Clinique • Moisture Surge Intense • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(100 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 prowl2000 on 2/14/2014 4:44:00 AM more reviews by prowl2000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I have a very dry skin. This intense version has saved my life. It gave back my normal look after it was drenched by the use of Paula's Choice for dry skin line. I guess my skin is too dry to use PC. I then decided to stop using PC and change my skincare routine back to Clinique/Estée Lauder line. Feeling sad for my money spent for PCs, I mixed the resist antioxidant serum with this Clinique Surge Intense and it works wonder (I have to mix the serum with something because the serum dries my face too much. The tub has helped me a lot so far. Thanks the surge line.

For those who have normal or oily skin, this intense version might not be suitable. The extended one might be more useful. Price-wise, it is real good for the bargain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lochinvar on 2/9/2014 1:52:00 AM more reviews by Lochinvar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this thinking that a high end moisturiser would make a difference.

Packaging - its a screw top lid, you use your fingers, I prefer pump moisturisers - nuff said.

Price - this stuff was very expensive for not a lot of product and not a lot of results.

One of the ingredients reacted very badly with my serum, so if I didn't allow a good hour between using the serum and this stuff my skin burned.

It also reacted badly with my toner, again, I had to wait a good half hour after a toner before using it. (and the toner was a Clinique toner, so you'd expect that their products would work well together, but both products dried my skin out considerably)

It felt watery and well, didn't do a lot for my skin. If anything I felt like I was paying more for the pretty colour and the brand name. I get better moisturising results from drugstore basic sensitive skin no added fragrances or fancy packaging moisturisers.

Skin - didn't feel extra hydrated, or anything else, didn't result in better results than any other product I've used, skin didn't break out, skin was probably dryer than it usually is.

Will not be purchasing again as I believe that this product is very overpriced for what it is (a water based moisturiser).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JulieTaboulli on 1/25/2014 10:49:00 AM more reviews by JulieTaboulli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Cutting to the chase: go buy this.

I have dry dry skin that somehow still manages to get oily in the T-zone. Redness prone, hates winter (or any climate change). My face gets so tight and dry without any lotion, and starts to look dead/dull bc I can't seem to hydrate it in the winter. Dry patches, flaky skin around my nose, awkward dry bumpy pores.

I decided to switch after the dry patches on my face continued to grow as fall approached (Garnier moisture lotion just wasn't cutting it.. neither were any of my other AM lotions). I had used Clinique's MS gel before and liked it, but knew I needed something heavy duty, so I got this.

Ladies, meet moisture. As soon as I put it on, my face feels plump and happy with moisture. In the month that I've been using it, no more dry patches, and my skin doesn't look so dead. I typically use it as a night cream because it's so heavy, but I have used it beneath makeup before - and to my surprise. Even though this lotion is thick and super moist feeling, my makeup didn't look oily, it didn't slip off, and my face still felt hydrated an happy. I can't recommend this enough.

When summer comes, I will probably switch back to the regular Moisture surge lotion, and use this once a week to keep dry patches at bay (and bc hydrated skin glows). But Oct-April I will use nothing else.

Edit: after talking to a consultant at Clinique, she suggested I use the yellow DDML lotion underneath because it allows the skin to absorb more - she was totally correct. I've noticed an even larger change.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 1/22/2014 3:03:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

CAUTION IF YOU HAVE SENSITIVE SKIN, ALLRGIC REACTIONS OR ROSACEA. TRY A SAMPLE BEFORE YOU BUY THIS PRODUCT!

I got a small jar of "Moisture Surge Intense Gel Cream" in a gwp a few months back.

Everytime I try this, even one night I get itchy red bumps in my rosacea areas. They don't turn into zits, but I also can't tolerate this cream long enough to find out.

I've tried about five times. Each time I wait a few weeks thinking it might be diet or new foundation but now I'm positively sure it is this cream. Too bad because I wanted to like it, I needed something light but moisturizing for winter.

In the end I bought a tube of CeraVe moisturizing cream at a quarter the cost and its done what I needed without the cost, or the skin reaction. A rosacea flare isn't what I expect from a Clinique product.

