Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation

3.5

205 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Methyl Perfluorobutyl Ether, Water, Silica, Butylene Glycol, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Kaolin, Cetyl PEG/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Polysilicone-11, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Decyl Glucoside, Quaternium-90 Bentonite, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone/Methicone Copolymer, Magnesium Sulfate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tribehenin, Glycerin, Leontopodium Alpinum Meristem Cell Culture, Xanthan Gum, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Lavandula Stoechas Extract. May Contain ( +/- ): Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.


on 4/5/2015 4:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have combination/oily skin. My t-zone breaks down every single foundation I have ever tried, including double wear by Estée lauder. I got this as a sephora sample and was cautiously optimistic. I wore the color sand which has a more pink undertone but compared to light beige seemed to color match with my skin better. I wore this foundation with moisturizer and sun screen underneath and set with a light dusting of a lighter yellow toned powder to fix the color match. I applied with my fingers because I was being lazy. I would try IT cosmetics LBD no 2 next time. I was working outside clearing brush around my family's cabin for 5 hours and was definitely sweating and wearing a ball cap. This stuff didn't move or rub off on my hat. My nose oils didn't break down the foundation at all! I use retin a so I do have mild dry spots around my cheeks but skin prep is a must for me. The foundation did not cling or show the dry spots. I need a foundation that I can wear sunscreen with and this one works! Despite the price tag I'm buying. Didn't seem to oxidize whatsoever on me either. Oh and the best part is my pick axe acne scars were reduced and my pore size was minimized. No primer or foundation has ever reduced the appearance of my pores! They are right on the apple of my cheeks so are quite noticeable to me.

I wore this foundation from 10am to 10pm and it looked great when I took it off!

Removed one lippie since it was one use so far.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 4/4/2015 10:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got my color match at Sephora in shade Beige. This foundation does dry to powder finish as it claim. I will update more. This may be my HG foundation. The texture is very similar to Giorgio Armani Maestro velvet feel but Hourglass is more thick and mouse like but velvet feel. Great on oil control with light Medium coverage. If you have dry skin skip this foundation. One more thing Beige color look more tan than my skin color but after blend out it a good match. I don't set this foundation with powder at all but need highlighter and bronzer due to matte foundation with powdery finished can look flat. Great foundation. Update; 04/18/2015, I love this foundation. Why? 1. great long wear foundation 2. this foundation get prettier as the day go on 3. no touch up needed 4. no need setting powder. I would buy this foundation again worth $55. This is my HG foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2015 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love love this product! I'm an NC42 with MAC and with the Hourglass I use Beige. I love it how it doesn't oxidize on my skin unlike other foundations. And I also love it how it doesn't make me look "yellow" as I have tanned asian skin. I'm already on my third bottle will definitely keep purchasing this product. This might be my HG foundation for the moment


on 3/17/2015 10:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have oily skin. OK, technically combination skin because my cheeks and neck are dry/dehydrated but even they can get oily due to hormonal issues or products. And yes, at my age (45) that is both a good and a bad thing. Good because I look younger, and bad because, well, because my skin is oily. I don't have breakouts per se, but when I get a pimple, it can linger for up to a week. And I do have whiteheads and blackheads, especially on my nose and chin. So enough background. I tried this foundation at Sephora when the Color IQ gadget first came out. I actually thought I had written a review at that time, but it must have been on the Sephora website, which I no longer do. So somehow this gadget selected this foundation in the shade Natural., which is for fair to light skin with pink undertones. Except it was much too dark and orange for my N/NW10-15 skin. However, I was impressed with the staying power, but never really felt the need to go to the store and try every lighter shade until I found mine. Then, I was able to try a sample in Ivory, which is fair to light with yellow undertones. I don't have yellow undertones, but I thought the overall shade might be lighter. It wasn't, but I made up my entire face with it, and did not put on any setting powder.(I also used Hourglass mineral veil primer, per the instructions on the bottle). I found that it clung to dry patches, and settled into fine lines. But I was most interested in oil control. At 1 hour--I could see beads of oil on the tip of my nose. No big deal. I forgot to check at 2 hours, but at 3 hours, I was an oily mess. And this was after using Hourglass mineral veil primer, which is a good primer for oily skin.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/12/2015 12:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This use to be my HG foundation for my super oily acne prone skin. But perhaps my skin is now getting less oily (still need to blot and powder through-out the day) but now wearing it, it goes on extremely patchy and hard to blend even when I work in small sections over the mineral veil primer. I am about a MAC NC30 and ivory looks like the right shade but it sets to a golden shade that doesn't look quite right or natural. It is not like that this foundation oxides through out the day, but it sets to a completely different shade right after initial application. I have worn it anyways (too lazy to start over) and the patchiness persists until my natural oils start breaking through at the 3 hour mark, which then, it looks perfect, the complexion looks even and smooth. The staying power is still as good as I remember it, a good 8 hours with minor shine on the nose. While I enjoy this foundation's touted benefits, wear time, and appearance after 3 hours, I can't forgive its application issues, patchy appearance, and its unnatural shade match. As well, the foundation pump has a tendency to clog up due to the clay ingredients in the foundation. This is a pretty pricey foundation that doesn't check all of my boxes, its hard for me to justify repurchasing this after I'm done with it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I did a lot of research on this product before purchase and felt relatively confident I would be satisfied with this foundation.

