Avene • Skin Recovery Cream (US name: Cream For Intolerant Skin) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(218 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Bellajean2007 on 9/17/2013 4:52:00 PM more reviews by Bellajean2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this after I chemically burned my face. I had used the fade peel the night before with no irritation and then used tea tree oil the next morning on certain spots-BAD mistake. Horrible chemical burns on parts of my face. I had suffered something similar two years ago and it took me over a year to recover. Well I read reviews for this on here and got my husband to get me some the same day. I would have to say it was a life saver. Healed everything within three days and took away all the redness and soreness. I still have some hyper-pigmentation but I know 15% Glycolic acid gel will take care of that within a month. At least now I know what to do in a situation like this, unlike two years before.

I also used this on my daughter after a bad sun burn and she woke up the next day with a perfect complexion.

Moral of the story: please do not use any thing harsh on your skin after a peel, even a mild one and if you do, use this to heal. I did find it caused small pimples on the exact same spots I used it because of the mineral oil. I know they say that it isn't bad for the skin, but it does seem to affect mine.

Update:
I still use this as a spot treatment on my face if I have an irritation. It is so soothing and the only thing that seems to actually work as advertised!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 greenmountaingirl on 7/29/2013 12:07:00 AM more reviews by greenmountaingirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

The original Cream for Intolerant Skin was my absolute HG... it was very moisturizing, yet lightweight, soothing, and never broke me out. It made my skin so soft and glowy. Sadly, they reformulated it and now it feels like a completely different cream... and not in a good way:-( The new Skin Recovery Cream feels strangely waxy, makes my skin super shiny after a couple hours, and clogs my pores badly. It's also not very moisturizing (it forms a barrier over my skin, but when I wash it off in the evening, my skin still feels very dry underneath). I suggest getting yourself a small sample before buying this based on the great reviews, since many of those are for the (wonderful) original version.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dusice on 7/11/2013 4:02:00 PM more reviews by dusice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say, I love Avene and have their loyalty card at London Drugs! This is a nice cream, not too fragranced, but it doesn't absorb into my skin as well as the Soothing Moisture Mask; this made my skin a bit oily. I'll still use it though, because, despite the oil, I haven't had any clogged pores or break-outs. Might repurchase, but would always, always purchase from Avene.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 afoletta on 7/7/2013 2:18:00 AM more reviews by afoletta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have dry, sensitive skin and rosacea. This moisturizer helps reduce my dryness and redness, and doesn't irritate my skin. It has no smell, not super heavy on my skin, and works fine under makeup. They reformulated it earlier this year, but I didn't notice much of a difference except the price increased. It has mineral oil in it, which some say is bad for you. I'm kind of a skin care junkie so I'm always looking out for the next best thing. I'll continue to repurchase (until I find something as good w/o mineral oil, I guess). I've tried the Rich version too, but I like this better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kittycattt on 6/6/2013 5:24:00 AM more reviews by kittycattt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This cream is expensive for the size. and it contains mineral oil as as petroluam.. like whyyy! it clog my pores badly. i want to like even abit but NO. it didnt sink in skin its like as if i have a layer of product on my skin, especially hot weather.. i sweat and it like my skin cant breathe... would not repurchase.. and i only use less than 10 times. its so sad :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susiej on 5/27/2013 12:40:00 PM more reviews by susiej

