Essence • I Love Extreme - Volume Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.9(79 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Katlan on 6/1/2014 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Katlan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Really nice mascara. Not May favourite one from essence but it gets the job done and is very inexpensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aguadora on 5/15/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by aguadora

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: Upping this to 4 lippies. This has become my daily mascara for the past few months! Somehow it gets better with time, as it dries out. I know we're supposed to toss mascara out frequently, and at the price I wouldn't mind getting another tube even if I feel this still has a lot of 'juice' in it. This costs half of my HG Maybelline mascara.

For comparison, I have recently purchased and tried the I Love Crazy Extreme mascara (pink tube), which is the one everybody seems to love. (My favorite beauty blogger emilynoel, among many others). But I have to say I like the effect of the original I Love Extreme (black tube) better. Chalk it down to personal preference. The problem with the pink tube one is the fine comb-like wand separates my lashes too much, and I find that I need a little bit of clump to get the big, fat lashes I want. For casual days (groceries, errands) I would go with the Crazy Extreme, but for work, when I want a little more drama, I much prefer the I Love Extreme.

Random aside: They look nice next to each other, with the pink and black theme reversed on the other, like a makeup yin and yang. :)

The only problem is still that the fat brush that can get mascara on my lids if I'm not careful. But I've used it so often by now that I already got the hang of how to avoid that - just don't squiggle the brush in too close at the base. Or you could use a mascara shield.

Promoting this to: Yes, I would repurchase.

---

Original review: 5/15/2014 8:41:00 PM

Did not like this much when first used. It was too wet, and the brush was fat and mascara ended up on my lids often. A few weeks later, now that it has dried up a bit, I am quite liking it. Reminds me of the Maybelline Turbo ones I used to have, only this is much cheaper. Price can't be beat. Will probably not repurchase because I still have a few tubes of other mascaras I want to try. I have other Essence mascaras and this one is my go-to one for volume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pandora7 on 5/15/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by Pandora7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favourite cheap mascara. It's nothing revolutionary, but it does not flake, smudge or make my eyes irritated. I have bought this a few times for this reason as I'm not convinced that higher priced mascaras are better quality than lower priced ones, and for a product that I replace every 2-3 months (or whenever I see clumping), I'm happier to pay less for good quality. I still have not found one I love enough to commit to 100%, but this is a definite winner for me. I love that it has a big bristled spoolie (I'm not a fan of the rubberized ones). It does what it ought to do, holds a curl well enough and is easy to remove at the end of the day. Essence also doesn't test on animals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seroled on 5/13/2014 12:33:00 PM more reviews by seroled

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I heard good things about this mascara so I picked it up at Ulta. I have it in the pink tube (crazy volume).
This mascara actually makes it looks like I'm wearing false lashes.
My only issue is the formula is kind of thick. I have to scrape excess off the brush so it doesn't clump all over the place. I like it very much and plan to repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rockhormon on 5/10/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by rockhormon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Simply too wet for me. I would not recommend it for anyone, it's not worth the money even if it's cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 musiqphile on 5/9/2014 4:38:00 PM more reviews by musiqphile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara doesn't work particularly well on its own but when layered with Essence 24hr Mascara in the neon yellow tube, I Love Extreme does the trick. I find a layer of the 24hr applied lightly to curled lashes will hold the curl while Extreme amps the drama. Extreme tends to weigh lashes down on its own but partnered with 24hr it can create longer, fuller and darker lashes. I think if someone wanted to work with a lash comb and alternating layers, a nice set of falsie-like flutterers could be had but for my purposes (everyday office work) I only need my eyes to look more open and awake, not drag-queen vampy.

The brush is huge and unwieldy. If the user doesn't have longish lashes already they would have a hard time with this brush because they'd end up poking their eyeballs with it. Ouch. The formula itself isn't great, but again, try pairing it with another mascara that is more lightweight if you don't want your lashes to droop. My main complaint about this and all Essences mascaras is that they don't come sealed so any shmoe in the cosmetics aisle can play beauty school with the products and you might end up with pink eye depending on how many people/germs your new mascara has come into contact with. But so far so good for me; no conjunctivits here! Yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaDolceVita8 on 4/13/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by LaDolceVita8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

You get what you pay for. This mascara formula is first of all too "wet" for me and it applied very clumpily. I could get past that though because you can just apply it carefully and it won't be so bad, but the thing that made me decide to throw it away is the fact that it transfers really badly. After a few hours I had raccoon eyes as the mascara had transfered to the bottom of my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 barbaravb on 4/9/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by barbaravb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very clumpy, don't like at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LinaGranita on 1/7/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by LinaGranita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara absolutely shocked me. I normally buy the expensive brands (don't get me wrong I still do) like Chanel ''Inimitable intense'' which is one of my favourites because of the tone of black that it has and the way it works after a couple of coats BUT this mascara works just as well as any other mascara that costs 40$ +. I paid 2.99 Canadian and when I first tried it I laughed and said to myself where have I been throwing my money on mascaras all this time? For my lashes, it thickens and it definitely makes them longer, does it have that outstanding pitch black tone to it? no but everything else works like a gem. If you get what i'm saying, certain mascaras that are pitch black have this specific glow and your lashes just look outstanding. Love extreme is my every day mascara and honestly for the price, you won't be disappointed. It doesn't dry out fast compared to the Chanel one I use and it's also a lot easier to remove with a good eye makeup remover. Yes I would buy it again and I definitely suggest it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iron_goddess on 1/7/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by iron_goddess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Tried this on today for the first time and I am a little disappointed. The formula dries really quickly and results in OK thickness not OMG thick lashes. You have to work quick and deftly on applying a second or third coat because it will clump if you don't. I credit my thicker than usual lashes to the humongous wand which allows it to apply more product. Had the formula been slightly wetter, I could have put on more coats comfortably. On the plus side, this is super cheap and readily available. Also, it holds the curl well and so far hasn't flaked. Neither does it have an annoying scent like some mascaras do. You can use this to practice your mascara application techniques. However, if you are looking for showstopping lashes, there are better options. Overall, an OK mascara at a bargain basement price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Mascara products