Hourglass • Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(130 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 redyarn11 on 2/4/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by redyarn11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I discovered Hourglass in Sephora while buying another product and I must say I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! It literally melts like butter. I love the liquid - to powder finish. It gives me a smooth, flawless look. And although I have combination skin, this didn't dry me out.

Great flawless finish. Absolutely no comparison when it comes to texture and consistency of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 QueenBee1217 on 1/31/2014 6:19:00 PM more reviews by QueenBee1217

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have tried Chanel, Givenchy, YSL, Estee Lauder, MAC, MakeUp Forever, Clinique mattifying foundations among others but nothing compares to this product. My skin is super duper oily that I am very prone to break out. I got a sample from Sephora and tried it the next day and boy do I love that my face stayed really matte the whole day til night so I went back to get the full size in Nude shade! The only reason I gave it 4 lippies is because I am still recovering from a bad breakout and this doesn't hide everything. I still need my Estee Lauder Double Wear Maximum Coverage Camouflage Makeup as concealer.

And since it is liquid powder foundation, I swear I don't need pressed or loose powder after application considering my super oily face. So even if the price is $55 you still save by not buying loose or pressed powder! This is my holy grail. I'm in love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessierose27 on 1/21/2014 11:37:00 PM more reviews by jessierose27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this since November. And I'm gonna go with yes. Now, I've been reading all these reviews on here and I agree with clings to dry patches, can look cakey if you put a lot of powder on top, but the pros outweigh the cons. A reviewer said: it settles into fine lines. First of all, don't put a mattifying foundation under your eyes hunnybun. You are asking for fine lines. Just use a setting powder to set concealer and corrector. Anyways... I'm actually a combo dry/oily skinned gal from Frigid Chicago and I love this stuff. However, you need to really prep the skin for it. I cleanse, tone, and moisturize around my cheeks, nose, and mouth well. I wait, and then use the hourglass mineral primer. I'll let that sink in for 10 minutes or so, and then use small, small amounts of this on my t zone only. Less is more and I mean LESS. If you are reading this, definitely have your own opinion and don't rely on others. Everyone is different and I feel like we can overthink and doubt ourself-- especially if we read negative reviews from others' voices. Ya feel? It could totally work for you. It works for me.

EDIT:

This is difficult to apply, but once its on, its on. It does not separate, and I think it's one of those foundations that looks better throughout the day. Yes, it is mattifying, but once your natural oils come through it looks semi-matte, it looks nice. I do touch up with this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polarpooch on 1/21/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by polarpooch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

for $55/bottle, i expected a lot more than what i got. well, all i expected was a foundation that would hold up on my very, very oil t-zone for the work day. what i got was an expensive, silicone-based foundation that is only OK in that regard. even WITH the pricey mineral veil primer, MAYBE i can get 5 hours out of this. finish is nice when used w/a good foundation bursh. color (nude) was OK, though a little yellow. but that matters little if the foundation doesn't last. and it doesn't. going to keep using my EL DW and EL IF.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kelz25 on 1/18/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by kelz25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wanted to love this foundation for my oily skin. I ended up buying the wrong color from Sephora online so I got a sample in store in Ivory. My skin is currently NC20-25. This wasn't that great of a color match, it was a tad light. I wasn't impressed with the color range. It didn't apply very smoothly and it clung to all my dry patches. You can tell that it's infused with clay- it's dry and didn't blend out well. It didn't keep me very matte and just looked like oil on top of dry/powdery skin. This may work for you if your skin is extremely oily and/or have no dry patches at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 estellanutella on 1/16/2014 6:07:00 PM more reviews by estellanutella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

(\@@/) long review warning! (\@@/)

Despair is the absence of hope... and this foundation has pulled from the depths of skin-problems despair back into the land of all-night dance parties!! Oh where to begin. I'm oily, oily, oily, and I've been struggling with REALLY bad breakouts since going off BC pill almost 2 years ago -- "bad" breakouts as in google "severe acne" bad, as in youtube channel worthy bad, as in 7-10 pimples EVERYDAY for 2 months, over half of them cystic. My record cystic size: 1 inch in diameter. I'd have two months of healing, hope, calm before the storm... and then the badness, again. It has been really depressing to say the least.

This is the only -- I repeat, ONLY -- foundation that does not break me out -- SO FAR.

