Hourglass • Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(158 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 sylveirettes on 6/28/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by sylveirettes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

To sum it up: My cheap Revlon Colorstay Liquid Foundation performs FAR BETTER than this ridiculously priced one. Too bad, because I had very high expectation in Hourglass.

I have very oily skin, not to mention I also live in a tropical country (Indonesia) where it's summer all year round. This foundation dries up very quickly, so application is a bit tricky. Once I got the hang of it, the finish left me in awe. It blurred out the appearance of pores, covered blemishes like a dream, mattified my skin like wonders, felt velvety upon touch, all in all I was left with nothing but the photoshopped version of my skin in real life. I was so so so happy with it.

And then it started to turn blotchy at 4-hour mark. I turned into an oily mess, the foundation oxidized really badly, and the residue pooled in my pores like crazy. I did nothing the whole day, just sitting in my air conditioned office in front of the PC. So how come this super expensive foundation performed very poorly???

The reason why I was so interested in this was because I was hoping for a full coverage, oil controlling foundation with less heavier formula (my skin is prone to breakouts and very, very sensitive. I love Revlon Colorstay but sometimes it breaks me out when I'm not careful with the removal). For someone not as oily as me, this might work beautifully. I will try other high ends and just stick to Revlon in the meantime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annmaryx on 6/27/2014 2:30:00 AM more reviews by annmaryx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an overall great foundation for oily skin, but you do need to set set set w/ powder still! It doesn't break me out or clogs my pores. It covers up my redness and blends well. I do get oily after 4 hours of wear, so setting it is def a must. tip:The hourglass primer also goes well with this foundation.

*Good foundation, but pricey!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JessicaMarie916 on 6/20/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by JessicaMarie916

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this is a really great product, especially since I have extremely oily skin, and even worse during the summer. I know nothing will ever keep the oil completely away, and I've come to realization of that. It's nice that theirs products out their that help control oil.

I literally apply this foundation at 6:15 am everday - work till 5:30 and don't wash it off till about 9 and it works wonders. I use just a LITTLE (and I mean little) bit of my MUFE ALL MATTE powder to set around the nose, chin and forehead, as most oily people get extremely oily around those areas. Let me remind you that I work it a town with high humidity, and is always hot hot hot outside.

Yes you have to moisturize if your pimple is somehow dried up and leaves patchy flakes - FYI you should always moisturize no matter how oily your skin is! It will help so much better with everything and you won't look wrinkely when your older because your actually taking care of your skin.

Second, you should ALWAYS USE A PRIMER - no matter what. Theirs so many different types for oily / normal / combo skin - no excuses. IT MAKES ANY FOUNDATION BETTER AND LAST A LOT LONGER.

Third - this is not meant to look like your wearing a mask. It's meant to look natural - like real skin ya know....if you want full coverage, go elsewhere. But its made to look like your not really wearing anything at all. Which I like cause it's nice to switch from full coverage one day to barely there the next.

Only bad thing is the smell. I have a lavendar plant outside my house - (since theirs lavendar in the product) and it smells nothing like lavender....its just a weird smell but its something to ignore.

You have to work fast with this product - its amazing how fast it changes from liquid to powder.

But dry skin should avoid - don't attempt - even if your more dry skinned then oily. You won't like it and it will just leave you to leave a bad review. ITS CALLED MATTE FOR A REASON - OILY PEOPLE NEED THAT.

Not like us oily people are going to wear something that's dewy - it'd just be a hot mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mymilktea on 6/20/2014 7:17:00 AM more reviews by mymilktea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS PRODUCT; IT IS NOW MY HG.
My skin is combination oily with some dry spots depending on the weather so it's a challenge to find a foundation that matches its needs perfectly, or even close to perfect. My skin is in fairly good condition with no acne and barely noticeable acne scars. I walked into Sephora with some specifics in mind: I needed a foundation that did not contain SPF, was lightweight and not cakey when applied but still provided light to medium coverage, would last long without the need for blotting and touching up, and was made for oily combination skin that is more on the oily side. The salesperson led me to the brand Hourglass which, to be honest, I had never heard of in my life. I've been using the foundation for about a month and a half now about four or five times a week; I also use it with the Hourglass primer if I need SPF protection.

