Clarisonic • Mia2 • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.2(201 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 9/21/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As someone with little to no skin issues (I know, braggy) who has never spent more than $5-20 on skincare prior to this product, I feel I need to add my two cents in case others like me are curious about this whole Mia thing. I have what people call "great" skin, no acne/scars, no excess oil, dry patches, etc. I wanted this brush because I am one of those freaks who does not wash off her makeup at night (I know, gross). I thought if I got the Mia2, I would have a fun incentive to clean my face and would be able to commit to a routine.

Initially, I was not thrilled with this brush. I didn't really feel much cleaner and since most of my makeup is worn on my eyes where the brush doesn't travel (I don't use foundation), I could not see a huge difference in cleanliness. I continued using the Mia2 with various cleansers (Clean and Clear, Mario Badescu, Jack Black, Origins, the nasty plastic-smelling one they give you for free, etc.) twice a day. After about 2 weeks, I really noticed a change. The texture of my skin is velvety smooth and my pores look smaller. I started using less serum and moisturizer because my skin was improving so much from the brush alone. It's been about one month since I got my Mia2 and I must admit I have grown to be addicted to it. Washing my face without it feels totally inadequate and this is coming from a girl who has used drugstore face wash and her hands for 25 years. I even bought one for my bf and now we are both obsessed.

I do want to address the notion of "purging" as detailed by the Clarisionic literature that comes with the product. The skin is a barrier organ. It does not have the capacity to "purge" and I think it is grossly irresponsible for companies to use this as a marketing tactic. People experience breakouts because the skin is simply not used to a product. You do not have festering whiteheads and blackheads deep in the core of your being that shoot out when graced with the glory of the Clarisonic. If you are concerned about this product exacerbating an existing condition, then I would consult a dermatologist. If you tried this product and felt that it worsened your skin, there is a chance that it is just not the right cleansing tool for you. There are tons of similar (and cheaper) products on the market that seem better suited to sensitive skin. As for lazy, non-makeup removing people like me with normal skin, this is worth the investment.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oodles12 on 9/17/2014 9:49:00 PM more reviews by oodles12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

says use twice a day. NOOO WAAAY. and my skin isn't even sensitive. once a day at night is more than enough. i guess you could use once early in the morning and once again before bed. i never ever ever break out and this caused me to break out for the first week and a half as it brought all the impurities to the surface. then my face cleared up and was flawless and clean again. definitely worth the price. gets allll the makeup and gunk out of your pores. eventually i only had to use this a few times a week. since it is so deep cleaning i reccomend using an organic face wash like DR. Bonners liquid bath soap which is totally organic and does nt have any toxic chemicals or chemically produced oils. blech

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabmac1 on 9/17/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by fabmac1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a bday gift from my husband so I was lucky not to have spent the money on this lol. I really wanted this device for the longest time but i just couldn't justify the price tag (hence one lippie off). The one I got was the "JOY WITH BOSCIA TSUBAKI SET". I've had this for about 4mos and I feel this would be enough time to test it out. I have to admit, the first few weeks of use, i didn't really like this. The instructions say to start off with 2x a day but since i have hypersensitive skin, i did NOT do this. Infact i started off with 1x a day every 3-4 days. I know there's a "purging" phase as well. I didn't really experience any major issues with that. At first, I didn't see much difference after using this product at all. I was even considering returning it! I held on to it since Sephora has an extremely good return policy for the clarisionc line. Now, after about 4mos... i DO notice my skin is more clearly, softer and smoother. Also my acne scars have faded somewhat... however, that could be the whitening products i've been using as well.

All in all, I would repurchase this device if my mia2 broke. I wouldn't purchase the same model though. Most likely i'd get the Aria since it has more speed options and also a battery life indicator (which i wish the mia2 had :( ) I do like how compact the mia2 is though. Expensive device...but if it works for you... it's very well worth it!

For makeup removal: I don't use this to remove FULL makeup on my face. I remove ALL my makeup FIRST with makeup remover/wipes etc...and then use the mia2 with some facial cleanser to remove any residual makeup that may be left. Just personal preference. I always use makeup remover to remove all (if not, most) of my makeup, then follow with a cleanser.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PetraMarriott on 8/30/2014 6:41:00 AM more reviews by PetraMarriott

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Excellent product. It has helped me with my acne so much. I have gone through almost every acne product out there, but they either don't work, or my skin adjusts to them and then they stop working. With the Clarisonic I can use an extremely gentle and cheap cleanser and still get amazing results.

It is expensive, but I was spending this amount on Acne products anyway, so it was no difference for me.

I would suggest though not spending the extra on the Mia 2 for the 2 speed option. I have not yet used the faster speed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jkpetite on 8/6/2014 7:05:00 PM more reviews by jkpetite

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm a huge fan! I've been eyeing this for quite some time. I purchased a cheaper version at TJ Maxx and loved the results, so I knew this would be perfect for me.

