Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation

3.5

197 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Methyl Perfluorobutyl Ether, Water, Silica, Butylene Glycol, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Kaolin, Cetyl PEG/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Polysilicone-11, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Decyl Glucoside, Quaternium-90 Bentonite, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone/Methicone Copolymer, Magnesium Sulfate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tribehenin, Glycerin, Leontopodium Alpinum Meristem Cell Culture, Xanthan Gum, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Lavandula Stoechas Extract. May Contain ( +/- ): Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.


on 2/4/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have tried many foundations as I get very oily around the T-zone during the day.

This foundation doesn't make be break out, it is the most effective in soaking up the oil on the skin. Not to say you won't get oily but there is no disgusting sheen on your face begging to be blotted.

Because I have an oily t-zone i prefer Matte foundations and this one provides medium to heavy coverage depending on your preference.

The only downside is that you need to apply quickly with a brush because it dries very quickly.

One pump is possible to cover my face with light coverage - I usually require another half pump to cover up those extra red and T-zone areas.

Love this - i don't think i'll change ever!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/27/2015 4:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

THE ULTIMATE HOLY GRAIL PRODUCT FOR OILY SKIN! If you have any other skin type OTHER than oily skin, stop reading right now. Even for combo skin gals, I've heard that the Immaculate is too drying or looks too powdery when applied. But for those with oily skin that you could fry an egg on or have to blot your face with a whole box of tissues in a day, this foundation is made for you! I have never worn a makeup product that could last over 6 hours without melting off or looking shiny without a primer on my skin. It's like magic in a bottle! The first time I tried it, an Hourglass rep at Sephora applied it to my face with Hourglass' kabuki brush. She raved about how amazing it was and that I would name my children Immaculate and Immaculata after using it... yes she actually said that. Crazy as she sounded, she was right about it being amazing, flawless, longwearing, good for the skin due to skincare ingredients, and that my oils will be digested by the kaolinite clay throughout the day. She used half a pump to cover my whole face and the final result was a natural, healthy flawless face. It was medium coverage and I really liked how light-weight it was, it felt like second skin without the grease. The ultimate test was going about my day like normal and after 8 hours, I checked the foundation and it looked just as flawless as when it was first applied. There was a little bit of shine peeking through but it looked more like a healthy glow than the usual oily face. I've been using it for almost a year and have only come across one issue, lack of yellow-tone shades. Hourglass has a lot of pink, peach, beige colors, but only 1 yellow shade (Porcelain) that is very light and pale. I am around NC25 and even at my palest in the winter time, Porcelain makes me look jaundice. It would match NC15 better. The shade I use is called Ivory, but the color is a warm-medium shade and quite peachy. It tends to look a bit orange on me, but in the summertime, it doesn't look that bad. It does oxidize on my skin so at the end of the day, the oompa loompa color is more noticeable. There are 4 other shades in between Porcelain and Ivory that I have tried, but none of them have yellow undertones and look either too light or pink on me. Shell would be the closest match for NC20-25 as it is lighter than Ivory, but it is too neutral for my face as there is no yellow in it. Even though I can't wear the foundation all year round, it still retains it's HG status for me because I have yet to find a better foundation for oily skin that doesn't break me out.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2015 2:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've tried so many foundations and this one is by far my favorite! It last all day with out getting oily, and its full coverage! I have very light olive/yellowy skin and it works perfectly! It also doesn't bother my sensitive skin. I recommend it to everybody!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2015 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My skin - very combination, oily as heck on the nose (not so much anywhere else) and dry on my cheeks as well as around my mouth, most likely from all the BP ive used for years.

When i put on this foundation, i pump it a few times onto the back of my hand, add a drop of sweet almond oil and mix it around. I then apply in areas and blend with a RT buffing brush and the result is smooth, COMPLETLEY matte coverage. I assume im so blown away with the finish because its liquid to powder but wow is it ever amazing. I can go hours and hours with no touch up, and i dont need any power at all until about 3-4 hours just on my nose. The colour selection is great for my basically translucent skin and lasts for a really long time....is it worth 70 mofokin dollars tho?!??!! i really dont know..... i think the price is pretty ridiculous.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation was recommended to me for my wedding day. Just for reference purposes I'm a NC48 in Mac and tried the shade 'Sable'. I usually love Hourglass products but this foundation looked hilariously bad on me. I looked washed out and ill and the foundation had a strange yellow undertone- I looked like a banana! It was so bad my mom and sister actually laughed at me. And thought my skin is usually very very oily it actually looked dry with this foundation on. Definitely not for me and will not be purchasing again.


on 1/18/2015 1:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have very oily skin, and this foundation wears like no other I've tried. It turns into a silky powder when applied - so blend quickly!
If you have any flakes, this will make them more obvious, but on the other hand, it makes pores disappear! The shade range is beautiful. I bought it at Sephora so it it is a little pricey, but worth it!


on 1/16/2015 12:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I first want to say I have combination skin. I can be super oily around my T-zone or extremely dry. And I find this foundation to sit well on skin, whether I'm dry or oily. But this is not my go to foundation. I will use it when I know I need full coverage. Like on weekends when I am out partying till the sun comes up. I love that it is matte, I do not get dewy, nor my red under tones do not appear. I also like that a little goes a long way. I use very little and get the right amount of coverage. I have tried this foundation with and without primer, and for me it looks best with primer. The formula is thick and creamy, but it is easy to blend. Since it is thick it makes it a little difficult to dispense from the pump. The product dries inside the pump. I either pump out the dried foundation and use the second pump, or remove the pump and try to get some foundation out. Now the opening to the jar is not big so that is not so easy. This is the only reason why I would not repurchases this foundation. If you like wearing a full coverage foundation every day, I say buy it, why not.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2015 10:06:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is HG status for me. My needs from a foundation are:
~perfect color match
~layers well over sunscreen
~conceals redness
~fills and smooths pores w out caking
~does not accentuate fine lines
~natural looking
~does not cause breakouts

