Clinique Moisture Surge Intense

4.1

135 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: WATER\AQUA\EAU, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, DIMETHICONE, CETYL ETHYLHEXANOATE, SQUALANE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE, LAURYL PEG-9 POLYDIMETHYLSILOXYETHYL DIMETHICONE, TRITICUM VULGARE (WHEAT BRAN) EXTRACT, AHNFELTIA CONCINNA EXTRACT, OLEA EUROPAEA (OLIVE) FRUIT EXTRACT, CAFFEINE, WHEY PROTEIN\LACTIS PROTEIN\PROTEINE DU PETIT-LAIT, ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF POWDER, CHAMOMILLA RECUTITA (MATRICARIA), CHOLESTEROL, PALMITOYL OLIGOPEPTIDE, SODIUM HYALURONATE, PETROLATUM, PEG-150, SUCROSE, PYRIDOXINE DIPALMITATE, LINOLEIC ACID, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, CITRIC ACID, POLYSILICONE-11, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, GLYCERYL POLYMETHACRYLATE, PEG-8, PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRA-DI-T-BUTYL HYDROXYHYDROCINNAMATE, SODIUM CITRATE, SODIUM HEXAMETAPHOSPHATE, CHLORPHENESIN, PHENOXYETHANOL


on 3/12/2015 1:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Fancy Vaseline
I you like the feel of petroleum jelly on your face -- this is for you.
I received this product as a sample, and I am so glad I did not purchase it. It contains a significatnt amount of petrolatum that makes it feel incredibly greasy. I will not wear it on my face, but I will use it on my feet.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 3/9/2015 12:46:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Like the previous reviewer I was given a sample of this moisturizer but unlike her I have serious reservations after a few uses. I found the cream very rich and too creamy for my combination skin. In fact I blame this moisturizer for a nasty pimple, the likes of which I haven't had in years. Am I jumping to conclusions? Possibly. But this product is the only new thing I've added to my repertoire in the last few months so if the shoe fits... I think it's headed to the circular file; it's just too much moisturizer for me.


on 3/1/2015 3:57:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

All hail the generous-sized sample! I haven't used Clinique products in quite some time, but my mother-in-law gave me a sample that lasted six weeks -- long enough to convince me that it was a product I had to keep using. I have sensitive, acne-prone (still!) skin and this lightweight cream soothes, smooths and moisturizes without any irritation. This has been a particularly wretched, achingly dry winter, and I have also staved off the rough, scaly patches that I usually fight against this time of year, particularly around my eyes. (Supplement with Cera Ve eye cream -- also highly recommended.) I am the world's cheapest person, but popped for a full size, full price jar. This might just be my hg.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2015 7:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted a good moisturizer that I could use on my face, that wasn't greasy, so if I wanted I could wear it under foundation. I like Clinique products, so I found myself here. I was going to order it off the site and as I was ordering other things I released that the free sample I would receive would be this, so I took the full tub out of my cart and figured it would be good to test it out first, which I am so so so so glad I did.

Packing- I love love love the packaging of this, its simple, easy to use and sturdy. The glass is tinted with a pink hue which I think is really pretty!! 10/10

Formula- The formula for this is thin, velvety, and non greasy and white in colour. A lot goes a long way which is what I liked. One lippie for that!

Did it work?- So I am having a huge problem with my dry areas at the minute, the foundation that I am using clings to my dry areas like a monkey to a banana, not good. So I wanted something to either let soak in over night or put on under my foundation. I tried both of my ideas with this. After I went in the shower and got ready for bed, I put this on my dry areas which are my nose, around my nose near my nostrils, my smile lines, my chin and the middle of my forehead, I rubbed it in, but not fully. I went to sleep and let it do its work, I woke up in the morning and it felt like it hadn't soaked in what so ever. My face looked very greasy. I removed what was left over with a face wipe and patted my face dry then processed to put my usual stuff on, primer, foundation etc. Both before and after I put primer on I didn't notice any dryness what so ever! Huraay! So I thought... I then applied my foundation and well... my dryness came back. My foundation stuck to it like it hadn't been moisturized at all. oh... so then I thought 'I know, I'll try rubbing it in loads at night with a small amount then put a little under my foundation, same story with before and after primer, no dryness then as soon as I put the foundation on.. boom dryness again!! It did look better... my dryness had seemed to calm down on my nose a little bit, but it was still flaky. Off I went to work, carried on my day as normal and slowly but surely my foundation melted off my face, it felt greasy and wet and looked stupidly shiny, yet my face was STILL dry. I have since tried it a couple of more times because I really wanted it to work but it just didn't.