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really not happy with this one. Every day that I have worn it my skin looks a bit ... irritated and out of sorts. It has done very little to moisturise my skin and in the days following its use my skin has actually been tighter and dryer than usual. Something in it just must not agree with me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 5/24/2013 6:11:00 AM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have normal/dry, slightly sensitive skin. I'm going to compare 2 different creams in my review. One of them yo can only get in some Nordic countries - I apologize for that, as this review may not be relevant for many people.
.
I first bought Avene Recovery Cream for my mom, for her rosacea skin, as it is very sensitive. She used it for about 3 weeks but then stopped. I asked her why, over the phone, as don't live at home, and she said it was because it seemed to not be compatible with her skin. I think she mentioned something about breaking out, but I couldn't see it for myself. Later I found out that people with rosacea often can't tolerate things with oil in them, so I decided to try this out myself. First I used it for about a week and didn't like it, as my skin was getting a little blotchy compared to when I use my regular moisturizer, Cliniderm for Sensitive Skin Rich, which is supposed to minimize redness/irritation over time.
.
After using my Cliniderm for about 8 more months, my skin was far from as sensitive. That is because Cliniderm's cream is supposed to help sensitive skin build a barrier, and eventually, become less sensitive. It took me about 2.5 years of use to go from VERY sensitive skin to just slightly sensitive. Cliniderms cream costs quite a lot, so I decided to give Avene another chance (buy another tube, that is - the expiration date is only 6 months after opening). My skin tolerates this just fine now, although I can't say that Avene's cream feels soothing, like other people say - to me it just isn't irritating at all. Cliniderm actually IS soothing for me, and was even when my skin was very sensitive.

I personally don't have any problems with neither mineral oil nor silicones - my skin tolerates both very well, but I don't quite like how this cream feels on the face: it doesn't sink in well, even with my dry skin, and I use about a 5-6 mm ball of this for my entire face. My Cliniderm sinks in completely and very fast, leaving me with very moisturized, but quite matte skin, while Avene's cream does moisturize, but my face is left a little shiny and my makeup always looks very dewy over, and sometimes doesn't set as fast as I would like.
.
I DO like this cream - it has been my go-to moisturizer in the morning for about 8 months now. It takes a long time for me to use this up as I only need a very small amount and my makeup looks pretty good over this.
.
Why I only gave this a 4: my skin didn't tolerate this very well when it was very sensitive, (but it does now, when it's only slightly sensitive), because it doesn't actually soothe my skin, because it seems like this doesn't sink in properly and because it doesn't build up the skin's resistance. Would recommend people with sensitive skin testing this out? Yes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 5/23/2013 12:15:00 AM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was nice, but not hydrating enough for me. I recently ran out of my moisturizer and had also been exfoliating a bit too much. My skin was red, irritated, and totally breaking out in little bumps. I received a sample of this to try, and used it for a week. It did clear the redness and irritation, and didn't break me out. But unfortunately my skin still looked dehydrated and dull. I'd use Vichy aqua balm over this if my skin acts out again for any reason.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amie83 on 5/4/2013 10:46:00 AM more reviews by Amie83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Extremely soothing and moisturizing. I must have repurchased at least ten times. I have dry, sensitive skin with a bit if rosacea ( red dots on cheeks, flares up when aggravated and some pimples). This soothes my skin and calms redness overnight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leviosana on 4/26/2013 6:46:00 AM more reviews by leviosana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried out a sample of this moisturiser in the RICH formula (more general info at the end of the review).I was looking for a facial moisturiser, which would be hydrating and calming enough to soothe the rough, red skin under my nose.

First impressions: Out of the tube, it looked very thick and rich.

First application: After showering and exfoliating. It has no scent at all and it felt surprisingly light. My skin did not feel tight and dry areas were not as red as usual. I was really excited, but after around 10 minutes, my cheeks, forehead and chin looked unusually textured (bumpy). At the same time, the skin under my nose started feeling tight and I had to put on additional argan oil and more moisturiser.

36 hours later: Prepped my skin for make-up real well, but there was twice as much oil to on my blotting sheet than usual. I felt a small improvement in the condition of my dry patches (as long as I used argan oil with the cream), however the large pores on my cheeks, forehead and nose were clogged and I had 5 new whiteheads (have not had that many at once in months). I stopped using it after this.

Additional thoughts: I think this could be a great moisturiser for someone with extremely dry, sensitive skin and to use in the wintertime, as long as you do not have large pores or break-out areas. It definitely has a calming effect, but I think you would have to use it for quite a while to rehydrate your skin. Cannot imagine what it would do to oily skin.

Other info: The great thing about Avene is they offer samples of some of their products if you ask them via e-mail (in the UK at least). The cream comes in two formulas -> skin recovery cream (normal to combination skin)and RICH skin recovery cream (for dry to very dry skin).It is free from parabens and colouring agents.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Moisturizers products