Hourglass • Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(154 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* earthymoon on 6/17/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by earthymoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

WARNING: For oily skin that is moisturized.

If you try this foundation and you have problems with caking and flaking, you have one of two problems.

1. YOU DO NOT HAVE OILY SKIN. If you wash your face and after about 3 hours you have a bit of shine in your t-zone, you have normal to combo skin. So many combo girls think they have oily skin and do not. If you can saturate a blotting paper into a see through oily mess within an 1-3 hours of washing your face, you are oily.
2. IF YOU HAVE OILY SKIN, YOU STILL NEED TO MOISTURIZE! It's a vicious circle. Oily skin causes black heads, break outs and imperfections. Some have acne worst then others (due to poor cellular turn over). This means we need to wash our faces to purify are skin and prevent breakouts. Unfortunately, the removal of the natural oils causes a rebound reaction where more oil is produced. So, it's imparitive to find a moisturizer that works well with your skin. I use two (believe it or not) on my OPEC nation face. After washing, I use EL Oil Free Day Wear (smaller amount during the summer) and before makeup application I add Murad's Mattifier (yep, it is a moisturizer.... for oily skin).

The take away here is, this is a good foundation if you have oily skin and if you prep your skin well.
The finish is a matte medium coverage. Once your oil starts peaking through, blotting gets you back to flawless matte in no time. If you don't have the time or tools to blot, you are left with a decent satin finish.
Yes, you will need concealer for major purplish redness from blemishes. May I suggest EL Double Wear concealer. It's pretty awesome.
Application, it's a learning curve but that's because this is an oily skin foundation. It is thick and dries quickly. If it didn't, it would not work on oily skin. Work in sections and buff in quickly with a flat top brush. If you are too sparing with the product, it will dry too quickly and you'll get a blotchy sheer coverage. I take a half pump, dot it on one side of my cheek nose and chin, buff it in quickly with a flat top brush. Then I move to the other side. Then I finish with my forehead.
Packaging. I wish this product came in a squeeze tube for two reasons. You could better control the amount of product that you remove and you could get the product from the bottom of the container. That's the biggest fail of the foundation.
Longevity?, absolutely! I always do the "naught no-no test" with a new foundation and sleep in it (once), I see how it looks when I wake up, wash it off immediatly with my clarisonic, and use my lotions and potions. When I woke up and blotted my skin (18 hours, 12 hours at work and 6 hours of sleep), my face was matte again AND no oxidation! The foundation has not increased my breakouts (one of the main purposes of my sleep test).
Price, not the cheapest but not a crazy price for high end. It's worth it.

In conclusion, this is one of the best matte finish oily skin foundations I've tried. It's better the EL Double Wear (not as masky but still matte). It's not as dewey as EL Double Wear light. It actually controls oil unlike some foundations promise to do (Whatever Channel, makeup forever, CG, etc.). Hopefully it doesn't get discontinued because of the smaller audience (Clinique Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula).
One last note, I have had success with using the foundation on models with super moisturized normal skin and a slick primer like smash boxes (horrible for oily skin, BTW).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 meyerdani on 6/9/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by meyerdani

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I know there are a lot of fans of this foundation out there. Unfortunately, I'm not one of them. Here's my brief review:

-Incredibly difficult to apply. It dries very quickly and blending was nearly impossible. I also found it very hard to cover up any red spots as the foundation just doesn't do well with layering.

-I have very oily skin, but this just made my skin look dry and cakey. This wasn't just matte; it was ugly. Again, attempting to layer just led to patchiness. On top of that, it sank into my pores and really drew attention to them. I attempted to buff it out with a foundation brush, but it had already set and wouldn't budge.

-I used the lightest color, Porcelain, and it wasn't very light at all. I have fair to light skin, but I know there are plenty of women out there with paler skin than mine. Even so, the color was an incredibly unflattering yellow color. I looked in the mirror and said out loud, "I look jaundiced." Also, it oxidized a bit and just looked yellow-y with a tinge of orange and too dark for my skin.

- When I saw myself in the mirror at work, the foundation had been on for about 6 hours. My forehead was completely shiny, my nose was yellow and matte, and my cheeks looked flakey. And I don't have flakes. EVER.