This foundation does all this and more. I use a small(Shiseido)taklon concealer brush to spread the product across my skin and tap lightly w my fingertips to press it into pores. Somehow this product fills pores and gives me a flawless finish w out ever looking caked. Even around my eye zone I can achieve adequate coverage with a light touch and not appear overly lined. My only complaint is the bottles pump. It actually dispenses adequately w out wasting product, it's just annoying when you are close to the end to try and get every last bit out. I use my concealer brush to pull out everything it can reach.
Well worth the expense, IMO
I have repurchased many times and never allow myself to run out. Lifetime staple!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2015 7:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This foundation is definitely not for everybody. It's quick drying, EXTREMELY matte and absorbs almost all the oil on your face. That being said, it's a total godsend for people with very oily, sensitive, acne-prone skin such as myself. If I use a primer and setting powder, this foundation will last the entire day in near perfect condition. Compared to other foundations that I've tried, I only have to blot my face a few times over the course of the day and touch up once or twice compared to every hour with past foundations.

My skin seems to love it, I haven't had any adverse reactions to it in terms of breakouts/hives etc. I will say that you have to learn how to put this on. It dries VERY quickly (it's liquid to powder), so you have to work with it quickly and definitely can't go back and reblend spots. I found that a liquid foundation brush works well, but it actually works very well with a beauty blender. The coverage is about medium, it blends and blurs imperfections but I need to use concealer on top of it.

The packaging is beautiful, it's a metal bottle but it's pretty heavy so not totally ideal for travel. Great product overall.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2014 10:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm loving it. It last all day as long (up to 8-10 hr) as you don't touch your face.

I'm someone who has a lot of foundations and doesn't love any of them. I mix my foundations in order to get a create foundation, because either the shade is wrong (mostly they're too orange) or to improve coverage and longevity. I like to mix YSL Fusion Ink with Bourhois 123 BB cream, and Estee Lauder Double Wear or Dior Skin with Bourjois 123 Foundation.

The shade of Immaculate foundation is Shell. The shade is spot-on perfect. It is the most natural pale/light neutral shade I have ever came across. While it does make me look pale, I manipulate very easy with the whole look by adding bronzer, contour and/or blush making me look really natural and 'unmakeuped'. The shade would work really nice on all pale-to-light girls (women, men) with neutral undertones. No pink and no yellow!! There are no dupes in my stash when it comes to this shade. It's lighter than any I have, but it works wonderfully on my skin. Especially now that I haven't got a single hint of 'summer-skin'. It could be similar to MAC Mineralize concealer NW15 (slightly darker).

The application of this foundation can be tricky, no matter what base you apply underneath. I do have a sample of their primer, and it does work good combined. I have tried following: Max Factor primer, The Body Shop Vitamin C primer, Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, Korres Mattifying and Greek Yoghurt primer, but nothing proved to be its best pair. I will try out Benefit Porefessional - if it works, I'll update the review. The problem lies in its drynes. While it's creamy and spreads nicely, when buffing all the dryness comes out. If you have any dry, flaky parts they'll be accentuated. So, if you use something that is dehydrating your skin (bezoyl peroxide, AHA or BHA) you may encounter problems with this foundation especially. But, this is not a cons! Since the foundation dries to dry-to-touch, it is something worth mentioning. The foundation is best applied with a BeautyBledner then with a kabuki brush. Worst application I got with fingers, but that's just me. You should start with applying a smaller amount and then gradually add more where more coverage is needed. Still, a concealer shouldn't be skipped if there is need for one! The foundation erases all redness and acne marks with just one layer leaving you with MSBB! It's unbelievable how natural yet covered everything looks. Just like an eraser, this foundation removes any scars and redness, leaving you with naturally good skin. Enlarged pores are minimized, but present. With a hint of beautifying powder, my skin looks radiant.

The lasting power is average, which is kind of disappointing since it is stated it is a long wearing foundation. I do get 8 hours of wear time, but if you ask me for a long wearing foundation, I would still recommend Prolongwear or Double Wear (depending on the shade).

The foundation is really nice and currently I don't have any bad feelings toward it: it is my perfect shade, it doesn't look cakey, one layer is light yet covering, the wear is decent and it doesn't dry out my skin. Still, if I will repurchase, time will prove.

The real negative thing I have about this foundation is its price here in Europe: it cost US$80 + US$15 shipping which makes it one of the most expensive foundations on the market. I haven't encountered a single shop who physically sells it, but I doubt it would be less than $80. Those in the US are 'lucky' the foundation is in the range with Dior and other HE brands. The salaries in EU aren't overwhelming making this foundation a special occasion one from the HIGH high end section.
I bought it in US and use it here-and-there, when I feel special.

Conclusion: This foundation is nothing new and there are no special claims to it. Despite limited shade selection, I did find my perfect winter shade! The foundation dries dry-to-touch, is non-transferable and doesn't have any tacky feeling to it. There is no special need for any additional powders, except beautifying ones if you wish. The wear time is average being 8+ hours. The sebum control is average, too, being 4+ hr. The selling point of this foundation is the coverage you get with only one layer which results with a natural yet polished face. The only negative of this foundation is the price in European online stores.

EDIT: Whenever used with Mineral Veil Primer, the foundation stays put whole day (25 Celsius, dry weather, sun, no wind), 11+ hr, and the oil didn't peak through. I was dewy and not horror-oily. Also, the foundation didn't break, separate or move. I lost some of it on tip of my nose due using napkin. Mineral Veil + Immaculate => better than ELDW!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top