Clarisonic • Mia2 • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.2(185 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 DanicaMarie on 5/12/2014 10:47:00 AM more reviews by DanicaMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am the prime example of why you should wait at least a month to review a product like this. I wrote a review after a couple weeks of use saying my Mia 2 was amazing, i loved it, my skin was so soft blah blah blah, but looking at my skin now, the Clarisonic has mutilated it. I didn't have bad skin before using the Clarisonic, i really only ever broke out around my period, and then maybe 1-2 here and there. I read so much about the Clarisonic and have many friends just rave about so i thought what the heck, it couldn't hurt, right? WRONG. At first everything was great, skin was soft, blackheads on my nose were much less visible, and my pores even seemed to be shrinking a bit, i was very excited! But then i started to notice these dry patches on my chin (which is very uncommon for me, i have pretty oily skin) then in the corner of my mouth i started to get this painful lump, it was almost like a pimple but it wouldn't go away (It looked just gross) and finally, right in the crease of my chin, i got these little painful cuts that wont go away either. They just keep flaking and persisting. I know all about "the purge" with this product, but these are not just pimples i'm breaking out with (Though i definitely got my fair share of those as well, the whole bottom half of my face is currently a pizza) The Clarisonic has just made a complete mess out of my face and i could not be more upset. DISCLAIMER: IF YOU DO NOT HAVE BAD SKIN TO BEGIN WITH, DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT NO MATTER HOW AWESOME IT *MAY* SEEM. Seriously, i wish i could go back to before i ever even knew this thing existed. Seems it works wonders for some people, but it would seem i'm definitely not one of them!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blushed2003pics on 5/1/2014 1:02:00 AM more reviews by blushed2003pics

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got the Mia2 to replace my 4 year old Mia but since I have not reviewed the Mia, I will do one on the Mia2 instead.

My skin is extremely acne-prone (chin area always), sensitive and combination/oily. I've large pores and always get itchy, then flaky and scaly due to rashes from allergies, change in weather, hormones etc etc. Aren't I lucky?

The stories of purging terrified me. Some years back I finally succumbed and got the Mia in white, Sensitive brush head.

What happened:

I purged very badly.

Within 3 days of use, I had painful large lumps under my skin. Took me about 2 months to not be lumpy and longer for the marks to go away.

So I left it alone for about a year or two.

Then I heard about the Delicate brush head. Decided to try again middle of last year. Again I broke out in large painful lumps on the chin. However I was recovering from surgery and will be stuck at home for about 3 months anyway so I figured I'd soldier on. I'm sure the antibiotics I took to prevent infection of my surgical area helped with the acne a little.

Despite the antibiotics, I still broke out badly. Not the itty bitty pimples that come to a head but the deep painful ones that sometimes surface and sometimes subside only to come back when aggravated again. It took me about 3 months to purge and longer for the marks to disappear but nothing a little makeup can't hide.

What it did for me :

My skin is far from perfect but it cleared my constantly clogged pores on my chin where I never dared to squeeze because ONE squeeze will trigger an acne chain reaction. With less clogs or easily dislodged clogs on the chin, I break out less.

The rest of my face which is acne-free is soft and pores are refined. They're still there and the large ones are still large but I do see an improvement.

This gadget also helps me get rid of some flakes and dry skin so makeup goes on smoother.

Blackheads on the nose has dramatically decreased. I still get them but not many to be honest.

I do not need to use exfoliating masks or scrubs again. Always iffy on those anyway because my ultra problematic sensitive skin will react at times to any exfoliation, no matter how mild.

How I use it :

My advice for the acne-prone is to use the Clarisonic AFTER thorough makeup removal of the entire face.

I do not use the gadget to help remove makeup.

I use it as an extra step in my cleansing routine.

I only use it once a day at the end of the day for a thorough cleansing.

Delicate brush head only.

I replace the brush head every 2-3 months or when necessary. Once I replaced the brush head just after a month. This was after a cystic acne breakout and I was using it on the break out area.

I know we are not supposed to abrade the sensitive and inflamed skin during a breakout but I had to get rid of the flakes brought about by the benzoyl peroxide and other acne treatments. It did help with the flakes so at least I could cover up with makeup during the day. There was no way I'd be out in public with no makeup during a bad skin phase.

Right now I use Suhlwhassoo bar soap and Origins Checks & Balances foaming face wash with the Clarisonic.

Conclusion:

If you can get through the purging phase, the Clarisonic makes a good addition to our cleansing routine. If you are lucky not to purge, this is a dream.

