Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow

4.3

531 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


on 7/1/2015 5:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I was watching Youtube a few months back, and noticed that everyone was talking about these Maybelline's Color Tattoo shadows. So after seeing a few of the Youtube Guru's mentioning this product and doing makeup tutorials, I decided to give this a shot.

I picked up two at my local Shoppers Drugmart. I first bought Tough as Taupe because I like the matte greyish brown/purply color and figured I could do a few matte eye looks with this. I then went back and picked up Bad to the Bronze after seeing Makeup by TiffanyD doing an everyday-go-to eyeshadow tutorial.

These Color Tattoo's come in a .14oz glass jar. You can buy these in three different types of variations. Either in metal, cream gel or leather textures and colors. The two colors I have come in the cream gel form. They are soft to the touch. However I noticed that the Bad to the Bronze which is a shimmer stain finish is much softer then Tough as Taupe which is a very matte color. Both swatch well and are easy to apply. I like to apply these two eyeshadows with my Blank Canvas Cosmetics F17 brush. Since these are cream and not powder eyeshadows, they apply better with a concealer type brush since the bristles are designed and used to pick up and blend cream products.

These cream shadows have amazing staying power. When I swatched both these eyeshadows and went to wipe them off, they didn't move. I had to wash the back of my hand really hard a couple of times before it came off. I actually gave in and used makeup remover as it didn't come off completely with soap and water. It stood all day and didn't move, crease or budge on my eyes. I was amazed at their staying power and blendability. They didn't crease throughout the day and really held their pigmentation. They are very creamy and apply well. However those that are matte tend be a little less creamier then the shimmer ones. Nonetheless, applying them to my lid was no big deal.

The only problem I have with cream eyeshadows is that they tend to dry out very quickly. So unless you are using them everyday, don't except these to last more then a year. However for the price, it makes it possible to toss them out and buy new ones year after year.

I would totally recommend these if you are in the market for new cream eyeshadows. Maybelline really stands out here with their textures and colors. There are 20 shades in total in the line, with the exception of the limited edition ones they put out here and there. Also, something to keep in mind, I have noticed that some of the colors and textures that are sold in the USA are either not sold in Canada or sold in a different color and form.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 7/1/2015 7:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I love this product. They are my holy grail eye product. They are creamy and glide onto your eye smoothly. They last all day and there pigmentation is there right through. I have had mine for over a year and they still haven't dried out and have stayed in same condition as first bought.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2015 1:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, love, love! Easy to use, highly pigmented, and lasts so long I am so impressed. I've started collecting all the colors and after buying 5 I have yet to be disappointed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this in the color "tough as taupe". Love this product as a base. It's a great texture - very creamy and smooth. I love using this as a base, but it's also a great dupe for Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade in Taupe! To learn more about this great dupe and see swatches and comparisons, visit my blog post here: http://foolslovegold.blogspot.com/2015/05/super-dupe-anastasia-dipbrow-pomade-dupe.html

This is one product I always keep on hand!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2015 3:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love these im trying to collect them all but its hard lol.. They come in a glass jar with a screw on plastic lid. You might think that you wont get alot of product but i have some that are a few years old and they have not dried out and i have not even come close to running out.. they are highly pigmented cream shadows and they really last all day until you wash them off. You do not need to wear a primer with these but sometimes i still do just bc im a primer junkie..they are very creamy some more then others..they are pretty easy to apply you can either use your finger tip or a synthetic brush. I have 27 of them right now and the only two I have a little trouble with is painted purple...you will have to do a few coats bc its streaky and gold rush...its a beautiful bright gold but it applies harder then the other colors.. SOme of them are duochrome..some of them are shimmery and some our matte.. I use them as a base or i will use them alone or as a liner.. they are easy to blend and once they set they do not smear rub off or move even in the summer and it gets very hot here. You could also use tough as taupe to fill in your brows i have done it before and i know some ppl who use it on the regular to fill their brows in. The leather editions ones are insanely creamy. They have never irritated my eyes and they are also very light feeling on the eyes. When i apply them i usually use a brush and i have no problem picking the cream up..the only ones i use my finger for is painted purple and gold rush..i would definitely recommend these to everyone wether you want to just swipe them on your eyes for a simple look or use them as an eyeshadow base or if you want to blend them together to make a dramatic look these will be awesome to use


on 6/13/2015 1:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

WOW! I have one of these in Bad to the Bronze, which is a color that anyone can wear. The packaging is okay. It's just a tiny jar. It doesn't look like there is much product in it, but I think that since it's a cream/gel shadow, it will eventually dry out. Just a little bit goes a long way. I use my pinky to apply it, but I try not to get too much or it might be too pigmented, even. It's a quick look when you don't have that much time. It takes 3-5 minutes max to apply. I have tested it with and without eye primer and it's long-lasting either way. I also have very oily lids and skin, so it's amazing how this holds up. It comes in many colors, but I wish they made even more neutral colors. It's an inexpensive product with amazing results. I highly recommend purchasing these. Especially if you are a person in a hurry!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 8:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have this in bad to the bronze. My eyes are extremely sensitive, and this is one of the few eye shadows I can use. I just dab it on with my finger.

Pros
-Good pigmentation.
-Stays put. Does not migrate into my eyes nor does it cause any irritation.

No cons! Planning to get this in that light pink as well as the taupe.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

i bought this in "inked in pink" because im always looking for individual shadows to complement the colors in my naked 3 palette. the first thing i noticed after buying it was that the packaging is awful! it comes in a jar with this huge glass base, but if you turn the jar sideways, you can see that there's literally no product in the base of it. i know that lots of companies use jars to create the illusion of more product, but this jar is just ridiculous.

anyway, the first time i actually wore this, i just put on some primer and then wore this alone. the color payoff is great, it applies so smoothly and blends really well, and this shade has a beautiful shiny/metallic finish. i didn't experience any creasing that first day. the second day i wore it, i used a primer and i wore it with my naked 3 palette. after about 10 or 11 hours i didn't notice any creasing! however after about 14-ish hours, my eyes were a hot mess and everything had caked up into my crease. but i would say it stayed on for a good 12 hours, which is awesome. i love this little paint pot and i'd like to buy some more colors/try using it as eyeliner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2015 6:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I got the pearly white and matte beige to use as bases and the white does not work. Goes on chunky so you have to rub it with your fingers which diffused the color and yeah it does not work as a base. The beige is a bit better. The lid on the white one goes on crooked so it will probably dry out. Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/9/2015 6:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This product is so good. I haven't tried the mac paint pots but I don't really feel the need to, as I probably go out and buy some more of these. I have pink gold which is a shimmery pink colour. It is great as a stand alone sweep across using fingers or brush, you can also use it as a base and I don't really need to wear primer when I use this as a base. It doesn't crease, it dries quickly and other shadow put on top look so pigmented it looks amazing. Cannot believe how good it is for the price, I want to see how the matt shades fair now. I do have to add that the last is definitely not 24 hours as the name may suggest! More like 6 hours of it's full intensity for mean but then the remainder stays on all day. However I do touch my eyes alot throughout the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top