And the smell! This has a strong almost Noxema odour. I almost wonder if THAT is causing the problem. Scents can be very irritating.

I have allergic, sensitive skin, and rosacea. I'm a redhead. If you are like me proceed with caution.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Andiealger on 1/21/2014 9:07:00 AM more reviews by Andiealger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this moisturizer at the end of November when I was looking for a night moisturizer to use throughout the winter. I was looking for something that was oil free and wouldn't make my combination/oily skin break out. I have been using it religiously every night.
I do have mixed feelings about this product... The gel cream felt great going onto my skin after washing and toning, but it takes a long time to absorb into my skin (I'm not a fan of that sticky feeling.) And though it hasn't made me breakout, I don't feel it has really done anything for my skin.
On the plus side, I don't need to layer this product on my face in order for it to work, and two months into using the product it only looks like I've made a small dent... It was a little pricey, but I don't have a problem spending a bit more on products to get the desired result.
All in all, it does the job. I will definitely finish the jar, but will continue to look for a product that is more beneficial to my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiffany287 on 12/29/2013 3:19:00 PM more reviews by tiffany287

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love Clinique's Moisture Surge. I used it as a night cream last night and it soothed and healed my acne. I feel like it was not too heavy. I used it again this morning and found it to be great with the ddml moisture plus lotion. I feel like my skin is getting enough moisture and it's not too heavy so far so good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bonbon01 on 12/13/2013 9:00:00 PM more reviews by bonbon01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Soothing and very hydrating, BUT it doesn't make the skin stay hydrated for very long. Overpriced, there are more economical alternatives if you are merely going for the hydrating effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carrotcelerystick on 12/8/2013 12:40:00 PM more reviews by carrotcelerystick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I live in a very harsh environment and this moisturizer has been a lifesaver this winter.

My skin is typically oily in the summer and drier (although not painfully parched) in the winter. I have started to do light strength BHA and lactic peels which do leave my skin a bit drier the first few days after application, with some flaking. Nothing too bad to deal with, and my skin is getting better over the course of the treatments.

Enter minus forty degrees cel. weather with high winds right after doing a peel. My skin was raw, cracking and in some areas windburnt to the point of scabbing. Other moisturizers, oils and butters were only excaberating the dryness. Nothing I tried helped my skin.

I had a small sample of Moisture Surge Intense from a gift event and tried it one night out of desperation. While it did not heal my skin overnight, it helped so much that I continued to use it nightly. Within a week my skin was back to normal with no sign that it had been in such bad condition. I have purchased the full sized jar of the MS Intense and will continue to use it throughout the winter.

I am not partial to moisturizers with silicones, and previous to using MS Intense disliked Clinique moisturizers due to the fact that they all caused clogged pores and breakouts. Not so with this little gem. I might not use this moisturizer in the summer, but it is great for the winter. For the worst climate conditions, for the most painfully stripped and frozen skin, I can not recommend any other moisturizer more than MS Intense.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 milomatisse on 12/4/2013 6:35:00 AM more reviews by milomatisse

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product really saved my appearance last week when I suddenly experienced horrible dry flakiness around and on my nose. I applied this as a night moisturizer and within 2 days, all clear!! No flakiness, no dry patches anywhere on my face.. The texture is a bit sticky but as a night treatment it really doesn't matter to me.. This delivers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GigiMakeupStudio on 11/17/2013 10:28:00 PM more reviews by GigiMakeupStudio

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately, this product is hella expensive. I scold myself everyday for having spent $34 on a philosophy moisturizer, so I definitely can't justify spending $50 on this one. That said, I have two small travel sizes of this that I received in gift sets. It is, in fact, a great moisturizer though. I like gel moisturizers b/c they have a slight sticky consistency which allows makeup to adhere better to the skin. It's super moisturizing & feels refreshing. I'm in live w/ it, but unfortunately, I probably won't be purchasing the full size unless it's on sale, or I might just get the travel sizes. Anywho, if you don't mind the price then definitely try it. It's wonderful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Moisturizers products