Just you get a sense of what I've tried, here is a list (including what ingredient it seems broke me out as observed over my last two years of skin despair):

MUFE Mat Velvet - (sodium chloride)
MUFE HD - (sodium chloride, also has parabens = bad)
Bobbi Brown - (sodium chloride)
Tarte BB Spf 30 - (Stearic Acid) -- too bad, because I loved this for oiliness.
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 HR - (sodium chloride, potassium chloride, tocopherol)
Bare Minerals Matte Foundation - (no idea?!)
Laura Mercier Mineral Powder Spf 15 - (bismuth oxychloride)
Estee Lauder DW (polyglyceryl-3 disostearate)
Lancome- Teint Idole Ultra - (denat. alcohol)
Clinique Stay Matte - (didn't use it more than once because it did not make me matte)
Clinique City Block Spf 25 - (stearic acid, also has propylene glycol = bad)
Okay, I'm bored too & the list actually goes ON but ya get the picture...

Hourglass Immaculate. Already used it two weeks. My skin looks amazing. I got a compliment on my skin today... FOR THE FIRST TIME IN TWO YEARS!!!! I was so happy I decided I had to write this review. This foundation is for:

- highly sensitive, acne-prone, oily skin peeps with a good job ($$$) or sheer desperation (me)

What I've noticed after 2 weeks:

~~~~ EXCELLENT QUALITIES ~~~~
- fades post-acne pigmentation. Says so on the box. Didn't believe it. Almost in tears right now about how much I can already see my redness has faded in just two weeks.
- does not aggravate active, pustular acne
- helps cystic acne?! Allz I know is that I covered my cystic bumps with it (usually I just let them breathe and put foundation around 'em) and they faded THAT day. Happened twice. Could be a coincidence though, I don't know.
- does not feel heavy -- it is the ONLY foundation I've tried that makes my skin feel like it's breathing
- skin feels SOFT and SMOOTH at the end of the day when I wash it off
- NO breakouts, not even tiny small clogged pores kinda thing.

Literally, clean, soft, beautiful skin, like an anachronism in my mirror. I'm so happy with Immaculate, I actually look forward to "make-up days" when I get to use this rather than approach those days with deep anxiety, dread, and fear of the ~mirror moment~

I don't work for them. I can't explain how this is great. And maybe this doesn't do it for everyone, but I've never used ANY product that has truly lived up to its box promises as this one has. Guess that's why I'm shelling out like $75 CAN?

~~~ OKAY QUALITIES ~~~
- controls oiliness but shine breakthrough within 4-5 hours (Estee DW, Tarte BB Spf 30, and MUFE Mat Velvet are all better at this but they all break me out w/ small bumps after just 1 use, and probably contributed to triggering one of my "bad" breakouts from daily use.)
- light or med coverage
- waterproof! But hard to wash off completely. (I do a double wash with Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Cleanser (hg worthy!) followed by home-made tea-tree & rosewater toner, then a clay mask if I have time.

~~ MEH QUALITIES ~~
- dries SO fast, faster than MUFE mat velvet, so you can't make any mistakes
- not that buildable because it goes "liquid to powder" that fast so you have to use the right technique
- so expensive! aaahhhh
- clings to dry patches (around my temples)
- ***OXIDIZES***

I can see from the reviews here that it has not oxidized on everyone. I guess I am just THAT oily. Luckily, I was between shades anyway so I just picked the lighter shade (shell) and it darkens within a couple hours to match my skintone perfectly! For everything else that it does, I'm willing to look a bit ghostly pale in the morning.

For reference, I am: MUFE HD - 120 (closest match ever). Tarte BB SPF 30 - light (slightly light and pink on me). MUFE mat velvet 40 (slightly dark and yellow on me). LM Mineral Powder - Real Sand.

If you're having trouble picking a shade, I had to try SIX shades before finding mine. Sephora's website descriptions are totally off and I found that (perhaps as a result) their colour IQ database with Hourglass Immaculate are bad matches. I was matched to Nude which is way way dark on me.

Here is what I've noticed from my attempts:
- IVORY is supposedly "lighter" than NUDE, but on my face, it was WAY MORE yellow.
- GOLDEN is not pink at all, and more like in-between ivory/nude with NEUTRAL undertones
- SHELL has slightly YELLOW undertones but is labelled "neutral"
- PEARL has slightly PINK undertones but is also called "neutral"

~HOW TO USE~
Scroll up. Click filter to sort reviews. Choose "Most Helpful". Follow tips. Click "thumbs up!" to helpful for all those lovely reviewers who took the time to figure out this foundation so we don't have to waste our product/time. :) I use an Ecotools foundation brush. Fingers make it oxidize faster.