I'm genuinely surprised at all the glowing reviews out there, particularly on YouTube and from Wayne Goss, who raves about it. I found it to be the worst foundation in my collection by far, and I'm embarrassed that I spent the money on it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nygrlnca on 6/8/2014 6:09:00 PM more reviews by nygrlnca

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG of foundations! It keeps my oilies at bay and doesn't oxidize as the day passes. It also matches my skin perfectly and covers acne scars without feeling or looking like a mask. I have only needed to powder my t - zone after many hours, but the rest of my face still looks pretty good. It's a little expensive but it is well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ngrewal88 on 6/7/2014 2:09:00 PM more reviews by Ngrewal88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a foundation junkie! Because I ran very easily and my colour changes very fast so I'm constantly buying and testing new foundations. Let me just say that I LOVE this foundation. I've already repurchased it - and once never rebought the same foundation twice! The product does what it says...it truly does make my skin look immaculate. My pores seem radically diminished and the overall look is flawless. I recommend it to very one with oily skin....DOWNSIDE: this foundation is 1) difficult to work with. You have to work fast blending it into the skin. I find that a damp beauty blender works best but be sure blend fast! As soon as it dries it does move. 2) it's difficult to work with other liquids on top. For example, I like to use and liquid highlighter (right now my touch ├ęclat) but if you try to drag the product across your skin with the foundation beneath the foundation will start to flake off and you'll have patches. Trust me...it's not pretty!! You really have to learn new ways to apply and play with your usual products when working with this foundation. 3) Though I love the packaging - it's simple and sleek- the dispense has a tendency to clog up quickly and you get those dreadful clumps of dried makeup mixed into your foundation. With is not fun to pick out...especially since this product is so pricey!! OVERALL: defiantly a great product but you really have to practice and get use to working with it and be willing to alter your makeup routine of necessary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mizzemmixox on 5/30/2014 8:27:00 PM more reviews by mizzemmixox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First off, I love this foundation! I have oily/combo skin and have regular breakouts on my face.This foundation covers to a medium finish with one layer. You can't really apply two layers of this as it starts to break up. But I like that as it stops me from over-applying & looking like I have a layer of icing on my face. I still have to use a concealer to cover blemishes which doesn't bother me. I used to use this with a mattifying primer but found that the foundation would settle into my pores, so either use a moisturising primer or you don't really need to use one with this foundation as it is so mattifying & long lasting. The finish is so natural yet still matte for us oily girls! The only problem I have with this foundation is not the foundations fault at all, it's the preparation you do to your skin before you apply. I get breakouts and because of this I use Benzac on my problem areas twice a day. If I apply Benzac on my problem areas the morning of a big event I usually end up with a few dry patches that the foundation sticks to. I just have to be mindful about my skincare routine before applying this foundation, other than that I love it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pembrokee on 5/26/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by pembrokee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I initially got interested in Hourglass cosmetics, when I tried their Icon red lipstick. Soon after, I got a single use sample of Immaculate. The shade was not listed, but it was a perfect match. I felt glamorous. When, I went to Sephora, the sales girl, said "Tan" was the best shade for me. I think its too dark. There are about 5 shades, that look like it could work for me (Honey, Light Beige, Sand,). Its hard to choose a color. But, i do like this a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ShimmeryPastels on 5/26/2014 6:57:00 AM more reviews by ShimmeryPastels

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Amazing coverage and long lasting. Make sure to exfoliate your skin first, so that it won't look patchy when using this. The shade I got was light beige and it is kind of light for my NC35 skintone. But it would be great for winter days. This is very long lasting. The coverage doesn't flinch one bit. It lasted 7+ hours for me. This foundation is a must have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hawaiistern on 5/20/2014 6:10:00 AM more reviews by hawaiistern

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation! This is the best I've ever tried so far and honestly, I buy a lot of foundations - but just because I have such an issue to find the right one for my skin. I have combination skin, a few breakouts from time to time, rosacae spots and super oily skin.

Usually every foundation I try melts off my face - even if I use moisturizer, primer and powder or have a peeling the night before. But this one stays on my face all day long and keeps me matt. It has a very powdery finish and I think it will not work if you have dry skin or prefer a dewy finish. I use it with the Hourglass Mineral Primer and don't have to use a powder or a setting spray afterwards.

If you have the same problems as me you should definitely give it a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkyyy on 5/10/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by pinkyyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this foundation. I've been on a foundation hunt for awhile. This foundation I do not need to re-blot at all if I work an 8 hour shift.
It is more on the expensive side but I much rather pay for a product that really works well than a bunch of products that cost way less and does a decent job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tiltyred on 5/8/2014 11:24:00 AM more reviews by Tiltyred

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have combination, acne-prone skin, quite oily in the T zone. I use an AHA serum at night, and in the morning I do a light scrub followed by a light moisturizer, and then either Smashbox primer or Monistat chafing gel as a primer. As long as I do this prep (which I do no matter what foundation I wear), the foundation is easy to apply and blend, and one pump does my whole face and some of my neck. I do powder it very lightly. I get a gorgeous matte surface, like a porcelain doll, that lasts all day. I find the coverage totally adequate - I wouldn't want it any heavier. I will continue to buy this foundation indefinitely. I love the velvet finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Foundations products