Clinique • Moisture Surge Intense • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(111 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kittytin on 5/4/2014 10:55:00 AM more reviews by kittytin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

made my very dry flaky skin feels soft and smooth. love love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wenyuzhang88 on 4/29/2014 3:09:00 AM more reviews by wenyuzhang88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I want to preface this by saying that my skin doesn't usually react to products (knock on wood) and that I can tolerate a fair range of products quite well. That said, this product gives me such unpleasant comedones on my forehead. I am stuck with a jar of this and I am thinking of either giving it away or using it as body lotion... What a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sjez on 4/16/2014 8:58:00 AM more reviews by Sjez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great little product. It reminds me of Philosophy's Hope in a Jar, but is even more occlusive. I bought it because my last moisturizer wasn't working, and I had dry patches all over my forehead and around my nose and mouth. I applied Moisture Surge Intense all over my face, and then applied another layer, sort of like a moisture mask. It actually burned a little (It contains linoleic acid, which could explain the burning. It also contains chamomile, which some people can react to, apparently) and the dry patches on my forehead got visibly inflamed. However, the next morning, my skin felt freshly moisturized, supple, more even, and best of all, the dry patches were completely gone. This is probably too much for everyday use, but I will continue using it once or twice a week to keep dryness away. Oh, and one more thing: It smells insanely weird.


UPDATE: I only experienced sensitivity to this product the first time I used it. I now use a thin layer of it every day before bed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 4/10/2014 3:08:00 PM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product (2.5 oz. for $49.50) a couple months ago when the cold weather was bothering my dehydrated oily skin. None of my hydrating moisturizers or serums were quite doing the trick -- I found that I really needed something occlusive. This did a great job of addressing my hydration issues while sealing everything in.

The consistency is a cream-gel, more emollient than the Extended Thirst Relief. A little goes a long way and it sinks into the skin easily for the most part. This product is more moisturizing than its lighter counterpart (which is to be expected). The biggest difference in my opinion is that the Intense formula is much more occlusive. Extended Thirst Relief is nicely hydrating but sometimes I feel like I need something that seals all the moisture in -- which Intense does very well.

But with that occlusive nature comes a bit of a greasy finish. I don't actually feel an uncomfortable layer on my skin or anything. It's just that the finish feels sticky whenever I touch my skin. Not a huge deal but a little bothersome.

I have worn this under makeup with no issues but I do want to mention that I have a good routine when it comes to addressing both my dehydration and oiliness -- this moisturizer provides hydration, my sunscreen and primer work on oil control, and my foundation does a little bit of both. Again, I was using this during the colder months... I think it will be too much for me in the summer but I'm not quite sure. I will try to update once the warmer weather rolls around.

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Squalane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat Bran) Extract, Ahnfeltia Concinna Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Extract, Caffeine, Whey Protein\Lactis Protein, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Powder, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Cholesterol, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Sodium Hyaluronate, Petrolatum, PEG-150, Sucrose, Pyridoxine Dipalmitate, Linoleic Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Citric Acid, Polysilicone-11, Propylene Carbonate, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, PEG-8, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Hexametaphosphate, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lindsex24 on 3/24/2014 3:24:00 PM more reviews by Lindsex24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is by far the best moisturizer I have ever used. I have combination skin (dry, acne-prone) and it's the only product that has completely fixed my dry skin. It also never breaks me out, which is a huge bonus. I used to constantly have flaky skin from using acne products and living in a dry apartment, but no more! A little goes a long way, so a bottle lasts a long time. The price is a little steep for me, but I think it's worth it. I use it night and day; it's not too heavy even though it's so effective. I like other Clinique moisturizers, but none match up to this one. Also, get the 'Intense' edition; I like it better than the original. I will probably use this product for the rest of my life!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 3/10/2014 8:31:00 AM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this moisturizer. Lately I've been washing my face a lot more and using more acne treatments that are harsh and drying to my skin. Not to mention my Clarisonic which I feel does dry out my skin because it sucks out all the oil from your pores. I only use this at night after I have washed my face with my Clarisonic because that's when it needs it the most. After I take a hot shower my skin is always extremely dry and flakey. I love the consistency of this, it's thick like a lotion but still has a gel consistency. The smell is kind of clean and chemical- y? haha. It doesn't bother me much and I'm not too sensitive to scents. I love how soft and supple my skin feels after I apply this, but it does leave my skin so sticky feeling. In the morning I have to use my Witch Hazel toner to sort of take away the residue or else my skin is very sticky and oily (although this is oil free). I would never use this in the morning before I put on my make up, i would be a shiny hot mess. To me, this is more so like a night cream because it's so thick and moisturizing. It definitely has helped give my dry patches some intense moisture. ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 porcaq on 3/9/2014 10:18:00 AM more reviews by porcaq

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Savior for dry skin or climates. The smell is a bit plasticky but a small dollop goes a long way in hydrating the skin and keeps it well moisturized throughout the day or night. It seems oily initially but gets absorbed into the skin quickly. Definitely a keeper for my dry and sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kamiller1972 on 3/6/2014 9:48:00 AM more reviews by kamiller1972

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is AWESOME. Leaves my skin sooooo soft. Takes care of any sort of dryness my skin may have due to weather or the harsh skin regimen that includes a buttload of BP to keep my skin clear. It is rather spendy, but you only need to use a very small amount to get your skin super smooth and soft. My skin is super acne prone and this doesn't irritate it at all!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PatentlyPink on 3/5/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by PatentlyPink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

At first, seemed to be working well in the cold weather. Over time, felt like I still had dry patches, breakouts and a feeling of slippery, oily skin. Hard to apply makeup on after because skin feels uneven. Will use up the jar but not rebuy. I now just use it around the eyes and under my nose and forehead where I am extra dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissNananana on 2/23/2014 12:59:00 AM more reviews by MissNananana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is one of the few moisturisers which work for me.

The best thing about it is that it doesn't burn my skin. Other moisturisers contain some sort of acid that inflames my skin and gives me a burn like a sunburn. Those were awful. I remember wanting to cry when I woke up one day with a burnt face from some new moisturiser. This doesn't because it doesn't contain said acid.

It goes on light and gets absorbed by the skin quickly. After I cleanse my face, my skin usually feels tight so I dab this on and it feels great. It balances out all the tightness and makes my skin feel plump and of course, moisturised. No breakout and no burnt skin.

It costs a bomb but for its quality, I'm willing to splurge on this one, even though it's -just- a moisturiser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Moisturizers products