Maybelline Master Shape

2.5

140 reviews

32% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/14/2014 11:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

DO NOT BUY THIS. This is a horrible eyebrow pencil! It is way to creamy, it rubs off on clothes from the slightest touch, & its just doesn't serve any purpose that a eyebrow pencil should have. The only thing thats good about this is the brush on the end, but you can buy a brush like that anytime. Literally its a waste of your money, dont buy it! If they made it that creamy it might as well be a eyeliner pencil, not eyebrow.



on 6/10/2014 5:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

When I first got this about a year ago I hated it. It was plastic but needed to be sharpened with a pencil sharpener. They no longer make them out of plastic. I like how waxy the pencil is, and the spoolie helps me blend it. The dark brown doesn't have any red undertones. I have replaced this a half dozen times and will keep using it.


on 6/1/2014 12:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I just got this pencil in Auburn, and I had to try it out right away. Anytime I see a brow color for red hair I try to pick it up, because they're really hard to find. This pencil especially caught my eye, because it comes with a grooming brush attached to the end of the pencil. What surprised me about this pencil is how waxy it is. It's almost like using a pomade. The color payoff is really subtle too. It's really almost too subtle. Fortunately, I tint my super fair eyebrows so this was just perfect. When my tint wears off, I'll fill my brows in with something else and use this more as a grooming aid. To add a litte color and groom the brows, this is great. To fill in super thin or sparse brows, this won't work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just called Maybelline & let them know how very, very unhappy I am.

I had been using Maybelline's "Define A Brow" for years, which I lalways bought at WalMart (for about half the price of this worthless junk). I only purchased the "Master Shape" because there were no Define A Brow pencils on the pegs at WalMart. All the pegs were full of this product, so I assumed Maybelline had discontinued the Define A Brow, that this replaced it & also that it would would work just as well.

Well, it does NOT. My eyebrows are not at all thin, but they're not the size of caterpillars...which is about the only size brows this would be satisfactory for! Also, I don't draw brows in, I use a pencil to fill in spots.

Finally today, I couldn't stand it any longer & found just 2 Define A Brow pencils at Walgreens in the right color, so I bought them both & figured I'd need to find some other brand to use, once I'd used them both up.,

I did learn, when speaking with the Maybelline c.s. rep, that the co. still makes the Define A Brow, so apparently WalMart decided not to carry it anymore.

Again, if you don't have enormous, thick eyebrows, or don't mind getting color all over, above and below your brows, which you have to clean off with a Q-Tip & then reapply your foundation around your brows, don't buy this. IMO, it is very, very poorly designed & I don't think there are many women who have brows thick and bushy enough to use this.

I've never been so disgusted with any cosmetic product in my life & I've been wearing makeup for over 40 years!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is literally the worst brow pencil i've ever used, I picked it up because I was in a rush at the drugstore and needed something immediately. It's super waxy and goes on very thick, leaving a sort of coat on my eyebrows. It's also very difficult to get certain areas lighter than others and to have any defined lines. I was so confused when I first got it because it was plastic so I thought maybe if you twisted it, it would sharpen that way. I could not figure it out until I went online and saw that it needed to sharpen it... with a pencil sharpener. In addition to the fact that it has ruined my good pencil sharpener (by dulling it and getting waxy goop all over it) it doesn't even sharpen. You will literally never get a good point on this pencil. And I'm not even very picky about makeup, I use generic drugstore brands most of the time. This is just a truly awful brow pencil.

10/10 WOULD NOT RECOMMEND


on 3/4/2014 9:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this eyebrow pencil, it is probably one of my favourites and I have used up 2 of these already. The only bad side to it is the plastic pencil that is hard to sharpen which is a minor issue for me to be honest. I love the waxy consistency of it because it stays on all day, I bought it in the colour deep brown and it is the perfect shade for me and looks very natural on my medium skin. It's also cheap so despite the fact that I basically have to sharpen it every couple of uses, it's at least not expensive to repurchase.


on 2/9/2014 4:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got mine in dark blonde and it seems to match my eyebrows well. I have medium-dark blonde eyebrows but light blonde hair. I only add this to define the ends of my eyebrows because they look sparse and thin and invisible at the ends (if you understand me :P) so it does a great job at making my eyebrows appear thicker and bolder. The mini brush comes in so much handy too!


on 1/23/2014 8:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Upon seeing this product at the drugstore, I was extremely excited. I had high hopes that this would be an improvement on the Define A Brow, because that product had poor staying power and did not apply evenly on me. Although I love the spooley end, this product was a bit of a letdown. I have tried several colors from the line and they all just seem green-tinged on my brows. Also, this product applied poorly for me; not only was it patchy but it also clumped up in several areas- even with a light hand. What really gets to me is how fast you blow through this product, the constant sharpening wastes a lot of product, but if you don't sharpen it then you can't get a precise line. If this works for someone then by all means stick with it but personally this has just validated my love for the Anastasia Brow Wiz.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2014 1:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the best DS brow pencil I've ever used. I bought auburn and its a perfect match for me, most brow items are too dark or too rusty colored. For ref I have copper/light auburn hair and warm beige freckles w/ neutral leaning towards yellow skin.
EDIT: I went back to purchase another pencil and noticed they were plastic instead of wood at Target. So now I know what you gals were talking about. I pref the wood pencil, I'll update my review after I try out the plastic pencil.


on 1/15/2014 9:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I actually really liked this brow pencil. Just the right pigmentation if you're going for a nice natural look. I got it in the Deep Brown color and the shade is so flattering on asian skin and hair. The brush is also really nice and is good for dusting off some product if you have a heavy hand. I don't like how flimsy the caps are and why the pencil had to be in plastic. Whyyyy?! The packaging is the only downside to this product, otherwise it's my HG eyebrow pencil.


Popular Brows Products


Castor Oil
364 Reviews
Brow Wiz
323 Reviews
Eyebrow Kit
595 Reviews
Back to Top