What did I do with the Sensitive brush head that came with this new Mia? I pop it onto my old Mia and use it on my elbows and other parts of my body.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Larnold1983 on 4/25/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by Larnold1983

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Before purchasing this my skin was pretty decent, it was oily but I would get one or 2 pimples every week or 2... The main reason I got is was because the people at sephora kept telling me his much I needed it, that it would help with the oiliness & make my products absorb much better... The first couple days of using it was fine, I did notice that my products absorbed better... After the first week of using it I started to get huge under the skin painful bumps that stayed for over a month & got zits on my cheeks, forehead, & around mouth where I never broke out before... I went back to sephora & they told me that it was the purging stage to stick with it & it would all get better, so I continued to use it for 5 weeks... My skin never got better it just kept breaking out & getting zits everywhere, so I finally decided to return it... It has now been about 2 months since I returned it & my face still is not back to how it was before I started using it, & my pores are huge... I would not recommend this product to anyone, it has caused me more problems than any other product I've ever used & I'm a huge beauty junky always trying new products... The brushes are way to harsh for your skin, the whole concept is bad for your face, it's way to much exfoliation!!! I would stick with a normal aha/bha for your exfoliation once or twice a week, & skip the headache...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 surfcowboy on 4/14/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by surfcowboy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I prefer my OLAY PRO X brush.... by far... at a fraction of the cost.
This mia 2 is alright but pretty harsh as far as the sensitive bristles are concerned. I would hate to find out what NOT sensitive brush is in the Clairisonic world because this was really rough.

I find my skin to be better with my OLAY PRO X and try to use the mia 2 every other week as so far I have yet to see positive results.... just harshness on my skin.

I think this product is over rated by far and they need to come up with a better sensitive brush that does not feel like BRILLO on the face, yeah BRILLO is exactly what it feels like.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 choconoonna on 4/13/2014 5:00:00 AM more reviews by choconoonna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought Mia-2 with Deep Pore Brush 2 months ago, and I've been using it for nearly 2 months ever since.

In the packaging: got gel cleanser, scrub, mask, charger, travel case, and the brush. I bought Mia-2 in white. I need to charge it for nearly all day long before starting to use it, using smart magnetic charger which I have to put it certain position to avoid from deattachment.

The Mia-2 is light and compact, easy to grip, it has timer and beep sound to let us know when we have to move to other parts of the face. It's okay to wet the device but I usually take cautious handling.

Application: I wet my brush, put cleanser (using Lancome Blanc Expert) on it, and push the blue rubber button. It's supposed to have 2 speeds, but I only use the default one. In the morning, 60 seconds is enough for me. But in the evening, I use it doubled. It caused "light electric shock" feeling to my head for the first time, but it's okay now. I always make sure to wipe or clean my face from night cream or make up before using it.

My skin is gradually better, I still have breakouts but it's unavoidable due to hormonal issue, but I have no tiny bumps around now, and less comedo. And those flaky dry skins due to harsh whitening night cream I use, seems to be minimal, make me easier and smoother for putting makeup. I still have enlarged pores, but it's fine, as long as less comedo and no more tiny bumps around.

I didn't use the cleanser again due to it felt so dry after, and I don't use the scrub/mask yet. I also bought the acne brush, but I'll use probably next month, after 3 months of use.

This Mia-2 is a HG tool for me now. It's pricey but worth it. And I will buy another for spare since I'm working at different town. Perhaps, the cute pink one or the animal print one.. Luv, luv it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HeidiML on 4/4/2014 3:26:00 PM more reviews by HeidiML

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

What can I say about this awesome beauty tool? A lot! Did it change my skin for the better? Quite visibly yes. Is it expensive? Yes, it is. Am I glad I bought it? Absolutely! It is easy to use? Definitely.

First, my skin: I've been using the Clarisonic Mia2 for about 3 months now. This little machine has completely changed my skin. How much so? I can comfortably go without makeup. When I do apply makeup it goes on smoothly and stays "put" longer. There is absolutely a noticeable difference in my skin. I don't have many breakouts, I'm middle aged and my main area of concern is my nose area; I struggle with the pores there due to a *bad* sunburn in my 20's (here's a tip - if you live in a northern climate, and go skiing in CA in March, apply sunscreen 10x stronger than you think and 10x more often than you think. Trust me on this one). My second area of concern was my skin was just looking "dull". Well, my Clarisonic fixed both problems pretty well! My face looks fresh, clean, the pores are cleansed, and there's no more "dull" look to my skin. All from one minute a day.
Amazing.

