L'Oreal • Voluminous Smoldering Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.4(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eadinsmo on 10/19/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by eadinsmo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this pencil to try out the Eastern smudgy eyeliner look, and...no. Either it's the pencil, or I'm doing it wrong, but it doesn't matter because I still really like this eyeliner!

Most of the time, I just place eyeliner under my upper eyelashes to darken the lashline. Not really the waterline, but there's still a huge potential for irritation. I should suck it up and take the time to tightline with gel eyeliner and a brush, but I'm lazy a lot of the time.

There are really only a couple of pencils I can use, because of where I'm putting the eyeliner. Anything "long wearing" or "waterproof" is likely to cause a filmy feeling on my eye. This eyeliner doesn't irritate my eyes or cause that filmy feeling at all. It's easy to apply, creamy and pigmented, and it stays where I put it just fine. It won't last through tears or rain, and it won't look perfect 24 hours later, but I'm happy with it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ktnbrklyn on 9/26/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Ktnbrklyn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This might be my absolute FAVORITE new product I have gotten in a long time. I love the big grip and thick head to the pencil. Its so easy to put on when your in a rush and looks great always, especially on the lower line. I have not seen anything else like it on the drugstore market. Its heaven-sent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* noseofblue on 8/5/2013 9:59:00 PM more reviews by noseofblue

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this chubby pencil eyeliner in grey (hard to find!), and it provides a softer look than black without the warmth of brown, which tends to make me look tired (blue eyes, cool coloring). I was pleasantly surprised that, unlike every other eyeliner I have tried over the years, this goes on and stays on my watery, allergy-sensitive waterline. I also like that it comes with a sharpener.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RestlessYouth on 7/27/2013 10:13:00 PM more reviews by RestlessYouth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Very pigmented, when I first used it it drooped all over the place after what seemed like five minutes. The next time I used it I put a little eye primer on first and it worked great. Stayed in place most of the day (had to wipe under my eye a few times). So overall, it's a great eyeliner just prime your eyes first.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dbmiller on 7/23/2013 4:29:00 PM more reviews by dbmiller

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is perfect for my bottom waterline, but drags when I try to apply it to by top lashline.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chubz on 7/11/2013 1:51:00 AM more reviews by Chubz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like the concept of this eyeliner but totally not worth it. It's better to purchase a $.99 eye pencil from wet n wild, n.y.c., jordana, and of the like... They're smudgey, blendable, dollars cheaper, and will last you forever.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cyberhd on 6/20/2013 4:17:00 PM more reviews by cyberhd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeliner! This is the only one that actually stay's on my waterline all day long.and not get in my contacts. I normally use a liquid felt tip eyeliner for my top lashes and this one just for my waterline. I don't smudge it, I apply like a regular eyeliner. I recommended this to my daughters and they both agreed about the staying power on the water tine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 steffaniemarie on 6/17/2013 6:45:00 PM more reviews by steffaniemarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I understand this product is for the smudgy look but wow it runs everywhere! I don't like it at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 3/21/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think some are missing the point of this liner, no pun intended lol :) and/or may go in expecting this to be more than it is. My understanding is that it's supposed to be smudgy; a kajal-kohl liner for dark exotic smoky eyes like you see in Bollywood. It is not a long-last type by any means but it does an amazing job of being a deep matte smoky-smudgy black, very exotic looking without turning grey or blue or fading into nothingness. After I smudge it in and blend, it lasts quite awhile unless my eyes start watering profusely or it gets wet, then it will run. Then again, I don't think it ever claimed to be waterproof or water-resistant or 24 hours or 'Infallible' or anything and it's not, but that is fine since I have others for that purpose. This is like an improved version of BeneFit's BadGal, which was a lot more greasy in texture than this and literally smudged right off when trying to blend, and this is on the dry side. It doesn't tug or pull when applying though, which is great. The included sharpener is great too, but I really wish it had a smudger on the other end for when I don't want to carry around a brush to smudge it out, blend it in or apply e/s over to change up the look. I don't think it really needs e/s to set , but it's fun to play with the different looks doing that can create by using different e/s over the top.


I was already loving it as a smoky liner but what really surprised and impressed me about this is it actually lasts on my waterline longer than any other, even those that claim to be waterproof, and gels. (speaking of which I also picked up the L'Oreal Infallible gel-cream liner in Blackest Black as the other part of this BOGO hoping to replace BlackTrack as my go-to black gel liner- will report on how it worked for after I test it a bit more). For this one, first I dry off my waterline with a q-tip to get it to stick better, apply straight from the pencil tip and done. I wore it all night the day I got it run and didn't have any migrating "goop" in the inner corners of my eyes like some tend to to on the w/l and it also didn't flake off or wear off in patches like most do on me, and it wore evenly all night and looked amazing. I like that it has no sparkle or shimmer to irriate my eyes or get in my contacts too. Even my husband noticed and complimented how "amazingly hot" this looked which so this tells me this is a keeper :) Granted, my lids are generally on the dry, not oily side, so YMMV as to the wear time and application but for me, this is my go-to black smudgy smoky eye liner, waterline and regular. I would love to see a couple more colors like a navy, a dark green or deep olive, a purple, in addition to the grey and brown shades they already have.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 toya77 on 3/19/2013 11:50:00 PM more reviews by toya77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love, Love, Love this product. I tend to go for the heavily lined, dramatic look and it works great. It a true black liner..not grayish black or blueish black. It goes on smoothly too. I only use it on my water line and thats wear it stays. I havent had any problems with running or smudging. Love love love it! Update- I fell out of LOVE with this product, must be the warm weather because the last time I wore it I looked like a frigging RACCOON,* demoted until winter of 2013 (if I hadn't just threw it away)! Good in the winter, but runs like crazy in spring. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. Suggestions PLEASE ladies..inbox me Hunny Bunnies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eyeliner products