Pros:
No parabens or phthalates
Can be applied with your fingers (I didn’t want to have to spend $18 on a brush when fingers are irreplaceable and free)
Easy for me to blend
A little goes a long way
Sheer upon first application; but coverage is buildable
Matches my skintone perfectly and naturally
Pores are nicely hidden

Cons:
I don’t particularly mind the pump form but getting the last bit of makeup at the end bums me out
Must apply on a thoroughly moisturized skin, else you’ll see the patches of flakiness

As far as its power to absorb oil goes, it does a good job keeping sebum at bay. Even with the weather in the three digits lately and working two shifts in one day sometimes from morning to night, I’m thrilled about not having to touch-up midday. My face stays fairly matte throughout the day and I can look forward to knowing that it won’t blind the customers I face during work. I have slept with the makeup on on some occasions (suuuuuper bad I know) and in the morning, my face is still at a dewy stage. With a little blotting, I can go the next couple hours with it still on. It has not broken me out in any acne and my skin does not get too clogged as long as I wash the product off thoroughly.

It gives me a naturally flawless look. Most of the other foundations I have used would sink into my pores after three hours or so. With this, my pores are diminished and any discolorations of my skin are easily covered. I have noticed that my pore size has lessened quite a bit as well. Since I do not have any problems with wrinkles yet (thank goodness), I don’t know how true are the anti-aging claims. It is good to know that the ingredients are there but I just don’t know if it works or not. It doesn’t take away from the overall purpose of the product though.

Like everyone’s mentioned, be sure to moisturize thoroughly before putting the product on your skin. If your skin is flaking in some areas, it will show when applied. Sometimes I will add a little more moisturizer on top of it when the flakiness shows through. If you need full coverage, I would not recommend using this product. The first application on the skin is somewhat sheer which I do like and buildable, but it can only go so far. If you have noticeably bad acne and dark spots you might either have to invest in using a primer or concealer if you choose to use this product or go with a product with a thicker formula.

Overall, the price is certainly steep; at $55 a bottle, it's three times how much I used to spend on foundation alone. However, I would say that Hourglass’ Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation is a definite steal for anyone with extremely oily skin and worth the investment. If you have severe problems with uncontrollable shine and are always trying to combat sebum throughout the day, this product is definitely for you. I wish I found this “miracle in a bottle” sooner and hope the product does not get discontinued in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* earthymoon on 6/17/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by earthymoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

WARNING: For oily skin that is moisturized.

If you try this foundation and you have problems with caking and flaking, you have one of two problems.

1. YOU DO NOT HAVE OILY SKIN. If you wash your face and after about 3 hours you have a bit of shine in your t-zone, you have normal to combo skin. So many combo girls think they have oily skin and do not. If you can saturate a blotting paper into a see through oily mess within an 1-3 hours of washing your face, you are oily.
2. IF YOU HAVE OILY SKIN, YOU STILL NEED TO MOISTURIZE! It's a vicious circle. Oily skin causes black heads, break outs and imperfections. Some have acne worst then others (due to poor cellular turn over). This means we need to wash our faces to purify are skin and prevent breakouts. Unfortunately, the removal of the natural oils causes a rebound reaction where more oil is produced. So, it's imparitive to find a moisturizer that works well with your skin. I use two (believe it or not) on my OPEC nation face. After washing, I use EL Oil Free Day Wear (smaller amount during the summer) and before makeup application I add Murad's Mattifier (yep, it is a moisturizer.... for oily skin).

The take away here is, this is a good foundation if you have oily skin and if you prep your skin well.
The finish is a matte medium coverage. Once your oil starts peaking through, blotting gets you back to flawless matte in no time. If you don't have the time or tools to blot, you are left with a decent satin finish.
Yes, you will need concealer for major purplish redness from blemishes. May I suggest EL Double Wear concealer. It's pretty awesome.
Application, it's a learning curve but that's because this is an oily skin foundation. It is thick and dries quickly. If it didn't, it would not work on oily skin. Work in sections and buff in quickly with a flat top brush. If you are too sparing with the product, it will dry too quickly and you'll get a blotchy sheer coverage. I take a half pump, dot it on one side of my cheek nose and chin, buff it in quickly with a flat top brush. Then I move to the other side. Then I finish with my forehead.
Packaging. I wish this product came in a squeeze tube for two reasons. You could better control the amount of product that you remove and you could get the product from the bottom of the container. That's the biggest fail of the foundation.
Longevity?, absolutely! I always do the "naught no-no test" with a new foundation and sleep in it (once), I see how it looks when I wake up, wash it off immediatly with my clarisonic, and use my lotions and potions. When I woke up and blotted my skin (18 hours, 12 hours at work and 6 hours of sleep), my face was matte again AND no oxidation! The foundation has not increased my breakouts (one of the main purposes of my sleep test).
Price, not the cheapest but not a crazy price for high end. It's worth it.