OK, let's address the Cost. Yes, this little machine is pricey. For me, it was worth every penny. And actually, if I were to add up all the cleaners/scrubs/masks/whatever I purchase in a year - to achieve what my Clarisonic has already done - I bet the price would even out pretty quickly. I also bought mine on sale, and for some reason the discount was due to the color - it seems every so often certain colors are discounted. So that helps with the price.

Ease of use: Easiest face care routine I've ever had. I use my Clarisonic once a day, usually morning, when I shower. At first I was using it every evening over the sink, however with more water in the shower I noticed almost immediately that it was cleansing my skin much better. I use CereVe face wash. I think everyone has their own particular cleanser that works best for them; if you're looking for a new one I do highly recommend CereVe. I also use their moisturizer and haven't found anything better.

Every evening I take off my make up with a make up remover towelette (Target brand, works great). I use to wash my face after make up removal but you know what? Since I started using my Clarisonic I skip that step. And I think my skin is better for it!

I lucked out and didn't get the "purge" that is warned about. I don't know if this is because of my age, or because I only used it 1x a day from the start, or what. I did get a couple interesting breakouts, but nothing too concerning at all.

Don't expect to break it out of the box and start using it immediately - this little tool needs several hours of initial charging, and then after that it needs a few hours of charging every month or so (depending on use). It's not a big deal - I just plug it in overnight and it's ready by morning.

I pat with a clean towel to dry off the brush after every use, pop the brush cover back on and it dries up nicely and stays fresh.

Just a great little product - highly recommend this skin tool!! I think an added bonus is being able to use a gentler cleanser than one might normally use, so that's another plus.





1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bygollymissmolly on 3/30/2014 1:46:00 AM more reviews by bygollymissmolly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Best investment ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AllyDean on 3/29/2014 11:30:00 AM more reviews by AllyDean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best investment I have ever made and I highly recommend this product (after learning a few lessons)!

First of all, I've used my Clarisonic for 4 months with absolutely positive results. I've been one of the lucky ones, with no "purging stage" or any breakouts resulting from the use. The brush that came with Clarisonic is called "sensitive" but it was harsher than I had expected and initial use did result in some discomfort. But my skin was so smooth and even it was amazing!

Second, this is a great invest for me because I have troublesome skin and I have spent hundreds on microdermabrasion, so in comparison, one little machine for around $150, great deal! However, if you have have good skin already, I don't recommend this product since you can't really improve on good skin.

Issues I've had:
1. The charger was faulty, but I brought it back to the store and they exchanged the charger free of charge. Great right? Not really since a product should not be faulty in the first place. Letting that slide, it did not provide a lot of confidence knowing they had a stack of back-up chargers that they just whipped out of their cabinets.

2. It takes a long time to charge the Clarisonic, 24 hours first time and 18 hours thereafter to use it for around 20 minutes per charge (if I remember correctly).

3. $25 brushes every 3 months - umm yeah no!

4. I've learnt that you should NOT follow the Clarisonic instructions by using this product 2 times a day. I did for the first 2 weeks and my skin was flaking pretty badly. I cut down to once a day and sometimes once every second day (eg. when i need to charge the machine for 18 hrs) and now no more issues.

5. Again, don't follow the instructions when they say you won't need an exfoliator. This product is not the end all of skin problems and you should not expect it to do wonders. That will only disappoint you. It cleans your skin, and it cleans your skin better than your hands can (so it claims). But I've found that even with periodical use, I still need an exfoliator to get rid of stubborn blackheads and bumps in the skin.

However, I have found this product amazing! It has done wonders for me, my acne scaring has faded, I have less blackheads and my pores are not as enlarged as they use to be. My skin is a lot smoother and I have less breakouts than before!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlaUndBla on 3/24/2014 8:12:00 PM more reviews by BlaUndBla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is an amazing product. I love everything about it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mish124 on 3/24/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by mish124

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I purchased the Clarisonic Mia 2 and after 1 week of using it once a day my skin broke out in these painful red patches/rashes and it has taken a while to get back to normal. I stopped using it right away and returned the device. I also got these weird sore patches almost like cuts on the corners of my mouth. This machine is not meant for me and if I kept using it for a month like the lady from Sephora said, my skin would never go back to normal. It probably would be permanently damaged. I'm surprised this device works for anyone. It is way too harse (even the delicate brush). I normally have very dry, sensitive skin in the winter and somewhat oily skin in the summer, but I can't imagine using this device again after the pain I experienced. I can't believe I spent $200 for something that was a complete nightmare for me. I thought it would be a life saver for my skin, and it was the complete opposite. I was quite disappointed. If you experience the same thing, I would suggest you stop using it right away and return the product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarisonic products

More Misc Beauty Tools products