Price- 34.00!! Are you serious? Like pinch me for a second! 34 for a 'moisturizer' that doesn't even do the job it is meant to do? Granted you get a lot 50ml which is great and it will last you ages but honestly.. it is not worth the 34. I am one of those girls who will buy a beauty product if it works for me, regardless of the price tag. So if it did work I would of course pay it, but in my general opinion about price whether it works or not this is expensive, especially when there are drug store/pharmacy products that work better for about 3... coughhhh E45 couuuugh

Overall- I am not impressed with the moisturizer at all. Everyone is different so it may work for you, but honestly I tried so many things with this and it didn't work at all. I will not be buying the full sized and if someone gave me a sample I would turn it down. I suppose I will use up the sample I have for erm... what can I even use it for now as it doesn't do anything to my dry skin? oh heck, I'll just give it to my mum!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2015 5:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I bought a full size 50ml bottle of this as a day cream, which was recommended by the beauty advisor in my local department store. I managed to finish the bottle and heres the breakdown. I have combination skin and slightly sensitive.

1) Its goes on the face and does not absorb very well. After a few minutes you can still feel it sitting on your skin. As i do put makeup on every morning i don't have the leisure to sit around to wait.
2) I did not enjoy the "fragrance free" smell, it kind of reminded me of the smell of medicated pills.
3) The texture was more towards the oiler side compared to their "Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief" which i also have a review for!
4) It was fairly cheap moisturiser with decent packaging


So final verdict not worth my money can find cheaper products that work better.

Check my profile for review of Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i have combination skin with problems depending on the time of year: extreme oiliness in my t-zone in summer when the weather gets hot (25 degrees celsius and upwards) and very dry, flaky, scaly patches on my cheeks in winter when it goes down to -20 degrees celsius. every winter in the past i've struggled with my dry patches, unable to get rid of them no matter what i use, varying from high end moisturisers to creams with added vitamin e that is meant to be used on cuts and sores to help them heal faster. this winter i bought clinique's moisture surge intense after reading a good review about it, and the efficacy with which it manages to deliver moisture into my skin without leaving my t-zone oily made a great impression on me. i did find that the moisture would "escape" from my drier spots rather quickly and in the beginning i also felt like my skin texture was left feeling a little "ruddy" or "unpolished", but have found that a great combination with this cream is mac's complete comfort creme, which when applied on drier areas seems to keep the moisture in and leave the skin a little smoother, so i suppose there is some element of firming action in it.

all in all, clinique's moisture surge intense + mac's complete comfort creme has been an absolute life saver for my skin this winter, making my skin look better than it has in years. definitely will keep repurchasing!


on 2/11/2015 8:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Let me start by saying my skin is DRY. I have sensitive tight dry skin and dry patches. I tried a lot of different moisturizers and most broke me out. This however, made my skin SOOOOO oily it was unbearable. Literally like I was rubbing grease on my face. Awful.


on 1/15/2015 9:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I should start by saying that is rare for a moisturizer to work for me. My skin is oily but dehydrated. I had heard great things about this moisturizer so I gave it a try. I like the feel and it seems to moisturize (I don't think it would work for real dry skin though) but it didn't help the tight feeling on my face. I do like it as a hand moisturizer though!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2015 8:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this moisturiser and won't be without it. For this price range I haven't found anything else as effective or versatile. It applies like a gel instead of a cream and is instantly comforting for dry or sensitive skin.

I use this throughout all seasons. In summer I might use it only every other day for a hydration boost, or over the top of serums/treatments to calm and soothe. I'm conscious that it doesn't have any real active ingredients or offer other benefits than hydration (which it is superb at). So I love that it layers really well over top of other products, which is how I use it in winter.


on 12/30/2014 11:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Oh mah gawd!!!!!!!!!!!! Hooray for a beauty product that actually does what it says it will do. My goodness this winter has been particularly unkind to my skin. I had skin that just wouldn't get quenched even after upping my water intake. I tried this at a friend's house and was sold, purchased the 2.5 oz at $52 and could not be more pleased. My skin is beautiful, plumped and glowing. Ordinarily this wouldn't be for me because I am a #4 in the clinique system but who the hell pays attention to that anyway? HG winter moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top