this at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* decoydream on 12/16/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by decoydream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've got so much love for this product! I've never been a big believer in Benefit (mostly due to some of their over hyped products - yeah Bad Gal lash, I'm looking at you and your performance issues) but this sunshine in a bottle is amazing.

I don't use it everyday, but for when I'm out at night, I dot this along the top of my cheekbones and then once on the both sides of the temple area (on top of a light layer of foundation). Using a paddle foundation brush, I blend it out and then lightly dust translucent powder on top. Voila! Subtly golden cheekbones that don't look glittery, streaky or orange!

For reference, I'm Asian with strong yellow undertones and fair- medium skin. If you are of a cooler colouring, you might be better off with high beam (which is also really quite fabulous).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SM824star on 11/29/2013 3:47:00 PM more reviews by SM824star

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I got this as a free gift at Ulta and only just started really using it. I have a teensy-tiny bottle, but i am considering a full size, but its pricey at $26. I got it in August and didnt really use but I realized it gave a beautiful golden glow to my skin, especially in its dull, winter-esque state...:-). I think this is a great product and I like it better than Highbeam.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissBeautyAdikt on 8/31/2013 5:50:00 PM more reviews by MissBeautyAdikt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Benefit Sun Beam highlighter has become one of my firm favourites. I have been using it nearly everyday since purchasing it.

It gives the most beautiful, golden glow to the skin and with my NC42 colouring, it compliments my skin tone perfectly. I have come across other ‘gold’ highlighters and they tend to be more on the orange side, however this one is pure gold.

I like applying this to my cheekbones because it catches the light beautifully and gives the skin that glistening look. Also if you’re exposing some skin when on holiday or in the hotter months, try applying it to the shoulders or the collarbone. Mixing it with your foundation would give your skin that subtle, golden glow.

I have noticed it doesn’t last too well on my bare, combination skin, however when I have used foundation etc, then it lasts all day. I personally think it needs a base to ‘hold’ on to.

This bottle will last you absolutely ages and for me it is very travel friendly, although I wouldn’t keep this in my handbag.

Overall, I love this product and am so happy I purchased it! I have a fascination with highlighters and I am glad to find one that is much warmer in colour! I honestly think that you won’t be disappointed if you tried this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lcarr7uk on 8/5/2013 3:36:00 PM more reviews by lcarr7uk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

TRY THIS: use ontop of a lipstick for a cyber-look. Gives a great gold shimmer to your lipstick. Looks great on purple & red! as a high lighter, its best to pat on the skin to keep the colour and pigment strong enough to see. it gives a great bronzed look perfect for summer! cons: if you rub it on it can give a subtle/not there look & when you get to the end of the product its hard to get the last of it out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 6/18/2013 8:08:00 PM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Colour: light golden champagne
Finish: shimmery glow
Pigm.: sheer to light-medium
Wear time: 7-8 hours

Got this in the mini trio at the Sephora checkout because i didn't want to commit to a full size that costs double and a bit.
It's a lovely brow bone highlight and also on the highest points on cheek bones for the bronzed summer glow. The brush is too flimsy but nothing un-workable. Instead of rubbing circles, pat this on tho blend so you can preserve the colour

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cindyriel on 6/14/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by cindyriel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Initially, I had tried Benefit's famous High Beam however on my asian yellowy-undertoned skin tone, it didn't look nice and just looked like a swipe of silver on my face. It didn't look blended no matter how much I blended it and never looked subtle. I could perhaps get away with it at night but during the day it looked horrible! So recently I went to Benefit and I spoke to the lovely MUA at the Benefit counter and explained my situation. She then proceeded to recommend me either Sun Beam or Watt's Up. Prior to this, I was looking at Watt's up and so I asked her to apply Sun beam on one side and Watt's up on the other side. To my surprise, Sun Beam looked a lot better on my NC30ish skintone! Don't get me wrong, Watt's Up was lovely but I liked Sun Beam a lot more and I am so happy I bought it. It has a nice golden sheen, which, on my skin doesn't look 'yellowy' but rather looks like a blended nice glow on my face, absolutely stunning when the light catches my face! Ah, this product is a must-have for those who find High Beam too silvery/harsh on their skin. I recommend this to all, even those who are fair as it would give a nice golden sheen!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaeaster on 6/12/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by ninaeaster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This gives a great gold glowy highlight. I enjoy pairing this with peach blushes. It goes on evenly and is easy to blend. Just wish the price tag was less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Highlighters products