In conclusion, this is one of the best matte finish oily skin foundations I've tried. It's better the EL Double Wear (not as masky but still matte). It's not as dewey as EL Double Wear light. It actually controls oil unlike some foundations promise to do (Whatever Channel, makeup forever, CG, etc.). Hopefully it doesn't get discontinued because of the smaller audience (Clinique Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula).
One last note, I have had success with using the foundation on models with super moisturized normal skin and a slick primer like smash boxes (horrible for oily skin, BTW).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 meyerdani on 6/9/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by meyerdani

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I know there are a lot of fans of this foundation out there. Unfortunately, I'm not one of them. Here's my brief review:

-Incredibly difficult to apply. It dries very quickly and blending was nearly impossible. I also found it very hard to cover up any red spots as the foundation just doesn't do well with layering.

-I have very oily skin, but this just made my skin look dry and cakey. This wasn't just matte; it was ugly. Again, attempting to layer just led to patchiness. On top of that, it sank into my pores and really drew attention to them. I attempted to buff it out with a foundation brush, but it had already set and wouldn't budge.

-I used the lightest color, Porcelain, and it wasn't very light at all. I have fair to light skin, but I know there are plenty of women out there with paler skin than mine. Even so, the color was an incredibly unflattering yellow color. I looked in the mirror and said out loud, "I look jaundiced." Also, it oxidized a bit and just looked yellow-y with a tinge of orange and too dark for my skin.

- When I saw myself in the mirror at work, the foundation had been on for about 6 hours. My forehead was completely shiny, my nose was yellow and matte, and my cheeks looked flakey. And I don't have flakes. EVER.

I'm genuinely surprised at all the glowing reviews out there, particularly on YouTube and from Wayne Goss, who raves about it. I found it to be the worst foundation in my collection by far, and I'm embarrassed that I spent the money on it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nygrlnca on 6/8/2014 6:09:00 PM more reviews by nygrlnca

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG of foundations! It keeps my oilies at bay and doesn't oxidize as the day passes. It also matches my skin perfectly and covers acne scars without feeling or looking like a mask. I have only needed to powder my t - zone after many hours, but the rest of my face still looks pretty good. It's a little expensive but it is well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ngrewal88 on 6/7/2014 2:09:00 PM more reviews by Ngrewal88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a foundation junkie! Because I ran very easily and my colour changes very fast so I'm constantly buying and testing new foundations. Let me just say that I LOVE this foundation. I've already repurchased it - and once never rebought the same foundation twice! The product does what it says...it truly does make my skin look immaculate. My pores seem radically diminished and the overall look is flawless. I recommend it to very one with oily skin....DOWNSIDE: this foundation is 1) difficult to work with. You have to work fast blending it into the skin. I find that a damp beauty blender works best but be sure blend fast! As soon as it dries it does move. 2) it's difficult to work with other liquids on top. For example, I like to use and liquid highlighter (right now my touch Ă©clat) but if you try to drag the product across your skin with the foundation beneath the foundation will start to flake off and you'll have patches. Trust me...it's not pretty!! You really have to learn new ways to apply and play with your usual products when working with this foundation. 3) Though I love the packaging - it's simple and sleek- the dispense has a tendency to clog up quickly and you get those dreadful clumps of dried makeup mixed into your foundation. With is not fun to pick out...especially since this product is so pricey!! OVERALL: defiantly a great product but you really have to practice and get use to working with it and be willing to alter your makeup routine of necessary.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mizzemmixox on 5/30/2014 8:27:00 PM more reviews by mizzemmixox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First off, I love this foundation! I have oily/combo skin and have regular breakouts on my face.This foundation covers to a medium finish with one layer. You can't really apply two layers of this as it starts to break up. But I like that as it stops me from over-applying & looking like I have a layer of icing on my face. I still have to use a concealer to cover blemishes which doesn't bother me. I used to use this with a mattifying primer but found that the foundation would settle into my pores, so either use a moisturising primer or you don't really need to use one with this foundation as it is so mattifying & long lasting. The finish is so natural yet still matte for us oily girls! The only problem I have with this foundation is not the foundations fault at all, it's the preparation you do to your skin before you apply. I get breakouts and because of this I use Benzac on my problem areas twice a day. If I apply Benzac on my problem areas the morning of a big event I usually end up with a few dry patches that the foundation sticks to. I just have to be mindful about my skincare routine before applying this foundation, other than that I love it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pembrokee on 5/26/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by pembrokee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I initially got interested in Hourglass cosmetics, when I tried their Icon red lipstick. Soon after, I got a single use sample of Immaculate. The shade was not listed, but it was a perfect match. I felt glamorous. When, I went to Sephora, the sales girl, said "Tan" was the best shade for me. I think its too dark. There are about 5 shades, that look like it could work for me (Honey, Light Beige, Sand,). Its hard to choose a color. But, i do like this a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Foundations products