Obviously it let me down. I'll do my best to explain why. Firstly, the coverage was very sheer and not very build-able. I tried every method of application: foundation brush, buffing brush, sponge, fingers. Nothing made a difference. And what's more, the foundation sets SO QUICKLY that there's barely time to work with anyway.

Now, I am a fan of the Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid Foundation and figured the Hourglass version would offer the same sort of coverage with a bit more lasting power. Wrong again. At most, this foundation lasted 3 hours, and looked TERRIBLE by the middle of the day. I mean, settled into the sides of my nose, exaggerated the dry, acne spots on my face. AWFUL.

And, this is relatively unimportant compared to the other aspects of the review, but I was unimpressed with the packaging. It felt luxurious and expensive (nice pump, heavy bottle, etc), but there was no way to tell how much product was left. The entire thing was opaque.

Needless to say, I returned it after 1 week of use. I just couldn't find any saving graces. If you're looking for a liquid to powder foundation, save yourself about $40 and stick to the Maybelline version.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have purchased SO many foundations, searching for my wedding day HG foundation. I needed good staying power (wedding is in July and it gets HOT here in GA!), a natural look, good coverage for my big acne spots, and something that wouldn't settle into my smile lines. I have very oily and acne ridden skin.
1) This stuff stays PUT. It is indeed waterproof and transfer resistant.
2) I was so impressed with the coverage! It doesn't feel like I'm wearing make up when I put this on! It is buildAble, provided you work with it fairly quickly. It is super light and really is like a second skin.
3) It didn't make my spots invisible, hence only four stars, but it eliminates redness and seemed to calm any spots down, making them easier to conceal. It covered more minor blemishes well, just my bigger red spots needed some extra oomph, which was easy enough.
4)this was the biggie for me! I smile a lot, and I certainly will be on my wedding day. I have never found a foundation that does NOT settle into my smile lines. This stuff is amazing. It stayed put, didn't crease, and looked freshly applied all day!

My fiancé actually commented that I looked glowing and beautiful, not realizing I had worn this make up for the first time.

All in all, I am SO happy with this stuff, and I feel it is worth the hefty price tag to have something reliable and this comfortAble!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2015 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you are extremely oily, get this foundation! Although it is VERY expensive, you do not need to set it with a powder. It dries very fast so only do one side of your face at a time. I wear this foundation when I know I will be outside on a hot day. I do not grab for this during the fall. Overall, 4/5.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love Hourglass products. This wasn't a great success for me, but I do think it would be amazing for someone with very smooth & oily skin. I have combination skin that sometimes has flakies. This was horrendous on me in the winter. I then retried it in the summer (hot, humid) over Tarte's maracuja oil and was able to wear it. It is super mattifying, very dry, but highlights any flakies... Even those not visible prior to applng the foundation (after exfoliating, hydrating, etc). So, this isn't the best foundation for me, but I could see it being perfect for some. It lasts all day and provides very good coverage (I like full coverage). Due to the formula being so dry, the pump gets clogged easily if you're not using it everyday. You have to work it into the skin really quickly as it dries down so rapidly, so I would suggest applying a tiny bit to the skin one area at a time. The other downside is the colour range. The colours are a bit hard to match, the light ones tend to run yellow/orange. All in all though, this could be a solution for an oily skin looking for long-wear, lightweight feeling, matte finish.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have tried many foundations as I get very oily around the T-zone during the day.

This foundation doesn't make be break out, it is the most effective in soaking up the oil on the skin. Not to say you won't get oily but there is no disgusting sheen on your face begging to be blotted.

Because I have an oily t-zone i prefer Matte foundations and this one provides medium to heavy coverage depending on your preference.

The only downside is that you need to apply quickly with a brush because it dries very quickly.

One pump is possible to cover my face with light coverage - I usually require another half pump to cover up those extra red and T-zone areas.

Love this - i don't think i'll change ever!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top