I got it for my birthday and am in love. I got the brush head for sensitive skin. I love the two speeds and the fact that it's gentle but really deep cleans. I use makeup remover cloths to remove my makeup and when I use the Mia after, even more stuff comes off. Excellent. I've noticed a difference in my skin's texture & elasticity. I find my lines are softer and less pronounced. I can't wait to see how my skin looks after using this for a month.

It's a bit pricey, but you can find authentic ones on eBay for less than $90, with free shipping.

If this thing ever dies on me, I'd repurchase in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gissellieekins on 8/6/2014 12:30:00 AM more reviews by Gissellieekins

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love my clarisonic mia 2!!! I've been battling with acne for 2 years & nothing has helped. I literally tried everything. My bathroom is full of acne cleansers that are just sitting there cause they never worked for me. A year ago, I came across a clarisonic & heard it helps clear up acne since it cleans your skin really deep down. I asked my mom to buy it for me but she didn't so I turned to a cheaper alternative & purchased the revlon spa pore & facial brush & it somewhat helped with my acne but it was still there. A year later, I buy my very own clarisonic & honestly, the revlon facial brush is nothing like my clarisonic. The clarisonic vibrates & the revlon facial brush rotates. As soon as I used the clarisonic, my acne was going away as well as my acne scars. Ever since, not one pimple has shown up on my face. I really recommend it to anyone with acne. I give it only 4 lippies because my first clarisonic I purchased didn't turn on so I had to return it, my second one lasted for only two weeks then started making a loud buzzing noise whenever I turned it on so I returned that, the third one I purchased was a light pink one which that's what it showed on the picture outside of the box but once I open the box, it was purple!! I'm hoping nothing goes wrong with the new one I just got like the other ones plus I got a free brush head with the new one I just purchased aswell!! Overall, my skin looks so good now & I'm so happy I don't have to deal with a bumpy face anymore!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SummerDay89 on 7/25/2014 12:06:00 PM more reviews by SummerDay89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ruined my skin!!! Had the "sensitive" brush and literally made my skin raw and flake in chunks. Huge cysts everywhere. Why is this popular? The abrasive ness does more damage than not. You should be gentle to your skin as much as possible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 7/21/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My BHA & AHA regime was working just fine so I didn't see the need for this. Added to that I read articles about people who "ruined" their skin from this. Then I developed an allergic reaction to BHA and I had to do something to keep my pores clean. I got the same results from the Clarisonic as I did from using my products after one use. I recognized immediately the potency of this gadget because my skin was clean but felt stripped. I started with the regular brush at low speed and then switched to the sensitive skin brush. You have to customize this to your skin by keeping a watchful eye on its effect by varying the brushes when you need to, the speed and the frequency. I use it 3 or 4 times a week and never twice in one day with CeraVe hydrating cleanser after I have taken my makeup off with Neutrogena makeup wipes. You will need to rethink the other products that you use in your skin care which will likely mean paring down to not much more than an antioxidant serum and a retinol along with moisturizer. There is no medical basis for the "purging" that people experience. What they are actually experiencing is a reaction to aggravation that over use of this tool creates. Even if I could I would not go back to using BHAs or AHAs because this is better than chemicals. I don't think it is too high priced for what it does.

UPDATE: I would like to give this an additional 5 stars but I cannot. The stubborn milia under my eyes cleared up completely. I had been using 2 % BHA and that didn't do the job. Great tool!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sharmine on 7/16/2014 6:37:00 PM more reviews by Sharmine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not the one to usually write a review! In fact, this is my 1st review!
I have recently started using the Clarisonic Mia 2...it's been 8 days! Bought it from Selfridges at the Lancôme counter. It came with a Lancôme face gel éclat facewash and a sample size of their Visionnaire serum (which I will write a separate review about because it is amazing!)
Days 1-4 if using the clarisonic mia 2 - I did not know if it was a good investment. Although it left my skin squeaky clean and smoother than smooth, I just felt it still looked a bit dull!!
However I am on day 8 now and I cannot express how much I love this product! My skin is like my 18month old baby...soft and supple (and can't stop touching it!)
I use it twice a day or sometimes just once in the night!
After I cleanse with the clarisonic mia2, I tone and moisturise. And I have the most fabulous skin anyone would want.
I'm hoping with more usage, it will clear my blemishes because it had improved the texture and tone of my skin drastically!!
Definitly worth having for life!!

I usually wipe my makeup off first with a makeup cleanser from loreal and the use the clarisonic mia2. It's unbelievable the amount of makeup that remains on the skin and comes off onto the clarisonic!!
Say goodbye to spots with this little baby!! Wish I had known about it before!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zentec on 7/5/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by Zentec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was lucky and didn't go through "the purge".
I love my clarisonic. It leaves my skin very clean, and since i started using this the redness on my cheeks has significantly reduced (maybe cause my vitamin c products can penetrate my skin better now).
Absolutely an HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarisonic products

More Misc Beauty Tools products