~IN CONCLUSION~
This is worth if it you *need* it. Truly HG for me. I can understand why, for this price, half y'all ain't so impressed, especially if your skin isn't so problematic that this has a noticeable effect. Still definitely worth a sample though IMO!

Thanks for readin'

~Edit Update~
It's been over 2 months now of 4-5 days/week use. Still no breakouts at all except a couple during ~that~ week. I'm in love.

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SunnySoFla on 1/15/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by SunnySoFla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the only foundation that can hold up with my oily skin. It is a little expensive ($55 at sephora), but I try to make it stretch 2 months. I use two pumps on my whole face and I like a full coverage. The trick to get the best coverage is use your fingers instead I a brush or sponge, and let the first layer/pump dry before you put the 2nd (if you like full coverage). I think you can get away with one pump if you like medium or light coverage and just want something to even everything out and keep you matte throughout the day. Another thing I love about this product is that it has tons of great, skin improving ingredients. I use Nude and it matches my skin tone like no other product I have ever tried. I have tried pretty much every foundation that sephora carries trying to find one that will hold up all day with my oily skin without breaking me out and this is the only one that passed the test. The only negatives I have with this product are 1) expensive, 2) packaging - you can get all if the product out unscrewing the top, and 3) no SPF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 carpenox on 12/17/2013 6:28:00 PM more reviews by carpenox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I want to love this stuff, but I don't. It doesn't help that I was initially colour matched incorrectly (I'm very fair, with cool under tones. So colour matching is sometimes hard). I love how it feels on my skin, but I wouldn't use this without the very pricey veil primer. A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY!! I like to apply with a stippling brush, half a face at a time (it sets very fast). I have combo skin. It clings to any dryness. So I think it's probably better suited to someone with oily skin. The finish is very matt, however I look like I've over powdered. For some, that's okay. Not for me. It's $78 in Australia. I'd probably be more forgiving if it wasn't so expensive!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 prettylilgurl on 12/15/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by prettylilgurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Working at Sephora many clients purchase and return this foundation so I decided to see the pros and cons of it. In the very beginning I really liked it because of its texture and feel on the skin but after a couple of wears I noticed it oxidizes and is not full coverage. In order for this foundation to be full coverage you need to either build it up, use a concealer or use a foundation pressed powder on top of it to really set it in because using this alone does not cover problem areas so easily.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Annushka on 12/10/2013 12:15:00 AM more reviews by Annushka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There are as many good things about this product as there are bad in my opinion. I have blemish prone skin, i have around 3 active blemishes that are very red at any one time and dark discolouration from previous acne.

$78 at mecca cosmetica. pump bottle with 30mL of product. medium coverage.
8 colours. i am in the colour beige (i wear match master 4, NC40 pro long wear and stromboli NARS sheer matte) which is slightly grey on my face. it is more neutral/olive in my opinion than it is geared pink or yellow. I use about 1 and a half to 2 pumps on my face.
There is a slight smell to the product, it smells chemical-y but in no way as bad as MAC studio fix fluid. the smell goes away after about 5 minutes on the face. it controls oil well and does stay on all day. it tends to cling onto dry patches though and it is a 'dry' formula. it isn't wet like how some foundations feel before they set on the face.

It is a mouse formula; when you spread it on your face you can hardly feel it going on.
it dried straight away on the face so it is EXTREMELY hard to layer on. if you layer on, the product 'sticks' to each other and looks like dry flakes of skin. when i try to layer it, whether dabbing on or brushing on, it lifts the bottom layer of foundation off my face. you must put concealer (i use pro long wear MAC) under the foundation because if you put it over the layer, it does not 'sink' or blend into the foundation.

for me, it is hardly buildable and for that reason, i take off one point.
I take off another for the price.
one more off because it clings to dry patches.
hard to apply compared to other foundations.
limited range of colours.
formula is not capable of being mixed with other foundations except of the exact same foundation (sometimes i mix branded foundations and they work beautifully together; this one is a nightmare when you mix with others)

points for being long wearing and oil controlling.
not a bad smell either.
good packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Foundations products